New Nissan Patrol

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 13:01
ThreadID: 62742 Views:5430 Replies:5 FollowUps:19

does anyone know whether Nissan will be bringing out a new patrol with a bigger and better motor than the crappy 3L diesel they currently have out now?
I have heard something about a V6 3L diesel but not overly keen on this either.
They have the 5.6L diesel out in the states in the Titan- maybe they should put this donk in the patrol.

thanks
Brett

Reply By: chevypower - Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 14:24

Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 14:24
The 5.6L is coming to an end, and the new Titan will be a rebadged (or based on) the Dodge Ram, and will use the 5.7L Hemi V8. I would imagine they may have access to the rumored 5.0L V8 Cummins diesel for 2010 also. You are correct about the 3.0L V6 diesel, which Nissan are developing with Renault, putting out 195kw/550Nm. Not sure if there will be a Armada replacement on the Ram/Titan chassis.
AnswerID: 331031

Reply By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 14:35

Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 14:35
Don't wait Brett , I never did 5 years ago , take a 4800 for a test drive now and you will be sold.
AnswerID: 331034

Follow Up By: Goona - Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 20:01

Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 20:01
Hi Robin,

And the fuel costs with your 4.8lt???? Spoke to a guy towing a jayco camper van and a light roof rack and he was using 32 lt/100. Think I will stay with my 4.2 Patrol diesel.

Goona
FollowupID: 598859

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 08:13

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 08:13
Hi Goona

4.2 Patrol is a nice car, but economy is a tricky thing.

When I first did a life cycle cost of the petrol/Diesel variants the 4800 came out cheaper over the first 5 years of life, as you go further and the depreciation factor becomes less the 4.2 starts to win but there really wasn't much in the true cost of running over 10 years.

Mine has held to under its claimed 17lt/100km over its life peaking at 25lt/100km across the simpson towing a bike trailer.

In a matched comparison I did once (a 1500km typical 4wd trip) the 4.2 / 4800 fuel use difference was only 17%.
This was partly because the 4.2 had to work very hard to keep up in the sand.

Even using the 3lt Patrol figures , the cost of life difference is only 10% and you get a hell of a lot for that 10%.

FollowupID: 598918

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 09:00

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 09:00
Goona,

These are the real figures, not something I heard, but something I did.

Patrol 4.8 on "mixer" LPG towing 17 foot van at 110 km/h up hill and down dale: 31L/100km. It would be damn near impossible to get worse figures than that.

For ME a 4.2 D just wouldn't do it. Hasn't got enough grunt. And would be more expensive to run for less performance.

Different people, different preferences.

FollowupID: 598924

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 10:14

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 10:14
Jim,

The 4.2's are capable of towing up hill and down dale at 110kph. You will need to do a bit to them to achieve this but I know for a fact they can do it. Worst fuel figures I have with my 4.2 is 23 or 24l/100km towing near on 3 tonne at speeds up to 135kph. Hard to find more harsh conditions than this but normal 3tonne towing at 100-110 will see it drink 19-20lt/100km.

Not that I am biased one way or the other, just pointing out my experience with the 4.2.

Regards, Trevor.
FollowupID: 598945

Follow Up By: ingo57 - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 10:36

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 10:36
Gday Goona

I did dollar wise comparison.

Have totaled the fuel bills from our most recent trip from Sydney across the Simpson back down through the Hay river and home again 75% dirt roads.

The trip total was 6500kms start to finish

Mine a 4.8 petrol Patrol $2500 in fuel
Mates TD100 cruiser $2100 in diesel

FollowupID: 598948

Follow Up By: Goona - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 11:39

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 11:39
Hi Guys,

I have a 4.2 Patrol of which has had a bit of work to it such as Variable pitch turbo, 3 inch exhaust and dump pipe, Injector pump tweaked and is also on gas. Yes I know there are some mods there and the same could be done to a petrol 4.8 quite easily but I doubt the economy would be there. I am currently doing a trip around Australia towing a Goldstream Camper and a fully loaded roof rack with Tinnie on the roof whilst achieving 14lt / 100 of diesel and 3lt /100 of gas so say all up 17 lt /100 but this would be cheaper than if you bought just diesel (Gas is cheaper). My rig powers up any hill towing and carrying all this weight no troubles at all and yes I agree in standard form they are a little sluggish. The rig pulls hard from just 1300 RPM. I am certain that if we were to line up a 4.8 against mine I would win hands down for any off road situation or to 100klm/h. I have had the car for 7 years now from new and have contemplated upgrading to a new Patrol or cruiser but just can't justify the expense of 80 + K for a new crusier for eg. My brother in law got just over 1 million klm out of his 4.2 Patrol and if you keep them for a while and do alot of klms then I think this is the best way to go.

Goona
FollowupID: 598956

Follow Up By: ingo57 - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 12:02

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 12:02
Goona

Your question to Robin was "fuel costs with your 4.8lt???"
My comparison was $$$ value at the pump ONLY, I do not dispute the diesel will use less fuel per km merely the price of ULP/Diesel re post 61490.

However I do dispute your comment on lining them up to 100km per hour, the 4.8 would boot the 4.2 into next week no doubt about it....and its also arguable in off road situations (performance wise).

FollowupID: 598965

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 12:57

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 12:57
Fun stuff Goona , sounds like you enjoy your car to , I feel I'm in the same boat in that I can't find a better big wagon at almost any price.
My 4800 patrol still out performs the 200 series petrol - we haven't seen good performance figures yet for the diesel but would love to (maybe Captian has them).
None of my mates have the variable vane turbo on 4.2s but they do have others mods and not one I have driven has got past 12 secs to 100kmh (22 standard) , whereas the 4800's do 10-11 secs model dependant, and I know my redlines at 200kmh.

Not that we are lookng for a race car but acceleration is a good guide to ability in sand etc.

In 4wding generally I agree that there is little difference, except in sand hills, and that dissappears once the 4.2s are warmed up.

When your trip takes you into Victoria, lets know. I can arrange to have some of the above claims tested under controlled conditions.

FollowupID: 598970

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 15:13

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 15:13
Hi Robin,

Sorry, haven't seen any performance figures for the 200 diesel. But what I can tell you is that it will out accelerate a 4.7 V8 Lexus. The big thing with the 200 diesel is the acceleration when at say 80km/hr and you put your boot into it, 650Nm of torque certainly makes itself felt!!!

FollowupID: 598982

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 16:28

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 16:28
Hi Captain

Yes , its hard to come by some of this data, companies increasingly like to mimimize the specs and feed us on hype.

If I could get some real data on the power output over revs of the engine then I could try and predict the performance figures.
The torque doesn't matter very much , but from the total area under a power curve you can do a lot.
All I know is that I believe it has 650nm from 1600-2600 rpm, and I think its 195 or so kw.

Have you seen or know where I can get some torque or power figures over the useful rev range of the twin turbo engine.
Even half a dozen points would be useful.

FollowupID: 598994

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 16:45

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 16:45
Hi Robin,

Not too sure where to get the data, but I do recall seeing a power/torque graph somewhere. From memory it was a comparison of the standard engine to one with a chip - it had over 850Nm of torque; hopefully the diff and gearbox were up to it!!! Basically the chip put a peaked curve on the flat torque band between 1600-2600rpm, as well as lifting the overall torque some.

All pretty academic really, all I know is that while it seems fast when driving, when I hop into my wife's CX7 you soon realise any big 4WD is slow off the line. But get above 80 km/hr and torque certainly becomes your friend :)

FollowupID: 598998

Follow Up By: Goona - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 14:25

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 14:25
Ingo57,

Food for thought. My mate and I have the exact same Patrols although he has the 3lt and mine is the 4.2lt. Same lift same tyres same everything except the motors. This has now changed with all the mods I have under taken but when the motors were both standard mine out performed his hands down off road due to the torque coming on sooner in the rev range. What I would crawl up with virtually no slip he would sit there and spin wheels due to the late delivery of torque and then all at once. On paper and on the road his would whip me hands down but this has changed since I have had the mods. The first dyno got 40% additional power and torque. With the Gas I got another 30% so do the maths. This is over 200kw at the fly wheel. Also do the maths on the torque which leaves a 4.8lt petrol for dead. Yes I have spent a lot of money getting to this but the thing is now a rocket.

Goona
FollowupID: 599201

Follow Up By: ingo57 - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 15:36

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 15:36
G,day Goona

Thats pretty respectable figures mate, however the 3lt, 4.2 and 4.8 are all different diff ratios.
The brunswick V8 claim to be around same figures as a TD100 but I would put my money on the TD100, but on paper you would say it would be even, I guess the best way is to actually line them up!
Anyhow we will agree to disagree but just out of curiosity how much did all your mods cost?
FollowupID: 599209

Follow Up By: Goona - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 20:07

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 20:07
Ingo57,

All up engine mods only cost $6500 but received $2000 back from the government for the gas rebate. Yes I know this buys a lot of ful but the range with the deisel and gas is excellent and when out bush especially where I have been in the last 6 months I have saved a heap of $ by being able to get to a town in lieu of the remote fuel stations.

Goona
FollowupID: 599273

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 01:01

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 01:01
Hi Robin,

Just found on Youtube a video clip by 5th Gear and it says the 200 does 0-60mph (~100 km/hr) in 8.2 seconds. Not bad I reckon!!!
YouTube 5th Gear clip

FollowupID: 599356

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 08:37

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 08:37
Pretty hot stuff Captain , at 8.2 secs that would make it more than a full second quicker than a 4800 patrol and the quickest big wagon around.

As I think I said in another post - I'll have to get my original 4800 engine, which nows develops 330kw back before I meet your 200 series.
FollowupID: 599382

Reply By: cycadcenter - Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 15:08

Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 15:08
I'm in the USA and the TITAN here has never been offered with a diesel option. The 5.6L is a petrol donk.
The 2009 model TITAN will be offered here with the 6L Navistar diesel engine which will be supplied from International Harvester and is the same motor which has been offered in the Ford Super Duty F250 and F350 models for several years here.

As for the badging comments about TITAN/Dodge Ram, I've never heard of that here and I just can't imagine that happening in the USA at least.

Word on the street here is that General Motors is trying to buy Chrysler with the possible help of the US Government.

Bruce

AnswerID: 331037

Follow Up By: Member - Matthew C - Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 15:10

Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 15:10
Like the US Government has got any money!!!!!

MAtt
FollowupID: 598772

Follow Up By: chevypower - Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 15:26

Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 15:26
I am in the US too. I know the Titan has never had a diesel option, but in 2010, GM have been planning a 4.5L Duramax for the Chevy Silverado 1500, Ford a 4.4L V8 diesel, Dodge a 5L V8 diesel for Ram 1500, and the next Nissan Titan is said to be based on the Dodge Ram at least with the Hemi powerplant, and if everyone will have a medium sized diesel engine option, I am sure Nissan will have something too, if it's based on a Dodge, it only makes sense it shares the same Cummins engine.
There's plenty on the net about the next Titan being based on the Ram.
http://www.autoblog.com/2008/05/02/new-infod-on-nissans-ram-based-titan-pickup/

http://www.pickuptrucks.com/html/news/nissan/titan/costs-moving-nissan-towards-hemi-for-next-titan.html
FollowupID: 598780

Reply By: Ti Trol - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 21:30

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 21:30
Brett,

I have also heard that the new Patrol will be a 3L V6 Diesel. Not sure what I think about that yet. But the worst rumour that I have heard is that the new Patrol will have independent front suspension! It's the end of the world as we know it!

Graeme
AnswerID: 331318

Reply By: Ken65 - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 21:54

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 21:54
Tun the 2.5 litre, 4 cylinder renault motor from the D40 into a V8. Double the figures 126 Kilowatts, 403 Nm torque = 252 Kilowatts, 806 NM torque. Now that would be impressive numbers.
AnswerID: 331327

Follow Up By: chevypower - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 13:39

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 13:39
Check out what Ford are doing with Ethanol as a catalyst on unleaded engines. 5L V8 example: Diesel fuel economy with 500HP (370kw) /700lb-ft (950Nm) at a low rpm. This is using unleaded fuel (which is cheaper to buy than diesel), and they say the engines would be cheaper to produce than a diesel engine.

http://fordnewsblog.wordpress.com/2008/09/03/ecoboost-to-get-ethanol-version/
FollowupID: 599196