Around Oz with 2 kids and a camper trailer or caravan ?

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 17:46
ThreadID: 62753 Views:6468 Replies:17 FollowUps:18
We are planning a trip around OZ (hopefully leave Newcastle NSW by end of 2008 if our house sells by then?!) with 2 kids aged 2 and 5 years old and we are looking for advice and/or experienced opinions on which way to go for our new home to be?? A camper trailer or a bunk caravan to tackle this journey?? Our thoughts are always centred around the kids and there comfort and ease of setup etc etc. Hard walls and air cond we thought would be well utilised in the hotter weather which kids often struggle in??...

We have a 1999 Holden Rodeo 4x4 Dual Cab 2.8 litre turbo diesel with canopy that we intend to use as the towing vehicle. Although we would love to upgrade our vehicle as well to something a bit more luxurious! Funds arent that generous and therefore we will have to make do with the Rodeo which we have had for about 3 years now and therefore know the history of?? Has anyone got any feedback or opinions on how they think our vehicle will handle the trip??

We would also like to hear from other families that have recently done or doing a similar trip. As we are selling our home to make this dream a reality we are therefore unlimited with time to a degree and hope to spend 12 months on the road and cover as much as we can.

We dont have a strict map of path we want to stick to although we will be heading in the best direction weather wise when the time comes. We do hope to be able to go south first though and do Tasmania while the weather is warmer. From there we plan to potter through SA before heading across the Nullabor and from there obviously clockwise around!!

Being a boilermaker I do wish to pick up work around the traps if the pays good and the works of interest but dont want to get bogged down anywhere in particular for months on end so as to hold up the trip movement too much! Be great to hear from others that have managed to pick up work along the way and comments...

We have done heaps of research and have many pro's and con's with the camper trailer vs caravan choice but would be great to hear other families thoughts and ideas.....we dont have the 4wd capacity to go hard core without serious modifications (which our budget doesnt allow for or our experience) and therefore intend to stick to main roads and national parks mostly. We are prepared to do bigger than usual day trips with the kids if necessary so we can get out into places of interest without the hassle of towing.

Look forward to your advice, help and comments on all or any of the above,

Cheers for now
"just goin"

Reply By: joff1 - Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 18:29

Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 18:29
G’day Just Goin

We pondered long and hard on this one too. Our original plan was to buy a bunk van (kids are/will be 10 and 13) and do the trip with enough camping gear to do the extra stuff that the van wouldn’t handle.

We have had campers for years so thought it smart to go do some vehicle based camping for a while to see if we could still enjoy it. We did 2 weeks on and around Fraser earlier this year and decided two things. Firstly, carrying enough stuff for the 4 of us even in a 100 series land cruiser was a challenge and second, we really weren’t caravan people.

With this in mind we sat down and really thought about what we needed and what we wanted out of this trip that we have dreamt about for so long. In the end we figured that a Camper was best for us and our circumstances. We have the benefit that not only do the kids not need constant attention and watching but they are also a big help when it comes to things like set up and pull down (unless they’re in a mood of cause).

The other thing is that we figured that since we too are planning a 12mth journey we prolly wouldn’t be moving everyday and getting into roadside layby’s in the late afternoon enroute to somewhere, so quick setup (or no setup in some cases with the vans we looked at) was not really a priority.

When we started looking at some of the places we really wanted to get too and stay we realized that even a TD cruiser would be hard pressed pulling a 22’ van in let alone the van being able to handle the journey so everything started to point toward a genuine offroad capable camper.

We are now 2 or 3 mths out from the start of out trip and we have our Camper in the yard being decked out for the trip. I look at it and have to remind myself of the thought process that went into it’s selection because it would be very easy to go spend $70 – 80k on a flash van with all the fruit but I really think we would miss too much of the country.

As I said, this is just what suits us. If my kids were 2 and 5 I’d prolly have to think again. On the up side, in another 8 or so years you can do it again in a camper and see all the things you missed first time round..

BTW we too sold our house to do it. That was probably the single hardest decision I have ever had to make. In the end though I think it was the right one. Just hope the housing market doesn’t boom LOL.
AnswerID: 331074

Follow Up By: just goin - Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 19:54

Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 19:54
Hi joff1,

thanks heaps for your detailed reply - we too agree with most of your findings as well. We have owned a camper trailer before, prior to both kids on the scene and we never got it setup right from the start and this made the whole thing a real nightmare.

Like you suggest the ages of the kids plays the vital part in the making the right decision in the end. We hope to do this trip again and again in years to come and like you say we will definitely be seeing new things and places on those trips as well. Kids will be older, and then maybe not living at home another time and we plan to get a much better equip vehicle down the track to get us into the more remote places that we wont get to this time around.....

The caravan is the way we are definitely leaning, but it is all about finding the right one when we have sold our house. We arent in a position to come up with that sort of cash now and risk the house not selling and we have great van and no where to go with it.....we will be looking at used vans but as we have discovered over the past few months late model bunk vans that are priced well dont last long so it is going to be what is around when we can buy that will be the challenge....

We like Tambo Campers in Vic and if we get really stuck with cash would probably look at one of theirs for around $13-$14K new. Caravans used we were hoping to get something around $25K give or take. We did really like the Jayco Swan Outbacks too for a while there but have since changed our minds on them for different reasons...

Well thanks again and maybe we will c u on the road....

"JUST GOIN"
FollowupID: 598856

Reply By: Edna1111 - Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 19:47

Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 19:47
Go the caravan way, you will soon get sick of putting the camper up and down at every stop. If you find work the van will be a better place to live in for a time.

Good luck with whatever you choose, it will be a great experience as we found doing it with three kids (started with three, ended up with four) thirty years ago, four years to do the circuit.

AnswerID: 331091

Follow Up By: just goin - Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 19:58

Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 19:58
Hi John,
Sounds like you had a ball....

We are agreeable on the caravan. Just hopin the right one is around when we have the funds through from our house to buy..

We can definitely only afford something used but heading onto xmas period we are doubtful that too many will come onto the market until possibly after the xmas holidays are over...
Fingers crossed - you never know

"JUST GOIN"
FollowupID: 598858

Reply By: happytravelers - Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 20:55

Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 20:55
As others have suggested a caravan would be the better choice. We've travelled a lot with two young children and a camper trailer, you soon get tired of putting it up and down. A caravan would give you the security and home comforts for the family that you can't get with a camper trailer. Wish you the best of luck with your travels I'm sure you'll have a ball.
Jon
AnswerID: 331104

Follow Up By: T-Ribby - Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 22:09

Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 22:09
Ditto. we started with a campertrailer and now have a 14' poptop. As much as we loved our camper, the instant comfort and easy setup of a van is hard to beat, especially with tired kids - they can roll into bed straight away. A rollout awning is a definite plus.
With your rig a 16' Coromal or similar with independent suspension around 1200kg and some bunks fitted will more than do the biz.
Enjoy
T.R.
FollowupID: 598883

Follow Up By: just goin - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 06:36

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 06:36
Hi Jon,

I have to agree on getting sick of setting up the camper and all the bits over the long period. We are only looking at a camper again in our minds as it would be far less costly than a caravan from what we have seen so far in the used caravan game.

But having said that we are leaning toward to extra coin for somfor and less hassle and that will hopefully keep all us 4 happy campers happy for this huge adventure.

When we return from this trip we may well sell the caravan and go back to a camper trailer for our regular school holiday breaks and long weekends but we are incline to lean into the caravan for the big one like this!

Friends of ours recently did a 3 month quick lap of oz in a Jayco Eagle Camper Trailer and they sold it the second they got back. They said it was just ok and they only had one child with them. They said when they go around again they are buying a Coromal Pop Top with bunks.....

"JUST GOIN"
FollowupID: 598912

Reply By: D200Dug- Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 22:40

Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 22:40
Comfort and security I would opt for the van.

Personally I would leave the kids behind :) but that is a personal thing LOL !!!

Have a great trip whatever you choose !
AnswerID: 331126

Reply By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 22:59

Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 22:59
We too are looking around for the right van. We sold the ranch and are renting while setting the van up. However we are restricted to 2500kg. Our first trip is at Christmas and the biggest trip approx two years will be over the West next Aug. We had a jayco wind up used it a fair bit in those 4x4 parks worked a treat, but when we went away to Gladstone last year we spent a fortune on accommodation because the drought broke and it rained most of the time. With three tired children setting up in the rain was the last thing we wanted to do. We now have a pop top out back destiny but as we have decided to go long term its just not big enough. Our three are 5 7 & 9. For safety we want a full van with a small toilet shower unit mainly for the kids. We will be taking a tent and swags for when we park up the van as we are full on scenery thrill seekers, were not fulfilled unless we can get out on those little goat tracks and explore. There are heaps that do the lap with only tents. But not for us
What ever you choose, don't take too much stuff. Its easy to do.
Sharon
AnswerID: 331135

Follow Up By: just goin - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 06:42

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 06:42
Hi Sharon

Thanks for your advice on not packing too much stuff.
That part worries me with the 2 children especially. I plan to be diligent though and practical.

At least with a caravan you can put all your things into their spot in terms of pantry, drawers, underbed storage etc.

We plan to utilise the canopy part of the rodeo as well and install a drawer system and on top of that we will have ample space and depth for those plastic boxes etc that I plan to have a few of with spare clothes and a few extras!

Happy travels with your next trip - it sounds great! We wouldnt be able to do such a big trip without selling our house to fund it. We also didnt want the hassle of renting it out and then HAVING to work around the way to pay for things. The kids would soon get sick of only seeing one parent all the time like at home.....this is why we are going to spend that time together as a family and get as much out of it as we can and see all that Australia has to offer....

"JUST GOIN"
FollowupID: 598913

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 23:14

Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 23:14
Just Goin',

Van gets my vote too. Gives you room to move around inside if its raining,cold or windy. Also a lot better for permanent "stuff" like cooking, preparing meals for 4 of you every night, & other meals too. Remember you want to look back on this 12 months with pleasure not as a big drama.

Wife & I, plus 2 young ones, lived in a van on stations for 6 years. Had a few dramas but nothing to spoil the memories. One of the girls was only a month old when she came to stay. We would often just pull up late arvo, while shifting between jobs, and within half hour, would be sitting down to a feed. Kids in bed soon after, with few problems.

Would suggest one with a shower, for those times when you mightn't be in a van park.

As for the boiley work, dont forget to try some of the cattle road train companies through Qld & NT. You would be most welcome with your skills. There's even a few boileys up behind the wheel driving, pays good, but you're not always home much!!!!!!!!

Hope everything works out & you can get away. Good luck,

Hooroo,

AnswerID: 331137

Follow Up By: just goin - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 06:29

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 06:29
Hi Bob,

We are hearing you! We owned a new camper trailer about 5 years ago and sold it within a year or so of owning it. We have done the tent thing since then and only for short stays up to an hour or two away. And it seems we were far better organised in the tent than the camper...

It clear from all the replies we have received so far that it is all about making sure your rig and camper/caravan is setup more or less to what you are going to need from the start.

Our trouble is that although we are looking at used vans everyday nearly on the internet it will be finding the one once the house is officially sold. And we wont be renting before we go and doing a heap of plans or mods etc as we are keen to get going so that we have the full year before our eldest child offically needs to be enrolled in school.

We were saying that if we didnt have the kids we could have bought a truck load of caravans by now that would suit just the two of us......but the trip wouldnt be the same without them and we wouldnt probably be as motivated to do it. We are excited and thrilled to be able to share such an amazing time and memory with them.

"JUST GOIN"
FollowupID: 598911

Reply By: Goona - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 00:57

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 00:57
Just Going,

What a load of crap with regards to the van. If you really want to see Australia go the Camper option. We have a Goldstream Wing 11 and have been travelling for the last 5 months of a 7 month trip around Australia with a 4 year old and a 2 year old. It generally only takes 15 minutes to set up. As you stated you have 12 months off. I would definately not have a caravan. You would miss out on to much. For eg, the Telegraph track to the Cape. No way you would get a caravan up there. Cape Leveque, Cape Peron etc.... don't allow Caravans. You wouldn't get a caravan into Steep point and this was on of the best places we have visited to date. Most of the out of way places are the best places. Less people and you generally have the places to ourselves. I don't think it is a chore at all to set up and with regards to security we have had no problems to date. With regards to the air conditioning we are following the weather and as such have had no need whatsoever to warrant an air conditioner. In addition to this due to the smaller size you use less fuel and can travel faster if this is your thing so you would be set up prior to the van towers any way. Hope this helps.

Goona
AnswerID: 331147

Follow Up By: just goin - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 06:46

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 06:46
Hi Goona,
We hear what you are saying and thanks for your comments.
We have those pro's you have pointed out on our list for a camper trailer that is for sure. If we were doing loads of offroad nitty gritty tracks that are way into yonder we definitely would go for a camper for sure. But as we have mentioned vehicle wise we arent at all experienced in any 4x4 to date and plan to keep it safe this time round rather than it end in disaster or a huge cost bearing exercise with repairs to the Rodeo.
Caravan definitely has our lean for this trip now from all the comments thus far....it will come down to dollars in the end I am sure

"JUST GOIN"
FollowupID: 598914

Follow Up By: joff1 - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 07:36

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 07:36
JG, truth is, most of these places Goona talks about don't require a high level of 4wding experience to get to. Most are just rough roads that your Rodeo would eat even with a camper in tow. It really isn't about what your car can handle as much as where you can drag your house. You would prolly find that towing a 2t van around the country on the blacktop would wear your car out faster than towing a camper with the odd rough road thrown in.

Anyway, horses for courses as they say but don’t let the “it’s all too hard to keep setting the thing up” clan fool you; as I said, going for that long you will not be setting up and dismantling every day.
FollowupID: 598916

Reply By: Dunco (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 10:33

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 10:33
There are arguments to both sides here. I have owned a camper trailer, a poptop caravan and now own a full van.

Just Goin might well be suited to a camper...who knows.

Some things to remember...

If you have a camper you can get off the road a little more. The kids will soon get in "the groove" of doing their daily chores when setting up and pulling down. Although very annoying if you do it everyday !!

If you have a caravan the kids should be outside so don't worry about the a/c (although I do have it). With a van, when you stop, that is it....ready for bed and if you stop at a vanpark, all you have to do is unhook (if needed), plug in the power, water and sullage and you're ready for happy hour !!

And as someone said, it would be far more comfortable in a full van for the family if you are off working (plenty of work out there).

I own a 4WD and I leave my van at the vanpark and go for daytrips into the bush and that way my van stays fairly clean and damage free. You could even buy a tent and go off into the bush for a couple of days with the kids.

My vote is for a van...you can't go wrong...but have to get the right van. Why don't you hire a camper for the weekend and then a van for another weekend. Plenty of time for that.

And your plan of going wherever is great...but be north in winter and I will see you there :-)

AnswerID: 331187

Follow Up By: just goin - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 12:19

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 12:19
Hi Dunco,

Great advice....happy travels up north!
Maybe c u round the traps

"JUST GOIN"
FollowupID: 598967

Reply By: HGMonaro - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 10:36

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 10:36
For a extended trip a caravan would be best however getting one that suits is a problem. Most vans suit 2 people. Making up a table into a bed for one child is a PITA unless you go to bed at the same time (where do you sit for the rest of the night?)

If you want shower/toilet and room to sleep 4 (2A 2C) it's going to be big, and if you want to take it offroad it's going to be big, heavy and expensive.

Finding one that's got bunks for the kids 2nd hand will be difficult especially in the time frame between selling your house and heading off. You might get lucky.

Camper trailers have their downsides... setting up/packing up in the rain being the major one and once annexes are needed, setup can be quite long (I've watched many!)

Wind-ups have some major benefits and some downsides. Heaps of space, silightly easier to pull around than a full van (not a huge difference really), more likely to be able to be taken 'offroad', able to be opened right up to let the breeze through and light in, but you still sleep under canvas and have to deal with that in wet weather. I've stayed in a van with A/C and it wasn't all that great... noisy and needed to run all day to keep it cool (need to be on 240v too unless you're carting a generator around as well)

As for personal experiences... we have a wind-up (Goldstream) and did a 99 night 1/2 lap last year. Put it up and down about 60 times I think. Does it get tiresome, a little. Takes us 10-15mins to setup, a few minutes more if we put bed-flys up as well. However, interior space is a joy. Opening it up (enough to get at the fridge, etc) for lunch adds about 2mins to our stop. Since we've most likely been in the car for hours, walking around having a stretch is preferable to sitting down inside so that's not an issue for us. We usually get the footy out and have a kick as well. Never had the problem of it raining whilst wanting lunch, guess we'd either buy something if possible or wait a little while or just get the stuff out and jump back into the car.

Whatever you pick, it's a compromise and you just have to deal with the downsides while enjoying the benefits of your choice!

Good luck with your selection and travels in general.

Cheers, Nige
AnswerID: 331188

Follow Up By: just goin - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 10:59

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 10:59
HI Nige

Thanks for all of that info....it is all very useful to us.
I guess your point about finding the right van in the time frame we will have is what is worrying us..

We have owned a camper trailer before so we know what their all about and with two kids it is difficult at the best of time keeping tabs on the 2 year old....anyways, we could get them into a rountine we guess but both children not really at the age to do too many big jobs etc....

thanks again

"just goin"
FollowupID: 598950

Follow Up By: HGMonaro - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 11:06

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 11:06
2 years old is a bit early to be given set-up jobs! Ours are 6 & 9 and do help when they don't get distracted by something like a pile of rocks that need to be investigated!
FollowupID: 598951

Reply By: Damo1970 - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 14:28

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 14:28
We leave on our 12 month trip around Australia in 65 days (yes, i am counting)

We have 2 kids aged 7 & 8 and we did a lot of research on what accommodation would be best for us. In the end we chose a Jayco Expanda pop top. It is only 16ft to tow but once the beds are open we have the space of a 24 or 25 foot van.

We are also taking camping gear so we can get to places the van won't go - Cape York for instance. We will just leave the van somewhere, tent it for whatever time is necesaary then continue on in our van.
AnswerID: 331215

Follow Up By: joff1 - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 17:39

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 17:39
Hahaha, you gunna be sorry when you're in your pup tent and we're in the Hilton on on the OTR.
FollowupID: 599011

Follow Up By: Damo1970 - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 22:26

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 22:26
Yep, for those couple of weeks you're probably right.
What about the other 50 weeks?
I'll give you a hand setting up your oversized tent after i'm quickly & easily setup in my Taj Mahal ;-)
FollowupID: 599090

Follow Up By: joff1 - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 22:35

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 22:35
Well, I'll buy you a beer when we are done setting mine up.

But whatever happens, it'll be better than going to work to pay a mortgage LOL.
FollowupID: 599092

Follow Up By: Damo1970 - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 10:24

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 10:24
Did you say BEER?

mmmmm beer, i like beer

Bring it on i say.

And you're right, working to pay a mortgage is over rated - i'm looking forward to being a bum for a year lol
FollowupID: 599162

Reply By: pheonix - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 14:47

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 14:47
Just goin,

I'm with Nige, I have just retrurned from the half lap (west) from melb and we went in an OB Jayco Eagle. Two girls 10 & 7. Had an absolute blast. One thing I gleaned was the bigger the van you won't get into places that aren't crowded and mind you it gets crowded in some places. You will be restricted to a lot of C/Parks which means $$$$$$. That's one thing that caught me out a bit.

In the end it was just one of those things that had to be done winding it up and pulling the beds out. No big deal. Everyone chipped in and then the fun began.

Good luck with your choice and don't let people talk you out of a particular van because it can't handle the off road roads like the GRR etc. There are plenty of vans up there handling the roads and they aren't the big 3 offroad vans either.

Graeme
AnswerID: 331218

Reply By: John and Lynne - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 14:54

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 14:54
With children so young I think you would find the van the best option. You would have quick set uo, ready made beds and ready kitchen for lunch or dinner as soon as you stop. The fridge would be accessible at any time. The worst thing about a camper trailer with a two year old would be keeping him/her safe and confined during set up /packing and cooking. With a van, if you stay for longer times, eg when working, you could set up an annex and have lots of secure space. Best of all, when out west or north, the van would be fly and mosquito and sandfly proof. There would be nothing worse than trying to cook and eat with the flies and small children. Also small children are likely to be very badly affected by biting insects and in the north bites easily become infected sores. (We had that horrible experience tenting when ours were young!)
I would suggest you leave the real off road adventure stuff til the children are a little older and can help with set up etc and perhaps sleep in their own small tent. You will have a wonderful time on made roads and in National Parks. Any well built van will cope very well with dirt roads if you drive with care!
I suggest you don't really need a large van with a bathroom. Small children can easily be washed in a plastic bowl when you are camping for a few nights. A bathroom takes up a lot of useful storage space in a medium size van. In caravan parks your children are too young to go to the park amenities on their own. They would be quite safe with a parent and many parks have good bathroom facilities for families with young children.
Good luck with your decision. Have a wonderful trip! Lynne
AnswerID: 331222

Follow Up By: just goin - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 17:03

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 17:03
Lynne,

Thanks for your experienced and practicle comments. You have hit the nail on the head for us with many of your thoughts and ideas.

As we live in the country our two small kids are use to bathing in a plastic dish at homes at time when we are trying to be water wise etc and that is what we planned to do caravan etc in mind for baths. Especially handy for early morning bathtimes or late night ones when walking two kids to amentities can be tedious.

We have had the Coromal Lifestyle L600 Full Bunk Van recommended to us but on our searches of private sales and caravan dealers these are hard to come by used.....we will keep looking though. Overall Coromal appears to rate the highest overall with quality and value for money.....

If anyone has one your thoughts and comments would be welcomed

Cheers for now
"JUST GOIN" (NSW)
FollowupID: 599006

Reply By: joff1 - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 17:52

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 17:52
I'm just hanging out at the Orange Field days for work at the moment. I had a bit of time to go for a wander around today and came across the Jayco and Coromal stands.

While I have seen their ranges plenty of times I had a rush of effluent to the brain when I looked at one particular van. The Jayco Base Station. Billed as the van with a garage for your toys I got to thinking that it prolly wouldn't be a bad touring thing if you set the back bit up as the kids room and camping gear shed.

With a lot less bling and pretty upholstery than the normal vans, it might be a good thing to think about. It has an expander type front end with reasonable galley and a unit toilet and bathroom (which I reckon would be a bitch to clean given the mess you would make of everything when using the shower) but in the back bit you could have 2 bunks and any amount (up to 700kg) of camping gear and general stored goods.

Bit outa the budget I know but a 22 footer is $50k and with an Outback chassis and suspension (all be it only in the 20 footer) $53k.

Dunno why I didn't think of it before hahaha

Maybe if I get sick of the camper half way round I'll trade it in on one
AnswerID: 331255

Reply By: richard - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 00:01

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 00:01
I have a camper with a hard floor (Cub camper). Getting at the fridge is not an issue as can get in thru a door in the back - just have to squat a bit.

I have never had a full van so can't say they are bad or good but do like the life style of a camper

However one real pain I find is the flies. If you stop at the side of the road for a cupa and lunch you do it with the flies.

On a recent trip we stopped and they were so bad we went in to a local pub to have lunch where is some other people who stopped with a van just got in and closed the door.

Many of the campers have canvas tops so you have more issues when having to pack them up after rain.

Setting up a camper is no big deal (5-10 minutes) if not putting up awnings,

I like the camper but must admit I am liking the idea of a small van (as only the two of us) for when we hit the road.

AnswerID: 331348

Reply By: Dirt Roads - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 10:36

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 10:36
Hi Just goin,

I would recommend a camper trailer. You will find yourself being restricted for where you can get to with a caravan. A quality off-road camper trailer will let you get to those special places around australia and stay the night where you just can't get to with a caravan. Even though you are not keen to go 'hard core' the dirt road rattles can kill a caravan (and whats inside). In terms of set up time with a camper. I recently purchased a camper from Explorer Campers (check them out at www.explorercampers.com.au) who are based on the central coast which would be good for you being in Newcastle. Their campers have non-adjustable bars that cut set up time dramatically. It literally pull up, unfold, peg down. I highly recommend checking them out as their service and advise was great.
AnswerID: 331395

Follow Up By: Damo1970 - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 16:02

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 16:02
With all due respect i reckon that's a load of codswallop!!

What is your definition of a "special place"? Are you suggesting that "special" places are only accessible by 4wd & camper?

Australia has so much to see & much of it may be just off the main highway, easily accessible by your average sedan, or 4wd towing a 24ft van

I'm towing a van on my trip next year - will i not see any "special" places in the 12 months i am away?

For those that want a little more comfort & don't want the hassle of setting up a camper, a caravan is the obvious choice. They then have the option of taking a tent.........just to see those "special" places
FollowupID: 599212

Follow Up By: Edna1111 - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 20:05

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 20:05
Im with Damo, there are more nights you will stay in "normal" places than "special".

We took a tent and camping gear with us so were able to get to those special places whilst having the comfort of the van the rest of the time.

The memories of those special places stays with us still.

FollowupID: 599272

Reply By: leeb1973 - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 17:16

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 17:16
We are currently 5 months into our trip around Oz with two children (twins aged 9) and we have an 18ft Expanda. Its a great van and I would definitely recommend you look at the Expanda range as I think it is good value for money (the 16ft range is probably the most popular). Of course there is good and bad in everything & my husband sometimes envies people with a standard van as their set up is a bit quicker than ours (no beds & bed flies to set up) but the advantage of the extra room inside the van makes up for it.

My husband has worked a couple of times (both times for 3 weeks) & it was nice to have a decent size van with aircon while he was at work (especially in Katherine when it was 38+ everyday - too hot to do schoolwork outside). Also we had never done any caravanning or 4WD'ing before this trip so knew we wanted to mainly stick to the bitumen. We have however done a number of day trips with the 4wd which suits us fine at this stage.

When it comes down to it it really is personal choice. We did a pro's & con's list for the vans we were interested in and the 18ft Expanda was the van for us but something else may suit you better. There are so many different setups on the road.

Whatever you choose have fun, take lots of photos and enjoy your time together as a family. We are :)

Kind regards, Leanne
AnswerID: 331461

Reply By: joff1 - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 21:17

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 21:17
It needs to be said too that camper people are much better people than caravan people.

You really don't wanna turn into a crusty old grump now do you? LOL
AnswerID: 331700