Attitudes on the Forum

Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 13:30
ThreadID: 62776 Views:7648 Replies:46 FollowUps:59
Well may I say I am totally appalled at the carry on of a number of people on this site. I have just read through the now hidden post 62718 and I am really bloody cranky.

It appears I will have to enlist a number of new moderators and in turn go back to a very hard lined moderation approach.

What the hell are some of you thinking? I do not care who or how things get started and I have well and truly had enough of the member vs non member thing.

From our point of view members are very important as their contribution helps us continue to build and develop the system. So we continue to improve and develop the members system to ensure you get something back for your membership.

Visitors are allowed and encourage to post as in time they may get a number of useful answers and decide to become members themselves. I have got to tell you that reading a number of posts lately I would say stuff that boys club I want nothing to do with it, and this is the feedback we are getting.

What is really getting up my nose is that the forum is one part of the larger ExplorOz system and I am getting told that users want nothing to do with ExplorOz based on a bad forum experience. So all our hours of article, treknote and other content creation exercises is being wasted by a few people.

If you cannot answer a thread in a constructive way then DO NOT ANSWER. When someone is asking a real question asking for help do not make jokes about it, even tongue in cheek comments do not help and are starting to hurt the business.

SO IN A NUT SHELL - IF YOU DO NOT HAVE SOMETHING CONSTRUCTIVE TO SAY THEN SAY NOTHING.
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Currently Mapping in the Field Across Australia Fulltime in 2023 - 2025

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 13:43

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 13:43
I am wondering your thoughts on my usual Sunday History Photo's , They are usually off topic , I try to keep it Australian based but if you think that it's not appropriate then I'll give it a miss.

Doug

AnswerID: 331206

Follow Up By: austastar - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 15:32

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 15:32
It's good stuff, thankyou for your trouble.
FollowupID: 598986

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 15:39

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 15:39
Must say I always enjoy it.

FollowupID: 598990

Follow Up By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 16:43

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 16:43
These are fine Doug and a most welcome part of the Sunday Forum antics.

FollowupID: 598997

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 17:00

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 17:00
David & Michelle
Ok thanks, will try and keep then as interesting as I can.

Doug

FollowupID: 599004

Follow Up By: Member - Toolman (VIC) - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 17:59

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 17:59
Doug,
I find your Sunday posts really interesting.

Toolman
FollowupID: 599021

Reply By: The Rambler( W.A.) - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 13:49

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 13:49
Very well put, and I can only hope it will result in the forum being used for the purpose it was intended without all the childish remarks which have become quite prevalent of late with no bearing to the post. Maybe a reminder like this is needed every now and then.
AnswerID: 331208

Reply By: Ray - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 13:58

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 13:58
I'm not a member. NOW YOU KNOW WHY
AnswerID: 331209

Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 17:40

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 17:40
Ray. Sorry can not agree with that comment. Surely we have thicker skin than that. There is a lot willing to give you the answer you are after, so do not punish them because of a few. Just ignore the idiots, appreciate a good joke and become a member. Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 599013

Reply By: Member - Frogman (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 14:00

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 14:00
Good on you David and Michelle after reading all the depressing things on the newspaper ,believe me it is such a relief to come and read the forum news which is also very constructive as I am planning a long trip in the near future.A good sense of humour is great but nastiness is a No No........
AnswerID: 331210

Reply By: Member - George (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 14:13

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 14:13
Totally agree with your comments David, keep up your good work. I'll say no more
AnswerID: 331211

Reply By: Cape York Connections - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 14:27

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 14:27
I have been accused of being a bit short on some reply's.
I have also apologised a couple of times when I was wrong.

I find that if people post somthing that has been done before a few on this site jump down there necks.

If you don't like the heading on the post don't read it simple.

If as that picture of the puddle its been done before who really cares just have a look and don't comment if its not positive.

When we do a cape tag along as I have 20 odd times now I get the same questions a million times and will for ever more.
I always answer them the same because its new to that person or group.

AnswerID: 331214

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 19:59

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 19:59
G'day Eric,

Very well put mate....couldn't agree more.

I must say that there does seem to be a number of "narky" blokes on here lately....which is probably the reason why I keep myself to myself these days. I used to enjoy contributing and learning from EO, but after having been a member for several years now, I find I no longer feel the same intensity of passion for the site. The only reason for this change of feeling is the "narky" blokes.

I have found myself answering the same question on here quite a few times. Those who respond to a question which has been previously asked (maybe many, many times), by yelling "SEARCH THE ARCHIVES" tend to have very little empathy for a newcomer.

It seems the good ol' days of the forum have fallen by the wayside.

FollowupID: 599045

Follow Up By: Member - Magic (VIC) - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 07:42

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 07:42
Thanks Roachie, from a newcomer to 4WDing and touring. We still have alot to learn, and this forum is a great source of info.
FollowupID: 599136

Reply By: AdlelaideGeorge - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 14:44

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 14:44
I can't find 62718 - nothing (or virtually nothing) should be censored.

Happy days

George
AnswerID: 331217

Reply By: Mudripper - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 14:51

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 14:51
Very well put David

AnswerID: 331221

Reply By: garrycol - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 14:55

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 14:55
I too am not a member for similar reasons - I see people post something in all seriousness and the one eyed rednecks come out in their droves and flame them.

It does not take much to be civil and courteous and if something gets up your nose - it is better to say nothing.

If this forum improves I will most likely become a member but if not - I will have to pass.

Garry
AnswerID: 331223

Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 17:43

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 17:43
Garry. I have got a lot of good out of this site as you should have as well. Do not punish all for the errors of a few. Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 599014

Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 19:39

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 19:39
Like wise,
the attitude of a few on here think they own and run the show.
I ask: why pay to join only to be abused?
to be ganged up on by morons that have nothing better to do than think they run the show.

If it happend in a hotel, I bet they would be like sheep.

From what I have experienced, there are free 4x4 groups that offer help with out the abuse.
FollowupID: 599039

Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 19:44

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 19:44
I wonder just how many visitors feel the same?

How much more financial would this site be with some control?

Not saying anything against David or Michelle as they can't monitor everything.

Great job David and Michelle.
FollowupID: 599042

Follow Up By: garrycol - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 21:23

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 21:23
I agree - but there also seems to be a lot of intolerance - and intolerance breeds intolerance - but you are all correct - the majority of people on here are great and there is a lot of good information.

Garry
FollowupID: 599072

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 15:26

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 15:26
I can't remember what 718 was about ? I can't remember a member vs non member thing ?
Most non members that lurk might eventually join, if the community spirit of the forum is kept.
The odd dig only enhances the place in my opinion.
Some topics are contentious, and will bring out the worst in people both on the forum and elsewhere. Some will inevitably go overboard but that shouldn't reflect on the open spirit of the discussion.
It is a public forum, not a Q@A page. Or is it supposed to be?
Yes there are groups within groups but that is to be expected.

The biggest group of all is the fair minded, generous and knowledgeable group of people within the EO "family". These are truly exceptionally nice people, and I would hate to see anything reflected back at this group of both members and non members.

I've been moderated a few times. It doesn't hurt...much :))
AnswerID: 331227

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 15:35

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 15:35
I can't remember what it was about either Footy.

I don't recall any significant Biffo lately, maybe I missed it.

FollowupID: 598989

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 15:47

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 15:47
Biggest argument lately was taking the gun issueto protect yourself.

FollowupID: 598991

Follow Up By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 16:32

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 16:32
I think it was about the bloke who called his Cruiser a Landy, two people chipped in on this OUTRAGOUS error and he retaliated by calling a member a moron, and funnily enough, down hill the thread went.
Shane
FollowupID: 598996

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 16:47

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 16:47
"and funnily enough, down hill the thread went."

ROFLMAO.

Thanks Shane, I didn't see the thread but get the general idea LOL.

FollowupID: 598999

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 21:08

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 21:08
Didn't see that one, but funnily enough a mate of mine calls his cruiser a landy. We've had many a spirited argument that a LC is a Cruiser and a LR is a Rover or Landy.

FollowupID: 599065

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 21:15

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 21:15
Or is a Terracan a Jerry or a Terry LOL.

FollowupID: 599067

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 21:31

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 21:31
I got slammed by a customer at work once for calling her landcruiser a landy...."Its not a landy, its a cruiser you silly girl" was her reply.....woops...didnt know it was so important!
FollowupID: 599075

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 23:25

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 23:25
Jim, Kerry calls it the Terry but I call it the Tincan. You missing your Terry/Jerry?

FollowupID: 599098

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 23:27

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 23:27
OOPS self slap on wrist for chatting. LOL

FollowupID: 599099

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 08:59

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 08:59
Dunc,

I loved that Jerry, it was agreat wagon. But missing it? No.

Reason is we now have a twin cab ute, which I bought primarily for business reasons. The benefits for recreational purposes are immense. With the Jerry the cargo area was taken up with a set of drawers with our 80L fridge on top of it.

Now we have the fridge on the floor where the back seats used to be. The rear of the ute, with canopy, houses a huge set of drawers and has vast storage space above them. Our camping has never been so good; packing is quick and easy and we can find everything.

Frankly, I could never imagine owning a wagon again. Given that our boys are 23 and 19 we have no need for one.

The ute being on LPG is an added bonus, not only cheap to run, but gives me 140 L fuel capacity. The 70 L tank in the V6 Jerry gave me very limited range.

FollowupID: 599153

Follow Up By: Nomadic Navara - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 16:57

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 16:57
This thread of FollowUps is probably what David is referring to.

FollowupID: 599223

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 19:33

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 19:33
I don't think so Peter.

What could be more relevant than a discussion about 4wd's?

FollowupID: 599262

Reply By: Member - Matt (Perth-WA) - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 15:34

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 15:34
Well said and I agree whole heartedly... I think we all have upset some people in one way or another with posts...but there is never a reason to be spiteful.

I find it unfortunate that some would use the forum as a reason to NOT contribute as a member and believe this to be a lame excuse. If the potential member cannot see past the forum as being a public forum and with that, you get good and bad sometimes, then we may be better off.

Seriously I dont believe this could ever be someone's motivation to not be a member and the remarks are simply in spite.

The forum is about 5% of the content here and the resources and information available should be a draw card whether you like or dislike the forum.

So in a nut shell, if someone is that vague that they choose not to join Exploroz due to the forum, then did they really want to join in the first place? Has the site truly lost anything?

Personally I love the site and appreciate the work done of David, Michelle and others that make my membership here rewarding.

Thank you.

AnswerID: 331230

Follow Up By: Off-track - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 16:07

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 16:07
But that's just it Matt - what you think might be an insufficient reason in joining is not necessarily the opinion of a potential member.

Yeah there are some who will be a visitor for their whole Exploroz experience - that's their choice, the site allows that.

There are many though that will test the water first by becoming a visitor then if their Exploroz experience is a positive one they will choose to become a financial member.

A negative experience will deter new membership and even deter membership renewals. That is a bad thing.
FollowupID: 598993

Follow Up By: Bagwon - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 17:03

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 17:03
Matt I agree with Offtrack,as a visitor and chasing some info to get a rude response to (for me a simple) question is not going to encourage me to continue to use this extremely informative sight.Also its disapointing to open a thread you think is going to be interesting and find its just a slanking match with the origanal question lost.

FollowupID: 599005

Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 17:36

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 17:36
Matt. I will go your way a bit, the silly threads did not stop me, I saw the bigger picture.
Bagwon and all other non members - Some fool may give you a bad response, but there a lot at the same time that proberly gave you good advice. Ignore the fool, give thanks to the advice, be a member to better the site, sitting on the sidlines will not achieve a better site. Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 599010

Follow Up By: Member - Matt (Perth-WA) - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 22:27

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 22:27
Off-track and Bagwon ...Sadly there are people that cannot see the forest for the trees and if that is so then maybe a public forum is not for you. There will always be people who might not be so considerate to your personal feelings in a public forum...but isnt that life?

You always have the choice to not read and close the thread??????

Learning to deal with the ups and downs and not letting little minded people get the better of you is part of life? AS said if that is your reason for not joining then I am sorry for your experience but also sorry for your loss.

All the best.

FollowupID: 599091

Follow Up By: Bagwon - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 19:41

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 19:41
Hi Matt&Tony B At my age i have certanly have exsperenced ups and downs,and i dont think others would stop me becoming a member(just havent got around to it). I think The point David & Michelle are making is more closer to the issue.

FollowupID: 599481

Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 15:49

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 15:49
D & M, I echo the sentiments of all those who have posted before me.

AnswerID: 331235

Reply By: Shaker - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 16:19

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 16:19
Over a fairly long period I have found the forum to be a wealth of information right back to when I was really "wet between the ears" preparing for my first Outback experience.
With the help of forum contributors, that trip of 8000kms, mostly Outback tracks, went like oiled silk.
Without that help I am sure that my vehicle, camper tarile r& equipment preparation would hav eleft a lot to be desired, as my only prior off road experience was in the Victorian High Country.
Unfortunately, recently the forum has become a bit more like a chat room with opposing factions & too many OT posts.

I will most certainly join if it returns to the 'good old days'.

This is definitely the most comprehensive & informative site for both 4WDs & off road travel available, & for that I sincerely thank the site owners.
AnswerID: 331239

Follow Up By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 16:59

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 16:59
Ditto the "chat room" comment.

Some contributors appear to have no qualms in taking a thread off line and using it to exchange private conversations and "in" jokes and barbs, mostly harmless and often humorous, but somewhat annoying when your not part of the "in crowd" and having an interest in the original thread.

Perhaps the "Member Message" feature is the place for personal chit chat.

FollowupID: 599003

Reply By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 16:51

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 16:51
My two bobs worth!!!

In the main I have found the forum to be a great source of help for one who has trouble holding a spanner.

The sense of humour has also been great.

And yes I agree negative and rude remarks are not really needed on the forum. Its everyones choice to disagree but you don't have to off the deep end to make a point.

PS The fishing is terrible at the moment at Agnes Water...Yeh, I know,,,its a negative comment, but the fishing is, you know!

Regards Bob
AnswerID: 331240

Follow Up By: Member - Howard T (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 12:59

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 12:59
Try the southern side of wreck rock in the gutter early moning and late in the arvo. Can really turn it on sometimes.

Howard
FollowupID: 599189

Reply By: SPRINT-GTO - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 17:01

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 17:01
Totally agree with your sentiments David. I am not a member but a "watch & listen" type of person.
Have considered joining but put off by the persons who think it is funny to post smartarse replys to any reasonable question. These persons seem to have nothing else to do all day than sit in front of their computer and make their inane supposedly "smart replys" they also involve themselves in very poor & smutty "in jokes"which make no sense to anybody who is not in their little clique.
Fortunately the main offenders are in the minority and most on this forum do have some common sense and often go out of their way to assist others. Totally agree with what you indicated IF YOU DO NOT HAVE ANYTHING CONSTRUCTIVE TO ADD TO THE THREAD --STAY OUT OF IT. Think I have got it all of my chest now but been itching to say something for a while.
Will go back into my box now. Thanks for letting me express my opinion.
AnswerID: 331242

Reply By: Moose - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 17:09

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 17:09
Hello David and Michelle
It would be a huge injustice if a few spoil it for you. Mind you that's the way it always is isn't it? - the minority stuffs up a good thing and the majority suffer.
You've obviously put a lot of work into creating a unique and very informative site. Much appreciated.
For what they're worth here are my views on the forum:
(a) An increased level of moderation would be good thing.
Perhaps cropping out some of the useless OT posts would be a good start. Or limit them to a particular day, like you have with the Friday funnies (which I'll come to in a minute)
(b) When the members who know each other start toing and froing with inane "personal" comments it simply sucks.
(c) For what I perceive to be a family forum venue some of the Friday funnies are bordering on being "red card" posts. I suggest smut should be banned.
(d) Member v non-member - yeah well that one regularly raises its ugly biased head. Each can contibute worthwhile content. If I choose to miss out on the goodies that are available to members and remain as I am then members should respect my right to do so. David and Michelle do so surely members can too!
Cheers from the Moose
AnswerID: 331243

Reply By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 17:27

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 17:27
David & Michelle. I agree with most of what is said, but it takes all to make a world. No one should be rude on the Forum, and all should try to achieve this. What is wrong with an occasional joke though. I enjoy them I must admit. It is a bit lame if you can not take a tounge in cheek remark, if I make a typo I can laugh at myself, as others can, I do not mind. Matter of fact the joke in the thread was a ripper, the slanging after was what was ridiculous, and it all started with the thread submitter. All should read the forum ethics and adide as much as they can. Can you not just edit the comments that stray from these ethics (I suppose others would not see that as good, but it would suit me fine)? The remainder of the Forum had information that may be useful to others. Regards tony
AnswerID: 331247

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 17:47

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 17:47
Hi Tony,
I agree with you about editing the Post and no the whole thread.
I would like to of found out how they over come the problem.
A forum where they do that is Whirlpool, it is heavily moderated that way. Their Moderators are volunteers.
If someone posts off topic or it is a personal attack, well that post is deleted not the whole thread. Than the poster has the opportunity put their case before the Moderator as to why the post was deleted or they can edit their post and have it reinstated.
I fully understand that this would mean more man hours.

Just my two Bobs worth.
FollowupID: 599015

Follow Up By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 19:19

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 19:19
Tony,

We do have the ability to remove only certain parts of threads and this is generally how we go about things however in the case of the post in question the person who wrote it asked to have it and his profile removed from the system due to what I can only say was a very rude and totally unacceptable series of replies and followups. There was one reply of merit and I could go about pulling out all the rubbish from the post however as requested by the person who placed it we have hidden it from view.

As for editing of people's entries - We ourselves will not do this as it may create a legal loop hole in the fact that it has been edited by us thus possibly making us agree/condone the content - we will not place ourselves in this position - hence our moderation function is remove the section or thread.

We do however need to be alerted to threads that need to have action taken. We are currently looking at enlisting new and additional moderators and will be selectively asking a few people if they wish to volunteer for the task (there are rewards and benefits in doing this job).

Hope this answers some of your points.
DM

FollowupID: 599032

Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 19:52

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 19:52
David (DM) & Michelle (MM). Fair enough as I agree it was unacceptable. Shame the world has come to that though. Did not the person who started the thread throw the first insult after a very clever funny reply? Anyway done and dusted. Now we will move on. Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 599043

Follow Up By: Member - RFLundgren (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 20:26

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 20:26
I like many sat on the sidelines for quite sometime prior to becoming a member.

I totally agree that some threads can get right out of hand and off topic, which unfortunately is a symptom that many online forums suffer if not all.

As Jon mentioned, Whirlpool is a great example of a forum that is indeed pretty heavily moderated, and any offensive or totally silly and non relevant posts in a thread are hidden, and then notification sent to the person concerned. From there they can as Jon stated put their case forward as to why they posted what they did, and either get the post reinstated or they can edit it themselves and resubmit it for posting again, where it will reappear as long as it meets all of the sites guidelines and legalities.

In other words the original poster edits their post, not the site mods or owners.

David and Michelle, its a hard one to resolve to each and every persons satisfaction as I dont think you will be able to please everyone. Same goes for whoever is appointed to moderate, as moderation comes down to following the sites guidelines as well as that person interpretation of the offending post. A hard task indeed I suggest, although not impossible.

This is an awesome site and both Tracy and myself have gained so much excellent information, not just from the forum, but from many other parts of the site also. It is and has been for a long time now the most comprehensive travel site available for the type of things that we all love doing.

Lets try to get it sorted so that it makes people happy and so that they do indeed feel comfortable coming here, both to post and to read. Whether they be members of visitors is irrelevant. No matter what is done however, there is always going to be a very small minority who want to spoil it for the rest of us who take pride in doing the right thing, both in assisting other people who post here, or in seeking information that may assist ourselves.

Before people press that submit button, use the preview, read through the post, think about what you are saying and how it may or may not be interpreted, then and only then, if you are happy with it and feel that you yourself would not be offended by the content hit the submit button.

JMHO

FollowupID: 599052

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 07:00

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 07:00
Hi Richard,
The heavy moderation that Whirlpool has really helps it. I know some of their members complain bitterly about it, but it works.
It also works because in Whirlpool you attack the argument not the person, you don't make it personal.
I realize it is a huge job to moderate a site of the size of Whirlpool. They do have alot of Moderators.
18 Moderators,
19 Section Moderators,
3 Senior Moderators.
The reason for so many is they have many sections that need an eye run over them often and I would imagine that they would have people taking offense the smallest issues.
They also have members that come from many different cultural back grounds and they don't have a grasp of the English language which makes it hard sometimes..
Anyway iIt's a system that serves them well.

One thing that does suffer in forums from time to time is Humour, because what I find funny others don't and vise versa.

It also does not hurt to back down every now and then, and I can be guilty or this.

FollowupID: 599130

Reply By: Member - Bob V (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 17:38

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 17:38
It is about time some home truths were spoken by you David and Michelle, I hear comments about some of the rubbish that is not very complimentary to the forum. There are times when some of the contributions are right out of control and you do need to pull it back in line to ensure it remains worth while to belong to!!! It is not some private little chat room belonging to just a few. BobV
AnswerID: 331251

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 17:42

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 17:42
I presume the blocked post was about the 5" lift on the LandCruiser. Sadly the most useful reply was that he should go to another site - he posted exactly the same question elsewhere and got very good replies and was treated like a human being.

I was hoping this would come up - moderate and get rid of theforum bullies and abuse on Exploroz.

AnswerID: 331253

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 19:22

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 19:22
Hi Phil,
are talking about this Lcool
FollowupID: 599034

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 17:43

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 17:43

I reckon a little bit of Agro now and again is good, it helps the
Forum from Stagnating as it tends to do, every so often, I dont
like Name Calling ect, and the Them and Us Attitude is a Bore,
I love the Mine is Better than yours Syndrome, and you cant help
the Bad Taste some Members and Visitors have by owning
Toyotas, and Waeco Fridges ect lol lol. and alas every body cant live
in Queensland.

Daza
AnswerID: 331254

Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 18:52

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 18:52
Daza. They should never stop a good laugh - thats good for you. Not all needs to be serious. Like a talk between mates, you have a go sometimes and it is all fun. Its when someone takes it wrong the problem arises. Glad you have broad shoulders - you need it to steer that Nissan. ;-) Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 599029

Reply By: Rod, Sydney - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 18:18

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 18:18
Hi DM & MM.

Thanks for highlighting this - everyone needs to be reminded occasionally.

The whole site would be less useful without the forum and the site would lose significant traffic volume. I personally don't mind flicking past inappropriate comments but the wider community demands a certain level of moderation. We'll support whatever actions you need to take.

Rod, Perth

AnswerID: 331257

Follow Up By: Member - DOZER- Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 19:02

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 19:02
I second you Rod...One can never please everyone all the time....yes, we all sometimes need reminding to pull our head in...but i think the visitors should have a long think about their reasons for not wanting to pay to be a member....its a gr8 site, with wealths of information and insight.... i appologise up front if my opinion urks you and you choose not to join....but the opinions of the few is a pretty lame excuse for not opening your wallet.
FollowupID: 599030

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 18:33

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 18:33
All forums are equal...................but some are more equal than others.
AnswerID: 331259

Reply By: Dave Thomson - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 19:04

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 19:04
Said it many times, nothing is gained by jumping on people for asking a genuine question, all it does is put them off asking anything again, and yes David your spot on about the member non member issue, there is a definite trend here that if your a member your "more entitled" to your say than any one else, hope the non perpitrators dont take offence at that remark but I believe thats part of the issue, unfortunately theres some folk who believe thier always right and anyone elses opinion is stupid, what they fail to realise is there are MANY who read the threads not just the guy they are having a pop at..........
sorry for the ramble,
AnswerID: 331263

Reply By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 19:11

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 19:11
Not before time David & Michelle...I find it interesting seeing so many names not often seen on the forum, in reply to this post. Thank you...and now I shall go and renew my membership which is due.
Maybe your bottom line should be at the top of each new post.

Fred.
AnswerID: 331266

Reply By: didiaust - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 19:15

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 19:15
I belong to a few forums , travel, cruise etc and there will always be the insulting contributor who can hide behing a nom de plume and a keyboard. Agression will always be present on forums and some moderators are very strict and never tolerate inappropriate behaviour, they simply bar or ban for a period.

I work with someone who was not game to ask questions on a forum for fear of attack. She returned from a trip and posted a report and received so much feedback and thanks. I wanted to jump on and say we almost didn't get any report because of her fear.

Many bullies just want you to bite back and it must frustrate them to no end if you reply nicely rather than resort to a session of dispute and insult.

Many posters must be drunk when they put fingers to keyboard as they certainly couldn't be that insulting sober.

When we are not able to see body language it's hard to judge a persons reaction to a comment we might write.

This is a wonderful forum and I like to contribute where possible and I have learned to ignore the insults and smart ass comments.

AnswerID: 331267

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 19:29

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 19:29
Hi didiaust,
"When we are not able to see body language it's hard to judge a persons reaction to a comment we might write"

You've hit the nail on the head.
Also, when commenting on a subject it is often hard to judge the audience that will be reading you post at the time. Those that use this forum come from all walks of life and back grounds.

Hmmm must think before I type. :)
FollowupID: 599036

Reply By: Member - GREENDOG - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 19:29

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 19:29
I didn't see the post{wish i did} but talkin about putting your foot down David must of been bad.cheer's GREENDOG

AnswerID: 331270

Reply By: Moggs - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 19:44

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 19:44
Finally something has been said! Have been a member since 2002 and this is my first post in yonks. I have watched this forum degrade over the years thanks to a minority that think they run the joint and use the place as their own chat room. I hope the forum returns to what it used to be, a great conduit of knowledge sharing, and then I won't have to think long and hard when the renewal comes up later this year. I will watch with interest to see if this thread has any impact.
AnswerID: 331276

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 21:44

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 21:44
Kerry,
We owe you and Nat a well overdue invitation.

We've been up to our elbows business wise .

No excuse, but give me a call 0411 874406 aqnd we'll arrange it.

Kindest Regards,

FollowupID: 599079

Reply By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 19:54

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 19:54
I think the worst thing on this site is the nasty bully response to a question from an innocent new poster .

A guy the other day posted that picture of the mud hole map of Australia.

Here was a guy, probably fairly new to the Forum and he wanted to contribute something.

I new he was going to cop it, so I tried to head it off and said the picture was excellent but had been posted a couple of times already.

But it didn't help. Someone still came in with a nasty post that must have crushed the guy.

I think we all have to be more understanding in situations like that.

Willie.
AnswerID: 331279

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 21:11

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 21:11
A most poignant comment Wilie.

FollowupID: 599066

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 19:57

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 19:57
Ok...Ok.....
Ill take the blame.
It was me.
I was the one who said...
"Toyota patrol Hahahaha"
and in turn were called...
"a stupid moron" for my lack of consideration.

Firstly.....
David and Michelle,
I appologise for not using more consideration to this persons fellings , at that stage it was never meant to cause offense.
Just a bit of fun.
I had no idea it was going to turn into this and regret any problems it may have caused your buisness. Im sorry

But......
There are a lot of people on this site that enjoy pulling the proverbial out of each other...its a bit of a mateship thing....It used to be the Australian way?

With a site this big and the diversity of people you get, there will always be arguments that get heated. So maybe a moderator wouldnt be such a bad idea?
But doesnt it take two to tango?
If someone doesnt like the thread they could always just click the mouse......
I think the do gooders who come in at the nearly ended heated debate and throw in comments like settle down you idiots,...you are a bully,...you always do this...etc etc are as much to blame as they keep it going and even fire it up.
All people are different and some find things offensive that others dont. If you are a person who get offended easily, say so, most people will appologise.
As for the boys club thing......
If I was a sensitive person Id feel on the outer now! Does that make the majority of ( dare I say) non-members jumping on the band wagon now a boys club?

Lets just move on...
Anyone for a group hug??
( that is members, non-members, males, females and anyone I may have left out)

I retract all ( except the appology) the above comments if anyone found them offensive.

Luv Ya
Hairy
AnswerID: 331281

Follow Up By: Off-track - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 20:07

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 20:07
:-) <---- in 1/72 scale
FollowupID: 599047

Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 20:28

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 20:28
Hairy. They say a owner looks like their dog, if thats the case I will give the hug a miss ;-). Takes a big guy to back down from a fight and a bigger one to apologise. Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 599053

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 20:32

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 20:32
G'day Hairy,
You're quite right in a lot of things you've said.
I recall a funny thing that happened on here one time that made me laugh.....

Some of you may be aware that (former) Member-Lucy and I are good mates. However, not everybody knows/knew that. On this occasion, a relatively new member ("Bucky", who is also a good mate of mine) took offence to Lucy calling me all sorts of names etc. I think Bucky sent Lucy a member message telling him to leave me alone cos I was a good bloke.....

This is one of the problems....when people start bagging each other, some 3rd party can't possibly know the story behind the other people; so they need to butt-out. But, in hindsight, the only way to avoid any unpleaseantness is for everyone to be nice to each other and if you can't say something constructive/nice, don't say anything (and this goes for the toyota v nissan type of debate as well).

FollowupID: 599055

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 20:59

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 20:59
Well said Hairy,
You can't take all the blame,some of us have to shoulder some as well, Myself included.
Roachie,
I know what your saying, A member here and myself have been mates for awhile now and he loves nothing better than to hang it on me as thick as he can. I've had people ask if I was ok with what he has said or done. It's all good.

Maybe, some kinda moderation from long time members, or from some that feel they would be willing to to the job.

Something to think about.
FollowupID: 599063

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 21:18

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 21:18
Sorry Roachie,
I meant to include Nissan, Toyota, Waeco and Engle owners in the hug.

Jon,
Do I take that as a hug?...A bloke type hug that is!!! LOL

I cant detect your tone of voice Off-track so Ill say thanks to make sure.

and

Tony!!! Are you calling me a dog or ugly! LOL

I fell that good Im going to change my avatar ( or what ever you call it)

And David....Im not trying to take away from the seriousness of the matter just lighten it up. ( you and Michelle are invited too)
FollowupID: 599068

Follow Up By: Off-track - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 21:43

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 21:43
lol. There was no tone mate.Well maybe a tinge of respect, in Ali-G style.
FollowupID: 599077

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 21:52

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 21:52
Yeap ;)
FollowupID: 599084

Follow Up By: NeilT - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 23:38

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 23:38
Nice new avater Hairy.

But I think I liked the Eureka Flag better.
FollowupID: 599106

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky, the "Mexican"- Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 04:52

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 04:52

When I said that, I was just kidding ( hehehehe )
And Lucy give it to me a bit, when I did meet him.
But taken in good faith, and that was the end of it.

Pity some people get really fired up, or that some people get on here with an agenda to stir the pot. But alsa I too feel that there needs to be a little more control, but in a forum with such a huge following, how can you check everything.
I take my hat off to David & Michelle, great work fellars.

ps hope that makes sence, this early in the morning ?

FollowupID: 599127

Reply By: Flywest - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 20:19

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 20:19
As a rule, I don't pay to join web forums.

Thats because theres no guarantee you'll get what you paid for.

It may take just ONE "mooderator" having a bad hair day - who is a radical lamd rights for gay whales supporter and doesnt agree with yourt politics and you banned- money gone and no refunds.

To me thats outright theft - as a result i madeapolicy never to pay to join forums.

I run my forums for free & dont see why others can;t do likewise.

Thats just my opinion born of experience, I equate it too:-

If you don't want a punch in the jaw - don't lead withyourt chin!

Sory of this runs counter to forum policy - I consider any forum without worthwhile content to be dead - hence good contrinutors make a good firum.

That should be payment enough for the forum owner IMHO.

Obviously others have divergent opinions on this matter - all l ask is that we agree to disagree and move on - remaining civl.

I don't think I was a contributor to the thread in question.

AnswerID: 331287

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 20:55

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 20:55
All popular forums need moderation at times. Given the differing backgrounds and experiences of the contributors, why would this forum be any different? The sooner, the better.

Post 62718 was a train wreck in slow motion. It was only ever going to go one way - down. Glad I stayed right away from it, for a change :)

AnswerID: 331300

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 20:56

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 20:56
I understand your frustration David. You have built a wonderful and unique web site. The information available is fantastic. You have a real quandary. The forum brings a lot of regulars to the site, some of whom then contribute to the overall value via topics, blogs and places entries (to mention a few). They also add value by sharing experience and knowledge via the forum.

Some of us (and I am one) also use the forum as a form of entertainment; a replacement for TV (not hard to beat that these days) and to some extent, human contact.

The forum and its contributors add real value to the site. It also detracts and in some cases turns away potential members or regular visitors (almost as important as members in some respects). I've sometimes thought 'why do you bother with the forum', but of course without it, the site would lose a great deal of it's appeal and value.

I've been a member for a few years. When I'm at home, I visit the site on most days. When away travelling, I visit on average a couple of times a week (often via mobile broadband). But in the past 12 months or so, I post much less. I've never been seriously abused, but I've read some stuff I regard as seriously objectionable and unacceptable. Very early on, I tried to intervene in some of the nonsense, but quickly learned that normally has little effect and can often just give the protagonists another excuse to post their vitriol. On a couple of occasions I've used feedback to alert you to particular threads. Now I generally just ignore it and don't return to that thread.

I have also developed a short list of posters to ignore. If I see a thread started by them, I rarely open it. Sure I might miss some good threads, but I think the process serves me well. If I come across them elsewhere, I ignore them and rarely read their posts.

At its best, this forum is a wonderful place. Great and generous people, with wonderful information and experience. At it's worst, it is a nasty place with battling egos and bleep contests that just turn me off.

My late dad used to say ' If you have nothing good to say, say something intelligent. If you can do neither, say nothing at all' Good advice. In this more modern age, something I have tried to drum into my kids (now grown), is 'Don't say anything in chat rooms, SMS etc that you would not be prepared and happy to say face to face with the other person'.

As you know, moderation is a fine judgement call. Allowing healthy and informative debate, but seeking to prevent personal abuse and offensive posts. Something I have seen work on other sites is a 'sin bin'. If someone breaks your 'code of conduct', you ban them from posting for a week. Second offence maybe a month. Third offence gone for good. How effective is that? Can they just re join using a different name? Well you would know the answer to that better than me.

In an ideal world, enough of us would just ignore the offensive posters and they would end up talking to themselves (or each other), but their posts would still be part of the history and character of this site. In an case, this is not an ideal world.

A long winded post I know - and doesn't say much. But I got to have my say, and hopefully did not offend anyone in the process.

Keep up the good work David and Michelle. It is appreciated and worthwhile (though it might not always seem so).

Norm C

AnswerID: 331301

Reply By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 21:53

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 21:53
I never read the post but nothing like putting it straight David and Michelle.

Can I just say one thing that there are the odd few on here that are out to push buttons (and Ill emphasis that a few could be just 1 or 2) and I for one really hate because when you see that they have replied you know they are out to cause issues and say things that are totally unneccessary) that especially when it gets to the point that alerting the moderator gets a reply of "we'll look into it".

Im one for "idle chit chat" but we all are at the best of times I guess, and this is more so with the non / members that are regulars that know what can be said and not said to each other.
But like someone said - body language is not visible and makes it hard for those who we dont know so well.
I know what Kev or Willem (and Bucky too for that matter) is saying for example and I can picture his facial expressions as if he was talking to me....but say...moose or footy..not so much coc I dont "talk to them as much. We just gotta take it easy....

Everytime my membership is up for renewal I question doing it and Ive only been a member for nearly 3 yrs, although I know that if I dont it makes it harder to research travelling stuff! (not that Im travelling much now anyway and if I do its only to the shops!)

Thanks for the reminder to behave ourselves....

AnswerID: 331326

Reply By: troopyman - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 22:27

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 22:27
I know i have been guilty of some useless replies so i will try to only give 4x4 related meaningful replies from now on .
AnswerID: 331335

Reply By: Member - Royce- Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 00:16

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 00:16
I often trawl about looking into other sites. None match this. Even WITH the negative inputs.
My membership is a gesture really. No other aspects interest me mutch. I sometimes look at the Trader section.
The Forum is very special in its structure and comradery.

A bit of a 'pulling into line' is certainly nice to see, but still it's a good place to be most of the time... lurking or joining in.

People who haven't joined because they don't like a few nasties..... join and change the mix!

Cheers Royce
AnswerID: 331350

Reply By: Motherhen - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 01:37

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 01:37
David and Michelle

I think with all the responses above (i haven't the time to read all the comments) that you have the support of the majority of members and contributors in what you have said today.

ExplorOz is the best forum i visit, for both information sharing and entertainment - some really interesting, witty and talented people here. I have had some real laughs at the wit and would not like that to go - even if these hilarious posts are not high on information value. People who post happy and witty posts are telling us all something about themselves - all good. People who post unpleasant words are only saying something about themselves and showing their true colours to all the world.

I choose what posts to read and which to leave. While i believe in the principals of free speech, i have in some cases used the alert moderator button, and even got cranky and snarled just a bit in a reply.

Since returning from four months holiday, i have noticed a bit more of the unpleasantness so i totally support your moderation; just let the thread or offending section disappear and if you see it fit, block the poster, although he is doing more damage to his (being generic his/her) reputation that to your business or to other forum members and contributors.

Keep up the good work.

ExplorOz enthusiast

AnswerID: 331354

Reply By: GET ON ! - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 07:58

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 07:58
Yes, David and Michelle. First of all I cannot recomend explor oz high enough to other people...It is my number 1 site most nights. However when I posted a thread ,the responses Questioned my mentality, driving style,holiday planning,etc... I simply wanted a response to give me an indication to what the problem might be.. I wish you both the best of luck controlling the situation.
AnswerID: 331363

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 18:13

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 18:13
I would encourage you to ask again, and dont be dissuaded by the naysayers and rubbish.

FollowupID: 599457

Reply By: Richard W (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 08:13

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 08:13
As a member of this and a number of other forums they all seem to have a blow up once in a while. Those that have non nonsense moderators seem to suffer less. After warnings the perpetrator/s is/are sent to the sin bin for a while.

Whilst I believe forums should be uncensored there is a big difference in playing the man rather than the ball.

My skin has thickened over the years on forums and I just let smart comments go through to the keeper.

I love the content on this forum as it is invaluable when planning big trips.
The owners have my support in how they manage it.
AnswerID: 331364

Reply By: The Landy - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 08:51

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 08:51
Congratulations to David & Michelle on taking this position to protect their investment of money and time……the biggest thank-you we can send them is to respect what they have given us!

This site is unparallel in terms of a resource for travel information, trip planning, trips, market place and forum for exchange of views and ideas. And there is no doubt that this has come at great cost to the Exploroz team, both measured in financial terms and the time they have committed to giving Australia this great resource.

As a community of four-wheel drivers each and every time we get into our vehicles we will be judged by the broader community on the way we conduct ourselves. Much the same can be said about this forum.

And bear in mind that it is a resounding endorsement of this site that people come here to ask a question or seek help; it is important we show them they came to the ‘right’ place whether it be their first or 100th time. The reason it is so good is that we have people contributing with a wealth of knowledge across almost any subject you would care to choose.

Tolerance, an understanding that others may differ in opinion and politeness, that’s all it takes…..

Thanks David & Michelle and all the team at Exploroz!

Baz..The Landy
AnswerID: 331373

Reply By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 09:12

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 09:12
Thank you David and Michelle for raising the issue. Maybe a cathartic thread?

I too get a sense that the tone of this forum has been shifting recently and the number of replies to this thread from 'non-regular' contributors and names I haven't seen on the forum for a while, would indicate that others think so as well.

My concern with some of the aggression is not so much whether it puts people off signing up (although I appreciate its importance), but I wonder how many people (members or not) have something great to contribute but are put off posting for fear of the response. I would hate to think that someone has a gem of information or the exact answer to a question gained from hard experience but sits on it rather than risk ridicule or abuse. Even worse I hope that fear of asking the 'dumb' question doesn't turn itself into a serious accident or a SAR case. If it did you could be guaranteed that someone would post about it and we would all shake our heads and wonder, "what those people were thinking?"

I don't kid myself that my knowledge and contributions are enough to stop the world, but like Roachie and some others on this thread, my response has been to avoid posting in recent times even on those (rare) occasions when I might be able to help.

My opinion only, but it would be great if we could try to remember what the site and forum are about. Like many, I set my forum page up in order of most recent comments. It is pretty disappointing to watch a great trip report slide quickly to page three and beyond into archive oblivion, while 'discussions' on photography of naked children, gun laws, walking the dog and real estate prices get over a thousand hits and keep their top billing on the first page for ages. Important topics in their own right, bit it just makes me wonder where the focus of the forum is at times.

No way I am letting my membership lapse, winning a prize (thanks guys) and the discount on the Tambo have paid for it for many years to come. But like many I suspect, the tendency will be to become an observer rather than an active contributor. No loss, many of you will observe :-)

Welcome back to some of the names we haven't seen for a while, I hope you all come back off the sidelines and onto the field of play, your contribution might be the one that saves my day or helps to keep my family safe when travelling.

AnswerID: 331375

Follow Up By: HappyCamper - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 17:49

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 17:49
Matt, imho, you've hit the nail on the head in suggesting that the aggression shown is putting people off as I'm one of those people and recently I've emailed a couple of replies direct with not even a 'thank you'.

A few months ago I asked a question and was slammed by the testosterone charged regulars which confirmed this is a boys only club? I'm an (Aussie) moderator on a US based camping group and there is NO way we would permit that kind of sexist behaviour, in fact there is NO sex discrimination in our group...pity the same can't be applied here. Just look at some of the sig lines, they tell a lot about people.

David & Michelle, thanks for raising this issue which I've felt like doing myself but knew it wasn't worth the effort. Might I suggest that you consider female moderators as that might give the group more balance, at the moment this is not happening.

It's not easy being managers/moderators sometimes!
Bronwyn ;-)

FollowupID: 599235

Reply By: Member - Paul Mac (VIC) - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 10:10

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 10:10
Obviously this thread has struck a nerve because I can't recall seeing this many responses.

I for one must say that I have thoroughly enjoyed becoming a member of this site.

I have learnt so much from both the information contained within the site and information responded to in the forum. I haven't been abused in any of my forum questions (touch wood) but then again, I try to respect everyone when reading or replying to threads. I have also saved many dollars from forum responses.

I'm not an expert when it comes to travelling and off roading and don't profess to be however, I will try to give any information I may have if and when suitable questions are raised. I know there can be some people who appear to thrive on antagonising others at times but I merely race over these responses and get to the information and learning experience.

Please don't change the site because of a minority. Too many things are changed in this beautiful country we enjoy because of a minority.

Happy camping and happy posting.

AnswerID: 331388

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 10:53

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 10:53
Ok Paul,

Just so you don't feel left out.

YOU'RE UGLY :-)

FollowupID: 599165

Reply By: OzTroopy - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 10:47

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 10:47
David and Michelle .....

Its your site, and a good one at that ... run it how you want.

I know I'm guilty of responding to antagonists in kind, so I'll hang my head in shame along with rest.

Missed the deleted thread tho I think. If it was about suspension mods ... as a general point ... Why shouldnt someone post it on this forum ???. The more 4wd forums you post a question in, the more chance of getting some useable info. There might be a "towing" reason for not doing a particular suspension mod ... What better forum than this one to learn it from.

A while back, From ThreadID: 57709 ( covering much of this threads points ), I provided a suggestion .....

>> AnswerID: 304631 Submitted: Monday, May 19, 2008 at 02:28

>>Perhaps, what might be useful on this forum too, is a monthly thread which can be used for drivel and banter. Have seen >>it work well elsewhere.

The thread as suggested above could be a free for all thread which was deleted monthly. It could also serve as a chat facility ... which I believe is a nescessity ... on this forum. Additionally, comments about other posts could be brought up in the free for all thread, instead of ... and without affecting the original thread. e.g. " Did you see someone posted up that 'bleep' mud puddle again " ( I think its a great photo btw ... lol )

Many of the members and non-members are known to each other ( obviously ) and use this forum for regular contact. Hardly surprising, when you consider that without this forum, that aquaintance or friendship might never have occurred. Also a lot of people are linked because of what the forum contains e.g. vehicles, hobbies, locations, destinations .... attitudes ( LOL ) etc.

I do see a need for a campfire carry on facility as private messaging to one member is not the same as eliciting a response from the group.

Blue Box for comment ... Orange Box for replys ... perhaps a test of this proposal might be in order ????
AnswerID: 331398

Reply By: slammin - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 14:09

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 14:09
It's funny to see this thread as i very seldom visit anymore and gave up any idea of becoming a member years ago.

The forums fantastic number of replies means it is very hard to find something relevent as the posts get scrolled back to old pages.

I can't use the search effectively. I type in "best landcruiser suspension" and i get pages of anything that refers to one of the terms. That's why newb's post "stupid" questions and then get flamed for their efforts. If I go to a different forum I can easily see where the suspension topic is and bingo - I've found it and i'm happy.

If I want OT's and soapboxing i'll go down to the pub, get a taxi or open up my spam folder. I don't beleive you'll ever get rid of it - that's why forums have sections.

FWIW you as a company ARE judged by the people you hang out with. And if that's a good ol' boys club and their soapbox then....

Best of luck. I wonder if it'll be different next year when i pop in to see what's going on.
AnswerID: 331421

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 18:18

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 18:18
Maybe you should come back more often and be part of a wave of change

FollowupID: 599459

Reply By: Redback - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 15:47

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 15:47
Couldn't agree more David very well said and i hope you succeed, Me, i started out as a member on this site, Baz (NSW) I used to orginise forum gatherings, i even orginised the first National Gathering at Birdsville and the first NSW gathering at Bendethra, i used to love this forum, one of the reasons i didn't renew my membership was the constant jibes and abuse from asking questions about the vehicle i owned at the time (Ford Explorer) i just got sick of it, (it's only funny the first 100 times) so when i got the Landy (that's Land Rover not Cruiser) it was on again, i don't rib people about their car, so why do it to me.

I don't ask for advice on here anymore, for anything, i go to product specific forums now.

I mainly surf it now and add a comment when someone needs it.

I'm a paid member of AULRO, THAT WILL DO ME.

Personnally i don't think it will change, but hey, ya never know.

AnswerID: 331435

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 16:26

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 16:26
The jibes about vehicles are somewhat tiresome, I ought to know, having owned a Terracan and now a Ford Courier.

After a few trips in the Terracan (in particular one where the Jerry Can flew up a greasy hill that made a Troopy with lockers struggle severely) the jibes stopped.

Any way, I believe the motor in my Courier is the same V6 used in the Explorer. Anything to watch out for?

FollowupID: 599218

Follow Up By: Redback - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 07:51

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 07:51
Jim, it's a different motor to my old Explorer, i believe yours is pretty much the same as the Disco 3 and new Explorer 40L V6, so far they have had no problems.

FollowupID: 599372

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 08:01

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 08:01
Thanks Baz,

That's reassuring. I've had it for nearly a year and had planned to dump it at the end of the three year warranty.

It's a bloody good ute, and if there are no issues with the engine, it may just become one of those cars you keep forever and drive into the ground.

Jim

FollowupID: 599375

Reply By: Pete Jackman (SA) - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 18:15

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 18:15
Good on you David,

I am another one who posts a lot less to the forum these days. As much as I have enjoyed the forum in the past and have benefitted from the information thereon, I am very tired of the rabid personal attacks by a few and have decided to let my membership lapse when it next comes up.

My last post requesting info had only one response from someone with relevant knowledge and a lot of drivel from people "warning" me about the rash decision I was about to take based on their opinon of a vehicle that they had never owned.

Pete
Any mug can be uncomfortable out bush

AnswerID: 331481

Reply By: ob - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 19:09

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 19:09
David & Michelle

Well done, I congratulate you on your post. The follow ups and replies seem to tell a story all of their own. Not one (well with one exception) has come from the group that IMVHO are the main perpetrators. Many however from grateful contributors that may have not felt comfortable about the response from this ratbag minority and therefore have held back for some time.

Best wishes
ob
AnswerID: 331493

Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 20:39

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 20:39
ob. If we all refrain from making negitive comments then there will be no ammunition for use of. If you read your response it starts off great then puts fuel on the fire. Just pointed it out because in most threads that go ballistic these are the comments that fuel it. Just a thought Cheers Tony.
FollowupID: 599290