What NOT to do at Toll Booths Please!!!!!!!!!

Submitted: Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 20:04
ThreadID: 62848 Views:4240 Replies:13 FollowUps:30
The first few sentences of this was actually a reply to Andrew, but then it turned into me having a whinge at all the idiot drivers who just don't have a bloooody clue! So please read this and use your brains when coming through the tolls.

If we had turn around areas you know the amount of accidents we would have!!!!!! the typical turn around is take the next exit and make 2 right turns to bring you back onto the other side of the motorway. If you are heading eastbound ( some call it north bound) towards the gateway bridge we have an emergency vehicles and maintenance vehicles turn in the median strip. My God if we told people to use that! picture it?? the very first lane you have to cross is the free flow lane, and then cut across all traffic. You wouldn't believe the incredibly dumb and downright dangerous things people do. The worst one, and I mean seriously, are people really lacking so much common sense these days, which they obviously are from what I see everyday..
Etoll free flow lane.. is a non stop lane and 60km as you come through the plaza.. now of course 60km is never done, everyone come through at 80-100kms.
We sit in the booths and watch it.. a car is coming through.
"Oh no, I have gone thru the wrong lane, they are gonna fine me, crap, how do I get out of it?"
So while traffic is hurtling towards them at 80-100km per hour, they decide that the next action to take because they are in the wrong lane is to REVERSE! YEP!!!!!!!they reverse all the way back up the Etoll lane, (and by this stage you have got trucks slamming on the brakes and horns), and then once they have gotten before the concrete barriers start they then cut straight across 3 lanes of traffic!!!!!!. I mean, COME ON!!!!!!!!!
How can people be so dumb!? They then get all upset and wonder why we then go off at them, My God, cause they do not see the things that we see, They are not seeing the truck half run over a vehicle because that vehicle slams on the brakes, oh no I'm in wrong lane, without thinking that there is a truck coming along behind them at 80 odd kms an h

Or some one goes thru the free flow.. "oh crap wrong lane, I better pull over to pay for it." they then proceed to Park their car on the right hand side of the free flow lane, directly after coming out of plaza, then proceed to walk across 4 lanes of traffic (Hello, you are in the middle of a freeway!), come to booth and say I was in the wrong lane, MY GOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! or the other beauty, is they slam on the brakes, trucks now near ontop of them, they quickly jump in the left lane, stop and get out of their vehicle, leaving it parked there and come to the booth...
HELLOOOOOOOO what lane is to the left of the free flow??? the automatic lane!!!! they park their car, and walk away... mean while you have a vehicle that is in the auto lane, puts money into the machine, boom goes up and What the? he can't go anywher cause a D head has parked there, in the middle of a freeway!!!!!!!!
MY GOD PEOPLE GROW A BRAIN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
If you end up in the free glow lane DO NOT STOP! you are in the middle of a freeway! just keep driving and ring Queensland Motorways Customer Service.
Right.. feel better now...

Reply By: NeilT - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 20:11

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 20:11
Wow Jo!
Understand where you're coming from but please don't blow a valve. We need you toll guys.

They're getting rid of them from the Sydney Harbour Bridge and I'm most P****d off!
AnswerID: 331681

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 20:17

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 20:17
Too right ! I need my cheerful "good morning" when heading out bush at 2am :))
FollowupID: 599496

Follow Up By: Miss(an)Jo - Toad Keeper (Bris - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 20:18

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 20:18
Yep they are getting rid if us to!

You got a job for me as of July 1st next year.?
Tonight will actually be very interesting on the plaza, (have just started my days off so won't see it) they are putting up the Gantry which is what will hold all the sensors at my plaza tonight. (Kuraby)
FollowupID: 599498

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 20:28

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 20:28
JO

hearin' ya on the reverse thing.
its something ya dont need when trying to pull up 44 ton of truck knowing its either the toll booth, the car or cook them brakes to pull up.
FollowupID: 599503

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 20:29

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 20:29
Footy, footy....footy....when was the last time you were out of the swag & heading bush at 2am? :-))))
Fred.
FollowupID: 599504

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 20:38

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 20:38
Fred. About 12 months ago now. But the memory is as fresh as if it were yesterday.
How about you ?
FollowupID: 599511

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 25, 2008 at 09:49

Saturday, Oct 25, 2008 at 09:49
Much the same mate. Last trip was 12 months ago, but have been up to our bush camp at Coonabarabran a few times since. Up there for 2 weeks in Sept. & probably again in a couple of weeks.
Cheers from Fred.
FollowupID: 599592

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 20:16

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 20:16
And the signage on the motorway indicating the E toll lane couldn't start further back and on both sides of the lanes ?

I didn't know Qld motorways had such a number. Maybe I should ring them and suggest it :))

AnswerID: 331682

Follow Up By: Miss(an)Jo - Toad Keeper (Bris - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 20:24

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 20:24
Yeh I agree, you come into the plaza and you see (well even then, half the people don't even look at the signs, and notice red means closed, green means open) but yeh as you are coming into the plaza you can see the signs so most people get into the appropriate lane, but if they had signs also say one kilometre or so back people (those who don't know the plaza rules) could prepare themselves earlier.
FollowupID: 599499

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 20:33

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 20:33
Miss Jo,

It didn't happen to be a NSW plated 4by was it??
Manufactured by Mitsubishi ;)

AnswerID: 331686

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 20:37

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 20:37
KEV

now that you mentioned it........ i think it was a red 4wd. cant remember the no. plate tho :-(
FollowupID: 599509

Follow Up By: Miss(an)Jo - Toad Keeper (Bris - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 20:38

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 20:38
Hehe, that is mean!

Seriously, the amount of times it happens in a day, every single day!
If it wasn't for the skill that the truck drivers have of knowing how to handle their trucks there would be so many more accidents, and then it would be the truck drivers who have to live with knowing they have run over someones vehicle and killed them inside it,l even though it wasn't their fault to begin with.
FollowupID: 599510

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 20:42

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 20:42
JO
thanx for seeing it from our office. i wish more people would see what we see from "up there" in the cab,cheers.
FollowupID: 599513

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 20:43

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 20:43
Jo,

I take it you made it home OK after picking up my precious cargo for me??

FollowupID: 599514

Follow Up By: Miss(an)Jo - Toad Keeper (Bris - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 20:57

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 20:57
Mark it is trying to make the d heads see it from your point of view. I make a point of always saying to them what about the trucks behind you, have you any idea?

Yeh I got home at 11am Kev, shower and straight into bed for sleeps.
FollowupID: 599520

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 21:26

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 21:26
Jo
So the tolly's are going eh, When Dad was in Trucks it was my favorite moment, I knew what the structures were and would hang out the drivers window for a treat, and when I got one I was so pleased, I havn't had that for a very long time now as Dad has EToll and don't stop, and we don't have Tolls up here ,

Dusty

AnswerID: 331703

Follow Up By: Miss(an)Jo - Toad Keeper (Bris - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 21:30

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 21:30
Down here we still have an etoll lane where Dad can stop... now if he did you would get big pats off me just like all your other furry friends who hang out of the window to say hello and wag tails to me.
FollowupID: 599535

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 21:35

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 21:35
Hey Jo
Bugger him, do I get a pat too ...... little mongrels been at the PC again I see while I was out,

Doug

FollowupID: 599536

Follow Up By: Miss(an)Jo - Toad Keeper (Bris - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 21:42

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 21:42
Yes Doug! I am the friendliest TC of them all so I am always told!
I'd look out, Dusty is gonna be more pc literate than you one day!
FollowupID: 599539

Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 21:36

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 21:36
That'll teach me for asking a question again. LOL

Thanks for the insite into such a great job. You must see the odd (and very odd) situation develop.

I mentioned to the bloke as i was paying manually (etoll on my 4wd only) that i took the wrong turn and he was happy to help me with what to do. I have no problem doing the 7kms down to Logan Road to turn around, as i was out for a drive for the day (suppose to be going on the Mt Lindsay Hwy off of Logan Mway heading west).

It's good to see everyone wants to check if their vehicle really does do 0-100km/hr in 6.8 seconds after the tolls. sheez, i was "challenged" to a drag 3 times along these 3 motorways. i politely declined LOL (actually i would probably lose all the time, as the vehicle is not designed for speed)

Thanks to the guys on the booth for being so friendly and helpful.

AnswerID: 331704

Follow Up By: Miss(an)Jo - Toad Keeper (Bris - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 21:40

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 21:40
about what time? did you go thru the inside manual lane?
FollowupID: 599538

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 21:46

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 21:46
Wednesday actually...2-2:30pm or so, small sporty BMW hatchback - blue.

Went on outside manual lane (male) IIRC and back South on possibly outside lane (female)...wasn't there only one manual lane open going South??

FollowupID: 599540

Follow Up By: Miss(an)Jo - Toad Keeper (Bris - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 21:55

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 21:55
Trying to work out who served you, pretty sure I know who it was on shift then, tall guy, losing some hair, when he talks he is very hard to understand!? If it was after 2pm, then definately him because it was a shift change at 2pm.
FollowupID: 599542

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 22:04

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 22:04
Sounds like the guy....maybe middle age +

FollowupID: 599543

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 22:05

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 22:05
Oh well come July you could get a job with BT and drive a bus around all day and get a good view of the idiots that will do anything to get past you.

After 4 1/2 years of it am going to retire at Xmas and swap a bus for a caravan and probably the same will happen.
FollowupID: 599545

Follow Up By: Miss(an)Jo - Toad Keeper (Bris - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 22:17

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 22:17
Yep that is him Andrew. He is a mumbler when he talks and is so hard to understand but he is a nice guy.. has himself a new girlfriend since his divorce so none of us have been able to wipe the smile off his face!

Graham do you come through my toll?
FollowupID: 599546

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 25, 2008 at 08:37

Saturday, Oct 25, 2008 at 08:37
I dont come thru very often and only in the Croozer.

Work between Caboolture and Bribie in the bus.

Couldnt stand working in the city Im afraid, the drivers are bad unuf up here.
FollowupID: 599582

Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 22:56

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 22:56
You know Jo, I've put a lot of thought lately into the evolving stupidity of the human race and I've developed a theory.

I blame Occupational Health and Safety for the ever increasing stupidity of people.

In the natural world lions eat dumb wildebeast. When we lived in caves lions also ate dumb humans.

Once the industrial age kicked in BHP etc. replaced the humble lion in keeping the gene pool clean.

Now days OH&S is going out of its way to protect dumb people thus allowing them to breed and perform the sort of stunts you are observing at toll booths.

Just my tongue firmly in cheek 2c worth!

I do agree with you, human stupidity knows no boundaries!

You do realise this is how Billy Connelly became a millionaire, he mostly talks about his life growing up in Glasgow.

Jo and life in the Toll booths, a path to millions!

AnswerID: 331718

Follow Up By: Miss(an)Jo - Toad Keeper (Bris - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 23:12

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 23:12
You know I think you might have something there Geoff!!

"Jo and life in the Toll Booths".. I love it, but then I would end up losing my millions because one dumb D head would get offended for me calling it as it is and I would then be taken to court and sued for slander, racism against different breeds of drivers, swearing in public, then he'd probably get me so hot under the collar I'd get charged with assault for helping him to shut his mouth.
FollowupID: 599555

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 23:31

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 23:31
You could try my defence,

I was mucking around at work a few years ago, can't even remember what sort of sheite I was even speaking.

One of the women I worked with at the time jokingly said to me, "I could take you to court and sue you for sexism"

My answer, "Go for it, you're welcome to my mortgage"

So, let the buggers. What's the worst that can happen?

They'll win your mortgage?

FollowupID: 599562

Follow Up By: Miss(an)Jo - Toad Keeper (Bris - Saturday, Oct 25, 2008 at 09:40

Saturday, Oct 25, 2008 at 09:40
Oh they are more than welcome to my mortgage!!!!!
FollowupID: 599589

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 25, 2008 at 09:10

Saturday, Oct 25, 2008 at 09:10
They're just trying to do the right thing and spend their $3.00 wisely Jo. Enjoy your days off

AnswerID: 331749

Follow Up By: Miss(an)Jo - Toad Keeper (Bris - Saturday, Oct 25, 2008 at 09:44

Saturday, Oct 25, 2008 at 09:44
Days off?! yesterday morning was the end of night shift, then days off started. I only ended up getting 2 hours sleep yesterday, the phone rang at 10.50 last night, some one had passed out can I go do their nightshift? I was totally stuffed, but I did ask them to throw my some extra shifts over my 5 days off. so done 8 nights so far (see if I get called tonight). worked 6 hours, getting paid for 12, plus meal plus travel. I'm bleep tered but I asked for it with going to Adelaide so I am not going to argue if they can throw me some more shifts my way!
FollowupID: 599590

Reply By: Philip A - Saturday, Oct 25, 2008 at 09:58

Saturday, Oct 25, 2008 at 09:58
The Gateway Bridge is nothing like the Harbour Bridge.
2 I have seen
One morning -peak hour , 3 large tipper trucks are running down in the 6th lane from the left into the tunnel citybound.

The leader decides sh1t I need to get off at the North Sydney exit.
Three trucks stop, then cross 6 lanes and 2 medians to go down the LH exit. Nobody hit them. It was amazing as it is an 80Km zone and traffic goes 90-100 when not banked back.

One afternoon I am driving Northbound across the bridge through the toll booths. Car in front stops, then does a U turn on the bridge back towards the city. Again nobody hits them.
I sometimes think these people are blessed "Blessed are the stupid"
Regard sPhilip A

AnswerID: 331754

Reply By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Saturday, Oct 25, 2008 at 09:58

Saturday, Oct 25, 2008 at 09:58
here Jo...something for you....

AnswerID: 331755

Follow Up By: Miss(an)Jo - Toad Keeper (Bris - Saturday, Oct 25, 2008 at 15:20

Saturday, Oct 25, 2008 at 15:20
We had this one woman, she was aiming to go into the auto lane (money in basket), did the typical bend down to fumble for coin and not watch where she was gong , She looked up, realized she was off course of the lane and heading toward the side concrete barrier, panics, foot on accellerator instead of break, her vehicle manages to go up the side concrete barrier, flips her over onto the roof and she ends up in the auto lane, completely on her lid!
(and her money flew out the window, happily landed in the basket and the boom went up for her to drive out!!)
OK that last bit didn't really happen!!!!!!!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 599659

Reply By: Philip A - Saturday, Oct 25, 2008 at 10:01

Saturday, Oct 25, 2008 at 10:01
The Gateway Bridge is nothing like the Harbour Bridge.
2 I have seen
One morning -peak hour , 3 large tipper trucks are running down in the 6th lane from the left into the tunnel citybound.

The leader decides sh1t I need to get off at the North Sydney exit.
Three trucks stop, then cross 6 lanes and 2 medians to go down the LH exit. Nobody hit them. It was amazing as it is an 80Km zone and traffic goes 90-100 when not banked back.

One afternoon I am driving Northbound across the bridge through the toll booths. Car in front stops, then does a U turn on the bridge back towards the city. Again nobody hits them.
I sometimes think these people are blessed "Blessed are the stupid"
Regard sPhilip A

AnswerID: 331756

Reply By: Flywest - Monday, Oct 27, 2008 at 00:53

Monday, Oct 27, 2008 at 00:53
What is this Toll you speak of?

My old dad (Rest his soul) was right - we SHOULD have seceeded from the t'othersiders & dug that ruddy creat canal down the WA / NT & SA Borders, filled it with water and mounted the beaufort guns!

I've a feeling him and HRH Prince Len of Hutt River mightta been kin. ;o)

He was deadly serieous - seeing those outhouse dunnys built in the middle of a freeway....kinda proves it (how can it be free if you have to pay to drive on it - another typical t'othersider oxmoron!).

My ol Granpappy was right! (mighty mighty Pleasin - granpappys corn squeezins!). LOL

Well in West Orztraylia, way back in the hills
Me and my old pappy had a hand in a still
We brewed white lightnin' 'til the sun went down
Then he'd fill him a jug and he'd pass it around
Mighty, mighty pleasin, pappy's corn squeezin'
Whshhhoooh . . . white lightnin'

Chorus:
Well the "G" men, "T" men, revenuers, too
Searchin' for the place where he made his brew
They were looking, tryin to book him,
But my pappy kept a-cookin'

--- Instrumental ---

Well I asked my old pappy why he called his brew
White lightnin' 'stead of mountain dew
I took a little sip and right away I knew
As my eyes bugged out and my face turned blue
Lightnin' started flashin' and thunder started crashin'
Shhhoooh . . . white lightnin'

Chorus:
but my pappy kept a-cookin'

Well a t'other sider came and he said "I'm tough"
I think I wanna taste that powerful stuff
He took one g-g-glug and drank it right down
And I heard him a moaning as he hit the ground
Mighty, mighty pleasin, pappy's corn squeezin'

Chorus:
but my pappy kept a-cookin'
Whshhhoooh . . . white lightnin'...

God I'm glad we do things different out west!

AnswerID: 332037

Reply By: Waynepd (NSW) - Monday, Oct 27, 2008 at 10:54

Monday, Oct 27, 2008 at 10:54
This is useful information Jo,
I can see how you would get frustrated at the antics of drivers who get it wrong and sympathise with you. But you are talking from the perspective of one who deals with the rules and regs of the toll system everyday.

I almost never use toll roads, avoid them like the plague they are. I could not tell you where any of the M Roads around Sydney go to. From the traffic reports i hear on a regular basis on the radio they aren't worth the 2 minutes they save. I have heard of things called Etags but wouldn't have a clue how to use one and never intend to.

Therefore as one who uses toll roads very infrequently, i am not fully aware of the etiquette, regulations etc and when you are hurtling along happily then all of a sudden find some toll booths in front of you, there really isn't any time to read signs, digest and react accordingly.

AND I am a city dweller, can you even begin to imagine how George and Esme from Upper Kumbukta West who just sold the cattle station and are heading to the big smoke for the first time in 40 years would react. Surrounded by impatient city folk rushing to or from work, while he navigates his brand new 200 series battleship and bushtracker along trying read and decipher cryptic signs strewn along the last 50 metres before the toll booths have to be dealt with?

Confusion only just begins to describe it.
AnswerID: 332086

Follow Up By: Miss(an)Jo - Toad Keeper (Bris - Monday, Oct 27, 2008 at 23:08

Monday, Oct 27, 2008 at 23:08
Oh yeh I can totally understand what you are saying Wayne...
But it still comes down to common sense... you do not stop on the road in the middle of a freeway with 4 lanes of speeding cars and trucks, and decide to get out of your car and dodge all those speeding cars and trucks crossing up to 4 lanes of traffic to knock on a toll booth window and say I was in the wrong lane what do I do?
FollowupID: 600086

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 28, 2008 at 00:25

Tuesday, Oct 28, 2008 at 00:25
Yeh you're right....you don't do that....LOL
FollowupID: 600102

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Oct 27, 2008 at 12:26

Monday, Oct 27, 2008 at 12:26
Jo, thanks for the reminder about why I love living in the bush. My trip to Sydney 12 months ago was stressful nightmare as the boys had been asking me to take them over the harbour bridge on our way from Broken hill to Ulladulla to visit Annette's parents. As I drove from Richmond towards the coathanger, my blood pressure must have been going through the roof. I was gauking around trying to see the signs about what lane I needed to be in, but it's abit hard when they use terms that I didn't know the meaning of (like "etag"....... WTF is "etag"????? I was thinking/asking Annette). Anyway, I thought I'd done pretty well and had managed to get across various lanes of traffic and found the appropriate toll booths as we went along. But I must've missed one somewhere, cos I got a bluey in the mail when i got home to SA......

Strewth I hate cities!!!!!!!!! Any town that has traffic lights is a place I try to stay away from!!!!! hahaha
AnswerID: 332112

Follow Up By: Miss(an)Jo - Toad Keeper (Bris - Monday, Oct 27, 2008 at 23:13

Monday, Oct 27, 2008 at 23:13
What doesn't help is it isn't until you come into view of the toll booths that there is the signs above the lanes telling what each lane is, stating whether it is an etoll/etag (prepaid toll and you have a transponder in your car which the sensor picks up and reads as you drive through), automatic lane (putting your money in the basket) manual lane (cash only change given).
They need to have those signs, above the lanes at least a k or 2 back from the booths, that gives people the chance to move into the appropriate lane.
FollowupID: 600089