Brisbane Show

Submitted: Saturday, Oct 25, 2008 at 20:29
ThreadID: 62882 Views:3276 Replies:8 FollowUps:18
I went to the Bris. c/van & camping show today they say grab a bargain at these shows but i am always sceptical as i think they inflate Prices to make up for all there work to do these shows & granted they do put the effort in.
Well i was looking to put the 'Bargain'into practice & done a little home work on the 'Adventure Tray Top Camper'.It took a little bargaining but i ended up getting it for $3 grand less than there normal price.
So it goes to show (no pun)that if you do the home work & stick to your guns it can happen some time.
So i will be a happy little camper now.
It was not an easy decision to decide on the tray back as i was looking at c/trailers,small c/vans & this tray top.There was a fair bit of compromise in the desicion but i should be happy with it.

Cheers Bob.

Ps The compromises because the wife does not want/like to travel so it will be on my own until she changes her ways.;(

Reply By: Member - Cookie & Di - Saturday, Oct 25, 2008 at 20:53

Saturday, Oct 25, 2008 at 20:53
Happy camping we love our camper. We just have to be very organized as once we set up that's it we can't move. Which is very nice at good camp spots.
AnswerID: 331860

Follow Up By: Zukscooter - Saturday, Oct 25, 2008 at 21:18

Saturday, Oct 25, 2008 at 21:18
Thanks C&D.Youv'e got the where we park it so very right.'Enjoy'

Cheers Bob.
FollowupID: 599719

Reply By: Borgy.. (SA) - Saturday, Oct 25, 2008 at 21:32

Saturday, Oct 25, 2008 at 21:32
G'day Bob

What sort of vehicle are you putting it on?? and do you have the ability to remove it easily once camped, or is it a fixture??...I have been thinking of getting rid of my camper trailer and getting something like that to go on the back of the Patrol, but l would want to be able to remove it once camped....Thinking it might be easier to tow the boat around instead of the hassle of having to put it on the roof of ute or on top the camper trailer, my boat motor is starting to be a bit to much for me to handle on my own...

Cheers......Borgy
AnswerID: 331873

Follow Up By: Miss(an)Jo - Toad Keeper (Bris - Saturday, Oct 25, 2008 at 22:32

Saturday, Oct 25, 2008 at 22:32
Are you putting it on the F250 Bobby?
FollowupID: 599736

Follow Up By: Zukscooter - Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 09:03

Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 09:03
Borgy,am putting on 2005 F250.It should pose no problem to put on take off as it has wind up legs.It will not be a fixture,will take it off when i need too.Do reseach as they (tray tops) have some options on what you can carryon them but as you say tow the boat would be a lot easier,at this stage i am not into boats or fishing but that could change once i start moving around.
Cheers Bob.
FollowupID: 599776

Reply By: Member - Bob & Lorraine S (NSW - Saturday, Oct 25, 2008 at 21:35

Saturday, Oct 25, 2008 at 21:35
See the matchbox is for sale-whew-you had us worried there for a while. Let us know when/where you are on the road-your turn to cook breakfast
Yabby Bob and Rogeraine
AnswerID: 331874

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Saturday, Oct 25, 2008 at 22:12

Saturday, Oct 25, 2008 at 22:12
Where are you guys these days? hope your having lots of fun.

All the best Bruce and Annie
FollowupID: 599732

Follow Up By: Zukscooter - Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 09:06

Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 09:06
Yabbob & Rogeraine,you were worried about what? Where are you now? Hope you like Baked beans & toast.Hahaha
FollowupID: 599777

Reply By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 25, 2008 at 21:48

Saturday, Oct 25, 2008 at 21:48
We headed to the big smoke today looking at vans ready for the big one. While down there we found out about the show and went. The clouds were threatening. We have to go with out the shower and toilet to achieve the off road triple bunk that the poor old girl is allowed to tow. Seriously considering the Coromal as they didnt hit us with the big if you dont buy it today you will have to pay an extra 7 grand Monday.
Decide tonight.
Sharon
AnswerID: 331878

Follow Up By: Zukscooter - Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 09:16

Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 09:16
Hope you will be happy with your purchase if you go ahead.
Cheers Bob
FollowupID: 599779

Reply By: Miss(an)Jo - Toad Keeper (Bris - Saturday, Oct 25, 2008 at 22:34

Saturday, Oct 25, 2008 at 22:34
OK Bob I don't get it,
"the wife don't like to travel or want to"...
so what about the winnie days? (you still got that or sold it?) what about the camping trips at Imbil etc?
AnswerID: 331885

Follow Up By: Zukscooter - Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 09:20

Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 09:20
Nothing to get Joey she tried to but it is the passenger time & not relaxing time & the emtiness of the outback.Not to worry.
Cheers Bob.
FollowupID: 599780

Follow Up By: Miss(an)Jo - Toad Keeper (Bris - Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 09:24

Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 09:24
Oh Bob that is a shame...
Oh well, travelling on your own, you can stop and go when and wherever you want!!!!!
Give me the empitness of the outback!
SERENITY NOW.. SERENITY NOW!!!!

(that is off Sienfield if no one knows)
FollowupID: 599782

Reply By: rumpig - Saturday, Oct 25, 2008 at 23:34

Saturday, Oct 25, 2008 at 23:34
was thinking of going for a look tomorrow, do you know if anyone was there selling Maxtrax?
AnswerID: 331893

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 25, 2008 at 23:43

Saturday, Oct 25, 2008 at 23:43
No didnt see any but we made a bline to the vans. they could have been there.. We got ours from ARB.
Take a hat.
FollowupID: 599746

Follow Up By: Miss(an)Jo - Toad Keeper (Bris - Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 06:55

Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 06:55
I was looking at them but they are nearly 500 bucks!!!
Heck if Tom Kruze and others of the outback used sheets of tin, I reckon I could come up with something from around my yard for way under 500 bucks!!.

Have never been bogged yet but have helped out one on Fraser and I grabbed the rubber floor mats out of the front of the car.
They did the job just as good and are a heck of a lot cheaper!

FollowupID: 599756

Follow Up By: rumpig - Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 08:29

Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 08:29
don't know where $500 comes from, RRP is just under $300, actually $295 from memory. i've been to fraser plenty of times myself and up until this year never been bogged either. this year i got bogged twice, once my fault the other the fault of an impatient motorbike rider who pushed infront of me and then got bogged himself on the return from sandy cape.
the time it was my fault i was getting off of the barge towing my caravan running 25 psi instead of should been around 18 - 20 psi. i lowered my tyres to 16 psi and borrowed the maxtrax from the manta ray barge guys, once i'd cleared a tiny bit of sand i chucked the trax under and then just drove straight out. same with the other bogging only i wasn't running high tyre pressures or towing the van, i was at the bottom of 2 hills, one behind and one in front in super soft sand, i used a mates maxtrax to easily get me out. maybe car mats might have worked, but with the caravan on the back i doubt it.
FollowupID: 599770

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 08:38

Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 08:38

We do a lot of Beach Driving, even tow the Van up Teewah Beach
a lot, rarely have been bogged, but just for a bit of Insurance, I take
a Roll of that Orange Barrier Mesh, the type that Councils use
around holes ect, just roll a bit out or you can double the thickness
if you want, so easy to drive on.
FollowupID: 599771

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 08:45

Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 08:45
DAZA

a plumbers ingenuity.............brilliant :-0)))
FollowupID: 599772

Follow Up By: Miss(an)Jo - Toad Keeper (Bris - Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 08:54

Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 08:54
It was in the 4wd action mag, they were around 480 bucks.
FollowupID: 599775

Follow Up By: Zukscooter - Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 09:22

Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 09:22
Rumpig no & not looking for them.
FollowupID: 599781

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 21:52

Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 21:52
Bogged me. Glad I didnt pay that much. Just over 200 for us. We havnt used them yet.
FollowupID: 599874

Reply By: rumpig - Saturday, Oct 25, 2008 at 23:50

Saturday, Oct 25, 2008 at 23:50
thanks anyhows, saw them at last show on sale abit cheaper so thought i'd use it as an excuse to go and look around. free entry makes it abit more worthwhile, i've got somewhere else i'd prefer to buy them from first before i give my money to ARB.
AnswerID: 331895

Follow Up By: P7OFFROAD Accredited Driver Training - Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 08:20

Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 08:20
Just in case that 'someone' is me...

I will have more stock in three weeks ;-)
FollowupID: 599769

Reply By: Rossc0 - Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 10:24

Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 10:24
Great price Bob.

We've had ours for 3 months and it's been great.

Absolute luxury having a king sized bed compared to the old tent.

Ross & Belinda
AnswerID: 331943

Follow Up By: Zukscooter - Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 11:08

Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 11:08
Ross/Belinda glad you are enjoying what i am about to encounter.
I will look like a midget in the K size bed but at least i will be able to streeeeeeeeeetch out a little. Lol
See you around.Bob.
FollowupID: 599803