Submitted: Monday, Oct 27, 2008 at 21:57
Kiwi & "Grenade"
thought Id use something other than the
forum for once, so I checked the whether for home - Nowra....
I also noticed that the highest for january was in 1970 something at 43 degrees....thought I would update that for you.....49.7 (in the shade) january 2006.....
havent noticed any other temps that need updating......but havent had a good look though
so how about your town???
Laura
Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Monday, Oct 27, 2008 at 22:14
Monday, Oct 27, 2008 at 22:14
I have the WEATHER forcasts as part of my Personal Bar on Opera
Laura. I have other wise to decide whether.......
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Monday, Oct 27, 2008 at 22:19
Monday, Oct 27, 2008 at 22:19
...... then being a Kiwi, you can decide whether you and the wether, being dependent on the weather of course.
Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Tuesday, Oct 28, 2008 at 05:44
Tuesday, Oct 28, 2008 at 05:44
whether or not what the weather is doing John I always decided whether or not I will check the weather!LOL!!
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 28, 2008 at 08:07
Tuesday, Oct 28, 2008 at 08:07
G'day
Laura, I hadn't gone to the [Weather] button before but the information isn't quite right according to what I know locally either. I prefer to actually get specific information and apart from the weather map, a lot of the information is historic.
I guess sometimes I speculate looking forward to might be from a different modelling point of view. Sometimes the more speculative
10 day outlook sometimes the BOM, Elders or Weatherzone.
I guess I look to things that affect our income day to day going forward and have a habit of too many years. LOL
Pity you and Nathan couldn't come down
the Pyrenees gathering. Jonty would enjoy the interaction and the tracks.
Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Oct 28, 2008 at 08:19
Tuesday, Oct 28, 2008 at 08:19
You just want your flag back John LOL
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Tuesday, Oct 28, 2008 at 10:57
Tuesday, Oct 28, 2008 at 10:57
I dont have the flag Kev....! King Toad does remember!
Anyway, I use the new sunrisewweather for updated stuff, so much easier to nav my way through that than BOM...thats a nightmare that website!!
Yeah shame we couldnt get down, uni is on the verge of finishing for the yr and Nathan is flat out working at properties like Alan Jones's, Jimmy Barnes's old place etc in Moss Vale , MAYBE next yr, but who knows!!
Reply By: Member - Footloose - Monday, Oct 27, 2008 at 22:37
Monday, Oct 27, 2008 at 22:37
I couldn't find any max temp in whatever year ??
Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Tuesday, Oct 28, 2008 at 05:45
Tuesday, Oct 28, 2008 at 05:45
hold the cursor over the temp for the month (ie I held it over highest temp for Jan) and it will show up the details there....
Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Tuesday, Oct 28, 2008 at 05:49
Tuesday, Oct 28, 2008 at 05:49
Many thanks :))
Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Tuesday, Oct 28, 2008 at 05:50
Tuesday, Oct 28, 2008 at 05:50
up early this morning footy!! I know I am...!!
Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Tuesday, Oct 28, 2008 at 05:55
Tuesday, Oct 28, 2008 at 05:55
Yes, but hopefully not for long. 2am finish last night. Time zone differences mean that this morning I have to be up early to see if son in Europe is online...he's not.
Reply By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Monday, Oct 27, 2008 at 22:38
Monday, Oct 27, 2008 at 22:38
Laura,
Good checking - thanks I will have a look at why this has not reflected the high temp you mentioned. This information is meant to auto update each month. I best check that the history data is working correctly. I will run the update manually tonight and lets see what it says tomorrow.
DM
Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Tuesday, Oct 28, 2008 at 05:47
Tuesday, Oct 28, 2008 at 05:47
No worries, its good having that little button..!!
thanks
Laura
Reply By: aceman - Monday, Oct 27, 2008 at 22:58
Monday, Oct 27, 2008 at 22:58
Hi, I'm just an occasional visitor.
If you have a closer look Nowra RAN Air Station closed in 2000.
Meaning - No longer are the observations taken pysically (by a person). The data is collected every 30min (real time) by an Automatic Weather Station. This info is readily available, and you can look at both the Lastest info or Daily info for Nowra.
Doesn't answer your question (with respect) re the highest temp,
but in lot of instances there are differences just like yours.
BoM doesn't have instuments in every city, town or suburb.
Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Tuesday, Oct 28, 2008 at 10:52
Tuesday, Oct 28, 2008 at 10:52
I dont think it shut, my friend is the beuro person out there and she is still working there...
Follow Up By: aceman - Tuesday, Oct 28, 2008 at 19:11
Tuesday, Oct 28, 2008 at 19:11
Sorry didn't mean "closed" per se.
Highest Nowra max (8yrs 2000 to date) recorded was 45.1 on 30 Jan 2003. Superceding that date (yrs 1942 - 2000) highest recorded was 43.1 on 9 Jan 79.
I believe Nowra is staffed by it own Navy Meteorological personel
and not Bureau staff. Web page doesn't list Nowra as being an official Met Field Station.
If in doubt, then ask your Bureau friend.
If I am barking up the wrong tree - then I stand corrected.
Reply By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Oct 28, 2008 at 10:22
Tuesday, Oct 28, 2008 at 10:22
Laura
The system only sort of half works , for example I like to know the weather forecast for
seymour in Vic , but if you click on it you don't get a forecast , let alone a detailed one.
Most people I think, need to get a rough idea of at least a week ahead and hence go elsewhere.
Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Tuesday, Oct 28, 2008 at 10:54
Tuesday, Oct 28, 2008 at 10:54
I wasnt after a detailed forecast, just having a poke around and had my cursor over the highest temp in jan and the details came up, and htats when i noticed the date, thats all.
I know its not suppose to be a full on forecast of things - just gives averages like it does with rain etc...
Follow Up By: Member - John D (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 28, 2008 at 11:20
Tuesday, Oct 28, 2008 at 11:20
Hi Robin, for long range forecasts I have downloaded the weather zone tracker which sits on my desktop for easy viewing, it can be downloaded from this site...
http://www.weatherzone.com.au/
Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Oct 28, 2008 at 11:47
Tuesday, Oct 28, 2008 at 11:47
Weatherzone is good but I have not appreciated the usefulness of the tracker.
Thanks and it looks like we had better get out the muddies for this weekends 4 day holiday.
Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Tuesday, Oct 28, 2008 at 15:49
Tuesday, Oct 28, 2008 at 15:49
Hey
I've been trying to install weatherzone- but when I put in my location- it says 'No data found' . Not that this is a small place- we even have a Bureau weather base here. Even when I put in
Sydney- still says No data found !!
Any ideas ??
Follow Up By: Member - John D (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 28, 2008 at 19:11
Tuesday, Oct 28, 2008 at 19:11
Hi Signman, have you succeeded in getting the weather zone forecaster to appear on your desktop? If so, right click on it and then select preferences and then type your town/suburb in the "location/postcode" section & click ok, a possible list of locations will appear, select the one you want and click ok again.
I can't exactly remember what I did during install/setup, but it's worked fine since.
Follow Up By: aceman - Tuesday, Oct 28, 2008 at 19:19
Tuesday, Oct 28, 2008 at 19:19
But it does give a fairly comprehensive District Forecast
(includiing a
Seymour precis)