Tassie West Coast

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 28, 2008 at 10:51
ThreadID: 62978 Views:3160 Replies:5 FollowUps:3
We are going from NSW to Tassie from 22/12/08 to 9/1/08 and planning a 4wd trip clockwise from Devonport. Have the Chris Bowden 4wd trip book and the Topographic Maps of Tassie. Is all I read abour the west coast trip to Sandy Cape that tough. I have been about 45kms south of Arthur River a couple of times but never had any problems.
We are travelling alone in our GU Patrol Ute with a 3Dog Roof top camper, winch, front and rear diff locks, 4" lift kit and all the recovery gear. Plus the tinnie etc etc. Done plenty of beach driving over the last 30 years, bush treks and rough terrain trips. The quick sand worries me a bit. Can anyone give me some tips on ideas on what to look out for. Have been stuck in soft sand pleanty of time and alsways able to get myself out one way or another. Any advice would be great. Regards John
Life isn't about how to survive the storm, but how to dance in the rain!

Reply By: austastar - Tuesday, Oct 28, 2008 at 14:02

Tuesday, Oct 28, 2008 at 14:02
I think Sparks & Wildfire recommend at least 2 vehicles.
Water flowing up under the sand will cause quick sand, I have seen it bog earthmoving equipment.
AnswerID: 332327

Follow Up By: austastar - Tuesday, Oct 28, 2008 at 14:02

Tuesday, Oct 28, 2008 at 14:02
Oops!
Parks and Wildlife
FollowupID: 600174

Reply By: Crackles - Tuesday, Oct 28, 2008 at 15:29

Tuesday, Oct 28, 2008 at 15:29
John when we did the trip in Feb it was not unlike the sand driving around robe & Beechport in SA, not too hard but had to be careful in places. Depending on tides & rainfall, crossing streams that run accross the beach can be treacherous & has taken many experienced drivers in the past. Locals have said at times one needs to wait for the waves to recede then follow the wave out, cross the creek on the firm sand, then race back in before the next wave breaks :-) Some beaches are completely inundated at high tide leaving you nowhere to go should one get caught too far down.
For us the trip to Sandy Cape was relativly easy as it was a dry season & favorable tides but past the cape it becomes more interesting the further one goes & is a matter of how game you are. It's one of the few places in Oz I wouldn't travel alone.
Cheers Craig..............
AnswerID: 332335

Follow Up By: Member - John M (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 29, 2008 at 07:27

Wednesday, Oct 29, 2008 at 07:27
Thanks Craig, they are words of wisdom and I don't want to lose my truck and gear and its a long walk back to my mates place at Smithton.

I will take it steady and only go through if the conditions are safe and could possibly tag along with some other people through this area. I love Tassie and have been there several times but mainly in 2wd and done the tourist thing. This time we want to circumnavigate using as many off road tracks as we can and this area is the only place that gives me some concern about travelling alone. Are there any other areas that I should be concerned about. Regards John

FollowupID: 600286

Reply By: Member - Duke (TAS) - Tuesday, Oct 28, 2008 at 19:34

Tuesday, Oct 28, 2008 at 19:34
John M,
Being born & bred on the Far NWCoast of Tassie, Sandy Cape and as far down as the Pieman River was our playground for 40 years.
Personally i would not attempt the the Sandy Cape beach to the Pieman on my own unless you are prepared to lose your 4WD.
Have been down the beach and it was like a Hwy and 3Hrs later on the return it was low range battleing all the way.
Crackles is spot on what he said. If you get caught down near the water in quick sand and you are on your own its game over unless there is someone there who knows what they are doing to get you out quick smart before a Bull Wave hits you side on and when it rushes back out to sea will more than likely take you and your 4WD with it.
See if you can tag along with someone as its a great area of Tassie down there.
DUKE
AnswerID: 332390

Reply By: Member - John M (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 29, 2008 at 07:38

Wednesday, Oct 29, 2008 at 07:38
Thanks for your advice Duke. I don't want to lose the truck and my gear. My mate in Smithton has built a new shack down near Jack's shack somewhere although I haven't seen it yet. his daughter lives at Arthur River alll with 4wd's. I am trying to convince him to come with me but it's pretty hard to prize him away from his beer and lobsters. I guess I will have to see what the conditions are like when I arrive. I want to go down the west coast and come out at Zeehan and then on to Strahan. I have just received the topographical maps and trying to plan the trip. Coming from the west coast do you have any suggestions. We have done the tourist things in Tassie and want to explore and enjoy as much of the wilderness as possible. We are totally self sufficient and except for fuel and a few supplies don't even really need to go near a shop. Unfortunately we have only 18 days so its travelling and exploring each day, camp the night and move to the next adventure each day. Regards John

AnswerID: 332445

Follow Up By: Member - Duke (TAS) - Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 22:46

Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 22:46
John M (NSW)
Sorry with the slow reply but we are on the road at present and i only get online a couple of times a week with my wireless internet.
Yes Smithton is where i was born and bred and i think your mate has built his shack at "Jack Smiths Boat Harbour" by the sound of it.
When you say you want to go down the West Coast and come out at Zeehan and onto Strahn the only way you can do that is by travelling down the Western Explorer and crossing the Pieman River on the Fat Boy Barge at Corrinna. That is a good trip with plenty to see, you could detour into the old mining town of Balfour not far past Temma Harbour.
If you are thinking of following the Coast all the way down you would have to organize a raft to take you across the Pieman at the Heads.Not advisable unless you were with a group that new what they were doing.
Had a couple of mates that did it quite a few years ago with a group and they had friends on the other side of the river that made a raft out of 44gal drums and towed it across with a boat with there 4WD balancing on the deck of the raft. Said it was the scaryiest ride they ever had and they were West Coast Cray Fisherman.
Regards DUKE
FollowupID: 600950

Reply By: Member - John M (NSW) - Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 08:39

Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 08:39
Thanks for the advice Duke, I think I will give the raft a miss at this stage as I am not that desperate to lose my truck. My mate and his son are now going to come with me down to Sandy Cape if the weather and conditions allow. I will take your suggested route as it sounds safer.
I am looking forward to this trip and just wish I had more time.
If you were born in Smithton you would know my mate, Dave Jenkins, his dad was the baker for many years and Dave is a well known plasterer. Likes a few too many beers sometimes but is a really good bloke and we have known each other for about 25 years, he was my next door neighbor in QLD and then came back to Tassis about 20 years ago. His shack is opposite the harbour where there are a couple of fishing boats up on slipways.
I hope you are have a great time in your travels and I look forward to being able to do this in a couple of years. Kind regards John

AnswerID: 333312