Power to your van at home

Submitted: Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 10:13
ThreadID: 63138 Views:5272 Replies:13 FollowUps:24
Having a new van and first time owners. We want to run the fridge at home but obviously having 15amp connectors in the van and 10amp in your home is there a legal way to get an adaptor. How does everyone cope with this?

Reply By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 10:28

Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 10:28
G'day Bob. My van is stored in front of my shed and I have a 15 amp outlet on the power board in my shed and simply plug the van into it. Depending where you park your van, get a eleco to instal a 15 amp point close by, (Can be an external weather proof type). I have an adaptor, 10amp male/15amp female, which I keep for emergency situations only, but they are are illegal.
I always power up the van a few days before setting out, to get the fridge cold and the freezer stored and frozen.
Fred.
AnswerID: 333113

Reply By: Best Off Road - Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 10:29

Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 10:29
Most people simply wire a 15 amp female plug onto a normal 10 amp power lead. Given that your fridge only _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx .73 of an amp it is quite safe. To be 100% safe plug the lead into a power board with a 10 amp circuit breaker, then if by accident extras are turned on in the van which overload the lead, the circuit breaker will be triggered.

Some will say it is illegal, I've never seen the law on this, not even sure it exists.

AnswerID: 333114

Follow Up By: Member - Keith C (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 11:35

Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 11:35
G/day Jim, I agree.When we plug the genny into the van when camping this is always the case,is it not? I have never had a problem,the overload switch on the Honda takes care of it .

Regards,Keith C
FollowupID: 601001

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 13:08

Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 13:08
Hi Jim,
The rulings of legality on electrical equipment are covered in the relevant Australian Standard.

For us in the electrical game AS3000 is the bible.

FollowupID: 601012

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 16:31

Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 16:31

I can't access that document on line, so I'll ask you. Does it specifically deal with this i.e. is it really illegal or is it urban myth?

FollowupID: 601028

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 11:46

Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 11:46
Hi Jim,
No urban myth that one, it is illegal.

Worse so for someone like me to do it as I have a licence, qualifications and prior learning that says I should know better!

It would come under at least two standards, AS3000 for the fixed wiring end, (the home and the caravan park) and one other that covers caravan and motorhome type internal installations.

I can't remember the AS number for caravan and motorhome stuff and don't have a current copy here as I've not touched anything like that for years.

FollowupID: 601187

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 12:31

Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 12:31
Hi Jim,

I probably should have added,

Many years ago the installation in new caravans and motorhomes was required to be inspected by a Certified Person. No idea on the current requirements. As I stated above I've not touched anything like that in years.

Once the Certified Person was happy that the installation met the relevent Australian Standard they would affix a sticker somewhere reasonably prominent to announce to the world the installation was as per the AS.

Caravan and Motorhome gas installations also come under another Australian Standard and have a similar certification regime as well. (If done by the book)

Basically anything electrical has somewhere a relevant Australian Standard. If you aren't sure which one applies you can always pay Standards Australia to make a ruling on the question. The ruling can be a bit of a waste of time as it is non binding on Standards Australia and it's up to you to prove you interpreted the standards correctly.

Hope that lot helps,

FollowupID: 601204

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 13:12

Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 13:12
Thanks for your time Geoff.

I am always sceptical about "bush lawyers" on forums telling us that a given action is illegal. The advice of a suitably qualified individual is another matter entriely.

I do recall when we bought a new van 3 years ago it did have a gas fitters certificate, but I don't recall an electrical one.

FollowupID: 601214

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 13:27

Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 13:27
Hi Jim,
Your new van may not have had any form of electrical certification sticker attached.

As I said, that was a long time ago. What is most likely happening now days is some form of type approval held by the manufacturer.

There's one thing experience tells me, the Australian Standards are growing and getting tighter. They are also throwing the onus for getting the interpretation correct back onto the installer.

FollowupID: 601217

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 10:32

Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 10:32
Very easy one this, run an extension cord to the van, unplug the fridge from it's socket and connect it to the extension cord.

There has been a lot of posts on the subject over the last couple years, you might find additional info in the archives

AnswerID: 333116

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 10:35

Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 10:35
Of course.

The easiest solutions are often overlooked.

FollowupID: 600990

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 10:58

Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 10:58
That's OK if you only want to power up the fridge. If you need to power up the rest of the van, visitors for e.g. you still need to connect the power supply.

Fred.
FollowupID: 600993

Follow Up By: Steve - Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 11:20

Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 11:20
ha - never thought of that one - I've made a 10/15 amp power cord up, which, as Fred says, has it's uses, but still.......

........duh

FollowupID: 600996

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 11:29

Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 11:29
Fred
Leave the visitors in the dark,

I don't know what the fuss is about really, it runs the same Toaster, Jug, light bulbs, etc as what is used in the house sometimes connected to a power board with a 10amp pin, these power boards with 4 or 6 outlets have an overload trip built in, what's wrong with connecting one of those between the shed Power point and the van, ie plug van lead into power board, plug power board into mains socket...????

FollowupID: 600999

Reply By: time waster - Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 10:34

Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 10:34
File down the earth pin or change it to a 10amp as suggested.

AnswerID: 333117

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 11:15

Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 11:15
Not only is this against the law but it is plain dumb ! Wonder what your insurance comany would say in the event of a claim ?

FollowupID: 600995

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 12:52

Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 12:52
Every thing we do is against the law there is always some one telling us that. We filed ours down 10 years ago. Were only running the 12v lights and fridge before we head out isnt that all the fella wanted to do.
FollowupID: 601011

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 14:31

Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 14:31
Yeh, I broke the law too but did so by fitting a 15 amp female socket to the end of a normal 10amp extension cord. In fact I've done it twice. The second one is only a couple of feet long and was originally the power feed cord to some other (dead) electrical appliance. I use these 2 leads to operate the 240v in the camper trailer (to run an Engel fridge and a battery charger ONLY) and the same with the Patrol (ie: Engel and battery charger ONLY).

While I'm in the mood for confessing to my major crimes, I've also filed down the earth pin on my little inverter welder. I also confess that I did the wiring for the 240 volts in the cargo box of the patrol MYSELF using a caravan-style flip-up socket, going straight into a double GPO via 2 circuit breakers ,....one on active and the other on the neutral cable).

Now I'll sit back and wait for the doo-gooders to tell me how much of a fool I am........;-)

FollowupID: 601230

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 10:56

Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 10:56
To the best of my knowledge on this topic, the only issue is that 10
?amp to 15 amp adaptor leads will be disconnected by proprietors of caravan parks and this is to save any possible litigation against them.

A 10 amp to 15 amp lead is quite safe providing the 240 volt power source is protected by a circuit breaker or fuse rated at 10 amps or less.

Using such an adaptor is no less safe than plugging in a 10 amp lead into a 15 amp socket, then overloading the circuit with high current draw appliances. There is nothing to stop someone plugging a 10 amp plug into a 15 amp socket (it will fit) and having a distribution board on the other end that has a toaster, bread machine, etc connected to it. It is possible to exceed the 10 amp rating of the lead but remain under the 15 amp rating of the caravan park outlet.

It is purely commonsense and in your own home an adaptor lead with a 10 amp plug on the supply end and a 15 amp socket to connect to the van is quite safe, providing the circuit is adequately protected from overload.

AnswerID: 333121

Follow Up By: time waster - Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 11:30

Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 11:30
Hi Sand man I think in previous posts you use oziexplorer, and just wondering what maps you use?
FollowupID: 601000

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 19:06

Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 19:06
I have used NATMAP Premium 2005 until recently.
I have recently purchased NATMAP Premium 2008 but have yet to load it to my PDA.

Have never needed any other digital maps and so have never bothered to compare others.

FollowupID: 601072

Follow Up By: time waster - Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 19:50

Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 19:50
Cheers Sand Man
FollowupID: 601080

Reply By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 11:09

Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 11:09
Have a look at archived threads 29011 and 45563 for previous discussions Bob. Pretty much the same info back then mate.
Fred.
AnswerID: 333124

Follow Up By: Steve - Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 11:22

Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 11:22
You can add thread number 50515 to that.

After you've read that lot you'll either be an expert or insane.

;-))

FollowupID: 600997

Reply By: Member - shane (SA) - Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 11:43

Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 11:43
you can buy a 10 anp 15 amp power cable from bunnings and home hardware.
shane.
AnswerID: 333128

Reply By: Supercalafreakinawesome- Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 13:46

Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 13:46
Hi Bob V,

These devices (although seemingly a bit pricey) are apparently made to eliminate any problems. I haven't got one, nor tried one, just read about them recently.

http://www.coastlinetrading.com.au/ecommerce.php?ecompage=viewdetails&stockcode=AMP51-10&stk_group=Electrical%20-%20240%20Volt&stk_category=&keywords=&page=1

AnswerID: 333156

Follow Up By: Supercalafreakinawesome- Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 13:50

Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 13:50
Oops I forgot to insert the www as a link, but if you go to
http://www.coastlinetrading.com.au

and have a look in the 240V electrical section you will find an explanation on them
FollowupID: 601014

Follow Up By: Nomadic Navara - Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 22:38

Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 22:38
Or better still go to Site Link

FollowupID: 601136

Follow Up By: Member - Bob V (QLD) - Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 14:07

Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 14:07
I purchased one this morning, seems like cheap insurance, thanks a lot BobV
FollowupID: 601222

Reply By: Member - Bob V (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 14:14

Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 14:14
What a fabulous amount of replies, Thanks to everyone that has helped out ,surely this is what this whole forum is all about!!
BobV
AnswerID: 333162

Reply By: Member - Brian (WA) - Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 14:55

Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 14:55
Why not get a sparky in. Cost me $250 for a 15 amp socket at
power board with a circut breaker. Cheap compaired to the
cost of a new van
AnswerID: 333168

Reply By: deserter - Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 16:24

Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 16:24
I made up the short - but very illegal - 10/15 adapter a while back and it works fine. But I was having some electrical work done at home the other week and chatted to the electrician about it. He quite rightly pointed out that my insurance company would scrap me if there was some sort of problem arising from it.

Cost me $100 bucks to get a 15 amp installed at the meter. I figure thats peanuts compared to losing a $300,000+ home - at my expense.
AnswerID: 333179

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (WA) - Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 18:21

Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 18:21
Geez I got done. But 250 is still cheap
FollowupID: 601053

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 20:04

Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 20:04
Sorry its off the topic too bad
Brian how long were you stuck in the mud and where was it.
sharon
FollowupID: 601082

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (WA) - Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 21:10

Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 21:10
5 days
FollowupID: 601098

Reply By: Ray - Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 18:53

Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 18:53
I always use one of those orange circuit thingos that have four outlets and a circuit breaker even on caravan parks as I don't trust some of their outlets and also when I use my genny which incidentally only has a 10 amp outlet. NOW, would using a genny that only has a 10 amp outlet be illegal? I also have been on caravan parks that only have 10 amp outlets.
On the other hand if you only want to cool your fridge down before going away, you can run it on gas for a while.
AnswerID: 333215

Reply By: Nomadic Navara - Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 22:34

Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 22:34
The only legal device I know of is this one:

http://www.amp-fibian.com/products.html

AnswerID: 333271