3.0L GU’s over 150,000km
Submitted: Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 20:38
jdwynn (Adelaide)
We’ve had a similar post / feedback in the past. But there would be more GU’s out there now that have passed this milestone.
I’m interested to know details of ZD30 Patrol GU’s of any age, still on the original motor, that have done over 150k:
1. What date of manufacture was.
2. What mileage.
3. What oil / how often changed.
4. Active steps you’ve taken to improve life of motor (in your opinion), e.g. block EGR valve.
5. What fuel (e.g. BioD).
6. Type of use, how much around town, how much towing etc.
7. Other info. you think is relevant.
I’m not trying to make some point or other about ZD30’s – I’m not interested in 'grenade' comments – just interested in answers to my questions.
thanks JD
Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 21:07
Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 21:07
hey JD I will start by not following your 150k question.
Mine is a 01 model
2. 94000km and its still going.
3. Nissan changed at 5000km intervals, or 6 months
4. I have fitted a 3" taipan XP exhaust to take the heat away faster (Goes heaps better too)
5. everyday diesel
6. Mostly driving to the offroad destination offroading then back home. Very little normal blacktop driving commuting etc
7. Its had 3 turbo's on it - original, one at 1800km, two at 55000km (one had a nut fall thru it in the workshop)
The variable vane in the turbo thing was replaced in 2005
The clutch died in 2006 at 80000km's
Other than that, I think its a great car, and will be keeping it till I have to get rid of it
Follow Up By: RosscoH - Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 22:14
Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 22:14
1. 8th month 2000
2. 180000 km
3. Changed every 5000
4. Completly stock
5. everyday diesel
6. 70% commuting, the rest offroad
7. Its had an alternator, injector pump done at 150000 due to the electrical part of the pump failing, a sub
tank pump.
An excellent all round vehicle, I don't know where people get these big figures from to replace the engines, any wrecking yard will sell you a complete low km engine for $7500.00 just bolt it in.
Don't care if it goes bang, mines had a hard life and is serving me
well. Auto still works like the day it came out of the factory.
Reply By: Best Off Road - Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 21:12
Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 21:12
Kym,
Sorry if this gets up your nose, but with the history of these things, I'd sell it now, whilst it is still running
well, before you potentially have to spend 15 gorillas on a new donk.
Sorry, but that is how I feel about taking risks.
Follow Up By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 21:17
Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 21:17
Howdy Jim
Im actually pretty comfortable wit things at the minute. Our Trol is only used for trips. Dec 2003 but done 50k only. Got xtra time warranty so that doesnt run out until 2010. But, if I can learn something from what others are doing, all the better. cheers
Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 21:45
Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 21:45
Why not look through the archives so much 3.0 litre info that it will keep you reading for months.
And before someone has a go at my suggestion to "Do an Archive Search" just consider thats why the posts are actually archived and a search function is thus offered in the first place!!
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 21:49
Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 21:49
theres also a huge recent post about the blowups, this post could be about the rest
Follow Up By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 21:54
Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 21:54
John, what I'm after is not in the archives. As I said there have been similar threads - want to build on those if possible. To be honest its the type of question I'd like to ask periodically. Not expecting much of a response due to the problems and to a good number of ZD30 owners having left the site in the past having got sick of the knockers. This is one reason I'm really supportive of the new
forum rules. cheers
Reply By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 21:53
Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 21:53
JD,
there is an entire thread asking the same questions of some incredible number of replys being maintained at
Nissan Patrol Forum.
Mick
Follow Up By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 21:56
Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 21:56
I should probably look Mick. But EO is my site!! Luv it
Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 22:08
Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 22:08
I know what your saying JD and I wouldn't steer you away from the EO site but it is the site for all things Patrol. Here is the link to the actual
thread. You'll find a lot of the monika's the same as here. There are 260 individual responses in respect to the same questions you've asked!
Mick
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 22:09
Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 22:09
Mick I don't know anyone can either find or follow a topic on that style of
forum.
So many bits and pieces its a mixed up pile of stuff that is not very user friendly.
Follow Up By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 22:26
Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 22:26
Definitely a fair bit of info Mick. Very little on oil though and mostly lower mileage. Worth a look. But look at Pat's response. Now I reckon that's gold - Magnetec jumps out at you..........
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 23:53
Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 23:53
John,
Your kidding right? Cant follow threads on a normal
forum??
GU stuff is in GU section
GQ stuff is in GQ section
MQ etc
Trips in trips
Forsale in forsale
Unlike some with every single thing in one
forum so a search brings up a billionteen hits with 2 relating to what you looked for 1200 pages in.
- it doesnt get much easier to find info than that and doesnt get much more user friendly than that...
Great when searching for info.. MUCH easier..
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 00:14
Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 00:14
No Bruce I said "That style of Forum" not sure what could be called "Normal" in the world of forums? :-)
I went looking for the thread that Mick was referring to and had no hope, looked all over and tried the search function, that was a mess.
Maybe as a regular user its easy once you are familiar with the layout but as a non regular user its not very user friendly.
Reply By: Patrolman Pat - Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 22:12
Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 22:12
1 Jan 03
2 161000kms
3 magnatec/10000kms
4 none
5 normal diesel
6 95% around town/tows CT and work trailer occaisionally
7 I don't flog it or baby it, I just get in and drive it.
Reply By: Motherhen - Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 22:53
Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 22:53
Hi JD
1. Ours is Jan 2002 (the 'improved' series III version) and auto
2. Darn near 150,000
3. Change oil around 5,000 kms, ask mechanic to use the oil Nissan specify
4. EGT and boost gauges. No chip.
5. Normal servo diesel any brand (
Caltex when at home) - no bio used (that we know of)
6. Most of kms on road, more frequent but much smaller distances on farm. 36,500 kms towing - mostly Bushtracker Caravan (probably over the specified weight for the auto gears)
7. Purchased ex Govt at 46,000 (had been used by Education Dept servicing small schools between Kalgoorlie and
Alice Springs).
It has never given us any mechanical troubles, runs
well and is the most comfortable vehicle we have had. It has been superseded by the F250 for towing the caravan (so we could load up the van for longer trips and still be legal). We intended to sell it before we went holidaying earlier this year, but the Cruiser Ute motor blew so our daughter needed to use it to run the farm while we were touring.
They aren't all "Grenades' as so many Nissan knockers here want to have us believe.
Who had a succession of Landcruisers and surprised the family by coming home with a Nissan.
Reply By: Kiwi & Grenade - Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 23:00
Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 23:00
you know grenade but when the going is good fuel economy is great: 10Lt/100km around town and worse case was 12 lt/100km while towing out around
Innamincka
Oil...the specified stuff....5000km
change all filters at
services
Fuel...
caltex as much as possible but what ever we can get while we're out
Mileage:121,000....nots quite the 15k your after
dob was Dec 01.....
original motor AT THE MOMENT.....may change but keeping you posted anyway....
Reply By: Old Dave - Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 23:09
Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 23:09
Hi jdwynn
1.mar02
3.magnatec/5000 i bought it with 163000 on it
4.none
5.normal diesel
6.tow c/t & c/v for last 47000
7.dont hang around but dont flog it
Regards Dave
Reply By: Member - TR (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 04, 2008 at 16:04
Tuesday, Nov 04, 2008 at 16:04
1. August 02
2. 247000
3. Castrol RX Super/5000 - 10000 klm depending on use
4. Standard engine/snorkel/spare MAF
5. BP diesel if available
6. Mostly long runs(1 hour minimum), Towing light camper trailer, Also towing 11m header front.
Tony.
Reply By: OldMike2 - Tuesday, Nov 04, 2008 at 16:05
Tuesday, Nov 04, 2008 at 16:05
Very happy to reply. Couldn't be more pleased with this wagon
1, Build 01/2001
2. 265,000
3. Nissan oil changed @ 10,000
4. Change Oil filter with the oil, change factory air filter @ 25,000
5. Std diesel, BP for preference if price not too silly, else whatever available.
6. 40/60 town/country. 20% towing.
7. Has not given a moments trouble (except minor air leak in fuel filter body, diagnosed and fixed by dealer. Don't do drag racing with it but is daily driver. 11.4 l/100k (can get 10l/100k if don't exceed 90k per hour). Mostly no trip shorter than 10k.
Reply By: Bap - Tuesday, Nov 04, 2008 at 22:08
Tuesday, Nov 04, 2008 at 22:08
1. 07/2003
2. 148,000
3. don't know, leave all servicing to mechanic
4. none
5. standard or biod
6. Mostly short trips around town. Odd weekend thrashing. Long fully loaded(for six) trips around WA in holidays.
7. Ex government vehicle which came from HallsCreek. Had overheating problems when towing when originally purchased at 86,000kms. Nissan checked it out as it was under warranty and they found radiator was 30% blocked with grass seeds etc. They cleaned it out free of charge and it has been fine since. Only other issue was about 100,000 km's when had electrical problems, ie dash lights flashing, headlights going off, everything shutting down. This was due to one small wire out of the bundle connecting into alternator fracturing as it was under too much stress(ie too tight). I extended and soldered it and have never had issues since.
Always found the car to be great, only frustrating thing is the front end nissan wobble which kept getting worse since we got it. However it was fitted with brand new cheap brand tyres which we just replaced after 60,000kms. Since fitting new tyres problem has vastly improved.
As I said always found the car to be great but just lately have been starting to get real worried after reading all these bad posts about these cars.
Reply By: Kevndeb - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 13:01
Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 13:01
My b-i-l blew his engine three weeks ago, while towing his boat. He has just over 190K, not sure of the DOM. Oil changed every 5000km. Normal D. Towing from
Perth to
Sydney and
Perth to Tassie, towing tandem axel van/trailer. Mainly driving around town, when not doing long trips, with towing once a week during summer.
Cost of replacing the motor upto about $10K at mates rates, at the moment. Still off the road. He is going to repair it, because he already has LC 80 series with Chevy engine ( fitted by Brunswick D.) setting the back paddock, that is rusting away. He has more money then sense in my and hubby's opinion.
Follow Up By: Kevndeb - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 13:05
Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 13:05
Forgot to mention it is also an ex-government car, servicing the outback.