Ron,

It's a glorified thermos.

AnswerID: 334491

Follow Up By: Ozymacca - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 18:23

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 18:23
Jim,

I wish I could get your glorified set of _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx for $40. Your in the business to make money and so are they. Their system works and so does yours.

PS: I love to cook the cobb is simply brilliant, The hillbilly camp oven is just as good but you need more heat beads I have 3 of them great product. I also own one of the glorified thermos as you would put it & as far as I'm concerned it has it purpose. I also own a custom boatloader the electric model not much change from $4000 or was it more it certainly has its purpose no more sore backs. If you would oblige me by giving me a set of _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx for my Nissan patrol for $40 as that what i think is is a good price for a glorified set of _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx it would be appreciated. Dian & Bill from custom boatloaders will verify I love to cook I have pasted my link below from ozymaccas photo stream.

Cheers Tommy
FollowupID: 602490

Follow Up By: Ozymacca - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 18:28

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 18:28
oops sorry Jim,

To many VBs I forgot to place the link. Its pasted below

Tommys Cooking

Cheers Tommy

PS: I have my $40 when your ready
FollowupID: 602492

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 18:57

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 18:57
Sorry Tommy I can't offer you a set of _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx for $40, but what I can offer you is a set for $900 that is equally well built and will do the same job a a set that will cost you over $2000.

That is to say that there are $2000 _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx available which are a glorified version of $900 ones :-).

FollowupID: 602496

Follow Up By: Ozymacca - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 19:02

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 19:02
Jim,

No worries as soon as I stop spending all my money on cooking gear I will give you a ring for a set of _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx.

Cheers tommy
FollowupID: 602498

Reply By: Ron173 - Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 13:54

Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 13:54
hmmm thats what we were thinking, a very exy glorified thermos!

but you never know thought worth asking, may be some people who find usefull.

Seems cobb has limited success, dreampot prob ok for braised type stew food.

I tried beads on camp oven and was a total disaster.

i have camp oven mate with gas and its fabulous, last thing in back of vehicle, first out, and in goes chook or leg of lamb and it cooks while we set up to a fasb smell and if neighbours they ususally drooling!

But it takes up a bit of space and I'm always a gadget lover!!

AnswerID: 334495

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 18:59

Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 18:59
"Cobb has limited success"

Says who???
The are a fantastic invention and not only cook a great roast, but bake a fantastic loaf of bread, or a decent damper.
You can also whip up a hot dessert, cook a pot of soup, or stew.
And that is hardly even trying.

Anyone who has limited success, doesn't know how to cook.
Maybe they are using cheap heatbeads, rather than the Heatbead©
brand.

Now, lesson number two. (again using Heatbead© brand beads)
Fire up the heatbeads and wait until they have a light brown coating covering them. (about 15 20 mins unless you cheat, but that is another lesson)

You will need 2 beads less than the diameter of your camp oven for underneath and two more beads than the diameter for the top.
e.g. for a 12 diameter camp oven you place 10 beads underneath and fourteen on top.

I sit everything on a old frypan, then place the heatbeads on a cake rack and sit the oven on top. Alternatively, you can place the cake rack in the frypan with the coals underneath, then place the camp oven on the rack.
In either case the air circulation underneath will ensure the heatbeads are not smothered.

Two hours maximum for a great roast leg of lamb, pork, or beef and veggies as well.

Give it a try.
Both the Camp Oven (HillBilly) and the Cobb cooker are integral parts of our camping adventures and almost all cooking is done on them.

FollowupID: 602304

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 19:30

Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 19:30
Don't take this the wrong way Bill, but I reckon the Cobb is a glorified mini "Weber" which can be bought (generic brand) for about $40.

The mini "Weber" has a much larger cooking area, but will of course use more heat beads.

The cost of the Cobb and the essential accessories are prohibitive IMHO.

FollowupID: 602314

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 20:08

Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 20:08
Jim,

No argument there!
They are rather expensive to purchase initially.

But the flexibility and compactness cause us to justify the expenditure and we are not disappointed in any way.

Also, the stainless steel construction (one reason for the higher cost) gives them an indefinite "lifespan", at least for the Premier model and they are easy to clean and pack away.

I guess we all pick different solutions and somehow justify the purchase cost of the "essential " pieces of camping equipment:-))

FollowupID: 602321

Follow Up By: Ron173 - Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 20:59

Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 20:59
Settle Bill, lol

touched a nerve there.

I was going on a good few posts on here where people say success limited, please dont ask me for post numbers I was just browsing.

If it works for you thats good.

I have tried beads on camp oven, no joy, and did it as per the site which is meant to be the dux nuts on camp ovens , and they were branded beads.. just not my cup of tea, I like my camp oven mate or the fire, but as we head out on camps at sometimes short notice after work, thought a joint of silverside with 20mins cook and throw in might be good to get there, be set up and its ready.

Thanks to some replies on here, I'm gonna seriously look at the shuttle chef.

FWIW I have sooo many pieces of 'essential' equipment.... been the brunt of a few jokes, but hey... we are ALWAYS dry warm comfy and well fed regardless of conditions...

gotta love it...

didnt mean to stir up the cobbie brigade... sorry
FollowupID: 602327

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 09:15

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 09:15
I think Cobb are way overpriced & don't they have problems maintaining heat unless you buy a 'bra' for them, this must be purely due to poor design.
FollowupID: 602383

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 07:52

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 07:52
Shaker,

Perhaps a little bit of history may help.

The original Cobb cooker was designed as a cheap & portable method of cooking for the folk over in Africa. So popular was this device that is was marketed throughout the world.
The original Cobb I purchased was not THE original, but the Mark II model with a black plastic base. This cooker served me well for a couple of years until I "squashed" it and broke the base.

So I bought a new base, this time the stainless steel mesh "premium" model which is more robust.
The flow through design of this model is not a problem in protected positions but there is a problem in wind.

So, along comes Klaus, from In front camping and produces an ingenious canvas bra that improves the function of the Cobb in windy conditions.

I like the stainless steel Cobb and the cheap canvas bra that sits permanently inside it and reckon its a good bit of camping gear.

Some people will class it as overpriced and put up with an inferior or less practical product and cast aspersions on those owners who sprout the wonders of this ingenious cooking product:-))

So be it, that is the result of free expression.

I'm not conected with the manufacturer in any way, but I will carry my portable Cobb cooker on every camping trip I take and experiment with its wonderful capabilities.
In some situations I may "replace" the Cobb with the camp oven on a well established bed of coals from the camp fire, but that is not always possible or practical and that is where the Cobb comes into its own.

FollowupID: 602583

Reply By: Member - Mal and Di (SA) - Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 18:47

Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 18:47
Have done two major trips in the last couple of years and the Dream Pot is great. Spend a few minutes preparing in the morning and there is a hot corned meal waiting at night. Wouldn't be without it.
M.
AnswerID: 334530

Reply By: Member - barbara M (NSW) - Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 20:51

Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 20:51
Hi Ron173
Have owned a dreampot and the thermos brand shuttle chef sold the dreampot kept the shuttle chef. The saucepan are a much thicker grade stainless steel so you dont have to watch it as much and then they double as two saucepans for everyday use, you can cook cakes stews corned meat casserole, also use it to keep stuff cold i love mine http://www.thermalcookware.com/
hopes this helps
barb
AnswerID: 334551

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 20:57

Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 20:57
We have a Thermos brand Shuttle Chef. Very similar to the Dream Pot. We bought it as it has a thicker bottom and others have reported it retains heat a bit better than the Dreampot, though I cannot substantiate this.

Either one - the Dream Pot or Shuttle Chef is a good (though expensive) addition to the cooking arsenal. My wife is the expert on the Shuttle Chef and has done great curries, stews, soups, silverside, etc.

Apart from the good easy meals, it saves a heap on gas. She generally cooks the meal for 5 to 15 mins on the gas (depending on what it is), then seals it up and that's it. Crack it open 4 to 8 hours later and dinner is ready. Cooking most of these meals on gas would use 5 to 10 times more gas in my estimation.

We carry so many cooking options it is crazy. But when travelling long term, it is great to have variety if you have the space.

I was a bit reluctant on the Shuttle Chef / Dreampot idea as we carry so much stuff already. But after a couple of meals, I'm converted.
AnswerID: 334554

Reply By: Member - Prickle (SA) - Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 21:59

Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 21:59
Ron,

I agree with Barb. Have done all these plus Thai curries. Only at home at this stage, but it has really been convenient.

Base is a bit thin and it appears that it does not matter how much care you take, it does catch.

Also have Dutch ovens x 2, Bedourie, and gas oven, all good, just depends on the situation.
Russ

Life-often hell but never boring.

AnswerID: 334564

Reply By: Member - Brenton H (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 09:00

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 09:00
Looked at these also but couldn't come to grips with the fact that I need to cook dinner in the morning when there is always something else to do (busy packing up to go, fishing, exploring etc). I dunno, maybe it's me, just don't like cooking a Thai curry? in the morning...ruins the smell of bacon and eggs. Rather camp half hour earlier sit back and have a red while dinner cooks. (The other thing is that often what I feel like eating for dinner in the morning is not what we end up haveing as we change our mind. Also not a big stew eater, and corned beef has too much salt and nitrites)

As to the Cobb...I agree with Sandman...wouldn't camp without it...even use it at home when the wife and I are alone. Too small for 4 or more (although we have done a lamb roast for 4 but it's a squeeze), but makes bloody good meals for two. Mmm...lamb shanks...yummy.

The answer is: If it you think it will suit you buy it..if it doesn't work out sell it...or put it the garage where the rest of my bright ideas end up.
AnswerID: 334595

Reply By: AdrianLR (VIC) - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 22:32

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 22:32
Ron,

We have a Dreampot look-alike from the Taiwan (via eBay in the US), a Cobb, a Bedourie and a cast iron camp oven. All have their uses and all require a bit of trial and error to get right. As it's getting harder to have a campfire and with 3 kids, harder to maintain one to get good coals, the Bedourie and cast ovens get less use these days. The Cobb uses 9 Heatbeads for the same meal as 24 for the camp ovens.

If you type "thermal cooker" into eBay at the moment there are two very good value items. No connection etc etc. Our pot gets a lot of use ranging from chicken casserole to steamed dimmies to walnut & date loaf. Yes, it is "only a thermos" but try doing any of those in a thermos. Having said that, however, I wouldn't have bought one if it was much more than the $120 we paid for it a few years back.

Adrian

AnswerID: 334771