Anyone done Mansfield to Dargo in an X-Trail?

Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 13:49
ThreadID: 63425 Views:6090 Replies:7 FollowUps:4
A friend of mine was thinking of coming on a trip with us from Mansfield via Wonnongatta to Dargo over a weekend in an X-Trail.

I know the exploroz trip notes say that the high country isnt for softroaders - however, has anyone done this trip in an X-Trail before?

Its been a few years since I've done it and I'm not sure what the roads are like there now. I'll be taking my Hilux so I could pull him through if he gets stuck - but dont really want to destroy his car if the tracks are really bad - I'm obviously mainly concerned about his ground clearance.

Anyone done this trip recently?

-Dave

Reply By: Member - cuffs (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 13:58

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 13:58
Checknout thr X-Trail forum - Trips http://www.australianxtrail.com/
AnswerID: 334640

Reply By: gjcumming - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 14:51

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 14:51
I think he is courting trouble. 6 river crossings out to Dargo subject to weather conditions etc. Clearance on open culverts may be an issue. Grip in wet conditions another? Saw a falcon ute in Wonnangatta from Myrtleford many years ago with assistance from 4x4's. Son was in there last weekend. 50mm rain fell. Will ask him what track conditions are like.
Regards: Grant.
AnswerID: 334643

Reply By: feathery - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 15:45

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 15:45
went through there years ago in pathfinder towing camper trailer had no trouble . the old ruel take your time and plan your track
AnswerID: 334654

Reply By: Ken - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 16:04

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 16:04
Mate tell him to leave it home. These tracks are not for this class of vehicle and the sooner their owners face up to this fact the better. By the sound of the post neither of you are up to speed with the conditions and believe me with an X-trail on the back of your Hi Lux you will struggle.
Ground clearance is one reason, lack of low range another for keeping this class of vehicle away from the sort of tracks you will encounter. Throw in the chance which is always on, for a storm, and it gets ugly pretty quickly.
I too have seen 2wd's in the valley but don't think they came out via Dargo. What you don't see with these trips is how much damage is done getting through and what the weather throws up.
In my view when traveling in this country you need to think of how it will turn out when things turn from ideal to challenging. With this class of vehicle you would on the limit in ideal conditions. Capable as the Hi Lux is it too would on the limit towing in good conditions.
Nobody is going to stop you trying but my advice is don't.
Ken
AnswerID: 334664

Reply By: ajd - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 17:06

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 17:06
Wonnagatta to Dargo is easy as there is a 2 wheel drive road but from Mansfielld to Wonnagatta there are some steep climbs and at least 3 river crossing which are usually easy but tricky after rain.

AnswerID: 334684

Follow Up By: gjcumming - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 19:38

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 19:38
Hello ajd.

Some clarification required here. Wonnangatta road (dead ends) is 2x4 but Wonnangatta Station is 4x4.
Regards: Grant
FollowupID: 602507

Follow Up By: Ken - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 19:45

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 19:45
Wow ajd there must have been some serious, serious roadworks in the area to create a 2WD road from Dargo to Wonnangatta ! Also last time I looked the more serious river crossings were on the Dargo side of the valley not the Mansfield side, are you sure you have your directions sorted ?
Did you miss a couple of the steep bits like Hearne Spur and Station Track, hardly 2WD I think.
Ken
FollowupID: 602511

Follow Up By: ajd - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 15:49

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 15:49
Gee Ken great sarcasm.

Wanker.
FollowupID: 602650

Follow Up By: Ken - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 19:40

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 19:40
Nothing wanky mate just the facts in an effort to correct your misleading and obviously inaccurate advice to an enquiry.
Rather than vitriolic comments you could save your responses to occasions when you are a) polite ; and b) when you know what you are talking about.
Ken
FollowupID: 602671

Reply By: Member - Mark E (VIC) - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 20:45

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 20:45
Many years ago (before I knew better) I took a single range Subaru down Bulltown Spur and through all the dozen or so river crossings to Talbotville, then back up McMIllan Track and out.

Had to get towed through most of the crossings which were fairly low as the poor old thing didn't have the power or clearance to do it by itself.

After fixing the various broken bits when I got home, I sold it and bought a 40 series Toyota SWB......

Yes it can possibly be done, but at what cost?

AnswerID: 334729

Reply By: Member - Des - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 17:55

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 17:55
Presumably Mansfield to Wonnangatta is going to be via King Billy, down into the Macalister Valley, up to the Howitt Rd and down Zeka Spur? If so, the trip from King Billy to the Macalister Valley, and from the Howitt Rd down Zeka Spur, are both serious 4WD. Melon-sized rocks, holes, steep sections, that sort of thing. I REALLY wouldn't try them in an X-Trail, even if it has A/T tyres (which it probably doesn't). You could do some serious damage.

I am not bagging the X-Trail (or any other soft-roader); they are excellent for forest roads. We hired one once and drove it up a short rocky fire trail, but I seriously wouldn't recommend it. They just lack the articulation, low range, clearance and underbody protection required for steep rocky high country tracks. I say this having driven a Vitara around the high country quite a lot. The Vitara is a proper 4WD but even then we were seriously hampered by lack of ground clearance and articulation at times.

It would be possibly to go to Wonnangatta from the Barry Range in an X-Trail. It is quite a good track. With care, you could probably get through along the Wonnangatta Valley, at least to the ford south of the old homestead site. But it wouldn't give any margin, for example if it rains.

Better if they ride in the back seat of your Hilux, or hire a 4WD.
AnswerID: 335064