Camper trailers

Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 23:02
ThreadID: 63450 Views:3505 Replies:12 FollowUps:3
Can anyone please help me, on the choice of axle or independent suspension for a goldstream wing 3, camper trailer im buying.
Its for family 3 little monkeys mum and dad. please help as the independent is a 2 grand option . i ll be doing beach work,a bit of bush. and then who knows what.
many thanks for your help. Noah's Dad.

Reply By: Member - Matthew C - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 23:30

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 23:30
If you want to save some of the stuff in the camper from being beaten around a bit then go for the independant but otherwise its personal choice.

Ive got independant coils on mine and ive just done a trip up to KArajini,wittenoom etc on some really crap roads and my eggs didn't even break.

Matt
AnswerID: 334779

Reply By: Ballfyboy - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 23:39

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 23:39
2 Grand buys a lot of fuel and good times imo. I have a solid axle on my camper and could not be happier with it.
(it could also buy a fridge & dual battery) That would be money well spent.
AnswerID: 334781

Reply By: Off-track - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 23:59

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 23:59
Mate, everyone will have their own opinion and their belief that they have the best available, and often they do...for their needs.

Any type of suspension can be designed to be compliant enough to prevent breaking eggs or bursting cans of beer. Any suspension type can be prone to reliabilty issues if not engineered well.

Really what you are asking is how well the Goldstream independent suspension matches up to the Goldstream beam axle suspension.

I do not know the answer on that one.
AnswerID: 334784

Reply By: Gronk - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 01:02

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 01:02
Goldstream have probably got both types fairly well sorted.....so if the beam axle has shocks, then I would probably save the 2 biggies and spend it on options you may have not considered.......batteries, solar ????
AnswerID: 334787

Reply By: Member - Bucky, the "Mexican"- Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 05:05

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 05:05
Noah's Dad

For what it's worth, if you ever intend doing some of the "tricky/harder" stuff then go for the independent suspension. but before you make your final decision, go have a look at Ultimate CTor Trak Shak suspension, as they are really brilliant. ( heavy wishbone with coils )

Lately I have been swayed by the Alko rubberised torsion bar setup.
Viv & Ray ( members ) have dragged their setup all aver the place, and is still going strong.

The final choice will be yours only, and in the end it will be what you can afford, I guess

AnswerID: 334797

Follow Up By: Off-track - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 13:35

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 13:35
Bucky, why is independent better for trickier/harder stuff?
FollowupID: 602624

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky, the "Mexican"- Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 04:42

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 04:42
Off-track

I am not an engineer, or a rocket scientist, but I have followed campers with both types of suspension, and observed very closely, and am amazed at the difference in the 2 types.
Independent coils seem to just waddle effortlessly, and the springs seem to bounce a lot more, which in tour will eventually break something.
My personal preference is Independent, coils !... they just seem to do it easier. So I brought the Trak Shak, from Pud & Barb, (members) and have naver looked back.

Having the ability of each wheel doing its own thing, in rougher ground, certainly appears to be easier on everything else that is attached to the trailer.
And there is the articulation, and wheel travel debates..

What ever answer suits you, one thing is for sure, do not skimp in the suspension of your trailer, that's the key.

FollowupID: 602714

Reply By: traveller2 - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 08:13

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 08:13
My take on it is can it be repaired either on the side of the road or in a small town if problems arise.
Does it use commonly available parts as per the leaf spring/solid axle setup or parts that are only available from the manufacturer.
Having towed a light camper all over Oz during the last 25+ years with leaf springs and shocks with no problems I'd save the money and spend it on something else.
AnswerID: 334810

Reply By: Philip A - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 09:49

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 09:49
I would seriously doubt that a variety of leaf spring parts would be held in small towns.
I came across a guy on the Palm Valley track who I thought was driving too fast. Came around a corner and there he was, broken main leaf , axle at right angles.
It was an(ALKO?) shackle type spring and he had no spare. he said "No worries I will just go into Hermnannsberg and get one." LOL
I spoke to a few others who reckoned the nearest a spring would be would be Adelaide, though you never know there might have been one in Alice. In any case his wife and kids were in for a long wait. Lucky they had another car with them.

I think the only real advantage of leaves is that you can easily carry a main leaf and some U bolts and centre bolts. But who does?

IMHO the major cause of trailer suspension failure is bearing seizure caused by neglect. Often this wiill shear the axle, and I bellieve it makes no difference if you have leafs or coils.

I have no complaints with my Campomatic independent trailing arm wishbone coil Koni setup. It is 11 years old now and I just did 20KK down some of the worst corrugations in OZ. ( Savannah Way, Strezlecki, Merty Merty, Oodnadatta, Silver City, Darling )

IMHO all trailers will from time tro time have something broken. I broke one jar of jam. When you hit a grid at 70-80 only to notice the step too late, the trailer will fly regardeless of what springs are on it.
Regards Philip A
AnswerID: 334821

Reply By: Top End Explorer Tours - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 14:27

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 14:27
I have 2 camping trailers and 1 camper trailer, the set up I have is 1400 kg rated eye to eye leaf springs and a 2.2 tonne rated axle.

The BIGGEST problem with trailer axle and bearings, is that people will buy a Toyota or Nissan 6 or 5 stud hub that fits a 15 or 16 inch wheel, then fit it to a 45 mm axle and run it on Ford or Holden bearings, with a 2.2 tonne rated axle you use bearings that will take the Toyota or Nissan rim without fear of failure.

My experience is towing trailers across the Top End and around OZ for over 750000 km.

Cheers Steve.
AnswerID: 334859

Reply By: Member - Rob S (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 15:00

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 15:00
Hi Noahs Dad
Check post from last saturday 8th ThreadID: 63351

Rob
I only ever made one mistake
and that's when I thought I was wrong!

AnswerID: 334863

Reply By: Markymark - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 20:39

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 20:39
Yep read the thread from last week, exactly the same question. I put it a bit in about our Trak Shak with solid axle, leaf spring and shockers. Don't forget that Patrols, Cruisers, Prado's etc are all live axle (with coil springs) while all the utes are live axle with leaf springs. Pajero's have independant springs all around and you don't hear people say they went and bought a Pajero because of its tougher suspension!
That said I would be happy to own a trailer with that set-up but I think it appears to be over-rated and lets admit it, the bright coils look great in the showrooms so some people just want them. I believe people should rather be looking at bearing maintenance, overloading, driving to conditions and tyre pressures.
My 2 bobs.
Mark.
AnswerID: 335097

Follow Up By: Off-track - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 22:43

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 22:43
Love ya work ;-)
FollowupID: 602853

Reply By: joff1 - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 23:35

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 23:35
My old Jayco has done 50 odd thousand k's over, around and through Australia. CY, GRR, Oondnadatta, Birdsville, Camerons Crn, Mitchells Platue etc etc all on leaf springs and a beam axle.

Can't say it's ever broken an egg either.
AnswerID: 335148

Reply By: Noah,s Dad - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 23:09

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 23:09
Thank you all very much for your help, it gives me somthing to think on.
AnswerID: 335985