Back home again for a 6-month break from travelling

Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 09:07
ThreadID: 63453 Views:6137 Replies:12 FollowUps:11
Despite the high fuel prices we managed a year of extensive travel exploring this great land. The only thing that suffered was the travelling account, which has now been drawn down to its lowest level in years

January saw us coming back from a visit to friends on the east coast via some of the High Country Tracks including McKillops Track and then a few wineries of Victoria including that of Brown Brothers at Milawa April and we had a family gathering on the outskirts of Melbourne. Then a great scenic trip north along the Barry Way to Canberra where we enjoyed visiting the Turner to Money Impressionists Exhibition at the National Gallery in Canberra. The homeward journey took us southwest via Brindabella, Tumut, Tumbarumba, and Jingellic, to the mighty Murray and back home following the river, visiting classic wineries along the way. Yeah the wineries are a most important cultural feature of any trip!

In May we met up with ExplorOz mates and others in Alice Springs from where I led a trip out along the Gary Junction Road turning north at Mount Webb and striking over bush tracks to Dwarf Well via Lake Mackay. Then it was cross-country driving for 420km skirting the salt lakes of Lake Hazlett, Lake Wells, Lake White and Lake Dennis. In the process we came across some evidence of previous travellers to the region and camped near the fabled Labbi Labbi Waterhole. We came across an existing track again at Ngulupi Outstation, which lies in ruins after being run successfully for many years by Palotine Monks on behalf of the aboriginal people of that area. From there we made it to Balgo for snacks and a refuel and then back to Alice Springs via the Tanami Road. Read about it here.

Having recently acquired a metal detector we arranged to meet up with other prospectors who frequent Australian Goldfields Propector’s Forum and had a great time near Dunolly, Victoria over the Queens Birthday Weekend in June and formed new friendships from that encounter.

In July we made for Innamincka via the Strzelecki Road and the ExplorOz National Gathering and enjoyed some quality time and good winter weather with old friends and new ones. On the way south we skirted the eastern flank of the Flinders Ranges camping in Wearing Gorge and visiting Chambers Gorge and Blinman.

August saw me doing a solo trek to Mount Browne near
Milparinka in western New South Wales, to search for some elusive colour. I became more experienced with my detector but the colour still eluded me. Found some treasures and drove some new roads and tracks.

At the end of September it was back to Alice Springs by car(Xtrail) where Judith attended Art At The Heart National Conference. Along the way we stayed in the Underground Motel at Coober Pedy. I spent my days in Alice helping a friend resurrect his Range Rover and also caught up with ExplorOz mates from Alice.

This recent trip started in the last week of October and took us to the Waanyarra Forest near Dunolly where we met up with fellow ExploroZ and AGP Forum mates for a week of prospecting. We camped at the Waanyarra Picnic Reserve for a week. Unfortunately the colour still eludes me but I have located lots of ‘treasures’. We also attended the monthly Dunolly Market, which was an experience in itself! Then we attended to a great two-day party on the outskirts of Melbourne with ExplorOz mates and copious amounts of ale and snags were consumed, not to metion cheesecake and the chocolate fountain!!! After that it was a trip across Melbourne in the rain visiting friends and rellies. A Ferry Ride from Portsea to Queenscliff ($102 for GQ and trailer..ouch!) was included and then on to Anglesea, Corio and Timboon to visit family and friends. Last Friday we made for the Pyrenees ExplorOz Gathering in teeming rain. We set up camp with the help of friends in between showers. Over the next few days we drove some great trails and listened to some good campfire yarns. A day visiting a few wineries were not to be missed and so we returned home with a car full of grog and had a leisurely trip along the Murray Valley Highway despite the B-Doubles tailgating us when the head wind brought the speed back to 85kmh!

This summer and autumn we are staying home to tend to the garden and some house repairs and prepare the GQ and camping rig set-up and to save some money for a winter sojourn to the Northwest of Western Australia

Reply By: Dave B (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 09:18

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 09:18
That all sounds like an extended winery tour with a little bit of driving in between hahaha.
Your going to have itchy feet before Autumn.
Good story though.
'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

AnswerID: 334818

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 14:41

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 14:41

Itchy feet will have to wait this time, though I could go north and help an old fella rearrange his shed...LOL

FollowupID: 602638

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 09:40

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 09:40
Sounds like the tent and car is home and the house is the break from home :o)

Good to see you getting some miles in and finding some interesting places to rest the eyes on.

Catch up with you some time.
AnswerID: 334820

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 14:43

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 14:43
JOhn

There is a hell of a lot I haven't seen yet. Trouble is, I am running out of time...lol

FollowupID: 602639

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 16:49

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 16:49
"Trouble is, I am running out of time...lol"

Never Willem, you only run out of time when you stop, and it sounds like you are not ready to do that yet.

There is no place like the top half of WA in the winter, hope to get there ourselves next year and spend some time up there.

D

Simba, our much missed baby.

FollowupID: 602660

Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 10:15

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 10:15
Hahahahaha

The sentence Turner to Money Impressionists Exhibition should read Turner to Monet Impressionists Exhibition. Bugga! Oh, for an edit function after then posting!
AnswerID: 334824

Reply By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 10:21

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 10:21
What a great read took a while to get through the stuff on your website but mate I am so jealous
AnswerID: 334826

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 14:39

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 14:39
Troll 81

Oh well. just wait another 20 years until you retire and then away you go...lol

FollowupID: 602636

Follow Up By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 14:40

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 14:40
Thanks for reminding me how much longer I have to go
FollowupID: 602637

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 12:22

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 12:22
Hi Willem

Glad to see you, had a safe trip, and got home ok, those Wineries
are all good,
How did those new Tyres perform towing the Trailer in the rain?.

Daza
AnswerID: 334840

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 14:34

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 14:34
G'day Daza

New tyres performed exceptionally well in the rain as long as one left the brake pedal alone!

Driving through the hills of outer Melbourne sitting well below the posted 80kmh and came around a small bend on a hill. And there she was, right in front of me, the Lollipop Lady(actually a Policewoman in an orange overalls) brandishing a STOP sign.

Apllied brakes gently. Could feel all wheels lock up and at that point the aquaplaning took over....lol. Stopped about 10 metres beyond the STOP sign and close to the scene of a roll-over. She came over and asked if I was OK. Nice touch...lol. Heart in mouth.

Definitely not wet weather tyres! After that incident there was plenty of gearing down in traffic!!

FollowupID: 602633

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 12:49

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 12:49
Welcome back young fella.
A pity about the lack of colour. From what I'd read about the new generation of detectors, I thought that it was as easy to pick up as a flat in a burnt WA desert.
What ? Are you telling me that's all advertising ? LOL
AnswerID: 334847

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 14:37

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 14:37
G'day Footy

A fella found a 22 ounce nbugget just ten minutes drive from where we were detecting the week before last. So they a re still out there, even in an area which has been well thrashed by detectors.

FollowupID: 602635

Follow Up By: Mad Cowz (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 19:25

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 19:25
If you keep at it willem you'll find enough Aluminium ring pulls to finance the trip

Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 602670

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 16:14

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 16:14
Jeezus Willem that’s a pretty full on travel diary – no wonder the garden needs some attention. I can see that retirement is mainly travel so no wonder I’m looking forward to that. I also get the feeling that detecting is a bit like fishing and the more time you put into it the more likely you come home with something. Sounds like a great time that you had.

Theo
AnswerID: 334878

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 16:20

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 16:20
G'day Theo

Only have two treks planned for next year. One will be 3 months in WA for on and offtrack travel, and the other a short run to the EO National Gathering at St George. :-) Hopefully the fuel prices will keep on coming down.

Gotta find some colour sooner or later...lol

FollowupID: 602656

Reply By: Member - Luke (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 17:42

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 17:42
Welcome back mate

A pretty full diary you have there. Hopefully those petrol prices will keep on declining and you (and me) can fit in an extra trip in next year.

Cheers Luke
AnswerID: 334881

Reply By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 18:06

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 18:06
Great to have you back Willem. What a year you've had - I'm jealous too. Cheers JD
AnswerID: 334885

Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 18:12

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 18:12
Thanks Willem for another great post & interesting read. Just goes to show that if you really want to get out and see & do things in Oz like you do, then it can be done. Good on you, I envy you.
By the way, when are you going to advertise the position for your "gate Opener" or maybe your tent "puterupper!!"
AnswerID: 334886

Reply By: equinox - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 18:25

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 18:25
Great summary Willem, and another big year.

You have plenty of time now to prepare for that NW trip!!! I'd come with you but am a bit tired, will only do a few smaller trips next year.

AnswerID: 334889

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 21:48

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 21:48
G'day Al

Yes there is quite a bit of planning involved with this one plus for some areas we will need a host of permits. I am busy putting the 12 week odyssey together in Stages so that feloow traveelers can opt out or join in at given junctions. Fuel will be critical in places and so will tyres and its an issue I will have to resolve with probable participants :-)

FollowupID: 602687

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 21:14

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 21:14
G'day Willem,

Have you got enough fuel left in one of your vehicles to attend Saturday's gathering (4pm) at Carisbrooke Park, to meet Jo (Qld) and the Borgy Brood, etc?

See the Members Trips/Gatherings for more details if you are interested.

Be good to catch up with you again.

AnswerID: 334905

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 21:26

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 21:26
Thanks for the invite Bill but I would like to decline as tripping around has come to a standstill for the time being. Plus I have to help SWMBO with the local Market on Saturday.And it will be a 440km round trip(not that it is anything of significance by my standards...lol)

Say G'day to the Borgy's and Jo from us.

FollowupID: 602683