Kids, Camping and Snakes

Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 15:12
ThreadID: 63461 Views:7246 Replies:9 FollowUps:16
We are going camping over Xmas to Lincoln and Coffin Bay National Park. I have two kids - one is almost 4 and the other is 20 months (still crawling - hopefully will be walking by Xmas!!) and am just wondering how people go with camping and snakes. We have camped at Coffin Bay ourselves and never seen any snakes and I have had friends who have headed over and have seen lots. We live on a block of land with snakes so have talked to our eldest who knows how to keep away however our youngest of course is not safety savvy at all. Is there anything at all that people can suggest to help not encourage snakes to the campsite and what should I make sure is in our first aid kit for snake bites?
Tars

Reply By: Shaker - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 15:19

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 15:19
All you need is a pressure bandage & the knowledge of how to apply it.

As for your other questions there is no definitive answer.
AnswerID: 334865

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 15:39

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 15:39
Keep your camp-site free of stuff on the ground as far as possible. i.e. Nowhere for the little guys to set up their own camp. eg logs, large containers etc....
A pressure bandage in the first aid kit never goes astray, as well as the usuals that you carry with your children's needs in mind. (e.g. earache medicine). Have a chat with a chemist or GP and see what else they recommend.
There is only one way for a parent to try and keep their kids safe anywhere. And that is to assume parental responsibility for knowing where your children are and what else is around, and active supervision 24/7. Be alert but not paranoid. (we need more lerts :)

Sorry, didn't mean to preach. Your post here already indicates that I'm preaching to the converted.
AnswerID: 334869

Follow Up By: Member - John and Val W (ACT) - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 16:05

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 16:05
Agree with what Footy has said, but would add that you can try to select a campsite away from areas with long grass, bushes etc that could provide snake cover. A stretch of open ground wont stop snakes but at least you would have some chance of seeing them if they are around.

Have a great holiday,

Val.

FollowupID: 602652

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 16:48

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 16:48
if you set up camp away from bushes,grass etc your camp will be MORE likely attract snakes etc as it will be the only cover around
FollowupID: 602659

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 17:20

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 17:20
Dave, I like to be able to see the little buggers coming, especially if I have kids with me.
FollowupID: 602662

Reply By: Mick15 - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 15:41

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 15:41
"All you need is a pressure bandage & the knowledge of how to apply it. "

Yea thats about all you can do, although i'm not sure i'd be confident for that to be as effective for a 20 month old as an adult.

Thing is, the pressure immobilzation bandage is designed to keep the venom in the muscle and stop or slow (to a point where your body can fight it or you get to help) its flow into the lymph system, this is fine on an adult where like 90 percent of bites will be on arms or legs (lots of muscle and a long way from the main parts of your body), on a 20 month old however with little muscle mass and being close to the ground things may be different...

Not trying to put the frighteners on you though, but if i were going there (and ive got a 2.5 year old and a 14 month old who both blunder around) i'd be keeping a close watch on them at all times and prefferably have some way of notifying the emergency services sharpish.

Oh yea, if you don't know cpr already its a good idea.

Also don't try and catch the snake, bleed the bite, use a torniquet or wash the bite before bandaging (medicos can use the residue to identify the snake) - when you apply a pressure bandage grab a permanent marker and put an X on the bandage where the bite is - that way they'll only have to cut a section out rather than remove the whole thing.

Stay safe
AnswerID: 334871

Follow Up By: oz doc - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 15:50

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 15:50
It also helps to write on the bandage what time you applied it.
Forget the story about injecting vitamin c to treat snake bites- its absolute rot and has no positive effect at all. doc.
FollowupID: 602651

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 18:26

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 18:26
Vitamin C injections saved 2 dogs after Tiger Snake bites in my street last season, one of which was mine.
I'm afraid the jury is still out on vitamin C.
FollowupID: 602665

Follow Up By: oz doc - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 18:52

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 18:52
Shaker - If the dogs survived - it didn't have anything to do with the vitamin C. The confusion about vitamin C comes from a slight similiarity in the disease process of scurvy and the action of Tiger snake venom ( and black snake venom). Vitamin C will help with scruvy, but it is of no benefit in snake evenomation.doc.
FollowupID: 602667

Reply By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 15:52

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 15:52
Hi Tars

As the others say re pressure bandage for first aid, but teaching your children how to avoid snake hazard is a good start. Don't have food scraps left around the campsite that may encourage rodents or small mammals that snakes feed on. However, the snakes will probably run away screaming when they hear little children running around and making noise. Enjoy your holiday.

AnswerID: 334874

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 18:27

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 18:27
They used to say ahving a dog around the camp site tended to keep snakes away, mainly because of the activity.
FollowupID: 602666

Reply By: Member - Mark E (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 18:49

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 18:49
Lots of good advice on here which I won't repeat, but there is one other consideration:

Snake venom (in general) runs down the fangs of snakes and is not actually 'injected' via hollow fangs, so if clothing is worn, most venom will 'soak' into the clothing rather than be deposited in the bite area. So I would ensure that your kids are clothed at all times, even with very light cotton clothing if hot.

Thus the advice even for adults to wear boots and sock if concerned about snakes.

AnswerID: 334891

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 18:54

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 18:54
Among Australian snakes, hollow fangs occur in all of our terrestrial venomous species and in the sea snakes, represented in the scanning electron micrographs shown here by the Red Bellied Black Snake. Grooved fangs occur only in the Brown Tree Snake Boiga irregularis and in a group of freshwater snakes in northern Australia.

Allen Greer
Herpetology
Australian Museum

FollowupID: 602668

Follow Up By: Member - Mark E (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 19:48

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 19:48
Well there you go..... looks like the information they teach to Intensive Care Paramedics is clearly wrong.

Thanks for the info. I shall do some further research and suggest the curriculum be updated.

FollowupID: 602673

Follow Up By: Member - Mark E (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 19:49

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 19:49
Well there you go..... looks like the information they teach to Intensive Care Paramedics is clearly wrong.

Thanks for the info. I shall do some further research and suggest the curriculum be updated.

FollowupID: 602674

Follow Up By: Member - Mark E (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 19:56

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 19:56
Woops sorry for the double post.......

Came across this in a little research.... thanks Allen....

snake fangs fact sheet

I am amazed how long this myth has been around considering the evidence. Disregard my above post. I will give myself a severe whipping.......

FollowupID: 602675

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 01:44

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 01:44
not totally a myth. the most common poisones snakes being the browns (gwarder,dugite,eastrn,pennisula to name some) have very small fangs.
as part of his demo Brian Bush has a brown snake head with fangs erect.
sturdy clothing i susually enough to ensure a bite doesnt penetrate
FollowupID: 602712

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 21:24

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 21:24
If you want to know all there is to know about snakebite in South Australia, check this link: by Julian White from the WCH.

In a practical sense, snake bite is not common, but do sensible things to minimise the risk - keep the kids covered and wearing shoes etc
Enjoy your holiday!
AnswerID: 334909

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 21:29

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 21:29
Whoops, I stuffed up the link.
Try This:
SA Snakebite guide - Julian White
FollowupID: 602685

Reply By: Top End Explorer Tours - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 22:15

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 22:15
Hi Tars.

May I put your mind at rest: Is there a possibility of a snake bite?? YES.

99% of snake bites are by people trying to catch or kill them, 98% of snake bites are NON venomous,.

I have walked the Top End from Arnhemland , Kakadu and the Kimberley for 36 years bare foot, without fear of a snake bite, the reason being is that most snake bar few would rather take off than stand up and fight.

Keep the kids away from leaf litter and log hollows etc.

Simple First Aid is the best.

A firm bandage to the limb from the bite to either extremity and back past the bite to the other is best, If you don't have a marking tool, place the start of the bandage at the BITE, keep the patient as calm as possible as movement will make venom move through the lymphatic system.

Yes, all Australian snake venom goes through the lymphatic system (opposed to distributing through the blood stream).
If after 45 minutes the patient is NOT showing signs of trauma, it is more than likely that the bite is a NON venomous bite, if there is a sign of trauma then your first aid is crucial.
By then, of course, you should have been able to make contact with emergency services already for professional advice and further instructions.

All this is basic knowledge that can be obtained during what used to be called "Senior First Aid" and is now called "Applied First Aid" courses offered by Red Cross, St John, Royal Live Saving Society, etc.

AnswerID: 334917

Follow Up By: Ozboc - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 20:55

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 20:55
Was going to say the same thing --- MOST snakes will disappear LONG before you see them ......

There maybe be one or 2 such as the inland typan that will stand and fight but the rest don't want trouble - so best bet is - just keep a sharp eye out - and if you do encounter one .... slow unthreatening movements AND DO NOT TRY TO KILL THEM....

I used to keep a few pythons - ( children s python - 2 carpets and 1 Olive python) they really are fantastic creatures and something that should be admired and not feared when you understand them and there behavior you will know how to act or react and avoid a confrontation ....

Boc
FollowupID: 602824

Reply By: Tars - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 09:02

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 09:02
Hi Everyone
Thanks so much for your replies. I didn't think that a question like this would generate so much discussion!! But some great information here. We live on an a block just over an acre across the road from a National Park and have only seen around 3 snakes in the 10 years we have been there - plus also try and teach our 3 year old to walk away from a snake if he sees one (there is a great Wiggles song on Snakes!!). Its our 20 month old that I guess I have a bit more concern about and therefore want to make sure I do the best not to encourage snakes to visit the campsite and make sure he is okay and make sure I know what to do if he is bitten. Mind you if the snakes had any sense they should hopefully keep away from two very active and LOUD boys. In reality too there is probably more danger from the bees that will probably be around with all the water than snakes (I nearly swalllowed one when I was there once and was bitten on the tounge!).
Thanks again - your info has been much appreciated!
AnswerID: 334960

Follow Up By: austastar - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 11:33

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 11:33
"walk away"
Not the information I was given by a professional snake handler. His advice was to 'freeze' and let the snake take its own way out of the meeting.
He demonstrated this with a king brown, stirring it up a little, and then freezing: the snake relaxed and slithered off between his boots to find some cover. It seemed like it had a very short attention span and relaxed as soon as the perceived threat (movement) was removed.
Both myself and my son have managed to duplicate the response with tiger snakes met unexpectedly in the bush. Freeze, hands near the chest, and the snake lowers its head and moves on. Yes, between the boots on one occasion.
I have found this approach more relaxing when meeting snakes.
By all means stomp the feet and kick the log before stepping over it to get any snake basking on the other side up and moving before putting a boot over. But if you find your self unexpectedly face to face so to speak; just freeze, and let the snake go on its way.
FollowupID: 602738

Follow Up By: Tars - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 15:20

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 15:20
Thanks for that!! I probably meant walk away if the snake was curled up sunning itself and not in an attack or moving position. I must admit I had not really thought about a response if the snake was moving - thanks for that - will start teaching him that response now.
FollowupID: 602767

Reply By: Dave... Adelaide (SA) - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 10:26

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 10:26
G'day Tars

Having lived quite a few years in Pt Lincoln my family and I used to camp in the Coffin Bay National Park as often as we could...We used to see quite a few snakes whilst there, mainly Browns, and they never used to really bother us at all, my kids were always told , if you see a snake leave it alone , never a problem, in fact my wife and a friend were sitting at a table one afternoon playing cards when a brown just casually slithered between their legs and just continued on its merry way...not to say both the missus and the friend didn't need to change their underwear of course...lol...Anyway, the snakes that did concern us whilst camping in the park were the buggers you dont often see until you are practically right on them...Death Adders...Coffin bay national park is full of these buggers and they can be very dangerous... i have seen hundreds of these in Coffins bay park and what really concerns me with these, is there seemingly placid nature, instead of slipping away at the approach of a human being these things just lie there motionless, seriously i have seen someone jump up and down near one of these bloody things , and it didn't even flinch, but should one strike at you , they are bloody lightening fast and deadly, so mate just be very aware of these and warn your kids that if they see a worm like thing wrigling in the air to get the hell away from there and notify an adult straight away.....I hope i haven't scared you away from Coffins Bay, but i just wanted you to know of these dangerous snakes.....enjoy your holiday mate and i may even see you there myself, my wife and i plan on going over, possibly the day after xmas....Make sure you take in all the sights in the park , its a beautiful place especially Black Springs , beautiful crystal clear water for the kids to swim in safely....

Cheers......Dave
AnswerID: 334976