clear on trips?
Nigel
Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 12:15
Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 12:15
I simply keep
mine full as a goog with tap
water when its not in use (no air allowed in there - mind you,
Adelaide water does have about 30ppm of chlorine in it - that might count for something :-o). Never had an odour issue. I change it to rainwater just before I do a trip.
Follow Up By: austastar - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 14:23
Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 14:23
I solved the algae problem by swapping out the clear hoses and replacing them with the black poly pipes used for low pressure garden use. We even had algae growing in the clear plastic pipe inside the sink cupboard, which is totally out of the light, except when the door is open.
I took the
tank out, put some bleach and gravel in it, sloshed that lot around for a bit, and hosed it out thoroughly.
No problems now in 4 years.
Reply By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 13:10
Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 13:10
Hi Nigel,
Only use bi-carb for cleaning/odour removal, not as an additive to your
drinking water. Perhaps I've been fortunate as I've never had an odour/taste problem in eight years.
I fill with
Sydney tap
water prior my trip, top up where I need to. What I have done is fit a drain tap to the
tank and always open it and leave it open whilst on the homeward leg. Saves towing excess weight.
Because I always forget to close it, its left open until I go to refill for the next trip. Maybe that has helped, I really don't know.
If you don't currently have a problem do nothing. If you do there are
tank cleaner/deodorisers available from marine chandlers like Bias Boating or Whitworths. You can purchase online or by phone. The products they sell may very
well be bi-carb under another name.
Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 13:15
Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 13:15
Nigel, you haven't been specific as to the type of
tank at all. Stainless are impervious to light so algae don't grow there and usually don't provide taste taints. Plastics can provide tastes and it is probably best to put some bicarb into
water and slosh it around before you go away and then empty it of course.
Fill it with the best
water you can and it should be ok then.
Bicarb is sometimes used for cleaning things like teeth in tooth paste, or as an anti-acid component in stock feed called a buffer but not the taste of choice in your
tank. Medicinally it is in alkilinizers too, good defence against some kidney stones taken periodically.
Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 13:47
Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 13:47
And it's a bloody ripper quick cure for a bad dose of heartburn LOL
Reply By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 13:35
Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 13:35
HAPPY
i just drain all the
water out of it so it dries out between trips so nothing grows in there
Reply By: Moose - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 15:32
Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 15:32
G'day Nigel
No need to add it before you go - what would you want to drink it for? Good for baking but drinking it - I think not!
Unless you are getting some horrible taste in the
water I reckon it's best to do nothing.
Between trips I usually empty the
tank. I doubt there's a correct answer as to whether empty or full is better. But my logic is that, being a plastic
tank, the longer the
water sits in there the greater the chance it will get tainted. Just my theory mind you - I have no evidence. However so far so good -
water comes out nice and sweet - or at least as sweet as it goes in.
Cheers from the Moose
Reply By: gjcumming - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 16:53
Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 16:53
Hello Nigel.
I read recently 1 - 2 Oz to 60 litres of
water. Store Then dump & refill on departure.
Regards: Grant.