Nokia Phone
Submitted: Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 12:02
OldMike2
Telstra want to sell me a Nokia E51 Next G phone. Is this any good in regional areas?
I already have an antenna on the car so would need the in car charger and cradle to connect.
Currently use an LG T500u with not much problem, but wondered if any of the phone gurus out there know much about this Nokia, especially travelling.
Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 12:10
Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 12:10
Mike,
I have had that model since early January and find it adequate for my needs. I don't have an external antenna and don't feel I need one for it. I have used it going to
Innamincka as
well as recently at the Glenpatrick Reserve for
the Pyrenees Gathering with no problems with reception (when it is available).
I also had to tutor Bonz on it as it is his new work phone ;)
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 12:54
Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 12:54
The LG TU550 would be a better bet. Go to the Telstra web site and have a look for phones with the "blue tick". These are the best for rural use.
Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 13:48
Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 13:48
Sorry but, I have friends who bought 6 LG phones and all have had repairs done at least once.
The blue tick is only saying that there is a car kit avail.
I did much research when i bought
mine, and i live and work in rural SA and run 6 phones and i didnt end up with a blue tick one.
Bought samsung 701's and a couple 412's and have had a good run out of them so far, 11 months.
Know 2 people who have the nokia's and they are happy with them.
Have run nokias in the past with few problems as
well, but didnt like the range this time when we bought.
Cheers Pesty
Follow Up By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 16:08
Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 16:08
I would have recommended the Samsung 412 but it seems it's no longer offered by Telstra...
Follow Up By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 13:37
Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 13:37
"The blue tick is only saying that there is a car kit avail"
In fact the blue tick stands for
"Recommend for rural handheld coverage"
indicating they should get comparatively better reception without a car kit.
Follow Up By: Shaker - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 15:26
Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 15:26
I have tried several Next G phones including the LG TU550 & found them to be very ordinary, currently I am using the cheapest of the lot, a Samsung A412 & it beats the others hands down.
Reply By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 14:09
Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 14:09
I've had the phone as a work unit for the past 6 months and it performs
well. It makes and receives phone calls, texts and works
well overseas (I'm currently sitting in central Vietnam and the Global Roaming connectivity is great - oh and it's pouring rain!). That's my needs in a nutshell. Only complaint is it's a bit fidly to switch on and off with the small button on the top and the central button on the face doesn't go directly to menu which I reckon it should.
Mick
Reply By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 14:10
Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 14:10
I've had the phone as a work unit for the past 6 months and it performs
well. It makes and receives phone calls, texts and works
well overseas (I'm currently sitting in central Vietnam and the Global Roaming connectivity is great - oh and it's pouring rain!). That's my needs in a nutshell. Only complaint is it's a bit fidly to switch on and off with the small button on the top and the central button on the face doesn't go directly to menu which I reckon it should.
Mick
Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 14:43
Reply By: DesF - Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 16:01
Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 16:01
Hi, I dont know how the prices compare , but I have a 6120 Nokia and I am very satisfied with it, also now I am using it as modem for the laptop ( Data pack) and found the coverage great, Mate has the same and he has just come back from a trip to QLD Outback etc and he said the laptop always worked ( where ever there is Next G coverage).
We got our 6120's on a plan ( $30.00 month with $25 calls and $5.00 data included) ( with a free Tom Tom one V3 GPS), but now they are advertising them for just under $300.00.
Our friends have an assortment of Next G phones but none come up to the 6120 for coverage etc.
Cheers Des.
Follow Up By: a convict - Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 16:47
Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 16:47
"but I have a 6120 Nokia"
"Choice" has recent test of phones and "6120" performed very
well.
They called it the "6120 Classic" (as distinct from "6120 Navigator" which has built in GPS).
Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 09:25
Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 09:25
My Nokia 6120 classic has maps and navigation but you need a bluetooth GPS to run them.
Also if you use Nokia Maps it costs X amount per year for the use of them.
If anyone is having minor problems with this model like locking up etc do an update of the firmware to the latest 5.11
All done from the Nokia site
Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 10:34
Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 10:34
Convict,
The Nokia "Navigator" phone is a 6110, with built-in GPS.
Graham,
Nokia Maps are free. You can download them from the Nokia site.
Only if you wish to use a full moving map navigation feature do you have to pay an (outrageous) annual fee.
I experimented on my 6120.
I have a bluetooth GPS which I linked to the phone. Then by a simple 2 second press of a key (0 I think) you get your current location displayed.
Although novel, I prefer my TomTom for city navigation. Much bigger display.
Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 11:20
Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 11:20
[Nokia Maps are free. You can download them from the Nokia site.]
Yes they are but doing that is like buying a car without an engine
Its there but doesnt do anything.
If U dont pay u cant activate them for navigation. Thats what I meant but neglected to say.
Yes its the 6110 and the N95 have GPS built in.
I have TomTom running on my 6120 no probs.
I only listen to commands as you are supposed to be watching the road not the screen.
Therefore the size of the screen is irrelevant.
I also have a multiband Next G GSM aerial and an inductive coupler for the 6120
Reply By: P7OFFROAD Accredited Driver Training - Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 18:59
Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 18:59
I know nothing of your Nokia, however
I just replaced my LG Tu500 (which has been without flaw) with a Palm Treo Pro, the only smartphone/PDA with a Blue tick.
Quick trip to Fraser last weekend proved that it's coverage was every bit as good as the LG (where I bothered to check anyway). As yet there is no passive aerial connection available, but it is coming.
good luck, i spent a week trying to weigh up my options (then waited another week for the phone)
Reply By: Angler - Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 20:09
Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 20:09
I have a nokia 6120 and reckon it works OK. Seems to get really hot after ten minutes or so use. I use it with a blueant in the car.
Not a great seal on the screen as it gets lots of dust inside that needs a squirt of air to clean on occasion.
Pretty fair battery life compared with some others.
Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 09:12
Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 09:12
If its getting hot take it back as there was a crook batch of them that had this fault. Talk hard u may get a new one
Reply By: Rowie - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 13:33
Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 13:33
I'm happy with my E51. I got
mine right when CDMA was switched off and have had no issues with it.
The phone comes free on a $30 p/mth plan, so if you do make a few calls, I wouldn't buy one.
Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 19:04
Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 19:04
Ask any Samsung A411 user and you'll find they're impressed with it's coverage in remote areas.
You can get it Prepaid for $99 from Target, KMart, JBHiFi etc. Aldi have been selling it for $99 with a Bluetooth earphone.
The Samsung A412 is the same phone for Contract users.