I LOVE my Cooper's..........................Not

Submitted: Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 17:52
ThreadID: 63547 Views:11243 Replies:36 FollowUps:57
OK folks,

Darkie came fitted with the Cooper ST's when I got him 12 months ago and it is the first and last time I'll be using them.

They have become badly chipped, cracked, Lugs torn off and the inner sidewall on one has begun to delaminate (that is the White side as well Signman)

See the pics below, the cracked/partly torn lugs are showing belts underneath.

These tyres were not damaged prior to the Pyrenees trip and tyre pressures were similar to others who attended, initially 20 PSI all round then dropped to 15 PSI front and 17 PSI rear.

Now I need to decide what to replace them with??
I wonder if the tyre place will take them as a trade haha

Cheers Kev and a nearly lame Darkie ;)

Reply By: Cruiser .- Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 18:13

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 18:13
Sir Kev,

I had Coopers once, but never again.

I experienced the same problems as yourself and when I went to the retailer and showed them the problem, they told me it wasn't warrantable.

Their reason was "they are not covered for off road use"

Below is an extract from their website regarding warranty

"Who isn’t Eligible for the Warranty?

* Taxi or Hire vehicles
* A participating dealer has the right to refuse or vary the warranty period based on their discretion, or because of the particular use of the vehicle.
* The mileage warranty is only applicable to Capital City purchases. When used in the same conditions, Cooper Tires will usually outlast most competitor brands, however, some areas in Australia will cause rapid wear beyond normal use with any brand, that is why the mileage warranty is restricted to Capital Cities."

How good is that for a warranty.

Anyway, back to my experience. When I was in Brisbane, I spoke to Terry Smith at Moorooka who is the importer of Coopers into Australia and he backed up the dealer in his assessment of the damage, BUT, he offered me 2 Coopers caps as a consolation. Told him where to fit his cap.

As my tyres were only about 15K old and one tyre was particularly bad, he finally relented and sold me a replacement for that tyre at 1/2 price. Very generous.

Needless to say, when that set of tyres needed replacement, I didnt buy Coopers again.

Cruiser .

AnswerID: 335394

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 18:23

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 18:23
As I mentioned in the OP Darkie came with them so I won't even bother asking for warranty as I don't know when they were fitted.
I have done close to 20K kms in him this year which isn't bad seeing as I have a company car and Sam has an X Trail that she prefers to drive (till I sell it).

Might have a Brand new second hand 285 Cooper ST in the trader soon as I will be getting rid of all them in the not to distant future.

FollowupID: 603105

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 18:13

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 18:13
Same here!!! I bought a set of Cooper STs a few years ago (before the ST/C became available) and the photos is Kev's Thread above, could have been taken of my set of tires (sic).

I know people tell me that my Mickey Thompson MTZ are from the same factory as the Coopers, by by crikey I reckon if that IS the case then it must be that the apprentices are making the Coopers, while the fully qualified blokes make the Mickey T's. There simply is no comparison as far as quality is concerned.

I will never buy Coopers again!!

FollowupID: 603251

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 18:17

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 18:17
Kev, You are not the first and wont be the last to complain, i have had about 6 sets of BFG A/T's all no problems like that and the BFG's are cheaper. The only problem is when they get up around 100,000ks on them, they start to get a bit hard to balance.. Go the BFG's!!! Michael
AnswerID: 335396

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 18:20

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 18:20
Yep I probably will go the BFG's again but am tossing up trying Maxis Bighorns.

FollowupID: 603103

Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 18:37

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 18:37
The old Tyre debate - a few threads down and you have someone who will not touch another set of BFGs. I love my Coopers and they have been good to me. So? Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 603112

Follow Up By: stefan & 12 times Dakar winner - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 18:39

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 18:39
I bought the big horns I had on my Patrol. Very good tyre, VERY grippy on a wet road and were bloody brilliant off road. They seemed to be wearing quickly and was expecting only around 50,000 out of them. BUT at the price still good value. Would I get them again? Yep for sure :)
FollowupID: 603113

Follow Up By: Kiwi & Grenade - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 18:56

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 18:56
i know the maxxis on road tyres are good and would consider their off roaders.....
FollowupID: 603123

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 21:57

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 21:57
Definately another vote for the Maxxis, I had Trepador's on the little play thing I had a while back and those tyres kept forward momentum in the nastiest of conditions. It was never an onroad vehicle so I can't comment on longevity or onroad manners but offroad ....a big Yes from me.

Regards, Trevor.
FollowupID: 603150

Follow Up By: Member QLD Steve & Lorraine Mc - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 09:48

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 09:48
Will second you on that one Michael, been to Coopers twice ATRs, shagged in one 16,000k trip, was given STs to try as a replacement & they weren't any better actually fell to bits. Three sets of BFGs great wear no punctures what more could you ask for !!!!!! My 2 bobs worth for the day.
Cheers Steve.
FollowupID: 603184

Reply By: Isuzumu - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 18:19

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 18:19
I ripped a whole block off one of mine mate, but they did "glue" it back on and its still there. Gee I was hoping to sell you mine hahahaha.
What to buy next, I have a set of MT MTZs on the MU and at $320 each I won't be getting them again and seeing I don't do a lot of hard core off roading any more I think I will probably try these Wide Conqueror AT they are a LT grade and at about $165 each I think they are worth a try, Have them as spares on both the MUs at the moment. We had a similar tyres on the MU Wizard for 40K and still hard plenty of tread left. So horses for courses, I don't believe I need to spend $320 a tyre an more.

Cheers Bruce
AnswerID: 335397

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 18:29

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 18:29
I am not keen on $300+ per tyre either especially if they perform like the current POS Coopers ;)

I will shop around an see what is suggested throughout this thread.

FollowupID: 603108

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 18:21

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 18:21
Gday Kev,

Don't worry about the huge chunks off the Coopers - its normal :-))) Sounds like you made the mistake of taking them offroad!

My choice for ATs at present (it changes almost daily :-))) is for either the Goodyear Silent Armour or the Bridgestone D694LT. They are both very chip resistant on the outback gravel. I've seen the BFG ATKO chip a fair bit, and friends with Mickey Thompsons are complaining about thin sidewalls and chipping on outback tracks.

Haven't heard anything bad about Maxxis, but don't know anyone who's given them a fair belting.

I'm now running the same size rims as yours, and have upsized to the 285/75R16 in the Bridgestones.

phil
AnswerID: 335398

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 18:27

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 18:27
Phil,

Both John R and Robin were running Maxis Bighorns at the Pyrenees and they performed pretty well and no chipping from what I heard and they did the same track that I did.

I suppose it is horses for courses and I am thinking of going back to 265 x 75's for the next set.

I have also been thinking about the D694LT's as well

FollowupID: 603107

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 00:16

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 00:16
Amazing the sort of punishment they had too while we were tripping across Cocroach, Crowstate, Toadstate and Stony Territory. No chips, but heaps of small cuts from stones. Been to the Pyrenees twice since we did those trips too. There are a couple of small chips out of the lugs.

Mad Cowz has Micky T on and tore lugs off last year on Slate Quarry when it was intact ;-))) Nice track then. I just reckoned his tyre pressures were too high.
FollowupID: 603171

Follow Up By: deserter - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 11:35

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 11:35
Another vote for the Silent Armours. Very happy with mine.
FollowupID: 603530

Reply By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 18:25

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 18:25
Sir Kev. Sorry you had a bad run. Mine have been great, no trouble at all. I do not run mine below 30psi in the rocky country, a couple of those photos could be and look like what you would expect from low pressure damage. Maybee thats the problem - just a thought. Cheers Tony
AnswerID: 335399

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 18:34

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 18:34
Sub 20 PSI pressures are required in the Pyrenees IMHO especially after some light rain.

I am assuming that the low pressure reference is the inner side wall damage??
I think it could have been caused by the sidewall rubbing on the lower shock tower when negotiating some of the rough stuff.

FollowupID: 603109

Follow Up By: Skippype - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 18:37

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 18:37
Sir Kev
Horses for courses mate. I have Cooper S/T-C's and have traveled 21,000km all off road in the Cooper Basin. Mine are not down to 1/2 their life yet, not a mark on them. They are always kept at 36psi. Every other tyre I have tried up here, and thats a few, have only lasted between 15 & 18,000km. What more can I say.
Skip
FollowupID: 603111

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 18:42

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 18:42
Skip,

ST's and ST/C's are a very different tyre

FollowupID: 603115

Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 18:43

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 18:43
Skippype. 36psi - Thats the pressure I run 90% of the time unless I hit the sand 18-20psi or have bad corrugations, then down to 30-32. No damge in 30k as yet. Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 603116

Follow Up By: Skippype - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 20:41

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 20:41
Sir Kev
I didn't realise that the ST's & S/T-C's were different. I know quite a few of the guys up here run the S/T-C's and are quite happy with them. Interesting.............
Skip
FollowupID: 603137

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 20:44

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 20:44
Skip,

From what I have read about the 2 types the ST/C's are designed to be chip resistant. Hence a different compound.

FollowupID: 603138

Follow Up By: motor_head - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 22:14

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 22:14
Hmmmm......Tony, i thought the same thing when i seen the pic's.......Sir Kev, no offence intented but in all fairness did you just blame your vehicle spec's for the inner sidewall damage, dont think its fair to blame the trye for that one.
FollowupID: 603154

Reply By: howesy - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 18:33

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 18:33
Just another name for overpriced and over rated. Always been rubbish and still havent changed by the look of it.
Kumho gives as good as Cooper as do most others.
AnswerID: 335401

Reply By: stefan & 12 times Dakar winner - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 18:34

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 18:34
Ahhh Kev me old mate I am going to have to agree as well. The Poojero came with Cooper ATR'S on it when I got it. They still have around 70% tread on them and looked brand new. Went out the other week, dropped pressure ect, no spinning of wheels on rocks ect and guess what........they are chipped to the bleep house. I won't be replacing them

Cheers Stefan
AnswerID: 335402

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 18:44

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 18:44
"they are chipped to the bleep house. I won't be replacing them"

Sooooooooo your gunna use them again?? LOL

FollowupID: 603117

Follow Up By: stefan & 12 times Dakar winner - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 18:46

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 18:46
"Sooooooooo your gunna use them again?? LOL "

Yep for Burn outs and circle work :)
FollowupID: 603119

Reply By: Member - Mal and Di (SA) - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 18:51

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 18:51
Before I start I want it to be known that I have three BFG's waiting to go on the Prado. I know I need 4 but one at a time.
Beginning of last year I bought a second hand Prado with 70K on the clock and fitted with Cooper STT. Noisy b-----ers! However we took off for Birdsville and into Lawn Hill finished up in Cooktown and back home to SA. No issues with tyres, nary a flat and still looking good.
This year after much agonising about whether I should replace before a trip to Darwin via Oodnadatta Chambers Pillar I decided to just go and did. Arrived in Darwin and they still looked good so headed down to Cordillo Downs Innamincka Tibooburra and hit the black stuff again at Balranald. From there to Melbourne and back home. Tyre problems -- zip, not a thing, sure they are worn but no lost lugs, no cracking and no flats. Is there enough left to do another dirt trip? No, but I would drive back to Melbourne or similar on the bitumen. Now I'm not going to replace with Coopers but sometimes I wonder why.
M.
AnswerID: 335407

Reply By: Shaker - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 19:04

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 19:04
I got caught with them too .... NEVER AGAIN!
AnswerID: 335409

Reply By: Kiwi & Grenade - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 19:08

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 19:08
We had no probs with the stt's except for a few little divits etc but that was expected, but either they do ya good or they do ya bad.....they did you bad and as good....

go figure hey!
AnswerID: 335410

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 20:20

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 20:20
Go Figure???

You never took the 80 Series off road ;)

FollowupID: 603134

Follow Up By: Kiwi & Grenade - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 20:36

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 20:36
oooh! dems fightn words!
done more than what darkies done!
FollowupID: 603135

Reply By: mechpete - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 19:51

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 19:51
my first set of ST,s did 60k, CSR ,GRR. Simpson x2 , Transcontinental railway line and many other trips .
2nd set did 11k and showed radial cracks ,the local dealer didn,t hesitate to replace them , can,t ask for better service than that
just bought another set .
mechpete
AnswerID: 335411

Reply By: Member - Brett C (WA) - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 20:03

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 20:03
Thats no good.

I am on my third set of Cooper ST's. Have travelled some very ordinary roads and to date have not let me down....while other brands have let my fellow travellers down.

I so no reason for me to change, as they have been the best tyres that I have ever driven on...and still no flats after 170K in total kilometres.

Good luck with your next purchase.

Brett.....
AnswerID: 335413

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 20:13

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 20:13
Brett,

Luck has a lot to do with purchasing tyres, some are good and some not so good ;)

FollowupID: 603132

Reply By: Member - Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 20:05

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 20:05
Kev,
I’m very happy with my Duelers 31x10.5x15 on the cruiser.
I admit they’ve done a lot of black top work, run at 36psi. I also run that pressure in the forest trails.
They’ve done about 40k and look about half worn, maybe a bit less.
I’m starting to think it’s all about advertising. Get your brand out there in the media and get people talking about it and others will think they are the ducks guts.
Don’t get me wrong. Some have had a good run with them, as you yourself have heard.
To me there are so many variables that sometimes the results can get clouded.
Here is an example.
Many years ago I had an XW Fairmont, 351, TopLoader, 9’ lsd She sat on the deck, race suspension, and I was told that Goodyear ZR’s 255x15 would be the go.
Now 15 old years ago $300 a tyre was big money and you would expect some sort of value out of that kinda money.
Sure, it handled like a train on tracks. Reality. They were only good for 15000 km’s
The car was too heavy for them.
Maybe that’s something to look at.

Sorry to hear you’ve had a bad run with them, Kev.

AnswerID: 335415

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 20:11

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 20:11
I wouldn't call it a bad run, just they didn't live up to the expectation that they would survive more kms than they have.

This is my first run with Coopers and at the moment it will be my last unless all other manufacturers tyres end up with the same results ;)

FollowupID: 603131

Follow Up By: stefan & 12 times Dakar winner - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 20:13

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 20:13
An XW handling like a Train on tracks!! How many beers ya had :):):) LOL Just kidding

Had a Suzuki Mighty Boy as a loan car a few years back. Fist time I drive a go-kart on the road, really you just planted it and steered!! LOL
FollowupID: 603133

Follow Up By: Member - Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 20:38

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 20:38
Kev Writes,
'just they didn't live up to the expectation"
Yeap, that's the bit that hurts.

Hey Stefan, I'm telling ya, she did. I don't care how many beers I've had. Just between only you and me, it's been a few, Sshh. Wish I still had her, o well we move on. Now in stock form they're they have the body roll of a thirty foot trawler in a cyclonic swell.

Anyway, kev, you going to show your local Coopers dealer?
Be interested hear what they say. Please let us know.
FollowupID: 603136

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 20:46

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 20:46
Hairs,

It isn't worth it as the warranty is only for the original buyer and I did not stick with their Authorised dealer crap that they require for a claim.

FollowupID: 603139

Reply By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 20:12

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 20:12
http://www.coopertires.com.au/cooper/warranty.htm

Check this out.
I know Kev's aren't under warranty, but check out the small print (and large print) in the warranty/disclaimer sectionn.
AnswerID: 335416

Reply By: OzTroopy - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 20:29

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 20:29
Hey Sir Kev.

Damn coopers ... lol ... half the country loves them and the other half hates them.

Have heard of and seen plenty of the problems your pics show. Mainly the chipping.

Have successfully run Hankook A/Ts over the last 10yrs ... Not the best in the world but overall quite acceptable.

BFG would be my first choice if the wallet wasnt in control of the brain.

Like you ... thinking hard about the Maxxis brand. Not expecting to get massive distances out of them but the reports from those I know with them ... are all positive - and are worth a try at the price. Most surprisingly the bighorns, even with that big open tread pattern, still hang on quite well in the wet.

Looking at a Maxxis Trepadors in the coming weeks. Have a tighter pattern than the Bighorn and better protected sidewalls. If not them, the Hankook M/T will get a trial.

Main trouble with tyre choosing, is that no one seems to do the exact same things you do in a vehicle, so as to give a fair assessment ... LOL
AnswerID: 335417

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 20:49

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 20:49
Oztroopy,

I will have a gander at the Trepadors, they sound like an AT variety of the Bighorn. They would probably suit my needs better than the Bighorn if I went the Maxis way.

FollowupID: 603141

Follow Up By: stefan & 12 times Dakar winner - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 21:12

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 21:12
"Most surprisingly the bighorns, even with that big open tread pattern, still hang on quite well in the wet."

Must be the softer compound, they really hang on in the wet. My Patrol would have been around the 2.5T mark and they stuck like Poo to a blanket in the wet.
FollowupID: 603143

Reply By: Best Off Road - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 20:43

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 20:43
We had a set or ST's.

Very good in mud, quite acceptable on road (no major noise).

I loved them

UNTIL

We did a bit of very of very modest, dry country, hilly, rocky stuff. Small chunks were missing of the lugs which did not inspire any condidence to try them any harder.

I wouldn't use them again.

AnswerID: 335419

Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 21:14

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 21:14
Cooper Discoverer STT

I discovered that they weren't meant for offroad....lol

Expensive exercise

AnswerID: 335424

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 21:31

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 21:31
I don't see any Torn Lugs, cracking or chipping on those Willem.

Just a couple of small sidewall plugs LOL

FollowupID: 603145

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 21:49

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 21:49
And the white lettering is still intact luckily!! Michael
FollowupID: 603148

Follow Up By: equinox - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 16:23

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 16:23
Willem,

Just keep shoving the plugs in mate and they will be fine ;)))

FollowupID: 603231

Reply By: Member - Doug M (SA) - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 21:31

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 21:31
Hi alll,
The Cooper supporters seem strangely quiet on this post. Why is that ;-)
Doug
AnswerID: 335426

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 00:14

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 00:14
DOUG M

ill jump in there..........

have cooper ATR's on the navara,cant fault them on this vehicle.
have given them a caning in the rough stuff,worn well on the bitumen & have been terrific in the mud and sand.

i will definitely be getting another set when the time comes,cheers.
FollowupID: 603170

Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 16:07

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 16:07
Doug M. BECAUSE WHATS THE USE! I have no trouble with My Coopers as do a lot of other people and have posted this fact. Some have trouble like some others do. But that is the same for BFGs and any other brand of tyre. This is just another post from someone who did have an issue.

One day someone will go through all the posts about tyres and get some real evidence to why the failures happen. People run tyres at so many varied pressures and speeds it would be hard to pinpoint why a tyre failed. A lot post about tyres that are not even supposed to go out on the rock country, the Cooper AT is one of those. The salesman should tell you that and mine did when I was looking at them.

Basicly all the top brands are as good as each other, so far I will run another set of Sts. Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 603229

Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 16:12

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 16:12
P/S You must be reading a different thread. I just looked above and the Cooper owners with no trouble have replied? Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 603230

Follow Up By: Member - Doug M (SA) - Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 18:42

Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 18:42
Yep Tony your are right. I must be going blind in my old age but not blind enough to miss seeing the blocks coming off my ST's at 15,000 kilometers and not deaf enough to hear the dealer tell me it is normal wear and tear for Coopers and offer no assistance whatever not even a discount on another set of tyres!.
Doug
FollowupID: 603424

Reply By: Member - Andrew (WA) - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 21:46

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 21:46
I've had Cooper AT's then Cooper ST's then ATR's

The AT's dropped lugs and began to crack. After complaining loudly I was given a pro-rata change over and went to the ST's. They cracked around the side wall and then they got a recall so I went to ATR's.

The ATR's were the best by far but gave a very stiff ride and are renowned for 'train tracking' on the bitumen..always having to correct the steering.

They were all on a GU partol

Now I have a TD100. It came with BFG AT KO's. I just replaced them with another set of the same last week.

The BFG's seem to not suffer any of the issues that the Cooper's did.
AnswerID: 335433

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 22:26

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 22:26
Hullo Sir Kev,

greetings from the West.

I have used BFGs up to this point. With the exception of one set of Coopers. Wasn't happy with them.

I've read a lot of support on this Forum for D694s and then I saw this photo on another Forum.

It shows a BFG A/T on top and a D694 on the bottom. It's just got more of everything that matters. These will be going on the Cruiser next time.

cheers and all the best to Sam.

AnswerID: 335441

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 16:29

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 16:29
Steve,

It would be interesting to see what a few other brands looked like when new as well, although it is all about different tyre compounds, tread patterns as well as strength.

Sam is in a good mood today as she got a part time job working 2 days a week. Now I will be able to afford to do more trips as she can add to my trip fund haha

FollowupID: 603232

Reply By: Member - Josh (VIC) - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 22:46

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 22:46
Hi Sir Kev,
We are up to 52,300 Km so far on our MT MTZ's towing a camper trailer around oz. Done some very serious work (even while towing). Yes they are worn and have some chunks missing but given what I've done to them no wonder. When setting up for the trip was addvised not to touch coopers as they are set for amerian conditions (believe it or not there not the same as here lol). I thought theMT's wore abit fast to start with but now after 52,000 kms I am very happy and would buy them again. Had BFs once, not again. Side walls kept bulging. Hope you find something that you are happy with.

Kidsandall
Josh
AnswerID: 335445

Follow Up By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 23:04

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 23:04
Hiya Josh

Mine have done about 4k worth of driving,from general road use to very rocky dirt roads...I will be going through Dargo,Grant,Howqua etc etc at the end of this month...Personally i do not expect any damage from these tyres..

Almost everyone who has had them would buy them again,When almost dollar for dollar they were an excellent buy..Coopers well thats another story..

FollowupID: 603165

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 07:35

Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 07:35
Just of interest Mickey Thompsons are made by Coopers, I have a set of Cooper STs on the Wizard and a set of MT MTZs on the MU.
I tore a block off the STs when I had them on the MU it has a Lokka, which does not help this problem, and have chipped the MTZs as well. But they seem to be wearing ok. The cost is what gets me though and don't think I will buy them again, especially as I don't do as much serious off roading.

Cheers Bruce.
FollowupID: 603326

Follow Up By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 14:38

Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 14:38
*Just of interest Mickey Thompsons are made by Coopers, I have a set of Cooper STs on the Wizard and a set of MT MTZs on the MU.*

Hiya Bruce

You wouldnt believe it from here and other threads,maybe they are using the bleep e rubber off the MT'S to make the Coopers...

Its very hard to believe these tyres are linked somehow,not saying your telling porky pies at all either..I've heard something similar before..

FollowupID: 603374

Reply By: motor_head - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 00:04

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 00:04
Well here's my 2 bob's worth, i put cooper st's on my 60 series cruiser (open diffs, no lockers), they did outlast their 80,000 klm warranty but what really impressed me was when i was climbing a very steep mountain, i was running road pressure because i didnt realise just how steep this mountain was going to get and by this time i definately didnt want to stop for anything, then murphy's law tapped me on the shoulder, in front of me was a very steep incline that freaked me out, it was about 4 meters high and i thought there is no way i could do it without lockers, but already being on a very steep slope and not wanting to stop i thought my only chance was to pin it and hope for the best and yes i made it, i was truely amazed and have no doubt it was only because of my tyres. Then i bought a prado that was wearing hankook at's that looked more like very very cheap street tyres, i couldnt wait to wear out these pathetic looking tyres so i would have an excuse to buy decent ones, well, i didnt do much offroad stuff with them tyres but the bloody things just would not wear out, they were still going strong at 60,000 klm's but fitted some cooper stt's for a 12,000 trip around NT and across the gulf, they performed excellent, no flat's and no problems although they did wear more than i expected, i think because of excessive chipping, i think the st's would have been a better choice for the trip. Ok, thats just my personal experience but the FACT is....ALL tyres chip, all tyres can have lug's torn off them, all tyres can crack, all tyres can get side wall damage, all tyres can get punctured and go flat, blah blah. And.....just because 2 or 200 different tyre brands travel on the same track doesnt mean they all hit the same tyre destroying object. Do i like cooper tyres?...hell yeah, do i think they are the best value tyre?...hell no.
AnswerID: 335454

Reply By: Muddy doe (SA) - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 00:07

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 00:07
Hi Kev,

Have had a good look at my Goodyear MTR's that did much the same tracks as you did at Pyrenees and there is not a mark on them. They have around 45,000km on them now and are looking real good.

I have Cooper ATR for general use and am very happy with them for bitumen and sand but anything more demanding than that and the MTR's go on the Prado.

I know what I will be replacing the MTR's with and that is more of the same.

Muddy
AnswerID: 335455

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 03:41

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 03:41
Kev
I have these on at the moment, performing very good.

Yokohama

My 2nd Choice

AnswerID: 335458

Reply By: Member - Bucky, the "Mexican"- Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 05:14

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 05:14
Kev
I have 4 , 285*75*16 Cooper ST's in the shed. waiting to be picked up by my Nephew.
He likes them. I don't .. they were on the Patrol, when I rescued the poor thing from a Toyota Dealership.(what an embarisment for the patrol) And to make matters it had these Cooper Tyres on ,,, sidewall ripples, and what a hard ride. The Coopers give a ride from hell.

Now got the BFG. AT's, and so far love them.

Cheers Mate

ps.... sorry about the "yota" joke, couldn't resist

AnswerID: 335462

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky, the "Mexican"- Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 05:16

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 05:16
Kev
Just one other thing.

Mate at Meeniyan has BFG Muddies on his Navara, and it's amazing where he can take the vehicle, he scares the be-jusus out of me.

Cheers Again
FollowupID: 603175

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 07:26

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 07:26
Bbucky,

He doesn't want a brand new Cooper ST of that size for a spare does he??

I'll be changing all 5 tyres when I find a replacement.

FollowupID: 603176

Reply By: briann532 - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 08:07

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 08:07
Sir Kev,

I'm not wishing to prolong the whole tyre argument, I just have a question for my own benfit.

Can you read the date stamp on the tyre?
I had a set of new Mickey T's years ago that when installed new, were actually 6 years old.
(I will never go back to that shop again)

I'm intrigued as to whether or not you had an old aged set???

P.S. I run BFG muds on and off road for 11 years and have never had a problem. Driven most tracks, towed and played.
Can be noisy after 60 thousand k's but the patrol has a radio!!!

AnswerID: 335470

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 14:08

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 14:08
Brian,

The date stamp saye they are 2006 manufactured.

FollowupID: 603216

Reply By: Member - Chris & Debbie (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 11:36

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 11:36
I wonder how many people talk themselves into hating certain tyres/vehicles etc... by what they read on these forums?
It also amazes me how, like on this forum, people seem to love their BFG tyres, have no trouble with them and recommend them. But if you look at the trip planning notes on the LCOOL forum for their big trips (Madigan line, Hay River, Simpson etc..), which they seem to plan meticulously, it is stated NO BFG tyres due to the problems they have had with them in the past.

I run STT's and have had no problems with them so far.
AnswerID: 335495

Reply By: ajd - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 12:09

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 12:09
I am 15000 km. into my first set of cooper ST's and they look even worse than yours.

AnswerID: 335500

Reply By: Member - Axle - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 14:13

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 14:13
Kev!, Just to make you laugh. I am running standard rims 750x16 Dunlop road Grippers, Been on for four years and up to the 120,000km mark, two punctures, and the vehicle has always got a load on. Regarded as cheap, skinny. crap. tryres but i am smiling about all this ...lol.

Cheers axle.
AnswerID: 335520

Follow Up By: Shaker - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 14:35

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 14:35
I have noticed that quite a few of the station vehicles in the Outback use Road Grippers.
FollowupID: 603219

Follow Up By: Member - Russnic [NZ] - Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 06:35

Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 06:35
I Have followed the great tyre debate ever since discovering this forum. My intentions are to spend most of my travel time avoiding cities and highways, so decided to do what a lot of the locals do out there and stuck with 750x16 Dunlop Road Grippers and split rims.
Travelled 12,550 ks in 7 weeks mainly outback.
One flat. at Ruby Gap, East McDonnell's so headed back to Alice to repair, being a bit lazy when it comes to repairing a flat when some one else can do the job. pleased I did as the cause was an incorrectly fitted tube from new, and had a split 300/400mm long so needed a new tube anyway.
I think I will just stick with them.
Skinny yes, but then they don't bag out so much exposing the side wall to damage. Cheap? not so sure. Went to buy another for second spare, ended up fitting a Yokohama, almost $100.00 cheaper with an as new rim thrown in.
FollowupID: 603324

Reply By: Member - Tour Boy (Bororen) - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 16:34

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 16:34
Been there done that ..same problem...NEVER again, overpriced garbage that from my experience just won't cut the mustard here in oz.
2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

AnswerID: 335534

Reply By: Member - Mark E (VIC) - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 18:30

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 18:30
I reckon I have read just about every thread on tyres on multiple forums and without going to Mud tyres, just about all brands of AT's seem to have at least some bad press.

I'm sure there's the issues of inappropriate tyre pressure for varying circumstances that may see a particular brand of tyres slammed.

I relation to BFG's v Coopers, these seem to be the most 'popular' tyre sold, so there are bound to be more people complaining about them.

I have run BFG AT's some years ago and had a good run out of them, but they weren't much chop on slippery tracks. Currently have the Road Grippers mentioned above and have put them through their paces and they have been great all except for their life: 40K km.

Replacing them in the morning with Pro Comp At's 265/75x16 (though I was tempted with the Xtreme MT's which are said to be fairly quiet on the back top and excellent in the rocks and slop. But the price was a little too high and I knew they would wear about 20% faster than the AT's. Also even though I do a bit in the High Country, still cant justify a muddy as the car is a daily driver also.

Only time will tell............... No back to reading tyre threads.............................

AnswerID: 335559

Reply By: pprass - Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 12:55

Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 12:55
Not sure if this will add anything to the discussion, but here goes:

I have had 1 set of BFG A/T's, 2 sets of Cooper ST's and 1 set of Cooper STT's.

The BFG's lasted well but chipped badly around the edges after a few trips in the Vic high country and then a big trip in the desert.
Both sets of ST's did the same, but also threw lugs.
The dealer said it was because I was too agressive and didn't lower tyre pressure enough. Don't agree with the agressive comment, but the tyre pressure is valid, however I have now read in this thread that you shouldn't lower them too much - ie not less than 20 psi.
Tried STT's and found them to be fantastic when fairly new. A few cuts here and there, but I did go over rough stuff so it is expected, but no chipping and no lugs thrown or peeling off. They are magic on loose gravel and you can actually feel them stick to the road - BFG's and ST's just can't compare.

The only problem that I now have with the STT's is that after 60k, they are badly scalloped and make a hell of a noise on bitumen. Dealer said it is because of faulty suspension and that they haven't been properly rotated. Front shockers were replaced when I had ST's, so I don't think that would be the problem. Lack of rotation may be the fault.

Would I go back to STT's? If I was doing a lot of heavy 4wding - yes without a doubt and I would make sure that my mechanic rotated the tyres every 5k! However as I probably won't be doing as much heavy stuff anymore, I will probably go for BFG's or similar.

Just wish I knew why the STT's scallop so badly on the Patrol?
AnswerID: 335674

Follow Up By: trainslux - Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 22:56

Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 22:56
Tyres that scollop do so for 2 reasons.
Worn shock absorbers.
Or
Tyre out of balance.
Basically its a rotational issue, if the tyre/ shock is out, then you get more wear on one place due to the extra pressure exerted on every rotation.

Could have been that the tyre balancer was not correctly set, or the tyres were not adequately balanced when new ??
Then they just continue to wear, and get worse over time.

Rotations help even out the wear caused by steering, and if you get them rotated, balance them.

In the end, some have had good results, and others have had bad results.
I feel for those who have had trouble, and poor response from their tyre reseller, rep etc.

I have had nothing but excellent experience with our local Cooper tyre distributor/ outlet as far as customer service and focus goes.
Will see how the tyres go with time.

I also realise that there are others who have not, and this is an issue that needs to be addressed so that any problems can be dealt with effectivly, promptly, and fairly.

Trains

FollowupID: 603478

Follow Up By: pprass - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 11:58

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 11:58
Thanks trainslux for the information.

However regarding shockers wearing out and causing the uneven wear, I would be astounded if the Terrain Tamers that I have would wear out in just 50k with probably just 5k of that being true off road. I had them replaced before getting the STT's.
FollowupID: 603537

Follow Up By: trainslux - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 14:48

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 14:48
Re shocks.
Well ive seen some last for decades, and still going strong.
and others that were stuffed after 20kms down a dirt road.
So 50k out of a set, could easily see them not at their best.
Add in a slightly out of balance tyre, or loose a weight off the rim, and its not long till you have that wear pattern.

So much depends on road surfaces you run over, tyre pressures that you run, weight of vehicle, how its driven, ie speed etc.

When you look at all the contributing factors to cause tyre failure/ wear etc and how they can work against each other, or with each other is quite a subject.

A subject that we all can contribute to, as we all wear out our tyres, or have tyres wear out on us.

T
FollowupID: 603569

Reply By: Rod W - Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 13:53

Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 13:53
I've ran BFG AT's on various vehicles since 1993. I've chipped them, I had blow outs with them, I've had numerous sidewall stakes with them, I've had a couple of them do tread bulges and a couple of them do tread delaminations.

I'm currently contemplating Coopers. I was talking to the Coopers bloke at the 4wd show here in Perth on Saturday about getting a cheaper tyre price without the glorified warranty as I know it will be voided as soon as I get out bush.

So do I stick with the beast I know or go with the one I don't? By what's been said above and my own experience there appears to be no difference. I guess it will come down to price.
AnswerID: 335691

Follow Up By: Lindsaydi - Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 12:06

Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 12:06
I run two sets of coopers --atr's for the blacktop, st-c for the dirt which have done around 55000k, am going to Cape York next year and Kalumbru towing 6.4 m van and also camping gear useing the st-c's. I do most of my ofroad stuff throughout the deserts of WA,NT and SA. What I like about coopers is that I can call coopers in Qld and get to talk to a person who is paid to do the extreme 4x4 stuff to test tyres .Who else does this ?? The worst thing that I can see about Coopers is the fact that I bought a R&R beadbreaker that I haven't used and it uses up valuable space and weight in the old GQ.
FollowupID: 606066

Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 17:38

Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 17:38
Buy a lottery ticket!

From my experience, the tyres are crap & the employees of the distributors are blatant liars & cheats!
FollowupID: 606106

Reply By: Member - Rob (QLD) - Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 18:50

Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 18:50
Hi Kev.

I would agree with coopers being the worst tyre I have put on a 4wd.
We do allot of dirt driving up here in Mount Isa. Hot roads and tracks.
They don't like it. I think I have more plugs than tyre.
Never again.

Rob
AnswerID: 335741

Reply By: Ron173 - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 10:39

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 10:39
Typical Coopers ............most over rated tyres EVER.

I refused to buy them because of their warranty....... black top city boys only....basically if you go off road they wont warrant.

threads like this just prove how sensible a decision not to waste my money on them it really was.

BFG beat them hands down
AnswerID: 335856

Follow Up By: Member - Hanker (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 23:02

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 23:02
Don't agree. Did the Canning, Gunbarrel and Simpson and got a prorata claim as stated on STs. You really should sort out your dealer he was having a lend of you.
FollowupID: 606853

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 23:22

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 23:22
Yes .... but you still had to claim!
FollowupID: 606858

Follow Up By: Member - Hanker (NSW) - Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 06:40

Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 06:40
Well spotted Shaker, but as you I stated it was a successful claim not like my mates and there indestuctable BFG who have no claims for their collection of tyres with holly than thou sidewalls. you will be pleased to know that I run Toyos on the Highway so I am not blinded by the light of Coopers . But as I said I did 66,000kms over rocks, sand. dirt and mud with 1 tryre failure and when I made my claim Coopers gave me a warranty claim on 6 tyres and I kept the 5 old tyres which I continued to use for another 15 months. So as you state " Yes........but you still had to claim!" I don't feel that I have been hard done by.
FollowupID: 606866

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 11:55

Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 11:55
Mine failed on the vehicle, I got lied to & cheated by the distributors, so I put the remaining tyres (3) on the camper trailer & on the first Outback trip with them, guess what? ..... They failed on the trailer also!
FollowupID: 606911

Follow Up By: Member - Hanker (NSW) - Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 17:13

Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 17:13
Mate you must be so unlucky I bet if it was raining whores you would end up with Lassie
FollowupID: 606935

Reply By: Mad Cowz (VIC) - Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 10:31

Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 10:31
jeez kev, is this a new record for thread view?
Carpe Cerevisi

AnswerID: 339364

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 10:36

Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 10:36
It is getting good isn't it LOL

FollowupID: 606891