Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 11:08
Ron173
G'Day all,
apologies to those who are fed up of genny threads.
(but why are you reading a genny thread)
I'm in the market for an upgrade, and am pretty sold on the exy but good hondaEU20i, ...... however .......
a check of a local
shop reveals the Engel 2kva which is powered by honda engine.
On paper is a few db noisier, no eco throttle, runs 7hrs on 7ltrs compared to Honda 15hrs on 4ltrs on eco throttle, BUT
its $1200 compared to $2000 for Honda.
The Honda runs on about half fuel, but its not like gennies are thirsty, SO
was wondering, anyone got the Engel, running AC on it?
or general comments on the Engel
rgds
Ron
Reply By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 11:29
Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 11:29
Is that the sine wave or square wave Engel Ron ?
Follow Up By: Ron173 - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 11:47
Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 11:47
Not sure, I dont need clean power, but think I will go the honda. specially after Norms post below.
Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 10:18
Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 10:18
If it doesn't have ecothrottle, I would assume it isn't an Inverter generator at all.
Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 11:35
Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 11:35
The Engel is quite noisy. Much noisier than a Honda.
A bloke camped next to me in NT earlier this year had an Engel. He was real cranky. The retailer told him it was very quiet - similar to a Honda - but not true. He was 1000 KM away from the retailer when he first used it, so returning it was not an option.
He ended up putting it down the side of the river bank
well below the level of the
camp area.
Eco throttle is a good feature. Reduces noise and fuel consumption when gennie is under light load.
Honda has standard 4 year warranty (sometimes 5 during promotions). How does that compare with Engel.
Honda 2KVA is readily available for $1,800 or less if you
shop around a bit.
Norm C
Norm C
Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 11:40
Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 11:40
Generator place has Honda for $1,999, but with over $400 in 'extras' - with 5 year warranty.
Generator Place
Norm C
Follow Up By: Ron173 - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 11:52
Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 11:52
Yeah thanks Norm,
sounds the go, one of reasons getting rid of present one is it sounds like a harley and weighs a ton!
local honda dealer says he will match any internet deal, which is good as then if any issues not got freight involved which is usually at your cost.
local bloke reckons he sold heaps n heaps of EU's, only ever had one problem, which was repaired in his workshop within minutes.
Rgds
Ron
Follow Up By: Flywest - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 12:20
Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 12:20
At the 4wd show in
perth on the w/end - the bro in law & I saw (more correctly heard first then on closer inspection - saw) a small engel genny running beside one of th display tents and were marvelling at how quiet they are now days!
Then we walked round the corner and saw the Honda E20i thing running and honestly it was chalk and cheese you couldn't hear the honda running for the engel gennyy running back around the corner behind the tent.
That was enough to convince us both - go the Honda!!
Follow Up By: Member - Brian (WA) - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 12:54
Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 12:54
I also though how quiet they were at the show, but put that down to the noise around it. How would it be when bush camped
with silence all around. Brian
Reply By: Shaker - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 12:28
Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 12:28
I have read several reports, maybe even here, about Engel generators making a squealing noise when running air conditioning.
Maybe try a Google search.
Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 12:31
Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 12:31
Try Thread ID 52380
Reply By: Dunco (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 12:40
Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 12:40
I just did a whole bunch of research and checked a lot of things out.
In the end I bought the Honda 2kva and was extremely glad I did. It runs my Air Command Ibis a/c without a problem (which many said it wouldn't)
It is quieter, and lighter. I was lucky enough to get a beauty on ebay for $1600 so have a look around before you pay $2000. They are $1799 plus postage at
Power Equipment Online
Follow Up By: Ron173 - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 14:06
Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 14:06
Dunco,
thanks, thats gotta be best deal yet, postage is even free.
Ron
Follow Up By: Ron173 - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 08:56
Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 08:56
correction to my follow up post above, should anyone else be following it.
postage is NOT free, there was a button on site which said postage FEE, which you press n input postcode for a quote.
I thought it said postage free, as some sites do if you spend over so much.
still a good price tho.
Ron
Reply By: Mr Pointyhead - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 13:17
Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 13:17
I vote for the Honda. Nice units !
Also, do not forget that generators are illegal to use in a lot of national
park and
state forest campsites. It pays to check before you fire it up.
There where some problems with people using them in some of the
Grampians campsites where they should not have been over the Victorian Long Weekend in November a couple of weeks ago.
Reply By: Best Off Road - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 16:13
Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 16:13
Ron,
I think you can get the Yamaha 2.4 for about the same dough as the Honda 2.0.
I've had Yamaha motor bikes, outboards and stereo gear over the years and cannot fault them. I don't own one of their gennies so cannot precisely comment on it.
Follow Up By: Ron173 - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 16:42
Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 16:42
Thanks Jim,
I did consider it, but its 10kg heavier
Ron
Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 20:49
Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 20:49
Ah,
That would have a bearing Ron.
I've got a Kipor 2000 (direct copy of the Honda that has not inspired my confidence enough to ever recommend it) and it weighs 22 kg like the Honda.
Another 10 kg would make it a bastard of a thing to move around.
Follow Up By: Ron173 - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 21:52
Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 21:52
Jim,
the kipor sounds good but the big thing with a/c units and the honda seems to be the 'transient' overload capabilities.
My a/c is a truma climaster, made by dometic, who say their entire range will run on the EU20i.
My a/c is 4.4A continous,but 20A start up for 150milli seconds, the honda will handle that start up, where others wont.
The 10kg extra is an issue, I aint gettin any younger and it damn near kills me to lift this 70kg monster I got at mo, in fact I cant wait to get rid of it before I do myself an injury!
Its a 2.8kva and is great for power cuts around house etc, but its NOT portable, unless you got 2 BIG blokes, reckon it will be outside house with $300 tag on it shortly!
rgds
Ron
Reply By: Bat30 - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 16:39
Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 16:39
I have a Honda and it sure uses a lot more fuel then that, if running air and it is hot more like 4 hrs out of a
tank.
Follow Up By: Ron173 - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 16:45
Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 16:45
I hear what your saying there mate, and agree, the fuel consumption they quote is on eco throttle which is only for light load running.
still at only a 4ltr
tank, thats a ltr / hr which is average for a 2kva, at least you have the option to save fuel if only running lights for example.
Rgds
Ron
Follow Up By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 16:59
Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 16:59
* the fuel consumption they quote is on eco throttle which is only for light load running*
Hiya Ron
Yes that would have been my guess !
Reply By: Racey - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 19:11
Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 19:11
I have a 2.6 Kipor for about 12months, it's a true 2 kva rating whereas the Honda is only 1.6kva. You can pick one up for around $1600-1700. It will drive everything we have in our van without any problems. About 12 months ago Primus became the sole distributors of Kipor which eliminated the warranty confusion previously when several importers were bringing them into Australia.
Check them out, don't wipe them off just because they're Chinese.
Racey
Reply By: puttputt - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 01:16
Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 01:16
The engel has a honda motor but is a square wave, and the honda is a sine wave which is suitable for digital equipment.
Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 20:22
Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 20:22
Hi Ron,
About halfway down this
Thread 63325
In response 3 of 5 I wrote of my experience checking the electrics of various generators and what I'd found.
It's easier to cross link you than retype the information,
Geoff.
| Geoff,
Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |