Hairy (NT)
Anyone planning to travel around the Centre....watch the forecasts and dont
camp in
creek beds!
The Todd peaked at Wiggleys yesterday (a couple kms North of Town) at about 2.9 meters.
Town has had nearly 80mm since Friday and another storm went just South of us about an hour ago.(with hail)
Here are a few photos of around Alice.
Reply By: Member - Mal and Di (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 16:37
Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 16:37
You blokes have been getting a hammering the last few months.
And Hairy, I thought you were moving on?
M.
Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Thursday, Nov 20, 2008 at 10:17
Thursday, Nov 20, 2008 at 10:17
Yeah we are.......Putting the house on the market after Christmas.
Reply By: Zukscooter - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 16:46
Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 16:46
Mice pic's Hairy,good that you are getting a good supply of H20.
Cheers Bob.
Follow Up By: darrell.QLD - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 18:37
Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 18:37
I didnt see the mice! where were they????
Follow Up By: Zukscooter - Thursday, Nov 20, 2008 at 08:14
Thursday, Nov 20, 2008 at 08:14
Darrel you are not looking hard enough.Lol (typo)
Reply By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 17:09
Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 17:09
G'day Hairy,
Would have cleared a bit of '
debris' out of the Todd...
Michael
Follow Up By: Kiwi & Grenade - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 21:19
Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 21:19
It washes back ya know!!LOL!!
Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Thursday, Nov 20, 2008 at 10:18
Thursday, Nov 20, 2008 at 10:18
Yeah mate, Mounds of cans and crap everywhere.
Reply By: Member - Royce- Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 17:22
Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 17:22
I'd love to see that in the flesh.
Global warming?
Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 19:23
Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 19:23
We experienced the Todd in full flood when we were there during
Easter 2000.
On the way up to
Darwin we called in to Alice and the only
water in the Todd was the permanent
water hole behing the Telegraph station.
On the way back down about two weeks later (
Easter) we hit the
water over the highway about 50 kilometers north and drove the rest of the way (in the dark) by following the white line, submerged but visable.
Had to spend a further three days in Alice before the Suart Highway was opened to the south.
A fantastic but humbling experience on what Mother Nature can dish up.
Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Thursday, Nov 20, 2008 at 13:23
Thursday, Nov 20, 2008 at 13:23
You mean the "almost"
permanent waterhole at the telegraph station...
Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 19:44
Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 19:44
You could host a proper regatta in that lot. The Todd in flood is always spectacular. Will get to see the center in full flood one day.
Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Thursday, Nov 20, 2008 at 10:20
Thursday, Nov 20, 2008 at 10:20
Its only ever been cancelled once that I can remember, and that was because the river was flowing.
Reply By: handy - Thursday, Nov 20, 2008 at 07:33
Thursday, Nov 20, 2008 at 07:33
how come you didnt show the full picture of the nissan towing you thru the
water. LoL.
make sure you keep your cast dry. ha ha
Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Thursday, Nov 20, 2008 at 10:24
Thursday, Nov 20, 2008 at 10:24
If you look carefully you will notice Im already on the other side.
Had to go through and check the depth for him and get the snatchum ready! Hahahaha
Yeah... Annes driving this weekend! I told her I she bogs it shes on her own! Id sink like a rock at the moment Id reckon.
Hahahaha
Reply By: Dave... Adelaide (SA) - Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 21:01
Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 21:01
G'day Hairy
Some good pics there mate....Good to see your still around, haven't seen much of you online lately, thought you might have chucked it in...lol..
Cheers....Borgy