Camp sites - northern NSW

Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 05, 2003 at 03:23
ThreadID: 6370 Views:13559 Replies:7 FollowUps:8

We are looking to meet up with family from Qld (we are south of Sydney), at the end of September for a bit of a camping/fishing extravaganza and wanted a camp site sort of half way between us (Northern NSW).

Could anyone recommend a spot? Would prefer somewhere inland near a river or dam where it's no problem to have a couple of dogs.

Have been told about a place called The Gorge near Copmanhurst but am unsure whether you can take dogs.

Reply By: JimB - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2003 at 07:49

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2003 at 07:49
Ay Squid,

Yeah mate, there are some nice places you can camp at and could take your dogs. The Old Glen Innes Rd west of Grafton is very nice. Quite a few camping spots on the Boyd River. It does get pretty popular during holiday and warm times though.

Up the top of the (I think it's) Styx River west of Macksville is very nice too. Road goes from Macksville through Taylors Arm (Pub With No Beer) and up to Wollomombi not far from Armidale.

Jim
AnswerID: 26817

Follow Up By: Squid - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2003 at 18:47

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2003 at 18:47
Thanks Jim - I was just reading about the Styx River in 4wd Monthly. Looks like a nice spot.

Regarding the Boyd River - any ideas what the fishing is like?

FollowupID: 18383

Reply By: Member - Bill- Tuesday, Aug 05, 2003 at 08:48

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2003 at 08:48
Copeton dam just south of Inverell is exactly what you need, it's a State Recreation area. http://www.stateparks.nsw.gov.au/copeton.html. The free range camping is well spread out so your group can be well away from others. Waterslide for the kids etc etc. Take a tinnie.Regds

AnswerID: 26821

Follow Up By: haze - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2003 at 18:02

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2003 at 18:02
Bill is right on the spot, but also in the area is Pindari dam, I think better fishing but a bit rougher camping. Also on the Severn R. is the "Willows", a book in spot run by local Aboriginal land council and is really good, plenty of cod and a no hassle environment. Try the Glen Innes or Inverell infomation centres, you wont be dissapointed with NE tablelands
Cheers haze
FollowupID: 18381

Follow Up By: Squid - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2003 at 19:10

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2003 at 19:10
Thanks Bill and Haze I will look into these locations. Would the above locations provide enough room for two large exuberant dogs to run around without worrying anyone?

Also we don't have a tinnie so will be fishing from the bank.

Thanks Squid.
FollowupID: 18387

Reply By: Member - Andrew (Bris) - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2003 at 19:20

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2003 at 19:20
Mann River Reserve on the Old Grafton Glenn Innes Road is a great spot. Good camping area. As already said, the Severn River up at Deepwater is supposed to be good for trout. Don't fish myself, but I know a few people who make the trip from Brisbane regularly to fish in that area. National Parks all over the place. Some great tracks to explore around Dalmorton.
AnswerID: 26859

Follow Up By: Squid - Wednesday, Aug 06, 2003 at 06:32

Wednesday, Aug 06, 2003 at 06:32
Andrew - where is Dalmorton?
FollowupID: 18433

Reply By: haze - Wednesday, Aug 06, 2003 at 08:49

Wednesday, Aug 06, 2003 at 08:49
G'day again squid. re dogs: its our never ending problem, dogs are just not welcome anymore. We are lucky by having access to private property, but for the visitor its a real PITA. Pindari is ok, old Grafton rd. ok, but NOT the Mann riv. reserve, its NP. Dalmorton is down the bottom end of old G rd. an old gold mining area, but I think now sadly taken over by NP. I think some of Copeton may be off limit for dogs also. Also dont want to sound negative, but the local NP rangers are savage, a definite take no prisoners policy where dogs are concerned. Will put the thinking cap on for any other ideas
Cheers, haze
AnswerID: 26913

Follow Up By: haze - Wednesday, Aug 06, 2003 at 17:38

Wednesday, Aug 06, 2003 at 17:38
Nother couple ideas, Squid.
For bank fishing the Dumeresq R ( pronounced duemerik) is good. Reserves exist at Texas and Bonshaw on the Bruxner hwy. Both dog friendly, have been to both. (the Texas pub ok too and lic. gen store at Bonshaw)
cheers haze
FollowupID: 18480

Follow Up By: Squid - Wednesday, Aug 06, 2003 at 18:20

Wednesday, Aug 06, 2003 at 18:20
Gday Haze,

It is a problem when you like to travel with your dog - especially when he's a big boofa - it really limits where you can go.

Out of all the above suggestions which would be your pick? They are all new areas to me so your suggestions are much appreciated.

Squid
FollowupID: 18485

Reply By: haze - Thursday, Aug 07, 2003 at 08:18

Thursday, Aug 07, 2003 at 08:18
G'day Squid Think I would list as follow:
1 Copeton (if dog friendly)
2 Texas/ Bonshaw
3 Pindari
4 Old G. rd.
Assume you are going for at least 1 wk.
cheers haze

AnswerID: 27013

Follow Up By: Squid - Thursday, Aug 07, 2003 at 15:08

Thursday, Aug 07, 2003 at 15:08
Cheers Haze - we will be camping on the way up, taking our time and then spending 2/3 nights at the agreed destination.
FollowupID: 18565

Reply By: Craig - Thursday, Aug 07, 2003 at 19:41

Thursday, Aug 07, 2003 at 19:41
G`day Squid , Were in the same situation with My wifes family up at Ipswich most of the time we travel all the way up, but this year we`ve put the foot down. Mid Sept we are going to meet 1/2 way at an old gold mining area/town "Nundle"
I can probably give feedback after the 15th Sept
Rgds Craig
AnswerID: 27078

Follow Up By: Squid - Thursday, Aug 07, 2003 at 22:19

Thursday, Aug 07, 2003 at 22:19
Hey Craig,

We are meeting up at end of September so would be interested in how you get on.

Squid.
FollowupID: 18602

Reply By: haze - Friday, Aug 08, 2003 at 21:11

Friday, Aug 08, 2003 at 21:11
G'day, again,again Squid! Yes Nundle, another top spot, actually a REALLY top spot! Great camping in town, down at Bowling Alley Pt. and the pick of it up on the top at Sheeba dam. Well stocked with trout, perfect camping area , cold as at night, only prob. chockers in school hols. (and its dog ok!)
cheers haze
AnswerID: 27195