Yippee !!! Photos at last.

Submitted: Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 20:01
ThreadID: 63724 Views:3349 Replies:12 FollowUps:8
Look at moi...Look at moi....LOOK at moi....

After nearly two years of trying to put photos on my profile page, one brutally assaulted puter [currently pushing up daisys] and having given the neighbours lessons on the finer points of domestic violence......Ive done it.......with a little help.

9 yr old from down the street popped in to purloin the usual lemonade icey-pole, saw me cussing at the puter, asked what I was trying to do and a quick flick of the mouse....presto !!!

He's going to help me with photos in the gallery but its "gonna cost me 2 icey-poles and a coke".......bloody little Shylock...lol.

Ok..Ok...Its probably no big deal to most, but, to me Ive just conquered Mt Everest.

Cheers......Lionel & Shylock.

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 20:05

Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 20:05
Good on ya Lionel.

Is that tha old hyden noresman road?

AnswerID: 336479

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 20:10

Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 20:10
No mate, not far away though.

Its a track at Lake Walton a few kms SW of Jaurdi Stn.

Cheers...Lionel.
FollowupID: 604160

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 20:10

Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 20:10
I'm with you Lionel..... Don't you just love that little phrase "user-friendly"/???? hahahaha I've never found a computer that I can get my head around yet!!!
AnswerID: 336481

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 22:39

Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 22:39
Just remember Roachie, the computer may beat you at chess but it'll be no match for you at kick boxing!

FollowupID: 604314

Reply By: Member - Lance S (VIC) - Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 20:18

Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 20:18
Lionel,

Ditto mate, the only way i got my picces on, was by my 12 year old daughter at the time. Still can't work that damn computer out, just know how to turn on and off and of course EO.

cheers,

Lance
Home Away from Home

AnswerID: 336482

Reply By: Member - Bob W (VIC) - Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 20:31

Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 20:31
G'day Lional. congratulations on your sucess. I'm full of envy... As I haven't got a clue how to do it... Now I need to buy some icy poles and coke and find a kid, LOL...
AnswerID: 336485

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 20:35

Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 20:35
Careful how you go about that Bob........lol.
FollowupID: 604164

Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 20:37

Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 20:37
Geez...what can I say, Lionel. And you are a young fella by comparison.....hahahahaha

Anyway good to see you speeding up to the future.

AnswerID: 336488

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 21:40

Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 21:40
Yeh Willem

I reckon some puters have a mind of there own, I had our computer
looked at some time back, and just by chance the technician who
was working on it saw our Camera sitting on the office desk, and
asked if we had trouble putting photos on it, I said yes, and he set
it up for Dummies, now I can do it with my eyes closed, just have to
take some interesting photos.
FollowupID: 604173

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 22:06

Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 22:06
Daza

I was lucky to start with computers afore I got too old, in the 1980's. It was one of the most exasperating struggles as I knew nothing about them or how they worked. Got on the internet in 2000 and it got worse from there. Had a mega learning curve about everything internet hardware and software and have finally got a grip of it some 20 years after starting out. Havent learn't how to fix the plurry things though!!!!!!

FollowupID: 604176

Reply By: Mobi Condo - Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 21:38

Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 21:38
Yeah - right - every body knows that 'puters are easy! :-) :-)
Once you realise that turn one off (with MS stuff of course) you have to push the start button!
Wonder how that goes with cars?
Cheers - Mobi
AnswerID: 336493

Reply By: Lotzi - Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 11:23

Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 11:23
At our place we use the 7 year old puta tek from next door to sort things out, I like the way she says that it is easy then proceeds to move at lightning speed, fixes it and then says, "did ya follow that".

She (puta Tek) told the warden the other day that the puta has windows, warden promptly went out and made curtains for the thing.................... thats not all, I had to fit them.
AnswerID: 336544

Reply By: oz doc - Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 11:54

Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 11:54
Hey Lionel - At least the children are good for something. (not much good for anything else - like dishes, picking up their clothes, making their beds, putting the bin out etc etc etc ) doc.
AnswerID: 336548

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 11:58

Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 11:58
About time you old fogeys attended a computer class or two hahahahaha

AnswerID: 336549

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 13:57

Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 13:57
Al, I don't think that being an old fogy has much to do with puters.
I started learning Basic around 1977 on my old Commodore 64.
I wrote my Thesis on a Commodore 128 with no spell check and a page limit of 5000 words...so you had to link pages with code.
I was hardly an old fogy in those days.
FollowupID: 604243

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 14:06

Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 14:06
Footy,

I was talking to the old fossils above before you entered the thread LOL

1977 eh ! I'd been working on REAL computers (that needed largish rooms ) for six years by then. All done in Assembler back then.

FollowupID: 604244

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 14:23

Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 14:23
Al, yes the old tape machines.
I can remember Siliac at Sydney Uni....all valves.
But you have to understand that I didn't make a living from computers, they have only ever been a tool to me.
I have to admit that I am old enough to find mobiles too small and laptops need my eyes adjusted. Have never seen a "blue tooth" and I believe that an ipod married an iphone and they had a baby apple....or something like that.
I opted out of embracing all new technologies about 10 years ago when I realized that technologies were changing faster than a bloke could change his undies.
FollowupID: 604248

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 13:51

Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 13:51
Sometimes the smallest things can cause you a huge mental block. Been there and done that many times. It's usually just a matter of looking at the problem in a different light.
Anyway, congratulations.
AnswerID: 336558

Reply By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 15:03

Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 15:03
Give me the little bastards name and address.

AnswerID: 336564

Reply By: Cape York Connections - Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 18:08

Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 18:08
2 years and all we get is a picture of a nissan. LOL

eric
AnswerID: 336591