1HZ Oil For Turbo

Submitted: Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 21:43
ThreadID: 63727 Views:27816 Replies:8 FollowUps:14
I have recently purchased a 80 series Landcruiser with a DTS Turbo System fitted. It's time for an oil change, should I use a different oil grade than what is recommended for a non turbo standard 1HZ. The previous owner changed oil and filter every 5000 km and the motor has done 170,000 km. I am not up to date with current diesel oil brands, any suggestions will be helpfull.

Thanks in advance for your responses.

Reply By: qubert - Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 22:51

Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 22:51
i use the penrite synthetic blended. its about 60 dollars for 10L. it seems to be a bit more heat tollerant and doesnt break down as quick from the heat of the turbo , i think its 15w - 50
AnswerID: 336503

Reply By: Member - Roscoe ET (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 07:48

Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 07:48
pafc,

I use Mobil 1 5w 30 ESP fully synthetic which has been made specifically for turbo engines and the heat a turbo operates at. I buy it from a Mobil depot in 20l drums as you can't buy it off the shelf in any retail outlet. It costs around $200 for a drum

I would only use a fully synthetic and the recommended oil grade as specified for your vehicle whichever brand of oil you decide on though.
AnswerID: 336523

Reply By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 07:52

Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 07:52
I was useing Caltex Delo silver until I fitted the Turbo.Now I use Delo 400.
AnswerID: 336524

Reply By: guy007 - Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 09:04

Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 09:04
Hi pafc,
My 80 with a/m turbo is using Penrite 20/60, a little heavier for the high mileage 330ks!
Guy
AnswerID: 336530

Reply By: Member - Redfive - Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 12:14

Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 12:14

Im going to turbo my troopy very soon im going to use Penrite HPR Diesel 15w50
I emailed Penrite and told me to use this oil

Glenn
AnswerID: 336550

Reply By: Flywest - Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 13:08

Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 13:08
Some links about oil in cruiser engines that might interest you.

Source:- [url]http://www.box.net/shared/static/mcyb32zcwo.doc[/url]

[quote]THE EFFECT OF ENGINE DESIGN ON
HEAVY-DUTY DIESEL ENGINE OIL
FORMULATION
Caltex International Technical Center Pty Limited
Sydney
March 1995
[/quote]
etc etc

Source:- [url]http://www.markerink.org/WJM/HTML/80bigend_oil-analysis-scam.htm[/url]

[quote]What oil companies don't want you to know about oil
(inspired by the failure of big end bearings on Toyota Land Cruisers HDJ-80 with 1HD-T engine ('90-95)) [/quote]

etc etc etc.

Lastly specifically relating to the big end bearings issues with LC 80 series engines.

Source:- [url]http://www.lcool.org/technical/80_series/td_bearings.html[/url]

[quote]There has been a continuing stream of owners of 1990 - 1994 1HD-T (12 valve turbo diesel) with big end bearing failures. There is evidence of flaking or erosion in the big end bearings.

The symptom is a ticking sound and sometimes a slight drop in oil pressure over a period of time. Unfortunately, this can't be ignored as the consequences can be very expensive indeed. As the bearings fail, the conrod/piston assembly is free to travel further up the bore and as a consequence, the ticking sound is caused by the piston touching the head. This symptom is indication of imminent and rapid failure of components other than just bearings.

Bearing material may also be evident in the sump oil when drained during an oil change. It may be prudent to check the oil at each service.
[/quote]

etc etc etc

It is my contention that there are ONLY a few oils suited to use in these types of vehicles, with VOA calcium levels between 3500-4000 as listed below.

Caltex Delo CXJ 15w40 (the J is for japanese) mineral oil,
Castrol J-Max 15w40 mineral oil,
Amsoil Marine oil 15w40 synthetic oil,
Amsoil series 3000 5w30 synthetic oil,
I know BP in Europe makes some nice high calcium synthetic diesel oils
also but I don't know names or product codes.
My favorite of the above is the 5w30 amsoil but it is seriously
expensive and unless you are running extended drains supported by
routine oil analysis it is too expensive to drain every 5000km.
Pennzoil 15-W-40 Diesel Longlife.

Read and understand this:

The oil sold in Japan typically has calcium based detergents in it at levels of 3000-4500+ppm (parts per million) this is a very detergent oil compared to a lot of oils formulated for american engines (700-2500+ppm magnesium based detergents, magnesium based detergent is thermally unstable at normal working temps of a japanese diesel engine that is why it is not used in japanese OEM oils) as a side benefit extreme levels of calcium have a very strong bearing pacifying affect reducing the bearings susceptibility to chemical attack by its own oil which contributes to the onset of subsurface fatigue failures.
Synthetic oil per-se is not a fix (or prevention method) you want an oil with low or no magnesium and preferably in excess of 3000+ppm calcium based detergents.

Now - how about I post the calcium levels from virgin oil analysis results of a few of the brands of oil heartilly recommended by the well meaning posters above and see which if ANY meet or exceed the manufacturers requirement for calcium levels?

Basically unless you KNOW what your putting into your landcruiser engine - the likelihood is - that if the detergent pack is now magnesium based as many many now are, then it DOESN'T meet the manufacturers specifications for THAt particular engine.

Couple this with the facts:-

1. The engines are KNOWN for big end bearing failures
2. Your specific engine was never designed for a turbo and likely doesn't have oil squirters under the pistons to take away excessive heat of combustion from the piston crown.
3. You engine also doesnt have ceramic coated piston tops to allow it to deal with the higher heat of combustion of a turboed engine
4. likely your engine doesnt have 4 bolt mains to take the extra thrust of a turboed engine

And it would seem to me at least - that your playing with an early engine demise if you dont get the oil equation for these engines right.

Probably the only way to know for 100% SURE would be to conduct regular used oil analysis, at oil change time.

If you don't get this right -the following few pics might give you some ideas about what lies in your near future.

[img] http://www.lcool.org/technical/80_series/td_bearings/bear5.jpg[img]

No need to worry mate - she'll be right - the experts on this forum wouldn't lead you astray! ;o)

Cheers & good luck!
AnswerID: 336555

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 19:56

Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 19:56
Flywest,
Just a few friendly questions:

#1 How relevant is a 13 year old Caltex article, given Caltex CXJ is no longer available, and we've moved to low sulphur fuel, and we've moved on from CG-4.

#2 How common are big end bearing failures in the 1Hz? Toyota sold them for 17 years and I haven't heard of any.

#3 Can you point me to some evidence that engine oil can make a difference to the likelihood of a turboed 1Hz cracking pistons?

FollowupID: 604276

Follow Up By: Flywest - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 17:11

Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 17:11
[quote]
Flywest,
Just a few friendly questions:

#1 How relevant is a 13 year old Caltex article, given Caltex CXJ is no longer available, and we've moved to low sulphur fuel, and we've moved on from CG-4.

#2 How common are big end bearing failures in the 1Hz? Toyota sold them for 17 years and I haven't heard of any.

#3 Can you point me to some evidence that engine oil can make a difference to the likelihood of a turboed 1Hz cracking pistons?

[/quote]

Phil,

Am I answering your 3 friendly questions or explaining for you what you didn't read or understand in the links I posted?

1. The vehicle described is over 13 years old and designed for a specific oil - with more than 3000 ppm calcium, which fas a pacifying effect on the babit or big end bearings

Thats why the article is relevant - it refers to oils for that age & make of vehicle!

Re - Low sulphur fuel & Newer Oils. The newer oils add packs have been designed to reduce the amount of calcium drastically, largely because of it's deleterious effects on catalytic converters of newer vehicles, which this old vehicle doesn't have & the calciums been replaced with magnesium.

From my post above:-

[quote]
The oil sold in Japan typically has calcium based detergents in it at levels of 3000-4500+ppm (parts per million) this is a very detergent oil compared to a lot of oils formulated for american engines (700-2500+ppm magnesium based detergents, [B]magnesium based detergent is thermally unstable at normal working temps of a japanese diesel engine[/B] that is why it is not used in japanese OEM oils) as a side benefit extreme levels of calcium have a very strong bearing pacifying affect reducing the bearings susceptibility to chemical attack by its own oil which contributes to the onset of subsurface fatigue failures.
Synthetic oil per-se is not a fix (or prevention method) you want an oil with low or no magnesium and preferably in excess of 3000+ppm calcium based detergents. [/quote]

Our new oils are replacing the calcium with magnesium based detergents, which are unstable in the old Japanese diesels at their hotter operating temps.

In short the newer oils actually arent good for the OLDER Japanese diesel engined vehicles.

2. #2 How common are big end bearing failures in the 1Hz? Toyota sold them for 17 years and I haven't heard of any.

This vehicle described in this thread and hence my reply - is an after market turbo kit fitted vehicle - thus my comments refer specifically to his vehicle, not the naturally aspirated vehicle engine you describe in question 2!

Why quote me out of context?

These engines werent designed for a turbo - they don't have the heat shedding design elements of a purpose designed turbo engine in that - they don't have the oil squirters under the piston crown to take the heat away and dissipate it via and external oil cooler.

Likewise the big end bearings, con rods and gudgeon pins arent upsized to cope with turbo thrust

The piston tops are not ceramic coated to cope with the heat!

Remember, excess heat destroys the magnesium present in these newer oil which was put there to replace the bearing pacifying calcium, heat is the enemy of the new oils and wehave turboed an engine without the heat reduction technology built into it!

The biggest failures in after market turboed 1HZ engines is the big ends!

To see this with your own eyes - grab a copy of the free DVD on the front of 4wdAustralia's current magazine and see Ruthys engine being rebuilt where they SHOW the differences!

Becauise you havent heard of any naturaly aspirated engines problems doesnt surprise me - we are however talking hereof after market turboed ones and their problems are legion mostly heat related, which when you understand the design defect and related oils issue isnt at all surprising!

As stated above grab the DVD and watch it and be educated.

I have provided you with the info - I COULD go get the virgin oil analysis results showing the rediced calcium and ncreased magnesium based detergents etc from BTITOG website (Bob IS The Oil Guy) www.bitog.com & i could post the used oil analysis results from out 2 turbo diesel enginesusing these new synthetics oils like Mobile Delvac 1 - were we are getting elevated sulphation niration and Oxidation results from two independednt labs one here in WA Westrac and one USA (Oil Guard), bu- do you know how to read the Used Oil Analysis results?

What I CAN tell you is that [B] the ONLY mineral based oil I've found available here in Oz that meets the calcium requirement of those particular Japanese designed diesel engines with turbos (i.e. 3000+ ppm Calcium & low Magnesium) - is Pennzoil Diesel Engone Long Life 15 W 40.[/B]

I got this info by searching the library post of Virgin Oil Analysis results atthe BITOG web forums!

It seems to me that the more one knows - the more threatened some posters feel and the more one gets quoted out of context - & offensive (to me) posts suggesting to ignore my advice etc- becauseI've quoted something irrelevant etc.

Whats the point - it appears to me this is just a general travellers web forum where REAL & Knowlegeable responses to questions asked are not wanted - regardless whether they are backed up with facts or not.

I don't HAVE to waste my time here if the info is not wanted - there are other forums where people who genuinely want to know the real answers to their questions can ask and get that advice from me.

Management and membership don't appear appreciate my contributions here at all - so this is my last post on any topic!

Anyone who wants REAL advice from someone who knows the answers and can explain them & back them with facts, will seek me out elsewhere, when they can't get the answers they seek here, due to poor management and moderation, Phil.

The owners and mods set the tone here and it's not up to my standards, another reason I would never pay to be a member here & be treated this way - so I'm outta here!

Cheers - can't say it has been fun.
FollowupID: 604397

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 19:33

Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 19:33
Flywest,

If I were you I'd keep quiet about a Roothy DVD as your source of any technical info!

I am disappointed that you dislike this forum. You get very angry when someone disagrees. I've just seen that one of your posts got deleted because of abuse you dish out, but the moderators are trying to stamp out abuse and promote reasoned discussion. If you think that abuse is acceptable when discussing oils on any forum, then you will get moderated.

I read the links you posted 10 years ago. Willem-Jan Markerink from the Netherlands was a regular contributor on the original 80scool email group in the late 1990's when the 1HDT big end problems (in Australia) came to light. Craig Vincent is a New Zealander who has a passion for everything oils, but is not a chemical engineer. The debate about Calcium content, Jap spec oils etc and those big end bearing failures is something that was strongly mooted 10 years ago, but the fact that the problem is SOLVED by fitting AGL bearings (and then later, the modified Toyota bearings) changed most opinions as it indicates that oil had nothing to do with it.

Toyota and the oil companies have simply recommended API grades CD and above for the 1Hz, 1HDT and even the later 1HD-FT and 1HD-FTE, and continue to do so.Caltex never recommended CXJ for Landcruisers and Castrol never recommended J-Max. Are you right and Toyota and the Oil Companies wrong?

Oil does not compensate for bolting a turbo onto a motor that was not designed for it.

phil
FollowupID: 604416

Follow Up By: Flywest - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 22:19

Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 22:19
[quote]Oil does not compensate for bolting a turbo onto a motor that was not designed for it.[/quote]

I never said it did - in fact I posted the opposite- I also had my post suggesting that an after market turbo was a bad idea deleted also - again when i didn't breach the Code of conduct.

Frankly this place sucks.....in my opinion, thats why I'm outta here - can't be fagged with know it alls - who never shut their mouths long enough to give their ears a go and learn something from some one else - obviously your such an expert no one can teach you anyting - you already know it all!!

The DVD section I quoted (roothys DVD) you've obviously not seen. I'm not a fan of his or his magazine (My eldest lad brought it home & as a result I happened to watch it) - however the piece I referenced was a mechanical engineer performing an engine rebuild - demonstrating the difference between toyota engines designed for a turbo and those not - it showed the oil squirters, it showed the bigger con rods and gudgeon pins and it showed the different pistons - in that respect it displayed what I wrote about graphically.

All the same i see you know more than Roothy by your own admission as well - you must be quite the hero then! :rollseyes:

Had enough - stick it where the sun don't shine China - I'm gone - you can continue to provide all the bad advice you want -
and screw up others engines who don't have the discernment capacity to realise your full of it.

Thankfully there are afew out there who actually know enough about oils and test their oil thru a lab on an ongoing basis and so have some credibility when it comes to discussing the subject.

Not interessted in any further p!ssing contests here with the likes of you - nothing to be gained from it.

Cheers & gone!
FollowupID: 604448

Follow Up By: Big Woody - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 22:25

Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 22:25
Just removed my dead 1HZ from the 80 series with 6 cracked pistons. Aftermarket Turbo fitted since new with and good quality synthetic oils used for it's entire life. Died at 310,000 km's.

Even though it lasted as long if not longer than some factory turbo diesel engines I don't think I would ever fit an aftermarket turbo again. Too much strain on a motor not designed for it.

BW
FollowupID: 604450

Reply By: Member - Ian H (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 14:11

Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 14:11
I use Shell helix diesel in a nearly identical situation but more important than which oil is the use of oil flushing additive. I use CEM flushing additive. Try it, you will be surprised at the results if the previous owner didn't use it. I have no affiliation with them, just very happy with the product. It seems expensive when you buy it but you will soon forget that. Good luck.
AnswerID: 336559

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 15:05

Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 15:05
Gday Alex,
Your 1Hz will be well lubricated with any diesel engine oil that can handle a bit a soot, given yours is indirect injection.
To use synthetic oil is a waste of your money. 60 grade oil like Penrite market will be too thick for your motor.

I use any CF-4 (and above) grade 15W40 Diesel engine oil. Toyota will tell you that any grade above CD will be fine. And on your motor, I'd change it every 5000k. The Toyota filters are best.

Flywest has cut a whole lot of info about the big ends on a different motor - the 1HD-T. Big end problems didn't happen with your motor.
AnswerID: 336565

Follow Up By: Krakka - Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 15:29

Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 15:29
Thanks Phil for a straight forward simple answer.
Krakka
FollowupID: 604253

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 17:40

Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 17:40
Plus the 1HD-T big end bearing failures was caused by faulty bearing, not oil type.
What ever oil you use, just make sure you change it every 5000kms.
FollowupID: 604264

Follow Up By: Flywest - Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 19:28

Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 19:28
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Personal Attacks Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 604275

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 20:17

Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 20:17
Seems to me that if its "not your opinion" its wrong.
Mate, there are thousands of turboed 1HZ's that never give a problem(mine for starters), have never heard of one having big end bearing problems(but that dosnt mean that they dont exist).The main problem with 1HD-T's doing big end bearings was dodgy bearings, not oil related.Toyota sourced two suppliers for bearings, one lot were dodgy, one good BUT they couldnt state what bearings went in what engines.
Sure if you dont change oil as required, you may encounter problems.Will happen with any engine.
FollowupID: 604280

Follow Up By: Member - Roscoe ET (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 20:47

Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 20:47
Fully synthetic oil is not a waste of money Phil, they provide far superior lubrication than mineral and hydroprocessed base oils.

Engines used in the V8 supercars for example wouldn't last very long if they used mineral oils.

Conventional mineral oil derived from crude oil, highly refined (hydroprocessed) mineral oil and ultra refined (severe hydroprocessed) mineral oil are basestocks derived from crude oil pumped from the ground.

Synthetic oil is chemically derived, most often from ethylene gas and do not contain any of the contaminants present in mineral oils, they are pure oils derived from gas.

Mineral base oils contain undesirable materials and despite chemical refinement a significant concentration still remains. This means that additives can't operate to their full extent because the additive has to compete for space with the impurities when they attempt to bond to the base oil molecules. Consequently, the molecular structure of the oil is inconsistent, limiting the performance capabilities and useful life of the blended oil.

Because synthetic oils are pure chemicals themselves they avoid performance limitations. Synthetic technology allows base oil molecules to be specifically designed for particular applications with exact desired viscosity, this superior viscosity will stay in grade.

Because synthetic oils are pure they are kinder to catalytic converters and particulate filters and as they have less internal molecular friction they allow an engine to develop maximum power.

They will also tolerate far superior operating temperatures than mineral oil.

Additionally, they will tolerate extended oil change intervals in excess of 30,000k.

If you change from conventional mineral oil to full synthetic you will notice your engine will run quieter because it is being lubricated in a superior manner to a mineral oil.

FollowupID: 604287

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 22:03

Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 22:03
Roscoe,
Your responses are considered, respectful and unemotional - well done!
But I still think synthetics are a waste of money on a 1Hz Toyota diesel :-))
I know they are better oils (I use synthetics in our petrol vehicles), but unlike your Grand Cherokee CRD, the 1Hz is a dirty motor. It is old technology and the oil gets black with soot soon after a change, hence the need for frequent changes. The 1Hz has been around since 1990 and is a motor that outlasts its owners if you service it by the book with mineral oils.

Flywest,
No need for abuse, just talk sensible.

FollowupID: 604310

Follow Up By: Member - Roscoe ET (QLD) - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 09:13

Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 09:13
I always respect other people's opinions Phil.

I think you have to look at lubrication in terms of it's principal action i.e lubrication of moving parts including the cylinder wall.

I certainly don't don't know much about the 1Hz engine, but I take it, it still principally has the same internal moving parts as any combustion engine that need lubricating.

It could well be that the mineral oil is contributing to the oil getting black so quick in that it is not providing good lubrication of the cylinder wall thereby allowing burnt diesel to contaminate the oil quickly?

Anyway good to see you do use synthetics in your petrol vehicles!!
FollowupID: 604340

Follow Up By: Member - 120scruiser (NSW) - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 11:29

Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 11:29
I also use mineral oil in my 1HD-FT and used it in my old 1HZ turbo.
I think that using a fully synthetic oil is better but I would still be changing it at 5000km due to the soot content like Phil stated so in terms of being a waste of money, it would be for me because I wouldn't be gaining the full potential of the synthetic oil.
I have compromised and I have been using a 10w/40 semi synthetic, which is mainly mineral based. I like the blend of this oil and it is resonably economically viable to be changing it at 5000km as well. I know my 1HDT-FT is not quite as sooty as the pre combustion chamber 1HZ but mine is supposed to run a 10w/30 oil according to manufacturers specifications so the 10w/40 does it for me.
In answer to the original question so long as you don't stray far from the manufacturers specs you will be fine. Stick with or around the 15w/40 grade and the most important issue is the classification like SL SM CH CI etc. The later the better. The later the classification the later the design of the oil is. I wouldn't be using a 20w/50 or higher blend these days. The lower the viscosity the better the fuel economy which is a big issue these days.
All the best with the varied answers.
Scott
FollowupID: 604360

Follow Up By: Member - 120scruiser (NSW) - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 11:33

Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 11:33
In regards to the 1HD engine big end bearings
Phil is 100% right.
It has nothing to do with the grade of oil used, it was a bad batch of bearings in which toyota didn't make note of which ones went into which engines.
Its the same with the ZD30, they still blow with the correct grade oil. Oops shouldn't have said that.
FollowupID: 604361