Ironman suspension..any good??

hi folks,
I am looking at a 2inch lift kit for my GU Patrol.
has anyone had some 'real life' experience with this suspension??

Reply By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 08:37

Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 08:37
I havnt had any of there gear personally but know someone who has,a shooter with a dual cab hilux,no problems at all..Been on for 2 years now...From reading other forums they seem to come to the same conclusions

AnswerID: 337042

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 08:46

Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 08:46
Have em on our GU ute and is very strong. Member Mad Cowz has it all around on his GU, Member Moggs too but I guess neither around at the moment. Seem to match up pretty well.
AnswerID: 337043

Reply By: timothy - Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 09:27

Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 09:27
Don't know how they are for a Patrol, but I installed the kit on my Jeep and found the ride to be very firm and they wouldn't compress all the way to the bump stops at the front. I'm swapping them out for OME.
AnswerID: 337049

Follow Up By: Gronk - Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 11:15

Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 11:15
That sounds strange ?? Have you got springs as well as the shocks ?? How do you test to see if they compress to the bumpstops ?? Shocks won't stop full compression and neither will springs unless the springs are LOTS harder than normal ??
FollowupID: 604779

Follow Up By: timothy - Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 15:02

Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 15:02
Yes, complete iron man kit installed front coil springs, rear leaf springs and all foam cell shocks. When installing I did notice that there were more coils and they were thicker than stock springs. Maybe they gave me extra heavy duty ones... The leaves have been ok but sagged a lot in a year.

Testing was done using two big rocks, it will lift diagonal wheels and still not be compressing fully at the front.
FollowupID: 604808

Reply By: Kroozer - Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 11:27

Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 11:27
Have the full kit on my 75 series Cruiser and they are great. Great ride now, handles corrugation beautifully. Priced great, i saved over $1500. Paid $1100 for everything, shocks, springs, u bolts, rubbers, yet was quoted $2500 -$2800 for OME and Tough Dog gear. No Thanks.

Watch out though you will get people on here very soon telling you to go OME or something else, simply because they have paid double what the Ironman kits cost and they dont like that.

Will be Ironman for me for now on.
AnswerID: 337070

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 19:00

Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 19:00
Hi Kroozer,
How long have they been on the vehicle?

Any noticeable sag in the rear end?

I'm in the market for a suspension kit for my 78 Series Troopy. I reckon the stock rear leaves are made from mild steel flat bar they've sagged that far in 3 years! The poor bloody Troopy is permanently driving uphill!

FollowupID: 604842

Follow Up By: Kroozer - Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 19:38

Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 19:38
Geoff, has been on the since June and no sagging. Have done the Gibb Road and Cape Leveque road plus many other tracks all around the Kimberley since, really really impressed with the ride and handling of the car now. It did have aftermarket suspension on it beforehand but it has never been this good and i have been driving it for over 14 years. I always have some moderate weight in the back when travelling. Plus always carry 2 spares, 2 full tanks and have steel tray so it always has weight. Shockies are only the Nitro gas ones but they handle corrugations lovely and have never heated up. Very happy with the kit.
FollowupID: 604848

Follow Up By: Tippa - Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 22:23

Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 22:23
Ha ha ha, thats typical tall poppy reasoning isn't it! Not liking Ironman because "we" pay double for OME?
A few of my mates went for Ironman and ALL of them were smug at the start. I was keen to see how their gear lasted. 12 months down the track and they have all thrown their ironman garbage in the bin and bought either OME or Rancho. Another mate (4th ironman owner) is persisting with it but remembers his factory suspension being better than what he is riding on with Ironman and will bin it too when he can afford to upgrade to decent quality.
Two age old sayings... "You get what you pay for" and "only the poor pay twice".
Buying cheap stuff may make you feel smart at the moment, but you may be disappointed later...
At least with OME you have hundreds of Australia-wide stores at your service if you have a drama in the outback.
Pull the guts out of an ironman shocker and you may be driving back with 3 ironmans and 1 OME!
FollowupID: 604870

Follow Up By: Hero - Friday, Nov 28, 2008 at 12:37

Friday, Nov 28, 2008 at 12:37
Tippa,
I know ironman sell their products through places like Tyrepower, Opposite Lock, Repco, Bursons, Autopro, not to mention the many independant 4x4 shops.

Add all those stores up and I fail to see how OME can have more Australia-Wide stores than Ironman.
FollowupID: 604933

Follow Up By: Tippa - Friday, Nov 28, 2008 at 16:56

Friday, Nov 28, 2008 at 16:56
Fair call, mate. Ironman are getting very popular and i do see them at alot of places. I guess i was getting carried away with the old school spiel of OME andARB gear/parts being one of the most available while touring. Others like Ironman too are widely available as you pointed out. I doubt more available than ARB/OME though. Either way it wasnt a strong point about availability, but definitely about quality.
Cheers!
FollowupID: 604953

Reply By: 01xl7 - Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 19:11

Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 19:11
Thanks for the feedback guys,
I have had a lot of good feedback and only one bad feedback. I think ill go for the Ironmans and do a 'suck it and see'
We will be using the truck for a daily driver as well as an all-round tourer, 4wding included.
so for the allround use of the truck, i am thinking about going the performance ones ' i think that's the light to medium load coils and have air bag inserts in the rear to carry the touring extra weight.
I know it will all depend on all the other stuff i have in it bull bar, winch, long range tank, dual batteries ( only bull bar fitted to the gear just mentioned). but for comfort in day to day use. i don't want them rock hard, as the Canberra roads are not getting better, and i do some 4wding while carrying light loads.

SO, am i heading down the right track?

AnswerID: 337120

Follow Up By: Kroozer - Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 19:43

Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 19:43
Yeah mate. I have the comfort load kit for my 75 series trayback, i have steel bull bar, dual batteries up front and steel tray, 2 spares and dual tanks always full and mine hasnt sagged or given me any trouble. When travelling add another 40 litres of water, 2 tool boxs, 2 large eskies, camping gear and fishing gear. The more weight i add the softer the ride as usual but it has never sagged under load even, and it has almost no body roll when loaded.
FollowupID: 604850

Reply By: Best Off Road - Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 19:16

Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 19:16
Another YES.

Had it fitted to the last 4wd and it was great.

AnswerID: 337123

Reply By: Shaker - Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 19:51

Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 19:51
I have it, & couldn't be happier!
AnswerID: 337133

Reply By: cruza25 - Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 19:54

Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 19:54
had 2" lift ironman on my lc105 for 3 years now

still good as new - went for the hd springs due to winch fridge camper etc

alot better value than OME which is only MONROE stuff painted yellow

AnswerID: 337134

Follow Up By: Tippa - Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 22:28

Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 22:28
Really? But OME springs are black... or are you generalising?
Can you show me any facts to prove that ME shocks are Monroe?
Last i found most Monroes were now imported. Yet ALL OME shocks are made in Australia by ARB. Do ARB make Monroe? Interesting concept ha ha.
FollowupID: 604873

Follow Up By: cruza25 - Friday, Nov 28, 2008 at 01:30

Friday, Nov 28, 2008 at 01:30
the shock are yellow, i worked there for 2 years, got a free set fitted on my previous vehicle, ford and holden oe shocks go down the black paint line - pedders go down the red line and ome down the yellow paint line. i live around the corner from monroe and like i said i worked there for 2 years .

arb dont make any shocks or springs- shocks buy in from monroe- made in adelaide, springs made in sydney

dont pay the extra- cos it aint worth it

mik
FollowupID: 604898

Follow Up By: Tippa - Friday, Nov 28, 2008 at 17:16

Friday, Nov 28, 2008 at 17:16
So you are saying that pedders shocks are monroes painted red? Sorry mate but i cant believe that. Pedders Reds have damping and rebound set far firmer than any Monroe ive seen. Ive owned cars with both so know pedders are far firmer. Maybe their comfort gas line but they are white, not red.

Also strange how ome is available for some cars and monroe isnt, and visa versa, and for quite a few cars Australian made monroes aren't available- only imported monroes, which are considerably more expensive. So which are OMEs? Local monroes or imported ones?
Just a point to add too is that if the monroe factory has been given the contract to build shocks for other brands, they dont just spray paint monroe shocks different colours... they build them and valve them to the specs set out by the customer. So if what you are saying is true, then OME is OME, subcontracted to be assembled to OME specs by monroe and would be alot different to their own monroe shocks.
Thats the way i see it anyway. There is no way pedders red or OME are simply repainted stock monroes.
FollowupID: 604955

Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 22:42

Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 22:42
Hi mate,

I was fortunately able to try a set of Ironman springs - 2" lift constant load rated springs for a GU - same as what you are looking at, for 2 weeks.

This came about as I ordered King springs and the Ironman were fitted by mistake. My dealer was then mislead by his Melbourne supplier into thinking that Ironman and Kings are one and the same.

I did my research and compared warranties

Ironman:
Ironman 2 year / 40,000km Iron Clad Warranty.

Whatever that means...

Kings:
All King Heavy Duty Coil Springs listed in our catalogue have a limited lifetime warranty as follows:

Warranty against faulty manufacture.
Warranty against sagging (being loss of original free height by more than 10mm).
Warranty against breakage.

That's one of the reasons I opted to order the Kings in the first place.

Anyway I went to the 4wd show in Melbourne and asked the bloke on the Ironman stand if Kings and Ironman were the same springs. His reply confirmed that they are not. Kings are made in Aust in QLD, and Ironman are made off shore.

I came home, talked to my bloke and he talked to his bloke and a week later they fitted the Kings.

The ride quality with the Kings is streets in front of the Ironmans.

The ride on the Ironmans was harsh even on bitumen but particularly on gravel and minor corrugations. The Kings are more supple, are a thinner steel but are some sort of progressive rate spring and have more coils.

If you want to discover every rattle and squeak you might want the Ironman.

For the extra $100 - which I didn't end up having to pay anyway - I would go the Kings.

I would NEVER fit another set of Ironman springs on a GU based on this comparison experience.

For your info, comparison was made with same shocks - Monroe Platinum Gas 4wd shocks.

Don't do it! Get Kings.

I have no commercial connection or interest in either product. Just a customer.

AnswerID: 337178

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 22:43

Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 22:43
FYI

Ironman $1060 fitted
Kings with Monroe Platinum $1170 fitted.
FollowupID: 604876

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Saturday, Nov 29, 2008 at 18:21

Saturday, Nov 29, 2008 at 18:21
I have a pair of Kings in the shed that wrecked my shockers, they were so hard. They overpowered the whole system.
FollowupID: 605047

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Nov 28, 2008 at 18:02

Friday, Nov 28, 2008 at 18:02
Best Value suspension on the market I reckon, I have had theirs before and reckon they're great, currently running their foam cell shocks and they're great

AnswerID: 337326

Reply By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 29, 2008 at 07:49

Saturday, Nov 29, 2008 at 07:49
Highly reckonmended, i had them on my 4runner before somebody stole it and hasn't returned it stiff ride and cost effective.

http://www.roodogs4wd.com.au/

Ask Neil for a price?
AnswerID: 337370

Follow Up By: 01xl7 - Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 20:03

Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 20:03
well....
after all that discussion about Ironman, i found a good deal with EFS. $786 for a 2 inch lift kit, comfort pack. even came with free P & H.
It should be delivered tomorrow (Friday)
Thanks for all the feedback on the Ironman setup.
the reason i went for the EFS was that the Ironman company itself were more expensive than the guys on Ebay, and the misses didnt trust ebay with $800. I also got quoted $1600 for EFS package from a business in Canberra and i saw $786 and couldnt resist.
I have recieved good reports on EFS and know a couple of mates who have it, so i guess i will just wait and see what they are like....
FollowupID: 605810