heading back home from where they came from, to live with there
Family, and try and get a Pension or what ever, they reckon the
amount of Self Funded Retirees they have spoken to who have lost
a big part of there Investments is unbelievable,
Some people put all there eggs in one basket as far as investing goes,
they probably trust a Investment Advisor who promises them the
world and end up with the arse out of there pants, the other
couple who where with them, said they were going to find work
when they got back, and live in a Caravan Park.

Daza

Reply By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 17:00

Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 17:00
Hi Daza.
I invested some funds with a major bank super fund in early September & hoped to be a self funded retiree in a few years.Read in the Sydney Telegraph yesterday that the fund was one of the worst performers. Not game to check up what I have invested with them now.
At leat I still have my family, house & camper LOL.
Vince
AnswerID: 337714

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 17:04

Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 17:04
Hi Vince

You will also have a few extra Grey Hairs mate, keeping the house
is the way to go.
FollowupID: 605274

Reply By: new boy - Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 17:14

Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 17:14
Hi Daza
Well I retire in 9 and half days (Friday week) I have enough super and savings baring mishaps to live on $50,000 for the next 3 years .Hopefully by then the Stock market will rise the 57% which i am DOWN today and that should give me a comfortable living. I do feel for the other Self funded people but to sell your house furniture ect just to travel has never been an option for me you need a base especialy when you get to over the caravan / traveling age because you can never buy into the market at the level you sold. To have lost a large propostion of their funds indictes to me that they were chasing large unsecured interest rates for bigger eanings sometimes the Banks secure meager rates are best and that was my plan to convert the stock holding into Term deposits but the crash got me . But had this working I'm still off
AnswerID: 337716

Reply By: Best Off Road - Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 17:21

Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 17:21
Sorry if this sounds harsh, but it is harsh reality.

People who chase the fast quid and ever increasing large returns year after year, suffer when the financial market collapses. It is nothing new and happens cyclically.

My parents are self funded retirees and invested conservatively in commercail property. It guarantees them an income which increases modestly each year, at or just above the inflation rate. To make it failsafe, they invested in an area that should their lessees go bust, they have the expertise to step back in and run the business.

Investing is a gamble, the bigger the return, the bigger the risk.

AnswerID: 337717

Follow Up By: a convict - Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 19:50

Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 19:50
'_Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx', RE: "...who chase the fast quid..."

I seem to remember one politician (or two) selling us on joining the "..owner ship nation.." . Telstra ring a bell?

As you say markets change '...cyclically.. '

All I can say is thank goodness, the same rule applies to those same 'politicians'.

All my non Telstra, 'conservative', 'blue chips' are now worth half.

FollowupID: 605291

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 20:28

Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 20:28
I'm not talking shares of any description, "blue chip" or otherwise.

I said, bricks and mortar property, whilst it has its ups and modest, vary rare, downs it will serve you well. Won't make you rich overnight, but won't send you broke either.

You take financial advice from pollies? Big mistake.

FollowupID: 605300

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 23:13

Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 23:13
'bricks and mortar property, whilst it has its ups and modest, vary rare, downs it will serve you well. Won't make you rich overnight, but won't send you broke either'

Try telling that story to the hundreds of thousands of home owners currently (or soon to have) negative equity in their home. Or the millions (most who don't even know it) with investments via super in commercial property trusts that have reduced massively in value.

Problem with property is that you 'generally'' have to borrow to invest in it. That amplifies the gains AND the losses. This is exactly how the current world economic problems started. Admittedly largely in the USA, a combination of very sharp loan brokers and people who were convinced property only ever goes up in value. Once the bubble burst, people (and lenders) found they had loans that were well in excess of property values.

The same thing is happening in Australia - admittedly not as bad as the USA, but happening none the less.

I'm not questioning the position of your parents Jim. Don't know enough about it and don't want to. Sounds like they are well set up and good on them But a suggestion that an investment in bricks and mortar will never send you broke, is more than fancifull. Watch the real estate markets of the Western World over the next year or so. There will be hundreds of thousands (probably millions) of mortgagee sales. Tens of thousands of them will be in Australia. Mortgagee sales don't happen to people who are making money on their investment.

Norm C
FollowupID: 605340

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 00:31

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 00:31
Precisely Norm.
The average Australian who thought that "Ya will never loose on property" will find it may well come home with a thump to oh so many.

That commercial property leased to those small businesses will be worth next to nothing when no one wants to lease it and your left paying the costs.

FollowupID: 605353

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 05:46

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 05:46
. . . . and around Sydney there are LOTS of commercial properties still under construction !!!
FollowupID: 605356

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 11:40

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 11:40
Same around here Mike.
And so many are empty right now with more for sale/for lease signs everyday.

FollowupID: 605401

Follow Up By: a convict - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 12:05

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 12:05
Very interesting post DAZA (QLD), ..thanks.

Though, ... guys + gals, it's not all gloom and doom.

A mate of mine bought a new, upper mid-range Toyota, three weeks back, ( he calls it a 'Lexus' ) and he said nearly fell over when dealer offered him $A15,000 of list new price, first cab off the rank.

They must have a few to move, eh.

Will the ' new ' deals get better in a couple of months ?
FollowupID: 605402

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 12:22

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 12:22
There is a Motor Vehicle Auction today in Melbourne of brand new Holden's from a dealer who needs to dump stock.

Not that unusual other than its the first time anyone in the motor industry can rememberer that this time there is NO reserve on any of the vehicles being auctioned.

FollowupID: 605403

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 21:56

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 21:56
Henny Penny and Ckicken Little will be along soon.

FollowupID: 605501

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 22:14

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 22:14
at least interest rate have come down since Labor have been in power... LOL
FollowupID: 605509

Follow Up By: The Landy - Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 08:27

Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 08:27
True Richard, however the flip side to that in the context to this post is that SFR will be worse off.

Mind you interest rates are falling because the government is trying to prevent a recession in Australia - for what it is worth I'm tipping we will head into negative growth - a recession.

FollowupID: 605540

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 17:43

Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 17:43
I am sure others will say the same, but in reality if people have spread their investments and not sold anything in the down market dividends have so far kept up. That will change but hopefully so will the equity market in the next three to four years, may be more though. It is a good time to buy.

Newspaper articles have highlighted that there are heaps of cars being sold on, all sorts of exotica which I guess shows that lots of people have lived on the edge financially. It is a severe market correction and one wonders where it will ultimately reach. Further I guess if our leadership can't come to grips with it.
AnswerID: 337722

Reply By: aeiou - Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 18:57

Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 18:57
I have been watching the tradingpost and ebay looking to buy a second hand very good brand camper trailer fror $35K. I have been looking for 18 months and I was thinking that recently there would be alot available due to the financial crisis, but this has not been the case so far. I rang the manufacturers to buy a new one thinking they would have some specials and the answer was that there is a 4 month wait as orders have flooded in lately! Go figure. I was told that instead of a 60K caravan or overseas holiday people still travelling Australia, and spending less on a Camper Trailer!

D
AnswerID: 337739

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 19:25

Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 19:25
Keep watching it will turn.

FollowupID: 605287

Follow Up By: Steve - Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 21:28

Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 21:28
just keep looking mate - we got an excellent bargain a month or two back and that was even before the crash. The caravan yards are committed to take stock regardless of whether they sell existing stock or not. We managed a near new dirt roader ten grand under normal new price. They've gotta shift em. Like I said, keep surfing the web, they're definitely out there. It takes a while to nail down the values in your head before you know whats what but keep looking.
FollowupID: 605315

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 18:58

Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 18:58
Bit the same.

Hoping to cut back to maybe 70% and then 50% work over the next 10 years.

Luckily still have the house.
Any super or shares have dropped as we all know.

Talking to some retired friends like the ones you have bumped into and they are lucky enough to be on fixed incomes,and were complaining about it. Suggested to them that they may be well off compared to some, and they gave me a dirty look.

Talking to a few clients, they have empty order books after February next year. So I reckon I will be on half income anyway for a few months next year if I am lucky.
Just as it was in 1975, 1979, 1986, 1996, 2000. It is all a cycle.
Build up some fat in the good years for the lean years.
AnswerID: 337740

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 21:41

Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 21:41
Hey Old Plodder

Be like a Squirrel and look after your Nuts.lol .lol.
FollowupID: 605317

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 08:15

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 08:15
No problem, the wife does a good job of that.
Looking after the money that is :o)
FollowupID: 605370

Follow Up By: Member- Tony C - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 08:41

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 08:41
Hi John
I know what your saying about it just being a cycle is true but I think this is different to the years mention.
I have been around for all of those years (except 75 when I had other things on my mind) and cannot remember anything as severe as what where seeing now.
FollowupID: 605377

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 09:33

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 09:33
Agree Tony,

This does look like a bad one.
And for some reason, the US often seems to come of worse than we do.

Looking at the different indices on the S&X, resources and industrials are down at least 30% if not 40% or more from the peak. But I think medical is only down about 9% from the peak.

House prices haven't dramatically dropped, except in Sydney. Banks haven't gone bust, well Aussie ones anyway. I remember loosing money in a building society before.

But in most cases, it was hard for 3 to 6 months, as in no work, or only the occasional job, and dodgy for about 12 to 18 months at the most.

It all depends on how you measure things, and what you value.
If every last dollar counts, and you are mortgaged to the eyeballs, it will seem really bad. We paid a mortgage through those downturns, at up to 18% interest rate. And raised a family. Growing your own veggies and not going to the pictures for a couple of years isn't that hard. You do forget what steak looks like.

How did you go?

Maybe our society needs to rethink it's values, what is success?

Are we so consumer orientated that unless we get what we want, now, we are not happy. What is happiness?

Maybe we need to put the waiting back into wanting.
FollowupID: 605382

Follow Up By: Off-track - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 12:55

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 12:55
Great points OldPlodder!

Why is it we are mindless consumerists (yeah, me included) when really we value and are most happy with the simple things in life like camping, lazing around at the beach or playing with the kids in the park?

I look around our house and there is all matter of appliances and ancilliary bits and pieces that really we do not need. And to be able to get these things we work harder for the 'priveledge'. It doesnt make sense when you break it down.

I remember back at the happier times in my life and they were when I had the least.

I watched Enough Rope last night which was done in Kunanurra and about the people there. Again the simple pleasures in life were very attractive.
FollowupID: 605406

Follow Up By: Member- Tony C - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 13:53

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 13:53
Yes John great response.
I guess its severetry depends upon how your effected at the time. This past 12 months I have certainly been hit harder financially than any other time in my life.
The time of the high interest rates around 86/87 I had no borrowings so wasn't effected from that angle but was effected by watching savings in the share market tumble in October of 87.
Happiness to me is living your dreams, family, fishing, outback travel and farming. So long as I am free to do those things however humbly I will be happy.
Tony
FollowupID: 605418

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 19:09

Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 19:09
Well in contrast we couldnt be happier.
We have sold an expensive house on the day the market crashed for nearly what we wanted.
As my wife has her own super fund ( All in term deposit) and we are of suitable age she changed it to an allocated pension.
Then we deposited most of the house proceeds into this
We pay no tax at all now on this and can use it later to buy another smaller house and still have enough left over to survive on.

We bought a s/hand Van and Cruiser 2 years ago so we are off next month with no worries ( we hope)
Our friends who have invested all of their money in shares are as above, sort of on the bones of their a$$e The bank has even frozen some of their cash.
We tried to tell them to hold some back but they didnt and now regret it big time.
I guess it comes down to what u want to do but we have control of our money and maybe it didnt earn what some shares DID but we still have it plus the interest.
AnswerID: 337742

Follow Up By: Member - Don M (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 07:54

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 07:54
Graham,

You say you have an allocated pension fund but correct me if I am wrong, is that not invested to some extent in shares and therefore subject to the current downturn...??? I know mine is but anyway, I feel confident it will come back over the next two years and be at least the equal to what it was last year.
We are fortunate to be in the position to ride it out...well at least for a couple of years.
We are also surprised at house prices and looking at our options to sell or rent our Sydney home while we head off. Both are quite a bit higher than we imagined but renting it out seems the best...I'm not convinced that there won't be any capital growth over the next 2-3 years. Again we are lucky to have another house on the Gold Coast to which we will return when we have finished travelling but will then have to spend a lot of funds to bring it up to scratch...maybe we will just keep travelling.....
FollowupID: 605367

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 22:06

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 22:06
No its all been in term deposit so we havent lost anything.
We may not have got s good a return as shares MIGHT have but weve not lost anything either.

We looked at renting our house out but after seeing what tenants can do to them I wouldnt dream of doing it especially after spending several thousand repainting it to sell.

As we dont want to return to the area we decided to sell and buy again when finished travelling.

G
FollowupID: 605505

Reply By: Willem - Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 19:10

Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 19:10
Daza

I hope Kevin 07 comes through with his pensioner bonus this week. I am sceptical though as I have missed out a couple of times when they were giving bonusses away. The missus got a $500 one this year but I was told I was not the right age...lol. Something to do on which day my birthday fell.

I have friends SFR on the road for 15 years. They took a hard hit in the '87 stockmarket crash and then again somewhere in the '90s. They were forced to do fruit picking when deep in the 60's to make ends meet. But they had their house money invested in secure deposits and when the time came to get off the road they were able to buy a house again.

We were on the road for 5 years and bought a cheap house here in SA at the end of it. I would never sell the house even though the neighbours drive me to distraction :-). The good thing is one can lock it up and drive away for months on end and then return for somewhere to rest again! It is in a small town and relatively safe from intruders.

I feel for those with their money in Super Funds as they have no choice but to ride it out. At least on a pesnion you know your limits on how far and how well you can spend.

AnswerID: 337743

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 21:29

Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 21:29
Willem K07 has guaranteed everybody will get there entitlements
before xmass, people on pensions deserve it, just dont let your
noisy neighbour get you down.
FollowupID: 605316

Reply By: Member - Min (NSW) - Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 19:30

Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 19:30
I've noticed quite a number of people on the forum saying that they are selling up and going on the road for good. Some would have done it anyway but some are doing it because of the economic times. Are these people the modern day swaggies?I can understand those who virtually have no choice but selling your home (that you own) and investing is a huge gamble at any time. When you are fit and healthy and full of enthusiasm after working all your life it must be tempting for some. But no one stays fit and healthy forever and I can imagine that some folk just get fed up and want to go home for a while every now and then even though they love the life on the road.We are a small, close and loving family but having to depend on my daughter and son-in-law for a roof over our heads because of our foolhardiness I would find shameful.
AnswerID: 337746

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 08:19

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 08:19
I think they just slow down.

Know a few that will spend months at a time in caravan parks near the beach in summer, and places out west during the winter.

Pick up a little part time work, and the rent is covered.

Not quite the van park culture of the US, but it will keep growing, since that is all they can afford.

The baby boomers who have retired and hit the road early are the ones that can afford it, and they area minority.

The next ten or so years who see a lot of retirees who can't afford too much.
FollowupID: 605372

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 19:30

Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 19:30
The issue will only get worse as the official cash rate is cut the deposit rate being offered will also fall putting more pressure on those SFR's depending on the cash rate to live off.

With Kevin spending the surplus as quick as he can to create a short term market lift there will be precious little left in the bank to give bonus handouts to pensioners next year.

AnswerID: 337747

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 19:55

Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 19:55
It's not just people who have chased big returns who are hit hard. The only people who have not had big (paper) losses are those with everything in cash. Even some of those have had fund redemptions frozen. Even traditionally conservative investments have been hit hard.

I've been a 'self funded retiree' for six years now, though I'm still 12 months away from being able to tap into the super fund. I manage my own super fund and about 18 months ago, I converted enough of the super fund to live on for 3 years to cash. I was a bit nervous about the market and particularly the US economy. I figured if there was a downturn, it would be handy to be able to live for three years off the super fund without having to sell any shares.

Turns out to have been a good move. But perhaps not good enough. I wouldn't be surprised if it is at least 6 and possibly 10 years before the world stock markets return to where they were 12 months ago.

It will be interesting to see how the northern tourist season goes next winter. Some areas were a bit down last year due to fuel prices. At least that won't be such an issue in the short term.
AnswerID: 337749

Follow Up By: Off-track - Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 21:55

Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 21:55
And that's the trick Norm. In the last 5 - 10 years before retirement the smart investment is to throw it all (or at least most) into cash. It wont provide the biggest return, but it will provide one none the less.

Should never risk a nest egg on riskier investment options so close to retirement.
FollowupID: 605322

Follow Up By: Angler - Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 22:18

Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 22:18
Hi Norm,

We also moved a fair bit into the capital area over twelve months ago and have lived for quite some time on that. Looks like we will run out of that capital stuff in about 8 months time and may then have to sell some stock.
The stock is down some 20% at the moment from a year or so ago so lets all hope it goes back up a bit soon. If it continues to go down everyone will suffer, not just the SFR's. Jobs will become scarce and retail markets will start to shut down like in the UK.
I have read somewhere that about $9mill goes into super funds every day in Australia from the many people that are still employed. When that starts to go down in value from less workers then things will get progressively worse and recession will really hit home.

Not all doom and gloom at the moment. The US stock market is up at the moment though ours lost 54 points today, maybe ours will go up again tomorrow.

Everyone is looking for increases in salary and that doesn't help us SFR's one little bit as prices will go up to match the increases, whereas ours remains the same. A small amount of pension helps but I wonder if it was all worthwhile working and saving for 40 plus years when little assistance is given to the average SFR.

Pooley
www.bycompass.com
FollowupID: 605325

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 22:52

Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 22:52
And Pooly of that $9 Million a day plus going into Australian Superannuation Funds most is sitting in cash at the moment.
Watch what happens when that weight of cash starts to move back into the market which it will do and probably sooner rather than later given that cash returns are falling.

Your either adapt at trading the current volatility which most people aren't or you take the conservative view which is keep looking long term.

FollowupID: 605330

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 08:26

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 08:26
Good move Norm.

We are a bit the same. Some cash, not all shares.

Interesting that some of the shares we bought quite a few years ago, when we started, will still show a profit. They are pre capital gains (1986), so don't want to sell them anyway.

But I still enjoy my work, so why not keep working for a while.
Means the fuel bill for trips doesn't come out of savings. :o)
FollowupID: 605374

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 22:19

Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 22:19
Some self funded retirees aren't feeling the pinch.
They're too numb to feel much at all !
AnswerID: 337794

Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 07:26

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 07:26
Then I suppose theres the likes of us.

Small mortgage on a modest house,
Average income, sometimes below,
No savings to speak of,
Super...most people would carry more in their wallet,
10 yrs away from the 'final' knock-off,

Apart from costs of everything rising, the national and global financial crisis has not really affected us in any major way.
Having said this, I do find myself worring more and more about retirement and the thought of living on the pension.

Cheers....Lionel.
AnswerID: 337830

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 08:34

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 08:34
Like you, we don't have a big nest egg as others do, but we do have a small one.
So not too badly affected.

Will keep working for a while.
Have put some time and effort into other things, like local community, and made some good friends, real friends, which we feel is more valuable than solid assets.

It has taught us to live simply and cheaply, and still have a good life.
With that sort of asset, I am not too afraid of the future.

Most probably will keep working part time past 65, good way not to be moping around home, and still be meeting people.
FollowupID: 605375

Reply By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 21:35

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 21:35
Hi all , i have being talking to my father in law about this all over the last few weeks! I asked him about selling up and living in a mobile home for the rest of your retirement years till you need to go into a home, he suggested to me that

1: you keep your home and rent it out

2: if you can buy a couple more homes and rent them out( 3 is good but 4 would be better, i.e. $250 a week* 4 = $1000

3:live off half and bank the other half in a high intrest account

4: live well within your means ie lots of fresh fruit and vegies, cheap meat which you can get lots of good stuff from people that grown there own and sell it on the side of road.

5: do most of the maintence on your vehicles yourself, if you don't know how then buy a service manual and tools or get someone to show you how its done, i.e. changing oil, filters the basic's, grease gun. $300 for a service these days if not more for a $50 bottle of oil and good filter some time to spare and run a spanner over a vehicle.

shop smart with parts & appliances etc etc.

6: go agreed value with insurance pay yearly on everything( you should have the money available).

7: emergency fund $10000 would be a good starting figure! In a high intrest account as well!

Disclaimer: my father in law was an old bank manager, me i'm nothing but a first year accountacy student (was) but have asked a lot of questions and advice and read alot from this site aswell.

I only am offering the views i see and the worries i hear. This plan will be my plan when i come to retyirement age which is another 31 years away and i am looking forward to it, bigtime.( body falling apart).

i am hoping to get into a council job soon and will have a decent wage thats fixed which will allow me to save up the purchase price of a house and pay cash for it ( i have persoal loans which sux and i have learnt my lesson " you don't have cash don't buy it")then hopefully every 6-8 years after that i will be able to buy a second house and a third maybe a fourth hoperfully then it will be close to retirement and won't have to work unless the dreaded cancer gets me!

the thing being with the houses you can get somebody to rent and get a decent income from that which you can pour into your next property savings account to buy your third and same for the fourth. so if you are on a wage of 50000 take home and your wife earns the equivilent then if you can live off the one wage for 6- 8 years then you would have $300 000 - $400 000 for another house, now if you sacrifice that same wage and the rental income combined will give $372 000 - $496 000 plus interest less capital gains, so if youkeep your rental income low, less tax you pay, more dollars to have!

so after 12 years of scrimping and saving you have your $50 000 income plus rental income less tax, so per year would be $50 000 + $24 000 + intrest accrued - tax =$ 74 000 + intreest acrrued - tax!
which after 12 years assuming that you bought brand new cars when you bought your 1st house, should be due replacement, which will lessen the tax hopefully ( if you have a smart accountant).

after 24 years you should have a rental income with four houses based on $250 / week= $1000 or $ 52000/ year plus your $50 000 yearly income which quals $102 000/ year less your partners money less tax plus intrest accrued. now if you can start early like 21, you can retire by the age of 50 and still enjoy life on a partime basis. if you are like me then you have 7 years to pack away as much spare dollars as you can, after 24 years i have 7 left till retirement, do i buy another house or refurb all of the houses. thats the next big decision! opt for refurb as it reduces your tax loss and after you can inrease your rent to $300 / week.

so your finacial position as at the day of your retirement should be

7* $50 000= $350 000 plus intrest + rental income of three properties@ $750 / month for( $750* 3 * 84 months =$ 189 000 = $539 000 plus intrest accrued plus previous cash capital less tax less brakages and repairs = to a substancial finacial nest egg which if used correctly will keep you in modest comfort for a number of years!

these are ball park figures. provided you don't go too far overboard with the rent i.e. charge a zillion bucks for a dump and if you can get good tennants and keep the tennants happy and content you won't be without any rental income.

i hope this is correct as i am not a finacial planner or accountant!

can anyone spot and holes in it!

AnswerID: 337961

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 21:53

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 21:53
"Can anyone spot and holes in it!"

Yeah lots, the first being listening to a Bank Manager (Even if he is related)

FollowupID: 605498

Follow Up By: Off-track - Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 00:31

Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 00:31
Dont sacrifice the present and younger years to pay for the future older ones. You may not get there and you will have missed a whole lifetime of joy.
FollowupID: 605527

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 06:55

Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 06:55
Thats why we are in this finacial crisis, banks are throwing money at us left right and centre! we want things like last year! The car thats 12 months old is no longer brand new!

Hey John, Rob's a great fellow and an honest EX bank man, who has time for me to chat to me about anything and everything. Rob will give it to you straight no lies and plenty of options, but will keep you out of the credit crap as much as possible. like pedders say "NO BULL"!

Off-track thats the risk we all take these days, some drunk does a hit and run, you get cancer, your wife miscarries, your kids get sick and die, yes life does have its problems, it's surprises, it's follies, it's heartache, it's trials and tribulations, and ultimatley it's successes' and all you are doing is struggling to get that toehold to get that foothold, the domino effect.

I want a new computer every year, can't afford it!
i want a new toyota hilux trd vssl auv, can't afford it!
i want a seadoo, i can't afford it!
i want a four bedroom house with triple lock up garage, 2 bathrooms, spa bath & pool, with a $30 000 entertainment system, with computer controlled lighting etc etc ( one button does eveything), on a few acres, extreme quad bike racer,

Sorry i can't afford it, why?
I have worked my guts out and got no where buying what i want when i want and wasting money on buying lunch everyday, driving here there and everywhere when ever i wanted, big mobile phones bills. What have i got today. No job, very little money renting a house and in debt with $40k. servere depression, stress problems, sleep disorder. health problems.

so nothing much to show for it! and that sux!

that's my success story, not much sucess at anything except nothing!
FollowupID: 605531

Follow Up By: The Landy - Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 08:33

Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 08:33
Off-Track - great response. We can only ever live in the moment we are in. Forget the future, it may never come.

Good luck out there.......
FollowupID: 605542