please help defence force just wrecked holiday plans

Submitted: Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 20:50
ThreadID: 63949 Views:4631 Replies:11 FollowUps:16
hi all,
Please help us we had our chrissy plans stuffed up due to the defence force. Our son was going camping with us for his first christmas home since joining the army the last two he was overseas on deployment. He had been given his holiday dates and all now they have been told they have to stay within 2 hours of a major apitol city and be in mobile phone range. He lives in Brissy and we live in Maclean so does anyone have any suggestions preferably bush camping we were going to the nymodia nat park it doesnt fill the bill
thanks heaps barb

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 20:55

Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 20:55
Sounds like classified information you're giving out there Barbara.

Who are we going to invade?

AnswerID: 337763

Follow Up By: Member - barbara M (NSW) - Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 20:58

Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 20:58
No just that they always have some on standby incase of a national disaster, just wished it wasnt our son after having him away for 2 chrissys it would be good to spend the time with him

barb
FollowupID: 605303

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 20:59

Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 20:59
How come the navy gets two weeks off but the poor old footsloggers don't ?
FollowupID: 605304

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 21:01

Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 21:01
Its more likely a federal cost cutting exercise ....

A 2hr travel allowance from Bris. will be a lot cheaper than whatever the amount is now, for a return trip allowance to interstate N.O.K. addresses.
FollowupID: 605305

Follow Up By: Member - barbara M (NSW) - Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 21:03

Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 21:03
hi!
dont know if he gets travel allowance dont think so
I'm just annoyed that we all had our holidays planned and he had been given his dates etc and now they changed teir minds and I sort of feel he was overseas for the last 2 christmas on deployment you think they could give those guys this chriatmas off.
barb
FollowupID: 605307

Follow Up By: Off-track - Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 22:04

Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 22:04
That's army for ya - dont give a toss for members' after hours life.
FollowupID: 605323

Follow Up By: Dion - Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 22:45

Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 22:45
Footloose,
I'm not sure where you get the idea that the Navy is getting two weeks off, are you implying this is free leave as opposed to taking leave which reduces accruals.
The whole ADF has a few days, (not two weeks) of stand down days between Xmas and NY, the Navy is not getting anything special.
Having just got back to my home part after 28 weeks away, some free leave would be nice (but unethical), it is business as usual, work and take leave that reduces accruals.
Barbara M, travel allowance, if your son is classified MWOD (member without dependants, a.k.a single member) he is entitiled for the ADF to pay twice a year for him to travel to his nominated family/n.o.k.

Dion.
FollowupID: 605328

Follow Up By: Flywest - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 00:29

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 00:29
[quote] Who are we going to invade? [/quote]

Actuallywe wont be - we will be defending urselves after the Israelis and USA bomb the crapola outta Iran in the next few weeks or so - before Obama is innaugurated - kinda Dubya's planned parting middle finger gesture to "Ima dinner Jacket" in Iran.

Then afterwards when it all goes horribly wrong and Iran and the rest of the cameljockeys in the middle east unite and start marching toward western europe - well then your lad will find hisself deployed toot sweet!

http://en.rian.ru/russia/20070327/62697703.html

http://frontpagemagazine.com/Articles/Read.aspx?GUID=C4A5EEA8-A28E-4E30-95E1-BBCEDA6B8F11

Sometime's it's better to not ask such questions - most of us are happy ignoring the obvious, and don't want to consider the reality until it is forced upon us.

I could telll you how I know this - but then i'd have to kill you! ;o)

Lets just say I picked it up on the spurious stray signals recieved on my tinfoil lined armadillo hat! LOL

FollowupID: 605352

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 01:34

Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 01:34
a more cynical person than me might be asking FLYWEST

"are you on crack or something?"
FollowupID: 605854

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 08:43

Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 08:43
Interesting articles in your links Flywest.

I wouldn't want to be paranoid, it could really do my head in.

Might just have to go and stock up on some ammo.

FollowupID: 605867

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 21:01

Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 21:01
I would not change your plans to quickly, I was told the same thing and was recalled from leave, I was 11 hours drive from my barracks (Holsworthy). I got back quicker than the ones who stayed within the 2 hour limit.
As long as he remains contactable he should be OK. Just get him to put an address down that fits the criteria. If and when he gets recalled just tell them plans changed to the location he is at ;)

AnswerID: 337766

Follow Up By: Member - barbara M (NSW) - Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 21:06

Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 21:06
T
Thats what we reckon he hasnt been able to drive the 3 1/2 hours home some weekends and I bet he could get back to Brissy quicker than someone on the outer suburbs of Sydney by the time they got a plane trip home and drove to the airport that would be longer than the time it would take him to drive back
barb
FollowupID: 605308

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 21:09

Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 21:09
Barb,

Just do it.

They usually give you about 24 hours notice any way, they never rush things and usually recall the ones not out of the immediate area first.

FollowupID: 605310

Reply By: OzTroopy - Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 21:14

Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 21:14
Brisbane at Christmas time and within 2hrs ... Probably the quietest place to set up up camp would be the parade ground at the barracks ... lol

Dont know what sort of activities you might want but an explore along the Qld/NSW border can be OK - several spots there that are good - but better in offpeak periods.

Main Range NP west of Brisbane as well with Crows Nest to the nth west OK as well.

Quite a few other spots as well but likely to be real busy.
AnswerID: 337768

Reply By: Graham & Lynne - Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 22:20

Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 22:20
barbara M
If nymodia nat park doesn't have mobile phone coverage. hire a Sat phone And then you are contactable
From Graham
AnswerID: 337795

Reply By: zha zha cruiser - Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 23:28

Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 23:28
Barb, I did many of years in the army and they tried that bleep with me all the time too.

Just do what you wanna do. Your boy hasnt been in for very long so tell him to have a chat with the guys who have been in a little longer and see what they reakon.

They told me I had to get permission to travel OS for the weekend .... yeah right.

You just have to do what you have to do...its not like he will be doing anything real wrong.

my question to you is this....and please dont take offence....are you sure your boy really wants to go away with you? The army does give you some great outs should you need them.

what about Fraser.... its just a tad past 2 hours, and as long as he phones in morning and night - he will be fine.
AnswerID: 337804

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 00:09

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 00:09
I'm not an army buff so others can say the pro and cons of what the army says.

2 hours ish lets see, Toowoomba area, Kenilworth, Moreton Island, Stradbroke Island, Jimna National Park (Landcruiser Park), Blackbutt area, Bourmba Dam and surrounding drives.

Plenty more but have brain freeze

AnswerID: 337810

Reply By: Muddies Doe(Trippn) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 00:31

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 00:31
Hi Barbara

If you can't find a spot within 2 hours of Brissy then you aren't looking hard.
As others have mentioned just plan it and do it. As another poster has mentioned does your son want to go away? Brian H has mentioned just a few places. There is Girraween NP on the Qld/NSW bordere and some others around that area. North is Charlie Mooreland and various campgrounds. West might be hot but there are some nice camp sites in that direction as well.
Here is a site that might also help you.
http://www.ourbrisbane.com/see-and-do/things-to-do/camping

Cya
AnswerID: 337815

Follow Up By: Member - barbara M (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 06:57

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 06:57
We have looked but am looking for mobile reception as well which makes it a bit harder
barb
FollowupID: 605360

Reply By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 00:32

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 00:32
Barb,
Hope my mail reached you.
If not, relax and get back.
Jeff H.
AnswerID: 337816

Reply By: Trevor W(Brisbane) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 08:13

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 08:13
Just west of Rathdowney is Big Riggen Park and is a large grassed area on the banks of the headwaters to the Logan River
it has mobile coverage. Give them a call as it is private run and I expect Christmas to be busy.you have Border Ranges National Park,Flanigans Rest and Stinson Memorial Park all out that way but they will be busy.
If you are planning to go before Christmas you may get a spot but after Boxing Day every one gets out there. We are going your way and staying at Lakeview Caravan Park at Woolgoolga.
AnswerID: 337832

Follow Up By: Trevor W(Brisbane) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 08:19

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 08:19
http://www.bigriggen.com.au/
website address
FollowupID: 605373

Reply By: DIO - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 11:25

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 11:25
Don't worry too much about what they say. They do like to play little 'power games'. Go on your trip, take your son and enjoy the time. If (IF) they try to conatct hime and can't so what !!!!! he just happened to be out of mobile phone contact (at THAT time).
If everyone lived their lives according to 'what the Army says' it would be very miserable and lack real world human contact.
AnswerID: 337850

Reply By: Member - Matt (Perth-WA) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 11:33

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 11:33
Barb.

Im very sorry that your plans have been disrupted but with a cool head and some logical thinking Im sure you can ressurect a good holiday.

You have been given plenty of options to stay within the 2hrs should you feel the need to comply that strictly. Whether you do or not should make little difference if you are sensible.

As others have said...the two hours notice is usually for SOCOM or Special Operations on short notice deployment and after spending 4 years within this area of the organisation...there is little no time did we NEED to be within that distance. In Sydney that would actually have precluded me from going to my RA unit in Miranda on most occasions but I found plenty of opportunities to travel.

You son will be well aware from the older soldiers of what is acceptable within his unit without me making assuptions to his role. But if he can stay within a half days drive and have his trunk and deployment kit squared away before departure...he will be fine.

I do take some offence to the headline...your son signed up to do a job that I no doubt he is very proud to do and has accepted the concequences and restrictions of his service. The decisions the defence force make that are made on his behalf, while they may seem unfair and absurd...please keep in mind they are usually made for the good of many...not one. Im sure your son understands.

There is no reason for anyone to wreck your holiday and the defence force definately did not on this occasion.

I do wish yo uthe best for your holiday and give your son a pat on the back for me for a job well done.

AnswerID: 337852

Follow Up By: Member - barbara M (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 19:37

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 19:37
Hi Matt!
Point taken. I was bit frustrated last night when we found out so I was in the wrong. I know we are very proud of him and all other defence personal. It was just that we havent had a chance to have Christmas with him since he joined up a week after he finished his training he was deployed overseas for the first Christmas, he was only home from that deployment about 6 months and he deployed to Iraq. I do not at anytime regret him joining the army. I justfelt that seeing the dates for the holiday had been approved and we had already made the arrangements not only for us but it included other people as well. I was a bit peeved so sorry for the offence I am in the wrong sorry
barb
FollowupID: 605457

Follow Up By: Member - Matt (Perth-WA) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 22:43

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 22:43
Barb, I have been there and I do feel your frustration, they can seem like a faceless insensitive machine, actually they are that haha but they get the job done!!

I sincerely appreciate your reply and wish you and your son all the best with your holiday.

FollowupID: 605517

Follow Up By: Dion - Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 18:31

Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 18:31
Barb,
I have out of my current (and still serving) 22 years of service, been posted to RAN units for pretty well close to 16 of those years. I have roughly been able to be home perhaps for half of those Christmas'. I have even spent some of the Christmas' were I was required to stay and keep duties on the RAN units I have been posted to, on them for Xmas day, and all that night until 0900 the next day.
I have spent a fair few of my birthday's at sea, not to mention Easter and other long weekends.
I have had leave that has been approved and processed ammended for service requirements.
However I'm still putting up with it, having well and truly exceeded 20 years in the mob.
In fact this Xmas, I again will not spend it at home, now having the increased responsibility of looking after 2 RAN units together on Xmas day, having just had also done that 3 days previously, and then after Xmas will do it again 3 days later and again on NYE. And before this, I was to be home for both Xmas and NYE. Bookings at the shack have had to be cancelled, once again not the first time I've had to cancel bookings.
We have a saying in the ADF; "What doesn'tkill you only makes you stronger!"

Dion.

The fact that we can live freely in this great country of ours, and speak freely in English, not Japanese, thank a Sailor, a Soldier or and AirCrewman.
FollowupID: 605935