Acessory antenna for uhf handheld

Tried to post previousely but for some reason recieved an error message??..
Firstly as a visitng member i wish to say hello(G'day) from happy rock(Gladstone ) QLD...
Have a query regarding the axtra(accessory) antenna one can purcahse for handheld UHF Radios(Uniden)..
Do they really give the extra distance?? are they worth the purchase?? or not worth the effort for extra distance covered??..
Cheers and thanking in advance..

Reply By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 14:43

Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 14:43
Gday Papou,

Welcome!

It really depends on what you are trying to achieve in the end? I am assuming you are doing this so that you can get better distance? It will help a little but it really comes down to the power of your radio. I have a 5w mounted unit inside my car with a good aerial and then a couple of 1w handhelds for around camp and mucking around.

If I was you I would not buy the external aerial…save your money up and get a proper mountable UHF with a good aerial
AnswerID: 338039

Reply By: beelzebug - Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 14:57

Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 14:57
Hi Papou,

Because we have a few cars, I use some 5W handheld UHF radios.
I'm not sure about Uniden, but with an aerial adaptor, cable and a bullbar mounted aerial (4.5db) the range of our radios is nearly as good as a dedicated in-car radio, at least for what we do.
The adaptor, cable and aerial were under $100 all up.
Gary
AnswerID: 338041

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 15:11

Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 15:11
I have a UHF in the car but re the handheld antenna - I considered the same issue at one stage but stayed with the stumpy on my GME6200 5W - I envisaged the extra long antenna on the handheld would be a real nuisance - snagging, poking in the eye and getting damaged too......I get a good enough reach as is.
AnswerID: 338042

Reply By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 16:49

Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 16:49
I run my 5w Icom 41s Handheld off an RFI aerial on the bullbar..I can screw on the 4.5db for close stuff or unscrew that and put on the 6.5db for longer distance on flatter ground..

Havnt had any issues yet.

The other Icom 41s i use for whoever leaves the vehicle,or if both leave the vehicle i can still remove the in vehicle one at a drop of a hat and head in diff directions you can still keep in contact..

AnswerID: 338066

Reply By: papou - Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 17:53

Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 17:53
Thanks fella's:)..Didnt really want to mount any airials on the car as its for my sedan and thought if the accessory arial did the job ide purchase one..
If so yhe one Uniden advertises i think sez 3 Db?? would that be ample enough?? or just dont worry about it:)..
Cheers and thanks for the replies...
AnswerID: 338080

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 18:49

Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 18:49
i have a 2db antenna for my 5w GME and I dont think it does much at all, i use the one that came with it all the time now its not worth the hassle

FollowupID: 605621

Follow Up By: beelzebug - Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 09:36

Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 09:36
Papou, you can buy a small Z-shaped stainless bracket that allows you to install an aerial. It screws inside the bonnet and protrudes through to the outside. Can be taken off when not required. Any mobile communication place has them.
Gary
FollowupID: 605728

Reply By: Member - Ian F (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 20:32

Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 20:32
I have a Uniden UHO562XR (for a few years) and experimented with an external antenna and used it on a number of trips and have had vehicle/vehicle contact up to 15 klicks and have been satisfied. It has a 1watt/5 watt switch. the only thing is I had to purchase a 12 volt adaptor plus a sna/bnc antenna connector to use on the ute. Why I use this unit is that it is handy for my Yamaha 350 Bruin ag 4wheeler as well. ( Handy for fishing )
AnswerID: 338112

Reply By: Tubes - Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 13:20

Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 13:20
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Inappropriate Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
AnswerID: 338218

Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 13:48

Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 13:48
Are they worth the purchase? that will depend on your individual circumstances and requirements. I have found that having this connection to the high-gain antenna is useful and means that i can pick up the repeaters in many areas that i normally couldn't.

I was also able to transmit on some emergency services frequencies which was 70km (line of sight) from my home to the repeater....not bad i thought for a standard 6db antenna :-) Try that with a stubby aerial ;-)

It musty be noted that we use good Icom handhelds with 0.5/1/5 watt settings.

AnswerID: 338220

Reply By: papou - Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 14:10

Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 14:10
Well done by the moderators :)..That Tubes fella sits on the palm of his hand all too often.....Dont think too bad of him, neglected childhood:)...LOl....
Anyhow back to the main topic and a BIG THANK YOU for all the replies ...
AnswerID: 338224

Reply By: papou - Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 14:20

Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 14:20
Andrew, mate you mentioned using Icoms as a better brand or i took it that way..Ive been advised by others that Icom may be a better brand also but often wandered whether there would be much difference between the the top brands ???..
Is so , any ideas what the differences would be??..
AnswerID: 338230

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 14:33

Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 14:33
IMO paou, they all do the same thing.....receive and transmit information. :-)

Most of the money in these handheld are spent on the following:

- Wattage (power output)
- features
- ruggedness
- warranty
- reliability
- name (reputation etc)

there is no reason that a cheap X brand can't perform the same "in certain situations" as Y brand. The difference is more than likely seen when users starting pushing the limits of the device.

For normal road travel situations accessing repeaters etc, i would pick a unit around $100, just to knock the ultra cheap units from the equation. :-)

Don't forget to check out the Communications Section on this site, including information on UHF radio .

Hope that helps. Don't forget to ask any questions, as there are numerous members here much more capable than myself (some less ;-)) that can help you.

FollowupID: 605751