ThreadID: 64016 Views:4627 Replies:12 FollowUps:12

Related Pages

The Sunrise team will be making enquiries about the price of Diesel,
also the NRMA has also asked why, Several Viewers have complained
and started the Ball Rolling, NRMA reckon Diesel should be at least
25cents a litre cheaper, see what happens, they will be asking
Coles & Woolies to please explain, they reckon Singapore pricing
has dropped and there is no reason for high prices.

Daza

Reply By: Kiwi and Grenade - Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 09:04

Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 09:04
Will certainly be interesting to see how much of an input these guys have on it. I cannt see it changing in a hurry but would be nice.
AnswerID: 338182

Reply By: Diesel Power - Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 09:28

Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 09:28
Any publicity is good publicity as they say, and if someone with a bit of clout like Sunrise can make a big enough issue of it who knows! Bring on $1 per litre for diesel I say

Scott
AnswerID: 338184

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 13:27

Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 13:27
Yes good point Scott, they need to perhaps make it a weekly feature on the show, reporting the progress of their findings, they'll need a deep shuvel that is immuned to Politics. Diesel runs the country, not petrol, cheaper diesel would go a long way to kick starting our economy again and renewing confidence.
FollowupID: 605750

Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 09:58

Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 09:58
That intervue with the NRMA rep was pointless IMO.....seemed to be more of a "make sure i get my face on TV" sort of intervue. The bloke didn't mention anything shocking, with no basis shown for the figures, just a simple statement or two which we have all heard before.

I just don't see the ball rolling just yet with this short story....agree though that fuel should always be cheaper :)

AnswerID: 338188

Reply By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 10:01

Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 10:01
Ahhh.. Tabloid TV at it's finest ;-)

And the end result will be??? SFA!
Just a ratings grab by a TV station.
AnswerID: 338189

Follow Up By: ross - Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 10:19

Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 10:19
I see you are a little cynical too Mrbitchi LOL

I bet channel 7 have to do a search to make sure they have no shares or interests in the companies they attack before it goes to air.

And anyway ruffle of the chequebook from an oil company advertising executive could bring this to a halt like a brick wall.

We might have half a chance if the general public rolled up to politicians electoral office in marginal seats demanding something be done.
FollowupID: 605733

Reply By: The Landy - Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 10:25

Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 10:25
And unfortunately builds the hopes of the masses without providing anything factual, just the usual it 'should' be cheaper argument.

I'm all for cheaper prices, but get the arguments wrong and it follows the solutions will also be wrong. And let's face it, it wouldn't be ratings friendly for Sunrise if they actually presented the facts as they are, better to whip up the hysteria of the masses.

Keep in mind the spread between ULP and diesel has widened in recent days because of heavy discounting of ULP, not because something has changed in the way diesel is being priced.

Good luck out there......
AnswerID: 338192

Follow Up By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 11:11

Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 11:11
Some facts...

Over the last three months the wholesale price of ULP has gone from 95c to 40c

Diesel has gone from 118c to 66c.

LPG has gone from 53c to 37c.

(prices from www.fuelwatch.com.au)

A Commonwealth Government excise of 38.143cpl is applied to all fuels on the retail market except LPG.

So if you reckon in the wholesale cost + excise + GST + profit margin then the current price of around $1/lt is pretty fair. Take the same logic and diesel SHOULD be about $1.26, based on it's higher wholesale price, which is governed by the market, not the oil companies.

Of more concern to me is why the heck hasn't the price of LPG come down considerably?? It's only dropped about 3cpl on a wholesale drop of 16cpl !!! Now THAT's a rip-off!

FollowupID: 605736

Follow Up By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 11:14

Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 11:14
Oops, sorry Landy. This was meant to be a general reply...
FollowupID: 605737

Reply By: Neil & Pauline - Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 11:08

Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 11:08
Currently there is up to 40cents dfference between diesel and petrol in Perth. Most of the big consumers, like the trucking companies, get big discounts (was 30cents a few months ago) The average motorist makes up a very small volume of sales so it it not important to the fuel companies

Neil
AnswerID: 338197

Follow Up By: BuggerBoggedAgain - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 14:45

Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 14:45
Too true, after trucking companies, the percentage of diesel motorists in Australia is 4%, not much of a bargaining tool for oil companies or government departments.
Here in Mid-Coast, NSW woolies petrol, 96cpl, diesel $1.40
FollowupID: 608536

Reply By: Damo1970 - Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 11:20

Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 11:20
I saw diesel for under $1.30 a litre this week - a big change from the $1.85 only a few months ago.

We're leaving on our 12 month trip around Australia in 3 weeks so the current price is certainly welcome compared to what it was, but the lower it goes the better obviously.

There is a 23c/litre difference in Singapore parity pricing between diesel & unleaded - why? who knows.

But, based on that, the current price is about right when you compare it to unleaded which is currently around $1.10 at the top of the cycle. Diesel doesn't have the same cycle of discounting that applies to unleaded so early in the week when unleaded is heavily discounted (currently under $1.00) the difference between the 2 seems & is a lot greater.
AnswerID: 338199

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 12:08

Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 12:08
Perhaps Damo but around here unleaded has been around the dollar mark for over a week (not just discount times) yet diesel about $1.35! One servo has ULP for 95.9c and diesel for $1.38.9! The smallest difference in price I have seen is $1.01.9 as the most expensive ULP and $1.31.9 for the cheapest diesel (different servos) so still 30c difference but it is usually more if prices are taken from the same servo.
FollowupID: 605743

Reply By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 11:23

Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 11:23
Some facts...

Over the last three months the wholesale price of ULP has gone from 95c to 40c

Diesel has gone from 118c to 66c.

LPG has gone from 53c to 37c.

(prices from www.fuelwatch.com.au)

A Commonwealth Government excise of 38.143cpl is applied to all fuels on the retail market except LPG.

So if you reckon in the wholesale cost + excise + GST + profit margin then the current price of around $1/lt is pretty fair. Take the same logic and diesel SHOULD be about $1.26, based on it's higher wholesale price, which is governed by the market, not the oil companies.

Of more concern to me is why the heck hasn't the price of LPG come down considerably?? It's only dropped about 3cpl on a wholesale drop of 16cpl !!! Now THAT's a rip-off!

Now let's see Channel 7 explain THAT to the viewers, rather than just headline grab...
AnswerID: 338200

Follow Up By: Cruiser .- Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 11:58

Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 11:58
MrBitchi (QLD)

Are you sure you posted "the facts" enough times.

Cruiser
FollowupID: 605742

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 12:56

Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 12:56
Mr B,

In Sunny Melbourne LPG has come down from a constant 60c, to 48c yesterday, 44c with my docket.

$29 to fill my tank and I get 380 to 400 km out of that.

Hope your's drops soon.

FollowupID: 605748

Follow Up By: Col_and_Jan - Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 20:15

Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 20:15
LPG is still at 79.9cpl at Caltex in Bundaberg. Marsden in Brisbane is selling at 49.9cpl. Thats a 60% difference in price.
Good on you Caltex!
Col
FollowupID: 605811

Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 14:15

Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 14:15
Bit like some banks not passing on the full interest cut.
So to the oil companies.

They do it cause they can.........mongrels.

Cheers.....Lionel.
AnswerID: 338228

Reply By: Axel [ the real one ] - Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 15:29

Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 15:29
Well here are some Diesel prices over the last week that I paid on our quick trip from Brisbane to Boulia and return ,, 3664 klm allup, used 503 lts , 7.23 klm per lt avg = 13.7 lts per 100klm.
Bris Fri AM 135.9
Chinchilla Fri 135.9
Morven Fri 151.9
Blackall Sat 139.9
Winton Sat 143.9
Boulia Sat 149.9
Winton Mon 143.9
Longreach Tue 136.9
Tambo Tue 138.9
Roma Tue 131.9
DalbyThu 123.9
Brisbane today Thu 129.9

Can understand the price variations out Boulia + Winton way ,, can even sort of justify Morven + Roma variation but no one can ever justify the price variation between Brisbane + Dalby.
AnswerID: 338239

Reply By: Shaker - Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 18:56

Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 18:56
I read that diesel is 40 cents a litre less than ULP in New Zealand.
AnswerID: 338290

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 20:39

Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 20:39
it is not taxed at the pump there but by km travelled
dunno how exactly but the figures ive seen show it is as dear if not dearer than here although it is a bit harder to work out
FollowupID: 605817

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 01:14

Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 01:14
In NZ you have to buy a tax disc for the untaxed fuels such as LPG, CNG, electric, and diesel

$32.15 per 1000km's and dont forget to add on the $9.56 you pay for each transaction.
this is for vehicles upto 3000kg
FollowupID: 605852

Reply By: jammin - Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 17:34

Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 17:34
Generally there are not enough people complaining about diesel so nothing is done about it. Everyone complains about Unleaded so they do something about it then make up their extra profit on Diesel and LPG.

Well thats my theory
AnswerID: 338432

Follow Up By: Col_and_Jan - Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 18:32

Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 18:32
There are two BP stations saddling the highway in Nambour, Qld. The north bound lane (away from Brisbane) is always 5cpl higher for LPG than the south bound lane (towards Brisbane). You cant see them at the same time because of the hilly country, so most people dont notice the difference.

Blatant rip off, and why? Because they can.
FollowupID: 605936