Cosmo Newberry - Petrol Station?

Submitted: Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 02:26
ThreadID: 64042 Views:8387 Replies:8 FollowUps:15
I wants to travel from Perth to Alice Springs via Great Central Road. Therefor I am searching for all petrol stations on my way because my motorcycle only has enough tank-capacity for about 300km of range.

Searching the internet I found a petrol station at cosmo newberry.
--> http://www.dia.wa.gov.au/Land/Entry-Permits/Fuel-And-Supplies-Information/

Searching ExplorOZ.com I was not able to find this petrol station.

Does anyone know if I will be able to get fuel in cosmo newberry (unleaded, leaded, opal or avgas)?

Reply By: Member - Dennis P (Scotland) - Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 03:26

Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 03:26
Hi cbk,

Yes, fuel is available from Cosmo.

Great Central Road Fuel

Just follow the signs off the main road and it is on the right hand side just before the Community Shop.

Dennis

AnswerID: 338344

Follow Up By: Member - Dennis P (Scotland) - Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 03:42

Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 03:42
Derr!!
My link same as your info, sorry about that.
Give them a call, last time I went through, they sold petrol.

D.

FollowupID: 605857

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (SA) - Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 08:02

Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 08:02
You will only get opal fuel out that way all the way through to the Alice. So safety sake, I would take at least 5 litres of spare fuel as back up and extra water, for the "Just in Case" situation. It is a long way between fuel stops out there. Also keep an eye out for feral camels. We had a couple of near misses out there. Came running out of the scrub, right across the road. Hit one of these beasts and you will no live to tell your tale.

Don't forget to get your permits, they are easy to obtain and they are free.

Who has been here

AnswerID: 338351

Reply By: Top End Explorer Tours - Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 09:26

Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 09:26
Hi Chris Benjamin

The question you should be asking these well travelled people is, is it safe to ride the Great Central Road in the middle of February on your own, as you plan.

My wife who visits www.australien-forum.de has tried to tell you it'd be foolish to do so, the people on this forum will tell you the same.

So, could all desert tavellers on this forum please tell this guy what it is like to travel the desert in Feb on your own, on a motor bike, please!

Cheers Steve.

AnswerID: 338367

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon K (SA) - Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 04:34

Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 04:34
Steve how much traffic is there on that road at that time of year?
If very little then yes he would be VERY STUPID.
If a few cars a day, well i guess thats his call.
Lyndon
Now is the only time you own
Decide now what you will,
Place faith not in tomorrow
For the clock may then be still

FollowupID: 606017

Follow Up By: cbk - Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 05:30

Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 05:30
Yes of course, I read the bulletin board,
but when I think about the alternatives, I was faced with by some members of the board, I really got afraid. They told me to ride the Canning Stock Route or the Gunbarrel Highway instead. You would agree me, that these routes are much more dangerous than Great Central?

So, do you think I should travel from Perth to Alice via Eyre Highway (to Port Augusta) and Stuart Highway instead of Great Central Road?

Slowly I become hating Australia. Everybody told me what I am not able to do. Nobody says what I am able to.

Ciao
FollowupID: 606021

Follow Up By: Member - Dennis P (Scotland) - Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 06:04

Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 06:04
Hi Chris,
Don't hate Australia based on some well intentioned advice.
The trip you plan to do has been done by many others and most of them would not have come on here seeking assistance.
Anyone that told you to do the Canning or Gunbarrel in preference to the Great Central Road is stupid, to say the least.
This is a great site to seek advice, so don't give up.

Dennis

FollowupID: 606023

Reply By: DIO - Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 10:09

Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 10:09
Total distance Perth - Alice Springs via Cosmo - approximately 2,500 km.

You would be travelling through one of the remotest parts of Australia at a time of the year when very few if any other people would be travelling due to the heat and unbearable conditions.

If something went wrong, m/cycle breakdown - unable to repair, fall of bike perhaps fracture leg, collar bone, hip etc you cannot expect another traveller to just come along and help you out.

Condition of road surface - a small amount of sealed road, then gravel, then dirt, then sand then sand then sand then sand etc

Weather - HOT HOT HOT up to and perhaps in excess of 50 degrees celsius day after day.
That time of the year - possibility of Tropical Cyclones off WA or NT coast resulting in extreeeeeme rainfall in the centre of Australia meaning flooding and no NO NO NO vehicle travel sometimes for many days or even weeks.

You will be required to carry water (approx. 10 litres per day to survive and avoid dehydration), fuel at least 10 - 50 litres reserve. Your fuel consumption could easily double or triple in sand and or mud, food for at least a week (in case you break down or come off your bike and are injured), a satellite telephone or E.P.I.R.B. for emergencies (to summon help/assistance).

Much of that part of Australia that you suggest you are planning to travel in February is mostly uninhabited with very few (if any) other people travelling the roads. You will NOT find service stations every 300 km or less. Most people who travel those areas carry sufficient fuel for 1000 kms (more or less).

If you are injured or vehicle break down then in the event you can contact someone to come and help you they could take days to reach you and then the cost could be 100's of thousands of dollars that you could be expected to pay because you were so stupied for going into the desert country in the middle of summer.

Many people have died in the general area you are considering to travel because they travelled at the wrong time of the year and were totall unprepared to cope with the unexpected or emergencies.

Simple advice - DON'T DO IT.
AnswerID: 338375

Follow Up By: Member - Dennis P (Scotland) - Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 05:19

Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 05:19
DIO,
Not sure where you are getting your 'facts' from but a most of them are utter rubbish!
At any time of the year that particular road is well travelled, by tourists and locals.
If anyone is unfortunate enough to injure themselves out there, help is available from each community clinic in the form of highly experienced Nursing Staff and a Troopy Ambulance.
The road surface in most cases is easily traversed in a car or motorcyle, sand or not.
No way known does the temperature ever get anywhere near 50C, at any time of the year, it would be in the low to mid 30's in February when this bloke wants to travel.
As to flooding, the roads are closed for 2 to 3 days at the most, never weeks. The reason for that is to prevent damage to the road, not a safety issue.
You WILL find Service Stations every 300 k's or less, those travellers that carry enough fuel to travel 1,000 k's do so because of the cost.
Again, if you injure yourself, a Community Clinic Ambulance will pick you up and, if needed, the RFDS will fly you out, all at no cost.
To my knowledge, not ONE person has died in this general area for the reasons you give, ever!
The amount of persons that choose to travel this road on push bikes, camels, motor bikes without back up or support vehicles would surprise many, one bloke that eventually worked at Warburton rode a push bike from Brisbane to get there and that was in the Summer of 2001.

Whilst I am happy to advise caution to the Op on attempting this trip, no way would I discourage him, providing he is well prepared and informed.

FollowupID: 606020

Follow Up By: Member - Hughesy (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 07:52

Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 07:52
I'm with you Dennis. I travelled the Great Central on my own in Feb, 7 years ago (in a 4x4). All I did was look at the map and saw the red line.....and followed it.

Passed heaps of people along route - even an older bloke (not you Willem) in a 1980's Laser Hatchback. Jesus there was even Semi's / roadtrains travelling the road - its not a DESERT TRACK!!!!

I reckon go for it Ciao. Just make sure you let someone reliable know where you expect to be on what day and that you will call them from the roadhouses (payphones) along you way.

Have a good one mate.

FollowupID: 606039

Reply By: Peter_n_Margaret - Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 10:55

Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 10:55
The fact that you had to ask here if fuel was available at Cosmo suggests that you have not researched this trip suficiently.

OKA196 Motorhome
AnswerID: 338381

Follow Up By: cbk - Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 05:36

Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 05:36
I questioned because there are differences between the Maps (Hema Desert Tracks etc.), official Internet Sites of 2005 and the Database here at exploroz.com.

Do you think, that I am unprepared, when I question which of this pieces of information are correct and which are not?

Ciao
FollowupID: 606022

Follow Up By: Member - Dennis P (Scotland) - Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 06:08

Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 06:08
Peter,
The fact that he came here asking advice would suggest the poor bugger is trying to research his trip.
How many Aussies know that you can refuel at Cosmo?

Dennis

FollowupID: 606024

Reply By: Holden4th - Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 14:24

Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 14:24
You will get fuel from the following places en route.

Alice

Stuart's Well

Erldunda

Mt Ebenezer

Curtin Springs

Yulara

Docker River

Warrakurna

Warburton

Tjukayirlya

Cosmo Newberry (with detour)

Laverton

Leonora

Kalgoorlie

Coolgardie

Southern Cross

and from there on it's no problem

Can I suggest that you now look at a map, work out distances and see whether this leaves you a comfortable margin for error.

Personally, I think you are crazy to do this at this time I've year. I've travelled the GCR in the other direction and met a couple of parties of motorcyclists. ALL OF THEM travelled as a group and had a 4WD as a back up!

The worst part is the section from the Olgas to about 100 kms west of Warburton. The road from there into Laverton was very good. The easterly part, as mentioned, contains a lot of soft sand, big bulldust holes, corrugations, rocks and plenty of very large livestock, including camels and cattle.

This site provides some information

http://www.exploroz.com/TrekNotes/WDeserts/Great_Central_Road.aspx
AnswerID: 338407

Follow Up By: cbk - Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 06:29

Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 06:29
I still have worked out distances between all petrol stations of my outback-route:

Perth
- not worked out
Laverton
78km
Cosmo Newberry
220km
Tjukayirla
249km
Warburton
264km
Warrakurna
104km
Docker River
232km
Yulara
84km
Curtis Springs
179km
Kings Creek
40km
Kings Canyon Resort
225km
Glen Hellen Resort
128km
Alice Springs
91km (Stuart Highway)
Stuarts Well
108km
Erldunda
74km
Kulgera
180km
Marla
211km
Oodnadatta
197km
Coober Pedy
168km
William Creek
204km
Marree
80km
Lyndhurst
33km
Copley (near Leigh Creek)
129km
Arkaroola
253km
Wilpena
17km
Rawnsley Park
34km
Hawker
66km
Quorn
40km
Wilmington
- not worked out
Adelaide
FollowupID: 606026

Follow Up By: Member - Dennis P (Scotland) - Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 06:35

Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 06:35
Perth to Laverton is 957 k's.
Wilmington to Adelaide is 292 k's.
FollowupID: 606028

Follow Up By: cbk - Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 07:34

Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 07:34
@Dennis: Of course are there many k's from Perth to Laverton and Wilmington to Adelaide. But at these stages of my tour, I will have noc problems finding petrol stations.

As I said above, my motorcycle just has a tank-range of about 300km. And even 300 k's are much for a motorcycle. The normal range of motorcycles you can buy is about 200 k's.

Therefor I questioned if I can get fuel at Cosmo Newberry because otherwise I have to ride from Laverton to Tuykayirla in one stint. In this case I would get in trouble because I would have to ride 298 k's.
FollowupID: 606035

Follow Up By: cbk - Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 08:03

Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 08:03
"and see whether this leaves you a comfortable margin for error"

@Holden4th: I by assessing a margin of 150% (so 50% extra) I have no problems. In case I should assess a margin of 200% (so 100% extra) I have to take a 10 Liter petrol can with me.

My packing list:
- 60 Liter of water
- clothes, tent, ... (7kg)
- spare parts, tools (10kg)
- 10 Liter petrol can
- combat ration pack of australian army
- EPIRB
- Maps, GPS, ...
FollowupID: 606041

Follow Up By: Holden4th - Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 18:54

Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 18:54
The next question is obvious (and I'm surprised that nobody has asked it yet).

What sort of bike are you riding?

I still don't think you should do this alone.
FollowupID: 606116

Follow Up By: cbk - Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 19:26

Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 19:26
What sort of bike?

A Kawasaki KLR 650.

Unfortunately Yamaha does not sell its xt660z Tenere in Australia.
I would prefer the Yamaha because of more tank-capacity.
FollowupID: 606121

Reply By: poppyg2 - Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 21:01

Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 21:01
We went on the GCR 4 weeks ago and just before the rain and the road up to to Docker river is fine. From Docker River to Kata Tjuta it was a bit rough but it means you need to go slower and let teh tyre pressure down. When I went past Cosmos Newberry and it looked like it was closed, so I would check with the petrol stations either side. We passed about a dozen cars on the road and saw a few animals mainly camels & horses, but again if your drive to the conditions you should be ok. Telling the police at each end is always a good and doing it in Feb is hot but its your choice. Poppyg
AnswerID: 338586

Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 11:44

Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 11:44
I travelled that road a few months ago and found the road to be in excellent condition. Speaking to some motor cycle riders it seems that there biggest problem was getting overheated every time they stopped as they were wearing leathers. I also heard a story of a motor bike having it's fuel line cut overnight. It seems that some of the locals were very keen to obtain some petrol to sniff. At one roadhouse (Blackstone Community) they will lock your bike in a special compound overnight if you want. Generators have also been know to 'disappear' over night.
AnswerID: 338783

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 11:49

Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 11:49
Follow up to above;
I should also have mentioned that I have seen motor cyclists carrying extra petrol in a couple of 1.5 lt plastic drink bottles which they added to the main tank as soon as they could. The soft drink bottles were easy to pack on the bike and can be folded up and carried as rubbish when empty rather then a larger 'built for purpose' petrol container.
FollowupID: 606302