landcruiser ute v8
Submitted: Sunday, Dec 07, 2008 at 00:28
offroad Bob
I have had the LC70 v8 ute for nearly a year now and I am looking for experience from other owners. Love the ute - you would have to at the price - but for a few problems.
In the mornings it has developed a cold knock - you would think it has dropped a valve - toyota says it is a pre-ignition knock or such and not hurting the engine but they have reported it.
The other concern is at 27000 k it is using oil. For the last 6500 k it consumed 1.3litres of oil. Toyota said is within norms to use up to 1 litre per 8000k in the early years. After 30000 to 50000k this should settle down.
Have others had these issues? Am I getting the correct feedback from toyota? Is there a fix to the knock?
Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Sunday, Dec 07, 2008 at 01:00
Sunday, Dec 07, 2008 at 01:00
Hullo Bob,
I have read somewhere that the best way to treat a diesel engine in its early days is to drive it hard and bed the rings in. Apparently this will reduce the oil usage.
Don't know how true this is, I'm not a mechanic, but I towed a 2500kg caravan almost from day one. It used oil in the first 5000kays but doesn't anymore (now 37000kays).
On a cold morning, after not using it for a few days, it will make really awful dry metallic noises on startup. But that's only until the oil is pumped around.
It's much noisier than the TDV8 in the LC200, even taking into account the LC200 has better soundproofing.
Sorry I can't be more helpful.
Reply By: Member - John F (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 07, 2008 at 02:00
Sunday, Dec 07, 2008 at 02:00
Don't know about the oil usage, but the "cold knock" sounds similar to the D4D Hilux/Prado which is
well documented here and elsewhere. Apparently harmless and dissappears after a short warm up period. Our Hilux has done it from new (now 75k) and we just warm up or drive very gently for first 2km then it's gone.
Regards, John.
Reply By: Member -Pinko (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 07, 2008 at 11:13
Sunday, Dec 07, 2008 at 11:13
My ute has done 30,000 Kms. It is noisy from cold but settles after about five mins.
It used excessive oil till about 15,000 kms. Now it is normal consumption.
There is a previous post on this
forum relating to a serious 'knock' issue and from memory it related to a sticky electronic injector.
We headed of to
Perth north Coast NSW via the Nullarbor towing a camper and did not pack extra oil and we were glad to get to the
Balladonia Roadhouse for a top up.
Reply By: fishluva74 - Sunday, Dec 07, 2008 at 15:39
Sunday, Dec 07, 2008 at 15:39
G'day Bob
I drive one for work and after initially being excited by them i would not personally buy one. Yes they chew oil at an exponential rate. We have 4 at work, all of which drink at different rates.
Mine uses 2.5ltrs every 10k. One have actually used 4ltrs in the same period. I am now getting up around 40k and it has not appeared to settle down. I have been to toyota who have to complete an oil consumption log over 10k to prove it. Unfortunately, the local rock apes who did
mine stuffed up so i have to prove it again although i suspect this may be a ploy to stop me servicing elsewhere. I have been told by dealer about 2 weeks ago that toyota has released 2 field fixes for the problem, one for minor and the other 4 major consumption. If i was a betting man i would say one is a different oil and the other is a new engine. Other things to watch out for are after market radios (VHF) as these will affect the fly by wire causing motor to go into limp mode. In time i pretty much gurantee you will have either gearbox or diff dramas. It simply does't make sense to almost double the power (non turbo), change the wheelbase front to rear and expect they will not break.
Mine already groans when tight cornering and makes a noise which i suspect is the throw out bearing. On the track difference, in this case power does not equal less bog in sand or mud. Because of the 50mm tract difference, you are forced to make 2 different wheel tracks. You can imagine my dismay when i got stuck at the bottom of a
sand bowl while a stock nissan with cheese cutters whizzed past me and yes, i have been 4wd'ing for 10years + and had all the training (which still sees me in trouble occaisionly - can't fix masculinity). Having said that, fuel economy is great for this size rig, i get around 15l/100 highway with close to 1tonne weight which i am sure will get better (that was up to about 25k - not checked since) and 18 around town. I got the same figures from the old stock straight 6 banger. Power,
well thats freakin awesome however it will struggle down low when 4wding. I have found myself dropping into low range where i previously would have used high. I have heard of blokes dropping in a 3" exhaust which gives them a very horny note and will solve the snuff problem as
well as increasing power. They genuinly do sound like they are struggling to get the exhaust out. With the
snorkel, ditch the dodgy thing toyota gives you and go for a forward facing inlet. I reckon it's good for a couple of horsepower and is far quieter. The other one sounds like it's trying to suck a cane toad through a straw. It's a shame they did not put more thought into it but i have been told they had to do something to meet immissions standards so they shoe horned a V8 in because you are allowed to pollute more with that. I have been told the next model will get a cab upgrade and fix the track problem. Asside from everything, it beats driving a lada niva and overall is still a joy to drive.
Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Sunday, Dec 07, 2008 at 16:07
Sunday, Dec 07, 2008 at 16:07
Fishy, it really is a mixed bag isn't it?
I'm looking forward to the replacement. supposed to be in 2009.
Hope the crappy dollar doesn't price it out of reach.
Reply By: Member - The Crow (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 07, 2008 at 19:34
Sunday, Dec 07, 2008 at 19:34
My 76 Series is going great no dramas yet with using oil. Although I have been getting it serviced every 5000k. It has 40000k on it now and 28000k of that has been towing a 21ft Van.
| 200 Series V8 Diesel
Thanks for the Rest Flying West and Flying Very Low along the track not coming back. The CrowLifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: Member - bungarra (WA) - Sunday, Dec 07, 2008 at 23:21
Sunday, Dec 07, 2008 at 23:21
Mine has done 15,000km of which has been 10k towing offroad camper trailer.
Never burnt any oil yet. Certainly has the cold knock which sounds bloody awful until it warms up......i just treat her gently until she is warm and then drive normally
Love the thing to bits........as for the rest of the "issues"....
well I will simply wait and see ..not really interested in posts from people predicting what willl / might happen to various parts of the drive train.........because of this and that.........
I made a decision to purchase ours after more than 30 consecutive years as toyota owner....put simply I trust their engineers and their judgment and am confident that should an issue arise they wont hide and ignore...unlike the opposite grenade manufacturer!
Reply By: Member - paul M (SA) - Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 08:34
Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 08:34
I have a 76 wagon 19 k due for second oil change now i put .5 ltr the other day i have heard the knock when cold but i drive trucks for my living they dont sound nice either cold especialy cat,s. Very happy so far worst fuel 12.4/100 best 9.8/100 average closer to 11/100
Reply By: Member -Pinko (NSW) - Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 10:14
Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 10:14
Gee Offroad Bob
You must be so confused now ?
I must say we love our V8 ute.
Our first trip took us up the
hay river track from poeppels corner towing a camper in the dry river bed and all that. Then to the Plenty Hwy. to Alice and back across the simpson via Old
Andado stn through that waist deep bulldust swamp track coming into Mt. Dare. Not once did we we have any trouble in sand. This thing about the front track being 50 mm. wider each side than the rear seems to me a load of crap. When any vehicle turns the rear wheel track never follows the front anyway. The average fuel consumption for that trip starting from North coast NSW return was 16 lhk. My old reliable 80 series would have been in the mid nineteens. I have since installed Koni's and they are worlds apart from OE. We normally carry 155lts of
water and 100 lts. of diesel extra.
Follow Up By: Member -Pinko (NSW) - Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 13:53
Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 13:53
One other thing Bob
It has been made mention about the
snorkel.
It to me a while to realize why the
snorkel was so loud. It was not the actual
snorkel but the air rushing across the windscreen and then being squeezed through
the gap between the
snorkel tube and the door pillar.
I fixed it by pushing a length of that black foam ac. insulating tube into
the gap. Wallah! no noise any more
Reply By: offroad Bob - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 08:39
Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 08:39
Thanks to all the replys - reassuring that other owners are experiences similar events and concerns. I too have owned toyotas for over 20 years in a series of vehicles and have confidence in this new v8 ute. By coincidence after posting this
forum I have received a letter from toyota recalling my ute for a computer reprogramme update. I have booked it in and hope this may improve the cold knock although the letter only refers to a low idle on deceleration - not an issue I have experienced.
Follow Up By: Foxhound (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 10:57
Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 10:57
Yep, got a recall for
mine as
well. Haven`t had any stalling problems though but will get it checked anyway. So very happy with my 76 Series...Regards,, Foxhound(WA).
Follow Up By: offroad Bob - Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 13:23
Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 13:23
I have been in for the toyota recall - it had little to do with stalling. The toyota guy said it was a reflash of the computer in an attempt to rectify the cold knock. Went for a drive this morning - weather is not that cold but there is still some sort of knock there - not as bad but that could just be the warmer morning.