East Coast Tassie

Submitted: Sunday, Dec 07, 2008 at 18:51
ThreadID: 64092 Views:2994 Replies:4 FollowUps:3
Just back from 4 days touring a section of the East Coast of Tassie.Just to let people know of a couple of great free camp areas.Policesmans Point near Ansons Bay is a great spot with lots of space to spread out in.From sandy spots to grassy areas.
Lagoon Beach further south is another great spot.Just off the main road, its spread out over a large area, with everything from small private spots to a large open grassy area.Fire places and Toilets too.A stones throw off the beach.
Last spot is River and Rocks camp area near Coles Bay.Again, heaps of space, toilets and fire places and only 10mins from Coles Bay.

Looking Over Lagoon Beach.

Reply By: blue one - Sunday, Dec 07, 2008 at 19:35

Sunday, Dec 07, 2008 at 19:35
Nick,
What is the water temp?

AnswerID: 338704

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Sunday, Dec 07, 2008 at 19:40

Sunday, Dec 07, 2008 at 19:40
Friggen cold.Sorry, put my toe in and it went blue.Even the kids didnt get in, so it must be cold.
FollowupID: 606231

Reply By: Member - bushfix - Sunday, Dec 07, 2008 at 19:40

Sunday, Dec 07, 2008 at 19:40
G'day Nick,

a far cry from Kununnurra eh? But so is the variety of beaut spots we have where we we may roll out the swag and chin wag.
AnswerID: 338706

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Sunday, Dec 07, 2008 at 19:49

Sunday, Dec 07, 2008 at 19:49
Sure is.We had a change of rain, wind and sun shine every 10 mins for two days, then just wind and sunshine.But it was all good.
FollowupID: 606233

Reply By: Motherhen - Sunday, Dec 07, 2008 at 20:21

Sunday, Dec 07, 2008 at 20:21
From incredibly beautiful Tasmania to fascinating Kununurra in the beautiful Kimberley region. You must have chosen two of the best possible places to live Nick.

Tasmania has learned that providing free camps pays (most are on the east side). The mainland still needs to learn this lesson (only a very few areas have).

We preferred the Friendly Beaches to the River and Rocks camp site. Individual bays in the bush, well spread out, and just a short stroll down the sandhill to the beach.

The area around St Helen's has the most coastal free camp sites. Prime land, right on or overlooking the beach. Most have a drop toilet or two - some have new eco toilets as well as the older versions. Free hot showers and water supply at the St Helen's marina.

Love travelling anywhere in Australia (except cities), but Tasmania and the Kimberley region are two of the very best.

AnswerID: 338712

Reply By: The Geriatric Gypsies - Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 12:27

Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 12:27
goodday guys
how long are you allowed to stay in these free camps and is it safe to leave the van for a day while having a look around

thanks
AnswerID: 338787

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 16:08

Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 16:08
Hi Steve

Some have restrictions but most of the north and east coast ones seem to be OK long term. Locals go for their summer holidays, and when you see plants growing on their shade cloth fences - -

Even one in a town with a two day limit signed, had a Tasmanian who seemed to go to work each day and be there for the long term (the one with the very noisy genny he ran at unreasonable hours).

Quite safe leaving the van in coastal or free camps in towns, or anywhere in Tassie. We used to do day trips - so much easier to explore the narrow minor roads without the van.

Wonderful place, with friendly people like the mainland was many years ago.

FollowupID: 606332