Beach conditions Lancelin/ Wedge, WA??

Submitted: Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 19:44
ThreadID: 64120 Views:4445 Replies:6 FollowUps:7

Related Pages

Can anyone tell me what the beach conditions are like out to wedge island at the moment. Looking at the stretch starting at the range boundary (navy track or Dide Bay I think it is.)

I took my dirt bike up there 6 weeks ago and it was nice firm sand the whole way has it changed much?

Will be in the Hilux this time with 2 bikes on the back.

Reply By: Flywest - Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 22:28

Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 22:28
That particular beach - like many - is a steep eroding beach in winter and a shallow compacting beach in summer.

Winters over, along with the beach eroding winter cold front storms - its the first week of summer.

The beach is stable and compacting at the moment and for the foreseeable next few months, unless we were to get something like a tropical cyclone come way south of the sub tropic zone ending roughly at the 26th paralell round shark bay - and cause the beach to again erode during the normal summer compacting period.

That's unlikely, but has occurred in the past - Cyclone Alby that hit Busselton for example round the late eightys or early nineties.

Barring any such cylcone comming this far south - you should be good till probably March April or whenever the first winter cold fronts again start pumelling us and eroding the beaches again.

Given how soft that eroding beach north of Lancelin can be in winter - you did well to ask - but really speaking the answer, given the above explanation, should be self evident.

Cheers!
AnswerID: 338873

Reply By: Flywest - Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 22:29

Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 22:29
That particular beach - like many - is a steep eroding beach in winter and a shallow compacting beach in summer.

Winters over, along with the beach eroding winter cold front storms - its the first week of summer.

The beach is stable and compacting at the moment and for the foreseeable next few months, unless we were to get something like a tropical cyclone come way south of the sub tropic zone ending roughly at the 26th paralell round shark bay - and cause the beach to again erode during the normal summer compacting period.

That's unlikely, but has occurred in the past - Cyclone Alby that hit Busselton for example round the late eightys or early nineties.

Barring any such cylcone comming this far south - you should be good till probably March April or whenever the first winter cold fronts again start pumelling us and eroding the beaches again.

Given how soft that eroding beach north of Lancelin can be in winter - you did well to ask - but really speaking the answer, given the above explanation, should be self evident.

Cheers!
AnswerID: 338875

Reply By: Exploder - Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 23:01

Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 23:01
Cheers mate, yeah I had the dirt bike along that beach in winter and just about every 4WD we came across was bogged.

One of my young ladies friends who is coming along has to be back in Perth for a function early that night, so I figure the last thing I need was to get bogged on a clapped out beach and have to deal with a bleep off- female wile trying to recover a 4BY, A man can only deal with so much LOL
AnswerID: 338880

Reply By: tome - Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 00:49

Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 00:49
I went through there a couple of weeks ago.
If you're coming onto the beach at Dide or Narrow Neck I reckon you'll be right. The really boggy bit was I'd guess under a click from the main entrance onto the beach from Lano.

We got through going towards Lano, stopped to help a mate launch their inflatable, and watched the next 4 vehicles going north hit the boggy patch and stay there.

Do you know if the ranger is picking on bikes and quads up there?
We were thinking of spending a couple of days up there over xmas but we've been told they're not happy with quads unless you've got a shack.
AnswerID: 338888

Follow Up By: ross - Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 09:08

Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 09:08
Who is not happy with the quads and bikes unless you have a shack,the locals or the rangers?
Whatever the law is ,it should apply to everyone equally.
FollowupID: 606428

Follow Up By: Exploder - Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 09:59

Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 09:59
Not sure mate, I have taken my trail bike out to wedge bout 4 times this year and have never had a problem, thou what I do is a “touring” ride so I don’t buzz around the same aria for hours on End.

Never see any shortage of bikes out there thou?
Just have to be sensible I guess, if ya going to muck around on a bike ya don’t do it next to a crowd who are just relaxing on the beach

Got to say i have never seen a Ranger out that far either!
FollowupID: 606436

Follow Up By: Exploder - Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 10:00

Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 10:00
Not sure mate, I have taken my trail bike out to wedge bout 4 times this year and have never had a problem, thou what I do is a “touring” ride so I don’t buzz around the same aria for hours on End.

Never see any shortage of bikes out there thou?
Just have to be sensible I guess, if ya going to muck around on a bike ya don’t do it next to a crowd who are just relaxing on the beach

Got to say i have never seen a Ranger out that far either!
FollowupID: 606437

Follow Up By: tome - Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 12:01

Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 12:01
It was the ranger who's talked to us before a couple of times - and that was at Wedge. I heard it was the DEC who was stopping people with quads on trailers at Lano as they were heading out to Wedge.

We usually muck about in the dunes north of the shacks.
So we're not running through the settlement all the time.

The ranger reckoned there was less than a year before it would be flattened and some pay campsites put in :-(
FollowupID: 606445

Follow Up By: Exploder - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 13:19

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 13:19
Mate we got Done by the ranger bout 4km from Wedge island, first time in 2 years, had only just had the quad off for 15 minutes and was just about to get my Trail bike down too, was not happy!!

FollowupID: 607186

Follow Up By: tome - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 18:53

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 18:53
Bummer. We went to Lano for a ride this morning before the real heat of the day. There's leaflets at the servo talking about them enforcing the no unlicensed offroad vehicles allowed.

Were your trailbike or quad registered? I dunno if they mean offroad registration is ok, or if it has to be road licensed.
FollowupID: 607247

Reply By: Member - Alanc - Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 11:25

Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 11:25
I came back along the beach about three weeks ago (at low tide), it was a very comfortable 70kph trip down to Narrowneck and then the beach got progressively softer so I left the beach half way around magic. Providing there hasn't been any big swells since then I would imagine the beach would still be a good run at low tide. Regards Alanc
AnswerID: 338916

Reply By: westozal - Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 11:27

Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 11:27
Just for history and accuracy Cyclone Alby hit in April 1978.
Regards Alan.
AnswerID: 338917

Follow Up By: equinox - Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 11:46

Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 11:46
It hit Perth too!!

I remember going down to the oval for a bit of fun with my boomerang.

FollowupID: 606443