Ron173
G'Day all,
In our latest quest to becoming somewhat
camping snobs..lol.. we got the coleman hot
water unit for our next trip.
I'm looking for tips on how best to run it. (only really want shower use)
so far been told setup turn on get in and wet, then put shower head in a bucket whilst soaping etc., the rinse off n stop, then the
water in bucket can go back in the collapsible container.
Sounds good, anyone got any other good pointers which may save heaps of stuffin about to arrive at the best method?
Ron
Reply By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 17:52
Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 17:52
G'Day Ron,
We put ours outside the shower tent on a small table, there is a flap in the tent for a hand hole. We position it so the control knob is at the hole and then we can turn it on or off as we please. I've found that even having a "luxury" shower, our family of 4 uses about 6 or 7 litres of
water each.
We also have it on the Coleman Kitchen when not showering, it's brilliant for the washing up
water etc........ you'll find more uses for it than just showering!
Follow Up By: Ron173 - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 18:05
Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 18:05
Hi Brian,
thanks for info.
you say each so is that about 28ltrs of
water for the whole family?
And do you have 2 or 3 of the coleman collapsables ready to swap, as the supplied is only 19ltr?
rgds
Ron
Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 18:59
Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 18:59
Turf the collapsible jerry that comes with the unit , easier to drop the pick-up pump into a bucket , that way waterboy /girl [most likely you] can monitor /top up the bucket for the beloved for those long lovely showers ,,, we , the 3 of us use an avg of 4lt to 7lt ea per shower with the coleman.....
Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 07:57
Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 07:57
Ron,
We don't use the collapsible bucket for the shower, we use a bucket and after each person showers, I just fill the bucket for the next person. We do use the collapsible bucket, under the sink on the kitchen for washing up.
We have used the "pot-of-
water-on-the-fire", and the solar bags and the Primus HWS, but the Coleman is by far the easiest to use and the least amount of mucking around. The temp can be regulated easily and anyone in our family can operate it simply. The only downside is the room it takes up and the rechargeable bettery, but it comes with a 12V charger, so it can be charged whilst driving, and once on Nth stradbroke Island, I had it plugged into our battery pack (A Projecta jump starter.... we use it to power our
camp lights.) while the solar panel was plugged into the battery pack, therefore charging both at the same time while we spent the day swimming in the ocean.
Reply By: Best Off Road - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 18:53
Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 18:53
Ron,
Pitch the standard shower head to the scheissenhausen. Replace it with one from a $20 12 volt shower and keep the 12 volt shower as a backup. This gives a better "spray".
Use cold
water, get it straight from the river, or keep it in the shade. The GLW only likes a lukewarm shower and if the supply
water is tepid and the setting on the unit is low, it tends to swich off. I love a HOT shower and don't have a problem.
No need to turn on/off or run into a bucket unless
water is in short supply.
They can blow out in the wind, if windy, hang a towel over the top vents, one side only.
Any other queries, give me a call, 03 9706 6527.
Follow Up By: briann532 - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 20:54
Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 20:54
I agree with Jim.
We put cold
water (from river or somewhere) in a bucket, then use the Coleman to heat it to desired temperature.
Then use the cheap $20 shower placed in a bucket for your shower.
To make it portable, (Ie you can run to a shower tent or the like on a suitable slope for drainange) just plug the $20 shower into a rechargeable battery pack.
We found the best bucket to use is a recycled "radiant" washing machine powder bucket as they have a hinged closeable lid, which can house the shower when not in use.
(If you live in NW
Sydney I can donate you one, I have kept a few spares.)
By keeping the Coleman away from the shower zone, it keeps clean and dry and should last a lot longer.
I have also found the temperature control a bit fiddly to get right and Murph'ys law cleary states it will run out of
battery power or gas mid shower.
Heat it in a bucket 1st to as explained above for nice easy showers.
Enjoy your new found civilisation.
Follow Up By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 23:55
Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 23:55
Hows it going ,
If you have to recycle it into a bucket until the temp is sweet , something must be wrong .
I put a boiled billey into a bucket of
water and shower 2 people with my $17 shower that has been working since '04.
Saved about $300 as
well .
Glenn,
Follow Up By: Member - Brenton H (SA) - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 07:00
Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 07:00
I'm with you Glenn D.
Seems a lot of friggin' around and cost to replace a pot of
water on the stove and a cheap 12v shower. Takes a lot less room and weight when packing also.
Brenton
Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 07:07
Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 07:07
Glenn and Brenton,
I use a Coleman because I have one. In retrospect, it was really a waste of money, takes up a lot of space, have to carry a gas bottle and adaptor (or a good supply of disposable cannisters).
It can be a bit fiddly ajusting the
water to the right temp.
If I had my time again I'd simply use a weedsprayer with a shower head attached. Also doubles as a fire extinguisher to have handy around the fire in summer.
Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 07:12
Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 07:12
Forgot to add, you have to recharge the battery regularly which is just another pain in the arse job.
Follow Up By: Pete Jackman (SA) - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 08:39
Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 08:39
I agree with Jim.
We have one and it has sat in the shed for our last 5 trips. We have gone back to a bucket and $20 12V shower.
It is nice to have and the instant hot
water was good. We thought it was the ducks guts when we first took it away, but: it takes up a fair amount of room; if the heat control gets pushed in while it is packed the pump will run the battery flat (happened once); you have to make sure it is charged or take a spare battery because it will not run while charging; there are bottles to take as
well; it can blow out in a breeze and the shower head was pathetic until we replaced it.
When I get around to it I will be selling it.
Pete
Follow Up By: briann532 - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 16:01
Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 16:01
As followed up, I agree there are some valid points against.
However we found with 2 toddlers and washing up and laundry, we spent most of our time boiling the kettle or billy.
Not everywhere has a fireplace and the gas cooker is sooooo slow to boild 10 litres or so.
I also don't like boiling up river
water in a billy with small kids around.
The Coleman is quick, convenient and a very useable solution for our needs.
I guess its just a case of horses for courses.
We love it, and wouldn't be without it.
Quick hot
water from cold in an instant.
can boil up 20 litres for a kids bath in no time.
Hot waster for the dishes in an instant, and you can even hold the control to "hot" for a very quick cup of tea.
Reply By: gjcumming - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 20:56
Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 20:56
Hello Ron.
If you run it on the warm setting and reycle the
water back into a bucket as you suggest the
water will become too hot very quicly. Different strokes for different folks but it will supply very hot shower
water without recycling. Just reach through and turn it off until you are ready to rince off as suggested above.
Regards: Grant
Follow Up By: Ron173 - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 11:02
Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 11:02
Grant,
the suggestion from a mate who uses one was not to recycle through the unit, I agree would get too hot.
what he does (which i think is good idea) instead of reaching out through flaps n turning it on / off as reqd, he just leaves it running within shower tent while washing but to save the
water just being wasted, lets it collect in a bucket by putting showerhead in it within shower tent, then once shower completed, that
water can be replaced in
tank to be used again.
Ron
Reply By: Ron173 - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 21:04
Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 21:04
Thanks once again for top info from all.
Will take on board n look at our running procedure.
Think binning the original n going with big bucket n refilling is great idea.
We
camp in a state
park and a huge rainwater
tank is close by for
water top ups, so should be fine.
Will experiment.
thanks
Ron
Reply By: aroundwego - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 22:02
Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 22:02
I have had one for awhile but have just made a few modifications
First up
I changed the shower head to improve the flow.
This is the standard head that came with it
This is the new one:
Doesn't show up that
well in the pictures but it now has a better "spread" of
water
The new head came from Bunnings, cost was $17 (as it comes with all the other wall stuff) best thing was it screwed straight on to the existing hose adapter. It is plastic as
well so its nice and light.
The brand is an Interbath Raindrop.
Next was I adapted the pump to screw directly on to a jerrycan. I mentioned in an earlier post that it was always a pain as the pump was too large to drop into a jerry.
How: I took the original jerry can lid and drilled a 28mm hole in the centre. Undid the pump and repaced the screw-on cap that comes supplied (the one designed for the Coleman Collapsible
water container)
For some reason the seal wasn't perfect so I have put a o-ring and tape behind the new lid to hold it hard up against the pump. See pic below:
So now I can just use jerrycans and sit them under the kitchen connected up. Cheapest bit was the placement cap $1.50
I dnt worry about recircing the
water, I generally find that it is an ok temp straight out of the jerrycan
Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 22:20
Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 22:20
I notice the new head has an arm, Not bad for $17 LOL!! Michael
Follow Up By: Pete Jackman (SA) - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 08:41
Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 08:41
Nice pictures
Follow Up By: Ron173 - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 11:05
Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 11:05
great info and pics.
thanks for taking the time and trouble to post them.
Will see how we go with it but will prob take on your mods down the track.
thanks again
Ron
Reply By: Ron173 - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 11:10
Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 11:10
Turned into an informative thread.
I see there are a few not so happy owners.
Majority seem to think positively about it though.
All valid comments about recharging battery and swapping gas etc. but personally I enjoy having
camp maintenance to keep it all going, and dont mind tinkering with this stuff.
You should see all the bits n bobs n stuff we take, but SWMBO is comfortable, and were all happy with all our mod cons. lol
Then I have my other
camping..........fishing with a swag / ute / rod.
Rgds
Ron
Reply By: Markymark - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 11:36
Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 11:36
We had one on our 6 month trip with the kids in a camper trailer. Yes it took up a bit of space and organising making sure the battery was ok, but we loved it. Everything you take is a compromise between space/money/versatility etc. Instant hot
water in the middle of nowhere was a real treat.
Mark.
Reply By: AdrianLR (VIC) - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 13:47
Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 13:47
Ron,
We like ours and it fits nicely in the Trak Shak. Don't take it when using a tent because of space.
Like others, we heat the
water and use a $20 Jaycar shower either from a power pack or connected to the car. If using the Coleman shower attatchment I found that the hose becomes soft from hot
water and kinks. Change it to a longer braided version with a new head as above.
We have a ProQuip metal
water jerry can. This has a wider spout into which the Coleman pump can be dropped. $72 from ARB for the can or special order from most other suppliers. Bit of stocking over the spout stops bugs getting in. I made up an attachment for a plastic jerry but found that the seal was very hard to maintain and it was too fragile to cope with kids bumping it.
Good piece of kit in the right circumstances.
Adrian
Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 19:32
Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 19:32
Has anyone had a failure on one of the Coleman submersible pumps yet?? Michael