Fuel Prices Feedback

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 21:53
ThreadID: 64199 Views:2688 Replies:7 FollowUps:11

Related Pages

Hey, Fellars, I don't know about you but I'm getting thoroughly bleep off with the big slug on us diesel users. The Oil companies base their petrol price on Singapore, why the hell doesn't our Federal government insist that the Singapore diesel price be used to fix OUR diesel price? Nothing will be done about it for as long as we continue to bleat like sheep and get slaughtered by the oil companies. Pull the finger out mate and start giving your local member and the Federal Cabinet members a REALLY HARD TIME about the diesel rip-off. Get your email working for you. Personally I have plagued Rudd, Ferguson, Bligh, and a couple of others. Rudd won't respond to me (I wonder why?) and Ferguson passed the buck onto somebody else (Yes, I was pushing for Fischer Tropsch diesel. Haven't heard of it? Look it up in Google.) But seriously, we have to MAKE OUR ELECTED REPRESENTATIVES do our bidding. Over to you, Fellars.

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 22:05

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 22:05
You cant blame KRUDD for not responding, he is never in the country!! Michael
AnswerID: 339305

Follow Up By: Member - Stuart W (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 22:09

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 22:09
I never saw JHOWARD do much about it.
FollowupID: 606842

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 22:25

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 22:25
The fuel prices were reasonable when Mr Howard was in power. Michael
FollowupID: 606845

Follow Up By: Member - Derek J O (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 22:40

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 22:40
Michael (Moss Vale), The rise in crude oil prices occurred at the end of Howard's reign. Poor ol Kev has had to cop it because the price of crude sky-rocketed. Anyway, Howard did NOTHING to even out the price of diesel. Did nothing to reign in the oil companies (after all, he was a pal of that big oil man G Dubbaya).
The companies have had open slather here; they were wee-wee-ing into the pockets of all major political parties who have continued to turn a blind eye to their rapacious greed. By the way, I know what they are like, BECAUSE I USED WORK FOR ONE OF THEM.
FollowupID: 606850

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 22:43

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 22:43
By inference Michael you are suggesting that PM Rudd can do something about the price and that PM Howard actually did something to keep in down......that is drawing an awfully long bow. This is capitalism at work nothing more and nothing less. Our, for that matter all governments in the developed or so called 'first world' do not and should not interfer in fixing prices. That is somethng for the market to determine.
FollowupID: 606851

Follow Up By: Member - Derek J O (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 23:09

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 23:09
Patrol22, old buddy, the turmoil the financial world and our country is in right now is due to un-controlled market forces that led to the greed that surfaced as the sub-prime mortgage scheme; and as you know the big-wigs got out with billions and the market imploded, causing the chaos we are all facing RIGHT NOW. Mate, you can stick your "market to determine" attitudes with those of the Flat Earth Society. (They don't pass the reality test, mate.)
FollowupID: 606856

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 06:30

Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 06:30
Agree that the regulations of the financial market could be tightened up Derek but no matter what - there is not a lot governments can do to control prices. It's been tried before and failed. Even the major communist economies such as China and Vietnam lean to a supply and demand driven (but we won't call that 'the market') pricing structure. But you are right there are rogues no matter what system is in place and that can only be tempered by regulation - I doubt very much that it can be stamped out.
FollowupID: 606864

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 06:38

Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 06:38
The record for number of nights spent overseas by an Australian Prime Minister is 65.

And the record holder is.............

John Winston Howard.

And if you actually think these blokes enjoy it, you are very, very wrong.

The glory and glitz of business travel is horse manure. It's no fun, I can assure you.

FollowupID: 606865

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 08:01

Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 08:01
Gee you guys have thin skin!!! I really dont give a toss who did what but one thing for certain is that the current PM will be positioned very close to Goof Whitlam as the second worse econonic manager ever. I wonder if the 55% of voters that bought Rudd to power can be found in a few years on!! I think the quality of most politicians is very poor, that why they do it, most have failed at the professions they started.. Lighten up!! Michael
FollowupID: 606872

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 19:34

Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 19:34
"The desire to be a politician should be a permanent bar from being one".

"Don't vote for them it only encourages them".

Quotes of Billy Connolly
FollowupID: 606944

Reply By: Robnicko - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 22:11

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 22:11
Derek,
I agree with you. I too have sent emails to the ACCC regarding lpg prices (wholesale) which in November fell by 40% and then by 30% in december yet we only see a small reflection at the pump. It all comes down to greed and that is why the world is in the state it's in. Remember when the minister for fuel (cant remember his name) was quoted saying for every $1 in a barrel of oil eequated to 1cent at the pump..going by that ULP should be about 50cents, diesel a little more and LPG about 20cpl.

it's all greed.nothing rldr.

Rob
AnswerID: 339308

Follow Up By: Robnicko - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 22:13

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 22:13
that was meant to be 'nothing else'........rldr=typing in the dark
FollowupID: 606843

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 22:29

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 22:29
125cents at Milperra BP, South West Sydney today, thats reasonable i reckon. considering the cheapest ethanol blend of petrol was 109cents. Michael
AnswerID: 339313

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 22:33

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 22:33
OOOpS!! Meant to say that the cheapest NON Ethanol blend was 109cents... the 10% Ethanol blend that nobody wants was 101cents. Michael
FollowupID: 606846

Reply By: Member - Derek J O (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 22:57

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 22:57
Fellars, I suggest you all subscribe to WA's Fuel Watch as I do. I get the diesel prices for the Derby/Kununurra area as it represents on the West Coast my East Coast latitude. The comparison is mind-boggling. Once you are a subscriber you can access any area of WA.Perth prices are always higher than East coast,. and BP prices usually top those. To counteract BP's top-up margin, I use a Citibank BP Master Card which gives me a 5% discount on fuel at a BP outlet, and if you pay the full account each month there is no interest.
But start bitching to the pollies, and lay it on thick. Please....
AnswerID: 339317

Reply By: craig2 - Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 08:46

Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 08:46
Diesel Price ULP at Tapis Price AUD/US
at pump Pump $10
May-03 $0.8570 $0.2960 $0.6468
Jan-07 $1.247 $1.152 $0.5351 $0.782835
Feb-07 $1.228 $1.149 $0.5782 $0.783160
Mar-07 $1.246 $1.225 $0.6472 $0.793168
Apr-07 $1.277 $1.248 $0.6880 $0.827235
May-07 $1.295 $1.302 $0.6924 $0.825140
Jun-07 $1.308 $1.299 $0.6848 $0.842348
Jul-07 $1.308 $1.267 $0.7839 $0.867046
Aug-07 $1.315 $1.227 $0.7284 $0.829078
Sep-07 $1.351 $1.238 $0.7908 $0.846084
Oct-07 $1.364 $1.243 $0.8698 $0.899565
Nov-07 $1.423 $1.305 $0.9509 $0.896960
Dec-07 $1.498 $1.371 $0.9584 $0.871810
Jan-08 $1.508 $1.386 $0.9134 $0.881856
Feb-08 $1.467 $1.361 $0.9856 $0.912951
Mar-08 $1.543 $1.397 $1.0237 $0.922114
Apr-08 $1.643 $1.431 $1.1347 $0.930909
May-08 $1.722 $1.495 $1.3361 $0.949750
Jun-08 $1.752 $1.522 $1.3815 $0.951120
Jul-08 $1.715 $1.475 $1.3442 $0.961904
Aug-08 $1.577 $1.444 $1.1921 $0.881739
Sep-08 $1.546 $1.379 $1.0288 $0.818619
Oct-08 $1.436 $1.319 $0.6635 $0.709783
Nov-08 $1.310 $1.012 $0.5698 $0.659310
Dec-08 $1.262 $0.991 $0.4656 $0.654220

Here is some info i have collated on price history so you can have proof on what is being done to us !!
AnswerID: 339342

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 09:08

Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 09:08
Sorry, having problems following your columns.

Date / diesel price $A / ULP $A / Tapis crude $US/ $AUD-US rate/ ??

So to get a proper comparison, by converting the $A diesel price to $US at the exchange rate nominated, then taking into account the price of crude, we should have a bench mark to compare date to date.

By my calculations, we are better off now than in Jan 07, since the exchange rate is down 16.5%, and crude price is down 13%, and diesel price is only up 1.2%?? So we are 2.3% percent ahead (better off) compared to Jan 07.

Some one check my figures. That add up.
AnswerID: 339348

Reply By: The Landy - Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 10:05

Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 10:05
Hi Derek

Your assertion that the Singapore benchmark is not used for diesel pricing in Australia is incorrect – it is!

The financial market crisis, whilst bred out of greed, is a different situation to the pricing of petroleum products or for that matter any commodity.

You either have a system where governments subsidise commodities, whether it be oil, wheat, iron ore or the like. Or you let market forces determine the price based on supply and demand.

Susbsidies simply mean that the taxpayer foots the bill given that governments can only raise revenue from their constituents. Asian governments have largely ceased this practice on petroleum products because of the high cost of doing so, especially in recent times when the price moved higher.

The other issue associated with regulating commodity prices is that it suppresses the supply/demand equation. The higher oil price saw a couple of things happen, demand was modified, alternative energy sources became via viable, and extra supply was created to take advantage of the higher price. These factors all contributed to the price subsequently falling.

None of this would occur unless you had commodities freely traded on world markets.

Something that is largely forgotten in the price debate that surrounds fuel is that oil companies or refiners do not set the price – the market does. And with the emergence of China and India as major economic power-houses means that the demand for energy (including oil) has gone to a new level that we have not witnessed before. This is something the world will need to deal with.

The reality that needs to be accepted is that ULP is in far greater demand at the retail level in Australia versus diesel. Therefore you do not get the same level of discounting. The interesting development that is evident when reading many of the fuel threads in EO is that many people are now coming to a conclusion that petrol vehicles have become more attractive, taking a number of factors into account, versus diesel. A process driven by the higher cost of diesel and the spread that is now evident versus ULP. This is a market force at work……

On government action (or inaction) what do you propose they do?

AnswerID: 339357