LPG cost Versus Unleaded
Submitted: Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 17:16
Wherehegon
Well after having the LPG fitted for nearly 6 months now on the prado I can say that it has been cost saving. I have already recouped my $900 I had to pay out after the rebate. The only downfall is the touring range, it has decreased it dramatically. I have gone from about 1000/1100 to 700. If petrol prices were to stay as they are under the $1.00 per litre I wouldnt go gas again in the prado due to not being able to have a decent size gas
tank. If it was like the cruisers where you lost the reserve
tank instead of the main like in the prado it would be alright you actually gain more fuel in the cruiser giving you even more range. At present with petrol under the $1.00 a litre now, Im only saving $3.40 per 100 running on LPG no doubt petrol will rise again at some stage. Just a follow up for anyone interested...WHG
Reply By: Ianw - Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 19:52
Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 19:52
I guess Jim will see this. She comes, she goes, eh Jim? One day good, next day notso. If you paid $2000 then notso now.
Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 20:26
Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 20:26
Ian,
I am not emotionally attached to fuel. I base my decisions on economic factors. If my car will run, for less, on carrot juice, I'll do it.
I just share simple mathematically sound principles, nothing more, nothing less. Whether or not they apply to you is a decision for you.
WHG has shared some information as to the benefits, or lack thereof, for his personal stuation. A good exchange of relevant information.
I'm sorry if my sharing offends you, but I'm buggered if I know why.
Follow Up By: Ianw - Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 21:03
Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 21:03
Hi Jim, Just stirring, don't get upset.
In the last 20 years I have had 2 cars converted to LPG and have benefited financially for doing so. This was when conversion cost was only $1300, and gas was between 14c to 24c per litre. ( 1/3 the price of petrol) However when I purchased a 1990 Falcon and was getting 35 MPG (Highway) and gas was 39cpl (1/2 the price of petrol) there was no way I could justify a conversion to LPG. It just did not compute.
With the efficiency of modern day petrol engines and the comparative inefficiency of LPG it really is a toss up to whether it is worth converting. I guess the Govt.. contribution of half the cost does make it worthwhile.
To make a car run efficiently on LPG the compression has to be raised to around 12:1 and the distributor curve has to be modified for the slower burning of the LPG. Just not economically viable.
You roll the dice, you accept the result.
Merry Xmas Jim
Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 09:03
Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 09:03
Ian, the Govt rebate may be less % on 4wd conversion but on a passenger car it's a no brainer. I had my Fairmont converted 6 months ago and the cost to me was $300 after the rebate. No loss of range as my
tank stayed in and it now gives me extra range. I can't understand why anyone would be running ULP in a vehicle....unless of course they enjoy making oil companies rich. Even at todays price of ULP at 95c, LPG is 42c. Gas would need to be around 80c to make ULP viable for my car.
Follow Up By:- Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 10:40
Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 10:40
Bugger, my business
membership expired this morning, will be renewed on Monday.
Just checking to see if I can post as a visitor for a few days
Follow Up By: Ianw - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 19:26
Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 19:26
Brew,
Basically that is what I'm saying. LPG needs to be less than half the price of ULP to be worth the (full) price of converting. If you can sucker another party (Govt) into paying for most of the cost, then of course it is a no brainer. (Even though LPG is 15% less efficient than ULP.) The rebate was an attempt to buy votes in an election year, didn't work but the present Govt still honours it. Don't know why. If I had a petrol vehicle I would certainly go for it. But with a Nissan ZD30 engine I am not game to do anything that will put more stress on the engine !!! And diesel/gas conversions are not as money saving as petrol/gas conversions. When I had a Valiant 265ci, and gas was between 12c to 23c a litre it made a lot of sense and saved me a lot of money. Even with a Sigma 2.6 litre towing a large Jims Mowing type trailer around the suburbs of
Melbourne it made a lot of sense. ($5 a day for gas, $20 a day for petrol.) At $15 a day saving, it didn't take a long time to pay for the conversion. I'm not against LPG, just like stirring Jim.
Follow Up By: Pat Malone - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 19:32
Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 19:32
sell the D40 before it explodes
Follow Up By: Ianw - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 19:43
Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 19:43
A D40 with a ZD30?? Never seen one of them!!!
Follow Up By: Pat Malone - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 20:03
Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 20:03
3 litre motor in the patrol is a differfent one to the d40????
trade it on a hilux
Follow Up By: Ianw - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 20:10
Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 20:10
D40 does not, never has had a 3.0 litre motor. It has 2.5 litre Common rail. I have the much better D22. (Which also now has the 2.5 motor).
Follow Up By: Pat Malone - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 20:47
Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 20:47
make up your mind
in your reply to brew you said you had a zd30 motor
do you even own a 4wd when you do get a hilux
Follow Up By: Goona - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 23:00
Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 23:00
Gday Jim,
This is an all time classic!!!!! You have stated "If my car will run, for less, on carrot juice, I'll do it". Ok time to sell you Petrol / Gas car and buy a diesel and run it on Waste Vegetable Oil. See this site
http://ozonabatteredfish.blogspot.com/ I have meet these people on our trip around Australia and he runs purely on waste vegetable oil that he collects from fish and chip shops, Thai restaurants and Chinese shops etc. Cost for fuel zip.I guess this is a lot better than Gas, ULP and even Diesel dare I say it.
Goona
Follow Up By: Ianw - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 19:50
Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 19:50
Pat, Go away.
If you dont know which motor is fitted to which Nissan, dont bother commenting. Go play with your Toy car. The specs of the D22 Nav completely dominated those of the same year Hilux, there was never any question of buying a Toyo. And I still would not. The D22 was so good they rereleased it with the new 2.5 CRD motor last year; has more power and torque than the 3.0.
Follow Up By: Pat Malone - Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 06:32
Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 06:32
nope dont know nissans
well, dont want to
just know when they go bang nissan dont want to know you either specially the zd30
Reply By: Madfisher - Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 19:56
Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 19:56
Thanks WHG,
Always interesting to compare. Have not been on much lately as main comp has a virus, borrowed
young blokes laptop to catch up. Now that fuel has come down I have been flyfishing a lot of evenings. Makes a huge diff at fill up time now that fuel has come down.
Follow Up By: Wherehegon - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 09:06
Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 09:06
Hi Pete hows things ?? Yes I havnt been on much lately either as having hands full as you know all going
well though. Great to see the unleaded under the $1.00 mark eh what a huge difference when refueling, makes a big difference to most people's hip pocket. Hope your catching plenty, that son of yours still outdoing you LOL. WHG
Follow Up By: stefan & 12 times Dakar winner - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 16:01
Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 16:01
filled the paj for $80 the other day :) enjoying it while it lasts :)
Follow Up By: Madfisher - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 20:38
Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 20:38
goodday Whg, went up to Gorakan today to have a look at a 01 se jack to replace Sals Paj, sounded good 145 l
tank, b/bar spotties, dual batteries, 106 ks,but when we got their it had heaps of paint chips and scratches. Obvious it had heaps of off road use so gave it a miss. If I can find a b/bar like stefans might keep the old girl bit longer.
Hope every thing is going
well on the home front
Reply By: V64Runner - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 02:01
Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 02:01
You don't mention whether your conversion was the latest Direct Injection or the old conventional system - which is not all that efficient. I had my 3.0 litre V6 Toyota converted to Direct Injection in April last year . After the $3000 rebate the net cost was $1200. To, date I have recouped that investment and I`m getting far better consumption on Gas then I ever got on petrol On LPG at a steady 100 -110 Kmh I`m returning any where between 10 to 13 .5 litres/100Ks, and on petrol its off the Richter scale. 350 Km on a tank full of unleaded and 600 Km on LPG. Size of LPG tank is 70 litres , fuel tank 68 litres. Have had numerous people drive the car and they cant tell if its running on LPG or Unleaded. So would go LPG again when I upgrade to the new model Prado that's due out sometime next year. Am I happy ?? What an understatement !!
Follow Up By: Wherehegon - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 09:18
Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 09:18
HI there V64Runner, no my'n is the venturi system not the injected system. Was going to cost me an extra $2500 for the injected system on the prado and I will be updating next year so wasnt worth it to me. There is a huge difference when city driving to freeway driving on the lpg. City Im using around the 23/25L of gas per 100, petrol its around 17/17.3L per 100. Freeway gas is around the 16 per 100 petrol 12.5/13L per 100. My reserve tank in the prado is 69L and the gas is around 58 usable also depending on when I fill up, temperature etc. My mate use to have the old 4 runner RV6 and was quit thirsty (probably on par with the prado) as
well, would get around the 450klm per tank and that was driving it fairly steady. I would only get LPG again on something like a cruiser or patrol where you get to keep your main tank and ditch the reserve where as the prado is opposite. In general thou happy with the way it has been running and as mentioned recouped the $$ but that was when petrol was around the $1.50/$1.70 mark. WHG
Follow Up By: Pat Malone - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 18:06
Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 18:06
how do you get more on gas than petrol
is is specially tuned or set up for gas
Follow Up By: V64Runner - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 20:42
Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 20:42
The Direct Injection LPG Sysytem was set up and tuned by computer. First settings were done in the wokshop, then on an a Dyno, and finally on the open road ,at the same time the installer was making onboard adjustments to the system for optimum power with in the torque range and for open road cruising when not going off road . The vehicle has been used from
Perth to
Melbourne, Wagga Wagga, back to
Melbourne and then back to
Perth . LPG in Victoria was 55 cents/litre compared to
Perth`s 65c/litre at that point in time. There is no difference in performance running LPG or petrol. There is little if any, noticable difference in performace on LPG or Petrol and would definately go back to Direct Injection on my next vehicle .
Follow Up By: Pat Malone - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 20:49
Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 20:49
ok
Reply By: Mark S (cns) - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 08:56
Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 08:56
Installation prices up here should be fairly negotiable I would imagine, ULP 99.9c, LPG 89.9c. Dies 133.9
Even Jim would concede it would not be worth running gas up here! Oh to have the big city prices.....
xmas cheers
Follow Up By: Wherehegon - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 09:02
Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 09:02
Hi Mark, gas in St Marys (
Sydney) yesterday was 44c per litre. Petrol/ diesel on par with prices you have stated. For me to be using gas at 89.9 as you have said would actually work out dearer to run on gas then unleaded for me. 89.9 what a rip off eh. I thought there was a rule or somthing stating gas was to be at least half the price of unleaded ?? Or is this for
Sydney only ?? WHG
Follow Up By: Mark S (cns) - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 09:14
Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 09:14
Wow, double the price up here!
I really don't know how they would sell gas up here at the moment! I'd be running around with extra weight of an empty gas tank while I ran on ULP!
If anyone down your way is thinking about converting, and are looking to do a trip around
the block, they should consider stopping in here, and getting a cheap conversion done - Installers up here should be twiddling their thumbs....
Follow Up By: Dunaruna - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 10:50
Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 10:50
$0.44 in
Melbourne yesterday also.