Housetrucks in Oz? Outfitting manuals?

Submitted: Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 12:38
ThreadID: 64294 Views:6067 Replies:7 FollowUps:24
I have seen some gorgeous housetrucks advertised in NZ- almost gypsy wagons, all timber exterior and interiors, stained glass windows, the lot- and I was wondering about the regs in Australia about such things.

Is it possible to build a *real* housetruck here like the ones in NZ and actually have it legal on the road? I'm not really a fan of the incredibly expensive- and very plastic- motorhomes sold these days, yet a campervan is a bit too wee as a longer term home for our family. We were thinking of having a go at building a housetruck ourselves. Any advice or information? Are there places or people that are happy to help people outfit their own vans and trucks?

We've been trying to find 'how to outfit a van' and 'how to build a truck home' online but so far have had mediocre success- Wotthahellizat is great but we don't want a steel home. Are there any books or manuals that you know about regarding house trucks, gypsy wagons etc? We're more interested in using natural wood than modern, toxic chemical filled substitutes and having some clever design options to consider would be helpful.

Thanks for patience with a beginner. :)

Reply By: Pat Malone - Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 12:52

Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 12:52
i would try a builder and cabinet maker. cant be much different to building a small house

AnswerID: 339834

Follow Up By: piratequeen - Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 20:21

Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 20:21
We're not sure of how to fix things solidly in the van- the housetruck would definately be more like a cabin than anything else. I'd love to create one with as much personality as the true Romany wagons used to have- I'll have to skill up, methinks. :)
FollowupID: 607427

Reply By: Nomadic Navara - Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 12:59

Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 12:59
Try this link It seems to feature a lot of home built projects.

You could try the 'Contuct us" link on http://gypsywaggons.co.uk/index.htm and ask them.

AnswerID: 339835

Follow Up By: piratequeen - Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 20:22

Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 20:22
Awesome, thanks so much for those links. my family history on my mother's side has Irish Traveller a few generations back but they quit travelling and tried to learn to live like settlers0 thought it was a better idea financially, I guess. It wasn't really a great success and four generations later we're a family that still breeds restless souls. :)

I'm really taken with the idea of creating something amazing and beautiful.
FollowupID: 607428

Follow Up By: piratequeen - Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 07:28

Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 07:28
Nomdadic Navara- I just want to say a much deeper and more heartfelt thankyou for those two links- they have led me to discover vardos again and to realise that I really want to take up again a dream I put aside years ago, which was to build one of those and travel. Those two links have led me to some of the most beautiful and amazing 'mobile houses' that I have ever seen. I'm utterly inspired, have a real purpose for going to NZ (which is to spend time with other people who create these beautiful homes) and have a vision of a possible business, one that I can be passionate and joyous about.

I just wanted to let you know how much impact taking the time to post those links has had on my life. From small things, big things grow. :)

My Irish Traveller genetics have been given a dose of enthusiasm. :D
FollowupID: 607648

Reply By: Motherhen - Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 16:16

Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 16:16
When still debating the motor home v caravan, we enquired about a truck mounted motor home. The beauty of this was that it could be taken off the truck tray leaving a serviceable truck. I can't remember the size, but it was quite big, with all the rooms you'd need in a family mobile home. It had full solar power and plenty of water capacity. There was also a separate tool room/workshop. They towed a small car (not sure if on trailer or just rigid tow). This family had travelled for some years, mostly 'free camping'. I think it was basically home made.

AnswerID: 339856

Follow Up By: piratequeen - Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 21:05

Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 21:05
*nodding* Yep, this is the kind of thing that we would like to build, but in natural materials rather than the chemically treated ones. We're going to do a combined solar-wind setup, with a portable hydro generator for any place that we stop that has enough flow in the creek to support it. My husband is an engineer with a passion for creating Really Useful Stuff, heh, so we're looking at also having solar cookers in combination with the old 'haybox cooker' style oven and as many sustainable, low tech ideas as we can come up with. He'd be quite happy with high tech (he designs and builds robotic systems amongst other things) but we're aware of the non-sustainable nature of these. I love the idea of a truly mobile home. :)
FollowupID: 607439

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 22:45

Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 22:45
Hi PirateQueen

I like your principals, but think you may need a huge truck for it all. Aren't wind generators heavy? I know they use them on boats, but have never heard of successful application to a motor home. Solar is usually sufficient, so long as you are charging a big enough bank of batteries to last through dull weather.

Simple is certainly better. We don't need many mod cons (we only holiday, not live in our van). What we used to do when holidaying with a tent usually works.

We are low power users when camping and can also be very low water users if need be. Eg bathing in the bowl with water heated by a kettle as we used to do back in earlier camping days, instead of running the HWS and shower.

On our most recent trip, we had a hose from the HWS under the van rub through and leak, which meant we couldn't put the pump on. I just filled a bucket and kept it behind the sink with a cover on top, and bailed my needs with a jug - quicker and easier than turning on the tap and pump.

I love simple mechanisms - electronic stuff usually lets you down at some time or other. Solar cooking sounds good, although i tend to cook on gas in the van because it is easier than setting up outside, and a bottle of gas lasts us for months.

Good luck with your creation.

Mh

FollowupID: 607466

Follow Up By: piratequeen - Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 07:23

Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 07:23
Wind generators don't have to be heavy if you don't have a huge amount of power to generate. They don't all come in the traditional 'air propeller' style either- ever seen the movie Waterworld? That rotating set up on Costner's boat was a wind generator. Interestingly, there used to be sailboats fitted with just such a setup so that the ship could sail directly into the wind rather than tacking. Mostly, those generators were attached to screws so that the boat could still move in head on winds.

We're really interested in exploring truly renewable, which solar isn't- with solar, as soon as a panel breaks you're out of power and there's no such thing as a DIY solar panel, heh. My husband is a big time tech head, he can design and build just about anything (and can upskill himself in hours if he has to), so it's like travelling with Mr Wizard. *laughing* We're just going to experiment and see what really works. :)

We're currently getting the gear together to set up a woodgas generator to power a vehicle- the cool thing about woodgas is that you can also use it to power cooking and lights. :) We're going to post more about it here once we start getting the unit going.
FollowupID: 607645

Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 17:48

Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 17:48
Hi Piratequeen, when I left NZ in the early 90's those house-trucks were very popular with the hippy types.

They were generaly based on old Bedford, Austin and Morris trucks. Back then they were plentiful and a dime-a-dozen.
Initially set up so people could drive and live where the fruit picking work was at any one time.

To start with, the first ones I remember were very basic, just a box on the deck, but as they evolved, there seemed to be a shift towards putting complete cottages on the back of the trucks.

Saw a great set up, cedar walls, shingle roof, leadlight windows, pot-belly stove, even a picket fenced verandah at the rear.

You must remember also, back then there werent many rules and regulations governing the construction of these vehicles. but that may of changed.
Also, NZ aint a big country so one doesnt need to travel long distances, these trucks cruised at something like 30 mph.

Dont know how it would go over here, wouldnt have a clue where to start. Id personally go for something like a Coaster conversion, but each to their own.

Cheers......Lionel.
AnswerID: 339866

Follow Up By: piratequeen - Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 21:16

Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 21:16
Those hippy house trucks are exactly what I'm thinking of. :D I'm hoping we can score one to travel around NZ in in the New Year- I'd much rather travel around something with a personality (I'm a sucker for restored 50's caravans as well :D ). As far as I've been able to tell the regs aren't much more than the time period you're describing (if the ones advertised on http://www.trademe.co.nz are anything to go by). I'm kind of curious as to why that sort of thing doesn't really show up on Australian roads.

Coaster conversions can be great but we think they'd be too squishy with our family- introverts, you see, need timeout space at times or there is death, destruction,mayhem and a smidge of disgruntlement. Ahem. And I cannot lie- I love beautiful spaces to live in. :)
FollowupID: 607445

Reply By: Tippa - Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 18:27

Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 18:27
I own an old beast of a horse truck and know a few little things relating to mine that may help...
Mine is a 1964 International C1500 flatbed truck. I am in the process of fully restoring it and have found parts are surprisingly readilly available thru the right contacts. After all, Australian Inters were made in Geelong Melbourne and were big sellers. They are also rugged, basic and very reliable.
The horse cage on the back is a basic box section frame with a sheet matal roof and timber and rubber side liners. Would not be what you are after, but its quick release off the truck's bed, and is 4.6m long X 2.3m wide and 2.5m high, so would be big enough for comfortable accommodation!
In NSW you need a Heavy rigid licence, which i'm yet to get, but is no big deal. I believe if its already a horse truck, you are fairly free to build whatever you like on the back- but i'd check with your authorities first.
Rego was expensive though, at around $700. Previous owner was a primary producer and only had to pay $180...

Some pics of a 40yr old, brand new, ex-australian army stored cab i found and fitted...

Before:

Old cab off:

'Cruiser towing new cab from Melbourne to Sydney:

New cab ready:

New cab fitted:

AnswerID: 339871

Follow Up By: Tippa - Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 18:41

Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 18:41
Oh and this is a tipper which is the same model, as an example.
One thing to note, this type of truck would be no good at 4wding, but Inter did make a 4wd version which would be more capable, and the for our army they made the ACCO 6WD which served its time in the Vietnam war- and still can be found. I have its twin carbie and twin dump exhaust manifold ready to bolt up for extra grunt.
Cheers!

FollowupID: 607405

Follow Up By: Tippa - Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 18:44

Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 18:44
Also note that the tipper is on gas which is always an option, or diesel could be a viable alternative too.
FollowupID: 607406

Follow Up By: Tippa - Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 19:26

Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 19:26
After a few beers i've now realised you said "housetruck" not "horsetruck" ha ha. Never heard of a housetruck, but i'm sure a horsetruck could fit the bill for a cheaper type conversion..... feel like an idiot ha ha.
FollowupID: 607416

Follow Up By: piratequeen - Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 21:26

Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 21:26
Hurrah, I'm glad that I'm not the only one who mucks things up occasionally! :D

Seriously gorgeous trucks there though. Back in the 80's a neighbouring farmer had one as a hay truck and as a 15 year old who was also built like a twig I had no troubles whatsoever driving it. Interesting indeed to hear about the parts situation, that makes a lot of sense- one of the things we *aren't* interested in is getting something that needs parts from overseas. Nothing but trouble there imo.

Just out of curiousity, how much would one be looking at for a restoration job like that these days? We're interested in exploring all our options- we're also looking for vehicles that would run well on wood gas.
FollowupID: 607454

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 22:53

Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 22:53
Hi Tippa

$700 is cheap rego for a truck compared to WA. We pay darn near that for Cruisers and Patrols. Hope the restoration goes well. Maybe you'll need the horses to pull it!

FollowupID: 607472

Follow Up By: piratequeen - Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 23:46

Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 23:46
Horses require skills that I don't have, and don't know how to get in this country- otherwise, it would definately be an option. I grew up on horseback, you see... :D

Still, perhaps the requirements that such a truck would generate in terms of a *team* of horses... *boggle*
FollowupID: 607488

Follow Up By: Tippa - Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 20:18

Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 20:18
Piratequeen, as far as restoration costs go, it depends on the condition of the truck initially, and how far you want to go with it...
Mine has cost a little so far because i want her to be reliable and safe, but would have cost more if i got a mechanic and panelbeater to do the work i have done...
The truck was free. So thats a great start! Then the new cab was 4 grand. A lot of money, but a good investment in not having to repair rust within the next 20 years.
I did a full service on the engine, gearbox and diff $300, and a full rebuild of the brakes including their vacuum boost system, machined drums, new linings, all new flexible and rigid brake lines and overhauled master cyl and 8 brake slave cylinders. That all came to around 3 grand.
A retrimmed bench seat $450
Then the respray which ive half done cost about $400 in paint and prep gear.
Lastly one retreadded tyre $150, and about $200 on rechromed badges, which brings the total to around 9 grand.

I figure that you can buy a very nice one for that sort of money, so i was happy to spend it on mine and learn about the truck at the same time, knowing it is going to be safe and reliable.
Cheers!
FollowupID: 607588

Follow Up By: Tippa - Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 20:49

Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 20:49
Mother hen, ha ha, yeah it looked that way in the pictures i guess!
The week before i started stripping it down to rebuild, the old girl carried 6 horses up and down Bells line of road- a very steep, windy, dangerous road, for a horse riding trip. The more i pulled her apart, the more i was amazed how she actually made it there and back safely considering what i found ha ha. She should be so much better now... a new lease of life for the truck which my wife has carted her horses in for over 15 years.
FollowupID: 607595

Follow Up By: piratequeen - Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 07:40

Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 07:40
Tippa- nine grand? For a truck as good as that? Far out, that's awesome!

While we are seriously skilled in electronics, computers, systems building and all things related to geek (as in robot geek, computer geek, etc) we are definately unskilled in motor mechanics and panel beating. We figure that getting experience and skills in those areas is going to be time well invested- I can remember how my grandfather had those skills, he used to fix his own cars as did most people I knew back then. It's why I have a preference for older style cars- you can do the body work and mechanics on your own if you know how. Modern cars have so much stuff on them that's considered unfixable and that need to be completely replaced if it goes bung.

I met a guy who had a new tractor, on which the hydraulics for the rear (slasher) were controlled by computer: when this controller went splat he had to get a whole new computer array from *Germany* because nobody in Oz knew how to fix it. Put him back nearly $2k and made him realise his precarious situation, as there were other computers controlling different parts of his machine. This is fine if you know how to fix them (which my husband does, it *is* possible) but really pants if you don't. Like anything, I guess- and then again, even with a computer, if you don't have the parts or materials to fix them, just like anything else they also stay broke. I don't like the idea of not being able to even switch on my car simply because the computer controlled ignition system has gone splat- you can't even override the ignition on those machines, once that computer has gone it's dead.

So yay for old style mechanics! I do realise that many people go for the newer stuff because of the fuel efficiency, yet it is possible to do things to the older motors that increase the efficiency.

Let me know if you stumble across someone who is familiar with putting spark ignition onto diesels? We need to do that to enable diesel motors to run on wood gas. :)
FollowupID: 607650

Reply By: Member - Bill F (VIC) - Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 19:42

Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 19:42
Hi are you thinking about something like this I saw in March 08Image Could Not Be Found
AnswerID: 339886

Follow Up By: piratequeen - Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 20:15

Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 20:15
*grinning* That is so cool! Yup, that's what I'm interested in creating, like the description of the 'hippy' setups in NZ earlier in the thread. We're looking at creating something that could easily accomodate two adults and three girls. I can't see us living in a modern motorhome, they're too generic, but definately in something creative like this little sweetie. :)
FollowupID: 607426

Follow Up By: Tippa - Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 21:09

Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 21:09
You think ^^ THATS cool? Wow, i'm way off track ha ha. I've seen emails of cars in southern america with caravans strapped to them which look just as "cool"...
Each to their own mate!
FollowupID: 607443

Follow Up By: piratequeen - Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 21:21

Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 21:21
Oh, I'm a huge fan of the South American inventiveness, ingenuity and cheerful disregard for the laws of physics, I just know it won't be allowed here on Oz roads! Neither would the amazing vans they get together in India or the gravity defying arrangements some people create in Asia. I love the way people do things overseas, I'm just looking at what I can possibly get away with here. So it's cool from the perspective of 'yay, here in Oz? There's hope for us yet!'. :D
FollowupID: 607450

Follow Up By: Tippa - Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 20:04

Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 20:04
Ha ha, fair enough mate! Its great having something different, and even better if it can take you around our outback in style!
FollowupID: 607580

Follow Up By: piratequeen - Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 07:43

Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 07:43
Tippa- as long as the outback isn't too hot! :D

We're a family who can't stand heat. It's why we're only planning on travelling around the southern end of Oz, Tassie and NZ- we're looking for a place to live that won't melt our brains in summer. :D
FollowupID: 607651

Reply By: Ianw - Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 22:50

Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 22:50
classic motor home

Is this what you're looking for? Scroll down to the classic truck motorhome.

AnswerID: 339943

Follow Up By: piratequeen - Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 23:04

Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 23:04
Yep, I saw this one a few weeks ago and had so much love for it that I tried to ring the previous owner in an attempt to discover when/where it was made, by whom etc. It's quite yummy and just the sort of thing me and my family would travel around in. :D There would also be room for visitors, because there are four other kids (older) than the three left at home.
FollowupID: 607479

Follow Up By: Tippa - Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 17:34

Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 17:34
How amazing that almost all of those motorhomes are sold!
I guess the baby boomers are spending their retirement money on local outback adventure/touring rather than dodgey overseas travel... and in this economic climate and risks overseas, i can see why!
FollowupID: 607740

Follow Up By: Ianw - Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 22:52

Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 22:52
It is the SOLD list !!

There are many more available on the forsale lists on that site.

FollowupID: 607797