GPS for driving across the Outback???

Anyone can help me?
in less than one month I´ll be in the outback driving from Sydney to Ayers Rock, Kings Canyon and Sandovers Hwy to Mount Isa, but I´m not sure if it´s so hard and if it´s useful a GPS...
thanks in advance!!!!

Reply By: mintabiegeoff - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 08:40

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 08:40
Buy some good maps from this site, but a GPS is handy for telling you how far to the next fuel stop etc. Should be a great trip but check road conditions at each leg of your trip. There has been a lot of rain in the centre and it looks like more to come
AnswerID: 340226

Reply By: Member - Coyote (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 09:03

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 09:03
You can do that trip in a Barina with a jerry can in the back. You wont NEED a GPS as people have driven those trip for years without them. although you will find plenty of people on this forum tell you that you need an EPIRB, a SATPHONE and a HF radio plus a GPS or you are a disaster waiting to happen... The route you are talking about, I'll be surprised if you don't see a car every 5 minutes for the bulk of it and for the Sandover there wil be less but certainly plenty of traffic.

It will be HOT....

Grab a decent road atlas and you're off...

GPS is just a fun/easy way to keep track of where you've been and how long to next stop/ fuel etc..
AnswerID: 340230

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 09:51

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 09:51
Hello

"GPS is just a fun/easy way to keep track of where you've been and how long to next stop/ fuel etc.. "

Same can be said of a paper map (though maybe not as easy:)

GPS is a navigation aid as is a paper map, compass etc. There is an overlap of functions but neither fully replaces the other in all circumstances. Choosing the navigation aids required/best for the set task is what is required.

Agree, in this instance, a paper map/map book would appear to be more than adequate for job at hand. This will however not always be the case and "fun/easy" may not be the priority.

FollowupID: 607825

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 09:40

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 09:40
Have you researched your route thoroughly and checked the average temperatures and rainfall in those areas for January?
Traffic on the Sandover might be scarce at that time of year. Despite the so called "experts" who say that it can be done "on a push bike with a bottle of water on the back", it CAN be difficult at this time of the year.

As for taking some comms, why bother ? If you get into trouble just flag down a passing road service vehicle !!! You can use the money you saved to buy more beer. And say G'day to the Tooth Fairy for me.

NO track is a problem for the well prepared traveller, until they have a "situation" arise. If it's HOT (and it will be), such can situations become far more serious.

And remember, it might not even be your "situation". If your life and the lives of your loved ones aren't worth the price of hiring or buying some form of communications suitable for remote areas, then maybe the lives of the accident you come across victims, are.
AnswerID: 340238

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 10:06

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 10:06
As for a GPS, the hand held el cheapo devices are Ok with a good paper map. If you really want to know where you are and what's around you, not much beats moving maps.
FollowupID: 607829

Reply By: Ikaro - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 10:35

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 10:35
Thanks to everyone !!

Really, I didn´t think about rain... I know it´ll be very hot, but I hope the road conditions will be OK, but I´m going to check it before. Our itinerary I think is usual for foreign people looking for an adventure bite, although that I don´t want to commite any mistake... but If Sandovers Hwy is plenty, maybe GPS it´s not a must and I´ll be able to spend the money I´ll save drinking beer.

Thanks from Spain!!!
AnswerID: 340249

Follow Up By: robak (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 12:07

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 12:07
Ikaro,

Not sure if you have been in the australian outback in the middle of summer, but just to get an idea do the follwoing.

Just before you go to bed turn the heater in your room to full. When you wake up get another three fan heaters and turn them on, point them towards you and sit there all day. Repeat this for 7 seven days.

It's very hot out there. Be careful.

R
FollowupID: 607850

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 13:28

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 13:28
Theres usually no shade either, so if you do stop/ breakdown or whatever, its nice to have a good tarp for shade and heaps of water.
FollowupID: 607880

Follow Up By: Ikaro - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 05:38

Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 05:38
Do you think is better if I change my plans??? I can´t lose ayers rock, Olgas, Kings Canyon... but maybe I can drive straight to Tennants Creck avoiding Sandover Hwy... what I have to look to know if I´m really well prepared??

Thanks mate!!
FollowupID: 608055

Reply By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 13:07

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 13:07
The Sandover is a remote, comparitively little used dirt road. It says "highway" on the map but don't expect an autobahn...
What sort of vehicle will you be driving? Range could be a problem, particularly if it's a bit wet and therefore heavy going, causing extra fuel usage.
AnswerID: 340277

Follow Up By: Ikaro - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 05:19

Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 05:19
I know it´s not an usual highway but maybe I can´t calculate the level of adventure/risk, that´s the reason I´m asking people as you... all of you are helping me so much to evaluate the correct way for my trip. I´ll be driving a subaru outback and I´ve thought I´ll need a extra fuel tank. Also I´m checking continuously the real state of the diferent streches of the Sandover, but finally maybe I decide what to do there talking with someone (police??? tourist information???).

Thanks!! I wait more comments from you!!!
FollowupID: 608053

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 13:31

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 13:31
As everyone has said......where your going isnt too remote
(except the Sandover changes weekly).
You wont need a GPS but if you can afford one they can be a bit of fun.
But watch the rain!!!!
We have had heaps recently and are expecting more. Today is only around 38 but its looking like rain in the next day or so.
Just get regular updates.

AnswerID: 340283

Follow Up By: Ikaro - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 05:26

Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 05:26
thanks!! I´m looking continuosly the weather and I hope I´ll be lucky... I´m going there around 15th january. I´m also trying to configurate my GPS but I´m not sure if it´s going to work.

Thanks mate!
FollowupID: 608054

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 13:40

Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 13:40
I'd drop the idea of doing the sandover, if you get into strife on that one iin a car in summer then it can be pretty remote. The police will probably advise you to stick to the tar.
Carry heaps of water not beer. Beer will dehydrate you.
A few tools and spare parts will come in handy, and possibly some knowledge of how to change a tyre.
Shade will become important to you, so carry a tarp as a minimum.
An esky filled with ice or a 12 fridge will help with the iced water supply.
AnswerID: 340495