Debunking the 4WD magazine conspiracy theory
Submitted: Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 11:02
Best Off Road
There's a widely held belief amongst some, that 4wd mags give favouarable reviews to those that advertise with them.
In the November 2008 edtion of Overlander there was a 5 way comparo of mid sized wagons, comprising Hummer, Kia, Jeep, Nissan and Suzuki.
Only two of these makes advertised in the mag; Nissan and Suzuki.
The winner of the comparo; The Kia, a NON advertiser.
Furthermore, Overlander is owned by News Limited (heard of Rupert Murdoch?). There is no organisation in the world that would risk getting on the wrong side of News Limited or seek to exert advertising pressure on their editorial freedom.
Reply By: OzTroopy - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 11:18
Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 11:18
Excellent info Jim .....
Thats one magazine .... now what about the rest of the media.
Especially that one fairly recently, that included ( late I might add )an out of category vehicle in a comparison ... and then awarded it winner status.
Follow Up By: x - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 11:51
Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 11:51
Which one was that?
Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 13:06
Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 13:06
The fella currently advertising Kia, ARB and fancy kids clothes whilst showing a few scenic pics of australia, on a weekend TV programme used to work for them I believe.
Good to see you dont waste money on subscriptions either ... even if you do get free CDs ...
Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 11:57
Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 11:57
Gday Jim,
"The winner of the comparo; The Kia, a NON advertiser."
Doesnt that already sound like a dodgy outcome???
Follow Up By: RV Powerstream P/L - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 12:11
Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 12:11
Isnt that something called Subliminal Suggestion or we think your great come and advertise with us.
It does not matter what is written someone somewhere will point out bias in the content.
Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 12:19
Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 12:19
rv
sounds like i'll scratch your back if you'll scratch
mine eh?
Reply By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 12:29
Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 12:29
Jim,
I think what usually happens is that if you are an advertiser, the articles say nothing bad about your product. They might say "it is not as good as a", but never that "it's a dog".
I used to organise fishing write ups for new fishing equipment. If the writer did not like it, he wrote nothing. I remember once we cancelled our advertising with a mag when they wrote bad things about one of our reels.
It does happen, believe me. It does not matter if it's the fishing tackle business or the 4WD business - all same same.
Willie.
Follow Up By: Crackles - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 17:57
Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 17:57
Correct Willie. It's more to do with what is not said in an article than what is, with many bad features on vehicles too often overlooked.
Cheers Craig...............
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 18:14
Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 18:14
Hi Craig,
I wrote to one of the 4WD mag editors last year. His mag featured an article on the then reasonably new Toyota Hilux, which had been fitted with Hella Ralley
driving lights for the trip.
There was a wonderful picture of the car coming out of a
creek crossing - the Hella lights were half full of
water ( as
mine do every time I dunk them ). The writer mentioned that he had put them on for the trips so he had fulfilled his obligation to Hella for a free set, but not word about them filling up with
water. Surprise surprise !
Telling lies by omission. I never got a reply from the editor either.
Willie.
Reply By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 12:34
Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 12:34
I can guarantee that a certain "Editor at large" of one of those magazines (whose name resembles a large astral body orbiting near this planet), didn't have to worry about the grenade in his 3 litre Patrol. I cancelled my subscription to that particular magazine as I felt that it was partisanly aligned to their major advertisers and their so called "impartial" product and vehicle reviews consistently
bore this out. The contra is a wonderful thing, particularly when your vehicle is decked out by others wanting a cash for comment type endorsement. How many of the products that are fitted to these blokes cars for "testing" are returned or paid for, once the testing period is completed and the review written? Call me cynical!
Mick
Follow Up By: equinox - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 13:00
Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 13:00
"whose name resembles a large astral body orbiting near this planet"
Mick, thats too hard. Can't we have an easier clue lol..
Follow Up By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 13:15
Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 13:15
*URANUS*
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 17:22
Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 17:22
Mick, I'm 100% sure he had (maybe still does) a 4.2TD; not a grenade.........
Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 18:11
Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 18:11
Mick
FYI The person you are alluding is a mate of
mine and on top of that he reads this
forum quite regularly when he is home...:-)
Maybe you can contact him personally and convey your gripe as he lives in the same town as you do.
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 18:18
Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 18:18
yep its a 4.2
Follow Up By: Crackles - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 19:28
Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 19:28
Would certainly be a difficult line for a magazine editor to take between attracting advertising & maintaining credibility by not being biased towards them. From where I sit most if not all of them suffer credibility issues when talking up products that are supplied free to them & then glossing over or not even mentioning failures & poor performance.
Cheers Craig............
Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 08:45
Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 08:45
A 4.2,
well he definitly doesn't have to worry does he. Thanks for the offer Willem but I actually wrote to the editorial staff in 07 outlining my concerns and asking why a certain tack had been taken in respect to particular issues and enquiring about what processes had been used during reviews and assessments. I posed several questions surrounding the end use of test products and that there could be a perceived issue in respect to transperancy (or lack there of). I never received a reply. In the end it came down to a personal decision whether or not I wanted to pay $8 for rag that appeared to fast be becoming a glossy advertising catalogue. I didn't. Totally my choice and my opinion of course. Having had a family deeply involved in the publishing business in the past, I am
well aware that advertising revenue can be a key driver for financial sustainability. Unfortunately editorial opinion and freedom can suffer as a result.
Mick
Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 12:36
Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 12:36
A monthly compare was not a 4wd of the year winner.
They entice the winners of the monthly compare to offer vehicles for the "Big Competition" and negotiate a the advertising to suit.
Even with that said what about the following magazine issues??
I remember not so long ago The Discovery being awarded 4wd of the year and suddenly it appeared on the rear cover of the magazine for the next 12 months. (Didn't appear in the mag before winning the award)
The rear cover just happens to be the most expensive page to buy in the mag.
As for Rupert Murdoch, he didn't get rich by people not advertising in his various publications.
People are not as naive as you make out.
Follow Up By: stefan & 12 times Dakar winner - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 12:56
Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 12:56
me thinks Jim just landed a sweet advertising deal. So when does the ad start? :-)
Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 13:30
Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 13:30
Good one Stefan, but quite the opposite. I did advertise there in 2007 a few times and once earlier this year. The return did not justify the investment.
Also tried 4wd Action. No better.
Reply By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 13:19
Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 13:19
As a Subscriber to 4wdAction for awhile now the same thing came to mind,are they biased.After a winch and snatch strap comparo i dont think they are..Coopers advertises on there DVD but now they are pushing Mickey Thompson MTZ (i know same factory) but to the general public they are two diff brands...
I believe they hav it right now (mtz)
Follow Up By: Goona - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 20:20
Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 20:20
Warfer,
Don't know if I agree with you there. I am a subscriber to 4wd action and have been for years. The winch comparo was a classic. There were only 4 to complete the
test. The 2 Warn
winches failed to complete if my memory serves me correct yet the 9500lb Warn got second place. Now if I go bush I want something that will not fail or I could be in for a long walk. As mentioned above it is sometimes the things they leave out that makes for miss reporting and yes you have to read between the lines.
Goona
Follow Up By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 22:55
Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 22:55
Hiya Goona
No worries people hav there
views,I was looking at the premiere but after i rang a winch repairer that someone recommended i bought the warn 9.5,now any winch can fail at anytime,no matter what brand..But are parts going to be available for the chinese or low brand names or are you going to get spares for the warn just about anywhere...
Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 13:32
Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 13:32
Yep - a highly suspect sector of the 'media' - they might praise a non-advertiser but they never bag an advertiser - what they don't say has to be the worry - anyway, about the only opinions on cars and associated toys that are of any value are those offered by people who have paid for them with their own money ! Apart from the odd- respected journal or writer, everything is just blurb.
Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 14:10
Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 14:10
OK I'm a Nissan owner and get really peed off when they don't use the 4.8 motor for the comparo. Must be the rules to make sure that a certain outcome is achieved. I mean really how can they justify some of the finalists and winners.
I know it's a little bit of bias on my part but hey we all do that. I thought so anyway but even on EO I've not heard a true champion for Kia. It's OK we won't bite.
Follow Up By: tazbaz - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 14:44
Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 14:44
Baetit
You say "on EO I've not heard a true champion for Kia".
Well, you have now as I have a 2.5l diesel Kia Sorento - its easily the best vehicle I've had - strong, powerful, smooth and tows effortlessly.
Well finished and total value for money. Very worthy of the string of awards that the vehicle is winning
Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 14:59
Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 14:59
A true champion of KIA ?? you know better than that , EO only allows Nissan + Toyota ,lol,
Have just finished fitting out the wifes Kia Rio ..... Narva 175
driving lights , GME 3220 uhf , extra fuel +
water + small Engle fridge . Not everyone needs a $$$$ 4x4 to travel on a regular basis to the far west of QLD.
Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 15:12
Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 15:12
Hi Tazbaz and Axle,
I have to confess to having owned all the
well known brands except Hiunday or Kia and I simply have not had the opportunity to do that. I was not a big fan of Korean cars but I reckon they're pretty good these days. When I was a banker (that's "B") I used to look after a large shoe conglomerate and they made the point that Korea made the best joggers in the world and I'm sure many other things as
well.
Recently toyed with the notion of owning a small 4wd as a run about but the bride opted for a hatch instead. Could
well have been a kia.
Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 15:40
Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 15:40
Beatit , I bought the little Kia Rio hatchback last yr as a b/day present for the beloved ,runs on the proverbial smell of an oily rag , 500klm for 40lt in stop start city driving , now in the process of moving out west for the next few yrs and even though the road from
Winton to
Boulia is fairly remote it is bitumen all the way so no need for another 4x4 in the garage.
Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 15:48
Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 15:48
I ended up buying a Tiida (I know another Nissan) but we had somehow managed to get one of these a couple of times we hired a car and it just seemed so roomy - the bride was sold. No further discussion on my part - no ute, damn.
Maybe to Only Tiida with a tow bar as I need to tow my boat and box trailer.
It runs at about half the fuel cost of the Patrol.
Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 10:01
Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 10:01
Hi Beatit
I wondered about that to , espically when a 4.2 won car of the year not long ago.
In their assement they included a guide as to how points were achieved , so I did them using 4800 engine and even with my manual variant to more closely match the winner and it was a real no-contest with 4800 coming out a long way ahead.
To add insult to injury they even said something to the effect that fuel use (the only thing that could be a negative) wasn't an issue.
Even today its amazing that the only car left with big torque , live axles etc seems to be ignored whilst petrol heads for 80 something cents a liter - go figure?
Reply By: Steve63 - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 15:31
Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 15:31
I think you are being overly generous. Wait a few months and see if Kia becomes an advertiser. I treat
all articles that mention any brands as infomertials ie they are an ad written as an article. It is common in all interest mags and 4wd mags are no different. I gave up buying 4wd mags a few years ago after using the rubbish they recommended a few times. I could not believe what they had written about some of these items, there had to be a fair bit of creative licence! My point of view is that I would not pay $8 - $9 for a list of ads and I won't pay it for a 4wd mag either.
Reply By: Nomadic Navara - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 16:38
Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 16:38
Tom Olthoff wrote a few truths in his column in Caravan World - his column was suddenly terminated. He was then contributing to Caravan & Motorhome. That did not last long, may bee he could not tow the line there.
He still has a spot in the C & M
forum but he has not been too popular there also. There is a little argument between Tom and clydecolin in
http://forum.candm.com.au/showthread.php?t=390. In message 7 there was an attack on Tom accusing him of having no qualifications (this bit has now been edited out but Tom's reply in M9 is still there.)
Reply By: Shaker - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 17:29
Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 17:29
As a subscriber, I very recently wrote to Camper Trailer Australia magazine to express my annoyance at their "advertorials".
They have never said a bad word in any of their so called 'road test/reviews', & yes, they all advertise in the magazine!
Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 17:29
Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 17:29
When did Hummers become "mid-sized"??
Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 17:51
Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 17:51
The military hummer model is large but from the couple times Ive looked in the H3 civilian or whatever it is .... I would put it in a midsize category.
Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 18:59
Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 18:59
Mid-sized is no longer as it used to be , was that a prado was mid size , now a prado is bigger all round than what was a large 4x4 ,aka: an 80 series ,, get a good chuckle when people complain about the 'huge" 4x4 taking up road space blocking vision ect , new commodores + falcons are both bigger in width + length than an 80 series.
Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 19:45
Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 19:45
Axel. did I read correctly that you are off to live in
Winton or
Boulia ?
Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 20:02
Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 20:02
Interesting point Axel,
I read the other day that the Corolla is bigger than an EH Holden.
My GQ 3L Petrol (RB30) I bought in 92 weighed 1830 kg and yet the Terracan I bought in 2004 weighed 2030.
A VN Commondore tipped the scales at 1350, a current one is around 1800.
Changing times.