Jewelz
Hello,
Family with 4 kids.
We are newbies to
camping (tent) in Australia. Have done lots of
camping throughout Europe. But thinking
camping, heat etc will be very different here.
Currently living North of
Perth. But now want to explore the rest of Australia. So about to buy a tent.
Any tips for crossing the Nullabar in January?
We will be in 4WD and have tent.
Tips for stop off points, diesel etc?
How long does it take to cross the Nullabar?
Any good
camp sites around
Esperance and start of SA? Hate big commercial
places that are packed out.
Jewelz
Reply By: Member -Dodger - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 14:16
Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 14:16
First of all,
Get yourself a good map and plan your trip accordingly to the speed you usually drive.
There are plenty of
places to
camp when crossing as most fuel stops have a
camp ground and some even have cabins.
Make sure your vehicle is in top condition for the full journey.
And if going in summer that the air con is in good condition.
Carry plenty of
drinking water and food.
Allow 2 days for a crossing without sightseeing then add more time for for sightseeing.
There is plenty to see and explore when doing the Nullabor the first time.
Get as much information as you can on the trip as this will determine what you want to see/do as you go.
MOST importantly take it easy and drive carefully and I am sure that you will enjoy the trip.
Enjoy your trip.
Reply By: austastar - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 14:21
Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 14:21
Bit of info
here.
Check out your local library for 'Penelope goes West' by Tim Bowden. A good read and he uses 4wd and camper trailer.
Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 14:31
Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 14:31
Fowlers bay in SA is a good fishing and
camping spot
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 14:54
Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 14:54
We went there one weekend in September - the
camp ground was very small and was booked out. Nowhere else to go, so we drove back to the highway and camped at a favourite roadside stop.
Did we miss some secret
camp spot???
Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 15:08
Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 15:08
There were only about 10 other families in the
park when we were there.
But if you drive back out past the
salt lake and turn left (towards the coast there are plenty of great
places to
camp. You can follow the coast for
miles.
Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 15:21
Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 15:21
It takes you around to the other side of this point (Scotts bay I think they called it, then head west for
miles, fantastic fishing swimming, sightseeing!!!!!
You missed a great spot.
Reply By: Member - Footloose - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 14:40
Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 14:40
You will need plenty of fluid intake. Don't plan softdrinks for the kids, they'll get crook in high temps. Cold
water is the go during the day. Wet towels for the kids heads work wonders, and "wet ones" can revive the driver.
Window tinting can be good, but as posted make sure the vehicles cooling system and air con are in tip top condition.
Games etc can help to keep the kids occupied.
Be careful of winds and trucks. Keep the speed down as wildlife has been known to zap across out of nowhere.
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 14:57
Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 14:57
Gday Footy,
Our 4 kids used to like spraying one another with 500ml
water bottles. It got pretty warm in the back of an old troopie and that was the easiest way to keep cool.
Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 15:13
Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 15:13
Hi Phil, ours just liked to fight: on the dot of 3pm every day. Mind you they were pretty
young. They stopped fighting one night when mum got syung by a bush bee. She made enough noise for both of em :)))
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 18:17
Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 18:17
Hehe The
water bottles were just a legitimate way of ours fighting too - I reckon it started before 3..... :-))
None of these DVDs to keep them amused back then - it was all "I spy" or read a book.
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 15:06
Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 15:06
We prefer to
bush camp at the roadside rest areas - a fair number are away from the road. Main hassle is that many of them are littered with
toilet paper (best to burn then bury paper).
All the roadhouses sell ice-creams.
Diesel: buy it at
Norseman,
Mundrabilla and then
Penong.
Don't drive in the evening - too many roos.
Might be hot, might be a cool breeze, but it will certainly be windy, hopefully have a tailwind.
From Cocklebiddy, take a drive down to
Twilight Cove and
camp there.
Another Magic place is
Davenport Creek just west of
Ceduna.
Follow Up By: Peter_n_Margaret - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 17:51
Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 17:51
The roadhouse at
Yalata has been closed for some time.
Shade temperatures can reach over 50C in summer, but it is often cooler than that unless there is a northerly wind component.
OKA196 Motorhome
Reply By: Member - Rod N (QLD) - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 17:46
Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 17:46
The road is very good on the Nullabor. It's just like any other country drive, except it is very long if you try to do it too quickly. Fraser Range station, east of Noresman is a good place to stay. Check out this site
Nullabornet
Rod
Reply By: Motherhen - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 17:59
Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 17:59
Hi Jewelz
As others have said re car air conditioner, and
drinking water. We have been across in January and in February and it wasn't too hot. Always a lovely drive, and
views of the cliffs are beaut. DON'T let your children too near the edge of the cliffs - some are very undermined and unstable.
At
Eucla, drive down and take a walk across to the Old Telegrpah Station, almost covered by
sand dunes.
I don't know how old your children are, but travelling for us with our four children would have been hell. Depending on their age and how they travel, plan for only a short drive each day, then take a break so they can run around, and let off steam. Youngsters usually love getting out in tents and sleeping bags and doing
camp cooking if it is a new experience for them.
If you are OK about independent
camping, you can pull off in ever so many
places and be quite 'remote'. Otherwise as aforesaid, there is paid
camping at most of the servos. As far as i know,
Yalata servo is still totally closed.
You may be stopped by 'locals' asking for petrol 'to get them home'. Exercise your judgement.
Enjoy
Follow Up By: Mobi Condo - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 18:27
Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 18:27
Like to add re not too close to
cliff edges.
Not just undercut and unstable, BUT ALSO be aware of the wind forces as air masses can cause -ve pressure zones and there is the danger of being forced over by air pressures differentials. There are some good Interpretive signs at spots along the coast to explain it better than I have here.
Cheers - Mobi
Reply By: Jewelz - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 21:36
Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 21:36
Hello,
Thanks for all the great replies.
The kids are very good travelers. Often driving 5 hours to
Perth city, without complaints or fights.lol
We live rural so used to country roads.
Car is new and will do a service before we venture out long distance.
Thanks for all the tips and advice. Im sure to put more daft questions on the
forum.
Thanks for being friendly and helpful
Jewelz
Reply By: Member - Josh (VIC) - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 22:46
Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 22:46
Hi Jewelz,
We crossed the nullabor a while back. Was a great trip. There is heaps to see. Take your time to look around, it is not just a boring straight road. One spot we loved was
Israelite Bay south of Belladonia. You can follow the coast along from
Esperance (great beaches along there) to
Israelite Bay then take the Belladonia track up to the Hwy. There is a bit soft sand and some rocky spots, nothing to serious though and we towed our camper in there. One spot along the track you come to an area that is covered in Banksias and gravilleas. Absolutly amazing. Also have to agree
Fowlers bay and Scotts Bay
well worth a visit. We often stopped on the road side but we were travelling with friends. One spot we walked down the cliffs and stood in the southern ocean in the great Australian bite, not to many people have done that. The roadhouses have heaps of info as
well. Have a great trip and enjoy.
Josh
Reply By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 00:55
Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 00:55
Hi Jewelz
Just come back from a
Eucla run. Diesel at
Eucla is the same price as
Mundrabilla (was about 3 weeks ago).
Caiguna and Madura slightly dearer.
For
camping, east of
Norseman, Fraser Range station has good
camping for a fee, otherwise
Newman Rocks is good. If coming from
Esperance, you could take the Fisheries Road to the east, then Old Balladonia Road to go to Mt Ragged, then north to Balladonia. Good
camping spot at Mt Ragged, but no
water. Mt Ragged is a great climb. Great run, but pretty rough. The track was a bit sticky a few weeks ago, but should have dried out by now. Also Balbinya station north of Mt Ragged is a nice historic spot to visit and
camp.
There are lots of spots east of Balladonia off the road. There are plenty of access roads to the old microwave sites (towers visible from the road, about every 40km) which will take you
well off the main highway and out of sight for a good quiet night's
camping.
Eucla has a good
camping area for a fee with fantastic
views and good fresh
water showers and facilities.
Worth visiting on the way is the
Eyre Bird Observatory, once the old Eyre Telegraph station; the turn is about 15km east of Cocklebiddy and about 30km south from there. Need 4wd, leave trailer at top of escarpment. Can also
camp (unoficially) at the old microwave site on the way in.
Camping not allowed in the
Nuytsland Nature Reserve in the Eyre vicinity.
A good reference book is "Priceless Campsites & Rest Areas in the SW of Western Australia" Jan Holland. This covers campsites right out to the WA/
SA border.
Into SA,
Fowlers Bay is nice, and the smaller towns SE of
Ceduna towards Pt Lincoln are nice - it's worth doing this detour down to the Eyre Peninsular. Nice country and much more interesting than the more direct run to Pt
Augusta.
The only mobile phone coverage you'll get is NextG at
Eucla after leaving
Norseman, but there is better coverage over the border starting at Nullarbor.
Gerry