Rallye 4000 Spotties

Submitted: Friday, Dec 26, 2008 at 19:24
ThreadID: 64582 Views:2972 Replies:7 FollowUps:15
Hi guys, I am about to buy some Rallye 4000 spotties of the internet to replace my old IPF's. I am keen for the 4000 FF's as I know I can buy a HID kit for around $250 at a latter stage. The problem is that some of the web sites advertise the Hella's as 4000's, others advertise as 4000 FF's. Is their any difference????

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Friday, Dec 26, 2008 at 19:27

Friday, Dec 26, 2008 at 19:27
Go to their website and look up the specs That should tell you the difference if any
AnswerID: 341437

Follow Up By: Dave & Shelley (NT) - Friday, Dec 26, 2008 at 19:32

Friday, Dec 26, 2008 at 19:32
Hi Graham,

I have checked the web site and they only mention Rallye 4000FF. My concern is that the people on the net selling 4000's might be old stock. The FF refers to the "free form" reflector material in the light. Just don't know if this is on all 4000's or just newer stock. Thanks for the advise.

FollowupID: 609100

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Friday, Dec 26, 2008 at 19:37

Friday, Dec 26, 2008 at 19:37
k Ask the question on a forum like the Lcool or Patrol or 4wd monthly forums they will probably give a definitive answer as lots of good discussion on them
AnswerID: 341439

Follow Up By: Dave & Shelley (NT) - Friday, Dec 26, 2008 at 19:42

Friday, Dec 26, 2008 at 19:42
Cheers mate, might give that a try as well.
FollowupID: 609102

Reply By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) The O - Friday, Dec 26, 2008 at 20:31

Friday, Dec 26, 2008 at 20:31
All Rallye 4000's have free form reflectors.

When they first can out Hella did not advertise the fact that they were free formed in there advertising.

A true free formed reflector does not rely on the lens to disperse light but the reflector, most new vehicles that have clear lenses use free form technology.

The Rallye 4000 driving and fog lights rely on both the lens and reflector to disperse the light.

If you are going to go to HID's in them the light pattern will be differant.

AnswerID: 341442

Follow Up By: Dave & Shelley (NT) - Friday, Dec 26, 2008 at 22:08

Friday, Dec 26, 2008 at 22:08
Thanks for the info mate, sounds like you know what it all means.

FollowupID: 609110

Reply By: Brian Purdue - Friday, Dec 26, 2008 at 21:16

Friday, Dec 26, 2008 at 21:16
Modestly, I enquire why you need "spotties"?. In my travels I have found people who "Have been around Australia' in three weeks.
I wonder exactly what they have seen.
I do not always agree with "Willem" but I venture to say he sees more of Australia than most who travel 500 - 660 kms a day.
Drive slower and talk more with other travellers and enjoy.
There is little point in keeping the oil companies rich.
AnswerID: 341454

Follow Up By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) The O - Friday, Dec 26, 2008 at 21:22

Friday, Dec 26, 2008 at 21:22
WTF?

I think you posted to the wrong thread!
FollowupID: 609107

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Saturday, Dec 27, 2008 at 07:11

Saturday, Dec 27, 2008 at 07:11
Brian Purdue

It is wonderful to read such a truly deep, searching post, from an obviously extremely intelligent person. And modest too.

Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts with us. You have given all ignorant forumites a new insight into the use of driving lights.

I look forward to your next informative post.

Willie.
FollowupID: 609121

Follow Up By: Brian Purdue - Saturday, Dec 27, 2008 at 08:37

Saturday, Dec 27, 2008 at 08:37
Thank you "Willie" for your erudite comment. I am further humbled. I really thought the forum was "exploroz" and have been perplexed over a period of time as to why people need sis rows of "spotties" on their roobars.
I have found, over many years of driving that you see more during daylight than you do in the hours of darkness. Seems that I am sadly mistaken.
Please accept my humble apologies for my ignorance.
FollowupID: 609126

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Saturday, Dec 27, 2008 at 10:50

Saturday, Dec 27, 2008 at 10:50
Brian Purdue,

Why is "exploroz" in conflict with the use of driving lights ? Who mentioned "sis rows of "spotties" on their roobars" ?

Your later statement that we can see more in the daylight than the dark is so, so ..... I am just lost for words - it must be hard to be modest, when you can obviously understand things that we lesser mortals miss completely.

You should not apologise, not even humbly. I have really enjoyed your posts. We seldom see such complete, concise answers, to technical questions.

Willie.
FollowupID: 609129

Follow Up By: Member - Mark E (VIC) - Saturday, Dec 27, 2008 at 10:54

Saturday, Dec 27, 2008 at 10:54
Brian,

I see where you are coming from and I agree that much more will be seen during the day and I think most here would minimize their travels at night WHEN TRAVELING or ON HOLIDAYS. I know in my circumstances I NEVER travel at night, having children to manage during trips.

But, many of us also use our vehicles for daily travel, be it personal or work related, which just may entail driving (gasp!!!) at night. As such, I appreciate good lighting and I feel it makes for safer night travel in certain circumstances. I have some upgraded globes in the OE lights, plus a set of reasonable driving lights and find this more than adequate. I dunno about 6 sets on the roo bar??? Extreme perhaps, but each to their own.

I think you need to realise that not everyone uses their 4WD's just for 'tootaling' around the countryside smelling the roses ;-)

FollowupID: 609130

Follow Up By: Brian Purdue - Saturday, Dec 27, 2008 at 14:34

Saturday, Dec 27, 2008 at 14:34
If I may be permitted to answer both the posts of "Willie" and Mark at the ne time. Yes Mark I know and agree that persons who need to travel in the darness of night may need additional lights should they need to travel in the course of their business r employment.

I come to exploroz to find places of interest to do just that, expore Australia. But I try to point out that persons who are travelling around Australia for pleasure do not need to travel at night. I used to live in a popular "tourist" town some 800 miles from Perth. It was amazing the number of people who turned up first thing in the morning after driving all night loaded down so that their headlights pointed to the sky. They would then fall into bed totally knackered and have a sleep and then get up and get equally totally knackered.

Mark, fair dinkum, I have seen 4wds with la row of ights on the bull bar and another set on the roof racks. God knows how powerful the alternaters are. I have had Toytas, Land Rovers and Range Rovers and a nice little Suzuki 3 cylinder. I have never found the need for spotights if you drive sensibly and to the conditions of the road.

Thanks for reading this post and I hope to meet up ith you on the track somewhere nd sharea beer or two with you.
Happy travelling in 2009.
FollowupID: 609144

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Dec 27, 2008 at 15:19

Saturday, Dec 27, 2008 at 15:19
G'day Brian Purdue,
Mate, I don't drive for a living (yet).....

However, I DO have a reasonable collection of spotties and also have upgraded (HID) headlights. I find that I use these quite a bit in my pursuit of recreational 4 wheel driving.

You see, I live in a country area, 150klm north of Adelaide. I am also involved in the local 4WD Club (el presidento currently, as it happens.....not that that has any bearing on what we're talking about here).....

Our 4WD club tries to get away at least once a month for trip. Now due to the fact that we try to squeeze as much out of our weekends as possible, we tend to leave home straight after work on Friday and get the bulk of the "mundane" driving done in the dark hours. Now it is not uncommon for us to travel to Pimba (on the Stuart Hwy about 400+ klm north of our home). The stations up that way are unfenced and stock as well as native fauna abounds.

Maybe now you can understand why have 2 big, powerful 55w, 6000K HID-converted Lightforce XGTs on the bullbar plus 4 x Lightforce 170s up on the roof.....the 2 outer units of which are angled slightly off to their respective sides, so I have a beautiful view of the whole surrounding area.

You are correct that even with all this candlepower at my disposal I'm still nowhere near driving in daylight.....but I reckon that I have a better than even chance of spotting an animal....compared to somebody who relies on their standard peepers for illumination.

Thanks for your valuable insight, but I hope you mind if I pass-up on your words of wisdom on this occasion.
Cheers and happy travels (in the daytime),

Roachie ;-)
FollowupID: 609147

Follow Up By: Dave & Shelley (NT) - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 20:52

Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 20:52
Hi Brian,

I use my spotties a fair bit as I do a lot of travelling at night when I transit. They get a fair bit of use up here. I have also used them a lot when recovering other vehicles at night and use them for extra lighting etc. I understand what you are saying about not needing them, but I would rather pay the money and adjust the light every so often than not have them. Different courses for different horses.

Cheers mate and merry x-mas
FollowupID: 609315

Follow Up By: Brian Purdue - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 21:41

Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 21:41
Dave, I know what you mean and understand it. When needs be you have to adjust.
BUT and a big BUT, my argument is about tourists who travel at night when there is no need for it. I am 76 years old and have been driving on country roads since I was 14 (permit to drive to school in a Chevvy 4!). My comments are about people who are "touring Australia" and persist in travelling at night with enough illumination to light Sydney (almost). They achieve nothing.
A bloke I knew well, told me he had been around Australia in three (3) weeks. He really could not remember were he had been or whar he had seen. These are the sort of clowns that give 4W drivers a bad name. Many others of a similar ilk post here at exporox.
Thank you for your comments. Hope to meet up with you some time.
FollowupID: 609321

Reply By: Kroozer - Friday, Dec 26, 2008 at 23:22

Friday, Dec 26, 2008 at 23:22
I myself would stay with the IPF mate. Go the IPF 900XS, can still get the HID kits for same price if not cheaper. Plus will save plenty on the lights also. Can get them for around $320. I just traded my 4000s for a set of 900XS after plenty of research and field testing.
AnswerID: 341462

Follow Up By: Muzzgit [WA] - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 23:27

Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 23:27
I too would stick to IPF but don't look past the standard ones. I have a set of the 900XS and so does a mate of mine on his 80series cruiser. We bought them a few years ago at the same time to get a bit of a discount.

Bazz has just bought a 2005 Patrol which has the standard IPF on and he is happy to keep them rather than swap over to the 900XS from the cruiser!

Yes, it surprised me too!

FollowupID: 609333

Reply By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Saturday, Dec 27, 2008 at 06:52

Saturday, Dec 27, 2008 at 06:52
Dave & Shelley,

Before you buy them, email Hella and ask them if it is OK to take the lights through water crossings - that is, if you intend to cross creeks etc.

My Hella HID lights leak like a seive and I have to put plastic bags over them or they fill up with muddy water to the half full level in seconds.

When I complained to Hella about it , they told me the light in their range which was able to be submersed, was their Hydrolux model.

Willie.
AnswerID: 341467

Follow Up By: Dave & Shelley (NT) - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 20:45

Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 20:45
Cheers Willie,

I read your comments on another thread the other day and that has got me thinking that I might need to contact them and ask for "their" advise as they are the "experts". I am still keen on the 4000's as I had 2000's a few years ago on my old Disco and they were gold!!!!. They were great and I never had a problem with them. The old IPF 900's I have just don't seem half as good.

Cheers mate and have a good x-mas
FollowupID: 609313

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 27, 2008 at 09:25

Saturday, Dec 27, 2008 at 09:25
Also check if they're the normal 222mm or compact 170mm
AnswerID: 341472

Follow Up By: Dave & Shelley (NT) - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 20:47

Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 20:47
Hi mate,

They would be the 222mm units. Mind you I will look at the compacts as they seem pretty good as well. I haven't spoken to anyone who own them but I am sure I will find someone sometime. I have the money in the pocket and can wait a little longer.

Cheers Gramps and have a good x-mas
FollowupID: 609314