seat for LC

Hi guys,wondering if any body can help me.My wife has a bad back so I;m looking for a comfy seat to go into our 1993 Troopy.
Is there a bucket seat out of a car that will fit or do I need to go to a custom made one?
Glyn

Reply By: troopyman - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 10:38

Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 10:38
If she has a bad back then what ever you get make sure it is height adjustable .
AnswerID: 341566

Reply By: Kroozer - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 10:50

Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 10:50
Do a thread search mate, this question pops up all the time and there has been plenty of good suggestions. I am pretty sure the most common way is getting some nice cheap but comfortable bucket seats from the wreckers out of a imported car like a Skyline or similar and just doing some modifying to the rails to suit. Though you then need to get an engineers cert and stuff as you need to move the seat belt anchor closer to the new seat. It isnt had but just try search the threads cause there has been plenty on it. The old 75 series passenger seat would never win awards for comfort thats for sure. I was going to put in some aftermarket setas but cause i will be upgrading vehicle soon decided on just throwing on some sheepskins instead. Huge improvement but nothing like a proper comfortable seat, especially if your missus has back problems. You can get the proper flash Stratos seats and stuff, but i reckon some nice seats from the wreckers with all the lumbar support and fully adjustable bizzo should be miles better.
AnswerID: 341568

Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 14:10

Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 14:10
Hi Glyn,

See if you can get the front buckets out of a late model 3 or 5 seater RV Troopy. They'd most likely create the least amount of fitting work.

Much better than the standard Troopy 1 1/2 seater bench. (I assume you have the 1 1/2 seater bench)

AnswerID: 341593

Reply By: Saharaman (aka Geepeem) - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 15:26

Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 15:26
Hi Wallabyjack5,
It is possible to fit a number of different seats - it is a matter of finding ones that suit your needs (or wifes needs).
I had a 60 series cruiser that had a hydraulic type suspension seat fitted for driver (similar to KAB seats but different brand) and a front passenger bucket seat out of a commodore. They were fitted when I bought vehicle so I dont know if different brackets had to be put in or not. The suspension seat was terrific but was higher than normal seat - probably no good for a tall person as head would be too close to roof.
Remember if you change the seat to a non standard one you need to get vehicle complianced by authorised inspection engineer and a blue compliance plate fitted under bonnet.
But basically any seat can be fitted even if brackets have to be modified at base etc.
GPM
AnswerID: 341601

Reply By: Dave B (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 23:35

Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 23:35
Glyn, I would suggest if you are thinking of putting in bucket seats from a wrecker, take the wife along and sit in quite a few cars with the seats still in the car.

It is a waste of time as far as I am concerned just looking at a range of seats on the wreckers floor and trying them. You don't sit at floor level normally, so you won't get a true idea of the support the seat will give because you are not sitting at the right height.
I don't think I have ever seen a set of seats at a wreckers showroom sitting level either, because of the seat slides and mounting brackets.
So, again you will not get the right feel about the seat.

Even if you go to a car yard and try the seats in the cars there and then when you find something that suits, then chase them up at a wrecker.

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

AnswerID: 341668

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 08:27

Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 08:27
I fitted Recaros in mine 4 years ago - picked up a used pair at a Wreckers who must have had 10 pairs in stock. They have a flat base, so are easily adapted to the Toyota's runners. Main hassle is the passenger's seat belt mount - best to pay someone to move it. I used Willshires in Adelaide.

The Recaros are pretty firm and are certainly better than the buckets on most new vehicles. I must say I think the bucket seats in the 78/79series RV offer poor support.
AnswerID: 341687

Reply By: autosparky - Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 10:26

Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 10:26
didnt kev fit one to darkie?
AnswerID: 341696

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 14:07

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 14:07
Yep ;))

A Stratos LTSS and I love it. it costs a few $$ though.

FollowupID: 609520

Reply By: Member - Alastair D (NSW) - Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 13:13

Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 13:13
Glyn,
My wife has a bad back and after trialing a number of different seats we got an adjustable support through our physio. It is made of fibreglass with adjustments made by straps under the cover. She finds it works well and makes a huge difference on any trip.

It provides both lateral and lumbar support and has the advantage of being able to be moved between vehicles. Cost ~$160 most of which was recovered from Medibank Private.

Not saying it is better just an alternative approach.

alastair
AnswerID: 341708

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 15:03

Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 15:03
Gday Alastair,

What was the brand of that back support and any idea who makes them?
Sounds like a good idea.

Hairy
FollowupID: 609388

Follow Up By: Member - Alastair D (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 07:11

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 07:11
Hairy,
Had a look, including undoing the cover, and can find no brand or identification at all.

Did a search on Google and found the following site:
Sportstek

The top one is the closest to what we have but is not the same.

alastair
FollowupID: 609469

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 10:45

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 10:45
Thanks for the link, Ill look into them.
In the last few weeks I have broken my, heel, ribs, tailbone and vertabre......and my back was shot before that. LOL

I need to find something for the car and that might be the mob to see.

Hairy
FollowupID: 609503