Channel 9 abusing 4wd's again

Submitted: Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 19:06
ThreadID: 64639 Views:5018 Replies:25 FollowUps:13
A Current Affair just had another anti 4wd thing with that stupid pedestrian council guy, the same footage that they had on the last one, just different wording, the same old abuse that we're a danger to other drivers and, we're taking up space on the road, they even think that our visibility is worse like backing up. They always go on about their facts and theories but I think that they need to look at the real answers to what's safer, stats. Stats show that we have less accidents than 2wd's do and that accidents involving 4wd's, fewer people are injured or killed than accidents not involving 4wd's and that pedestrian council guy needs to be reminded that 9/10 pedestrians who get run over are jaywalking, I bet the footage that they show is deliberately rehearsed and recorded by them.

Reply By: Angler - Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 19:25

Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 19:25
My brother had one of those holden crosstracks things and the reversing vision is the worst I have ever driven. Almost impossible to reverse down a boat ramp with a small tinny. You have to open the door and lean out to see the trailer wheels.
I also read somewhere that the standard commodore is the worst performer for reverse vision out of all others including most 4WD's.

Angler
AnswerID: 341755

Follow Up By: Member - Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 19:44

Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 19:44
Hi Angler,
Your dead right about the Dunny Doors have bad rear vision. I've driven earth moving machinery to trucks, and not that long ago a mate got me to move his Commodore.
I don't understand how they can pass Australian Standards with such bad rear vision. Yet they do.
I was pulled over the other week for my High Lift Jack being where it is. The Highway patrolman didn't even know what it was. After explaining to him that it meet RTA guide lines, It is behind the Bullbar, My line of vision is not impeded, and it meets their requirements as the distance to the bitumen from eye, is 9.6 meters and the requirement is 11.4 ? 'cant remember exactly' . I pointed out to him 4 cars that had driven past with fishing rod holder sticking out the front, which he choose to ignore, and two push bike rider without helmets. I have come to the conclusion the the Law is an Ass. And the Happy Clappers and Do Gooders need to get a Life.

Rant over.

By the way It's fairly well pouring down here ATM, like monsoonal rain.

FollowupID: 609414

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 20:00

Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 20:00
Its absolute rubbish that they take up more space on the road.
I have a VX Commodore and a 100 series Cruiser and they are exactly the same length so why would the cruiser take up more room.
As a regular driver of large vehicles I would say that I have much better vision from the Cruiser than the Commodore and as I have a reversing camera it has better rear vision than any car.
Most of the idiots on the program wouldnt have a clue.
Have they ever driven one to see what its like, I doubt it

Going through a school zone I would rather be in the Cruiser or the bus I normally drive than a Corolla or similar.

However in my area a woman in a 4wd is a scary thing They seem to think they own the road around here and tailgate like mad, rarely observe speed limits and most of the vehicles dont seem to have indicators.

Was tailgated by one recently talking on the phone with one had and gesticulating furiously with the other whilst driving less than 2 metres behind me.
She doesnt any more since the cops went round and discussed the situation with her. Great things personalised plates!!!!!

I bought mine to tow a van and as the rig is worth $140,000 I cant afford a 3rd car so they can get st***ed.
As long as you drive correctly and considerately there are no worries at least from my end anyway.

Just the usual quiet season attention grabber IMHO

AnswerID: 341760

Follow Up By: Angler - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 20:30

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 20:30
Graham,

Ir hope your corolla is not a 4WD wagon or it will be sent off the road with the terios drivers.

Angler
FollowupID: 609574

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 22:44

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 22:44
You didnt read the post correctly
I said
Going through a school zone I would rather be in the Cruiser or the bus I normally drive than a Corolla or similar.

I cant actually drive a Corolla as Im nearly 6ft 3in and have trouble with headroom etc

FollowupID: 609589

Reply By: garryk - Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 20:11

Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 20:11
G'day
If the companys that sell 4WDs and advertise them on those channels that give this screwlose idiot airtime were to withdraw their adverts for a month or 3 whenever this crap is broadcast we should hear less of him

Garry
AnswerID: 341764

Reply By: Member - Rod N (QLD) - Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 20:34

Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 20:34
They must be bad. Pixie Skase said so.
It's the same old journalism rule, 'Why let the facts get in the way of a good story', or 'Will this lift the ratings'.
AnswerID: 341769

Follow Up By: Goona - Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 20:44

Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 20:44
I thought that was a classic getting Pixie Skase to report on some thing she would I assume know very little about. Where is journalism going? They could have got someone better than that.
FollowupID: 609429

Reply By: Member - Linda M (VIC) - Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 20:46

Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 20:46
Yes, 4wds are no good for pedestrians and in our increasingly crowded cities, I can see how the two don't mix very well. Neither do trucks, vans and other vehicles that are even larger.But I agree, it is just a slow news week. The other stories on the show prove that. All recycled, re-hashed 'no-one is working over Christmas so get the file footage out'. As a city based 4wd owner, I am annoyed that the 4wd has been singled out to demonstrate that it is being used for its intended purpose. Many of these arguments are designed to win over popular opinion with the old story about 4wds that never leave the tarmac. Does anyone care if a truck is not carrying a load when it has an accident? Or if a tow-truck isn't towing? Or a delivery van isn't delivering? Or when a Sandman doesn't have a mattress???
No one questions if they are being used for their intended purpose.
There are 4wds in the city that do a lot of off road work. Mine does.That's precisely why I bought it. I tried going on an ungraded Gibb river road with a 2wd and came to grief. I drive my 4wd as little as possible around town but sometimes I have to go through town to get to a destination and some goon thinks I'm just trying to part of toorak tractor set (if only!). I drive in the city(melb) every day and I'm a pedestrian in the city every day. In Little Collins and Little Bourke St hardly any pedestrian obeys the traffic signals, me included. There's bound to be trouble. If we take risks as a pedestrian, we will come off second best with any motorised vehicle. I am sure we will all soon be paying some sort of tax to drive our 4wd though the eastern state's capital cities.Graham (post 341760), I'll let you off the hook with your comment about female 4wders. Because I know you're in Queensland so it could be true ;-)
AnswerID: 341770

Reply By: Robnicko - Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 20:55

Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 20:55
It started on 3aw this morning before 9am. Seems as though they might be affiliated. Surpisingly thy even had the RACV spokesperson saying the usual garbage about 4wd's being dangerous and not for City use. However when the RACV person was asked about statistics regarding 4wd accidents he did a Bondy and had a momentary loss of facts.

The problem is that people are taught to 'pass' a driving test and not how to drive. 12 Years I've had my 4wd and never received a ticket nor been pulled up by the Police, except at random breath tests.

Silly season is still going!
AnswerID: 341773

Follow Up By: ddr - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 08:20

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 08:20
Shame I missed that, id be calling RACV now & asking them to explain how they can happily take my money for insuring my 4wd & wanting it off the road at the same time.

Maybe we need to take a stance here too, the companies supporting this trash need to be told that they will get NO custom from us if they continue the diatribe.
FollowupID: 609476

Reply By: Wherehegon - Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 21:05

Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 21:05
Ok so their talking 4wdrives not all wheel drives, so if there saying 4wd then they should also be looking at the Jimny's, vitara's, subaru, all have transfer case so classed as a 4wd. I read in the paper yesterday about the wanker scooby doo raving on about 4wd's. This jerk has no idea. We had a VX s pack commodore and currently have prado. The commodore was wider,longer pain in the a r s e to see out the back of and hard to judge when reversing into a parking spot, Yes it used less fuel, big deal !!, If a pedestrian is stupid enough to walk out from a dont walk sign (like they do) dont look when stepping off the curb, or running across the M4 like I have seem them do, it's not going to matter what Im driving, commodore,yaris,patrol,prado at 110klms you dead meat simple as that. This was the w a n k e r that said if you drive a big 4wd you have a little d@ck, so I also drive the wife's yaris so must be depending on what Im driving to how lucky I am. I would love to walk into this bloke on the street. WHG
AnswerID: 341776

Reply By: Member - Bevan (QLD) - Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 21:25

Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 21:25
RACQ/NRMA relesed and report afew months ago saying that 4x4 are safer then standard car and are less likely to have an accident then a holden or a ford, and the comment befor about woman behind the wheel of a 4x4 is true up here, they push in and cut off other 4x4 and smaller cars, i used to see this one shella often when driving my missus car, and she used to tail gate me something stupid and i slammed the brakes on and see had to drive onto the sholder, next time i seen her she stayed back a little bit more.
AnswerID: 341778

Reply By: Time - Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 21:57

Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 21:57
Simple question, why do people continue to watch, listen to or read trash.

Don't support tabloid trash and its advertisers, simple.
AnswerID: 341782

Follow Up By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 22:14

Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 22:14
Yes , loses a lost of credibility when it's slotted between stories like " Dog that can bark the alphabet "and the bread and butter of evening journalism " Australia's worst neighbours "

Glenn.
FollowupID: 609447

Follow Up By: 3.0turbob - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 09:02

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 09:02
Maybe they should have interviewed the dog..........sounds more intelligent than Scruby !!!!!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 609484

Reply By: David N. - Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 22:09

Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 22:09
"watch, listen to or read trash"

Sooo true.
I agree 100%- though your description is a tad too polite for me- Ha.

And as for Harold Scruby - why the hell does the moron get air time?
What a drop kick!
Cheers All- Have a happy new year!
AnswerID: 341783

Reply By: OzTroopy - Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 22:38

Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 22:38
Perhaps channel nine should read the proudly displayed article on scrubbys pedestrian council site ... where it gives details of his court case for deliberately attempting to run over a "pedestrian"

The individual is an attention seeking idiot and hypocrite ... More fool the media for supporting him ... proves they are not worthy of attention either.
AnswerID: 341788

Follow Up By: Cruiser .- Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 10:41

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 10:41
OzTroopy,

I have searched Scubby Doos website and cant find any reference to details of his court case for deliberately attempting to run over a "pedestrian"

This is the second time in a few weeks that reference to this has been made on here, but just cant seem to find it.

Can you please supply a link.

Cruiser .
FollowupID: 609502

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 11:34

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 11:34
Hey Cruiser,

My mistake .... there is only a reference to the incident on that site ... other details come up by wasting time sifting through the 'net ... was an exercise in futility I conducted a while back.

Site Link

FollowupID: 609508

Reply By: Wayne's 60 - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 00:27

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 00:27

as indicated before......... another quiet news week!!

What got me the most with the Perth ACA story..........
The GIANT 4WD child killer........... is a CRV... go figure.
Was also shown in the school zone behind a Mitsubishi Magna.

Harold should spend more time getting a real job, or teaching pedestrians how to cross roads. Which is why the Pedestrian Council was formed, saw it on the internet..... so it must be true.

Wayne.

AnswerID: 341799

Reply By: Dave B (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 00:29

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 00:29
Here is an interesting article about ACA and their own 4WD.
TV Crash

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

AnswerID: 341800

Reply By: Smudger - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 07:48

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 07:48
Trouble is, if the brodcasters don't hear from the Pro lobby (us) the only argument they'll hear is Harold Scrubby's.
They rely on ratings and subsequently advertising to survive and if they get the message that they've upset enough of their audience they will back off. The fact is we are a silent majority - the biggest seller on the market is a 4WD.
Email the broadcasters. If the right people get enough angry emails they will listen.
AnswerID: 341809

Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 08:04

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 08:04
That clown has too much time on his hands.

May I suggest he does another survey:
All serious injuries and fatalities on country roads.

I bet the figures would suggest that banning all non 4wds from country roads would save a whole lot of lives.

Imagine the guy would be lynched if he were to suggest sedans be banned from leaving the city gates.

Cheers.....Lionel.
AnswerID: 341813

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 08:53

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 08:53
The stupid bling-bling in front of the camera on Adelaide's version wound up by stating that one thing smaller cars have over 4WD's is that they cost less to fill up. Duh!

I switched off rather than waste my time watching more crap from Channel 9.

AnswerID: 341820

Reply By: landed eagle - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 09:08

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 09:08
I wonder if they've run this story with Ms. Grimshaw at the helm in the past?
As a horse tragic, I would expect that she's got a 4wd or two parked at home.
I'm just about to take delivery of a brand new Triton GLX/R dual-cab.Does Mr scooby doo expect a Toyota corolla to tow my caravan around Aust?
He's one of these guys that you would love to come across on the side of a soft edged road not able to get his car out of the slippery stuff on a wet day..............hang on ,that scenario wouldn't happen! He's from the pedestrian council......he would be walking everywhere......wouldn't he?
I live about 200 metres from the local primary school crossing. The stuff I see happen every morning as I walk my son to school is appalling!!! The number of mums dropping kids off from all manner of vehicles in such a way that motorists cannot see the crossing signs is shocking. I've given a few an earful when I cant walk across the crossing as they've parked on the zebra stripes!

I should film first day back next year and send it to the pedestian council and ask them to do something about this situation.(Earn their funding). A blanket ban on 4wd in pedestrian areas wont stop the small 4 pot drivers from doing dumb stuff.
AnswerID: 341822

Reply By: chisel - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 09:21

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 09:21
Half the people that say they don't want 4wds on the road probably have one in the garage without realising it.
AnswerID: 341829

Reply By: Member - John G- Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 09:22

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 09:22
Don't worry boys, Paris Hilton is back in town and Channel 9 can resume normal transmission!
AnswerID: 341831

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 31, 2008 at 05:44

Wednesday, Dec 31, 2008 at 05:44
Yes JG, checked your profile, and much as I detest your Territory of Origin, on some things we must agree. True?
True.
JH.
FollowupID: 609601

Follow Up By: Member - John G- Wednesday, Dec 31, 2008 at 09:41

Wednesday, Dec 31, 2008 at 09:41
Ah Jeff

I just can't help rising to the anti-Canberra bait.Canberra has two House of Reps members and two senators. The rest get picked by all you guys out there, and presumably they are your best picks!! even when you can only pick from what's on offer.

Give us a yell when you are next in town (doing what Ms Gillard says and spending your money in Australia - like most of us on this site probably do anyway) and we'll leave you impressed with Canberra. You can make up your own mind about the house of the hill and its denizens.

And yeah . . . I reckon we probably do agree on the short attention span of the media, and also how they enjoy knowing how to press the buttons of the 4WD brother and sisterhood.

avvagooday
FollowupID: 609615

Reply By: kingkennas - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 09:28

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 09:28
I remember a few years ago, they had an anti 4wd story on A Current Affair and one thing that they showed was a women double parking a maroon Pajero in a carpark and then going up and questioning her. I used to have to drive a street sweeper up and down the street in Burnley that the channel 9 studeos are on and it's funny, this same Pajero was parked in the staff carpark, this is why I say that they are rehearsing and recording the bad scenes of 4wd's on the road, if they were to properly record everything that they show, they would have to be driving around the road with a camera for a year, remember to, half the time they show American footage. The guy from the pedestrian council even tries to stop trucks, pedestrians wouldn't have shoes and clothes to walk in without trucks, he's a real psycho.
AnswerID: 341832

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 11:15

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 11:15
I really dont know who or what this Harold Scrubby is as I usually turn off to this sort of crap, but he certainly isnt stupid.
Sounds to me he's got everyones attention just like he planed.
I reckon there was something about this in the NT News (like I said, I skip over $hiit like this usually) I might have to go read it now!!!
Damn that man is good.

AnswerID: 341843

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 11:56

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 11:56
Your absolutely right Hairy,

Hes a professional agitator ..... very professional.
FollowupID: 609509

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 31, 2008 at 13:03

Wednesday, Dec 31, 2008 at 13:03
From his own web site Scruby Article

"Gavin Goeldner, a Queensland road safety activist, dismisses Scruby as a zealot without a rational viewpoint: "It's pretty clear that Scruby has almost single-handedly set up the PCA as a vehicle to advance his political career and his oddball views."

Goeldner suggests parts of the media portray Scruby as an expert on all road safety issues.

"We should question both his motives and the appropriateness of the [PCA's] funding from the NRMA, NSW Motor Accident Commission and RTA of NSW. It is almost like the government is happy to cop some of his more outrageous outbursts as long as he leads the cheer squad for speed cameras and other draconian enforcement methods."

FollowupID: 609640

Reply By: kingkennas - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 15:17

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 15:17
If you haven't seen it, go to www.ninemsn.com.au/aca, go to the videos link and it's in there, called 'The four wheel drive debate'.
AnswerID: 341863

Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Wednesday, Dec 31, 2008 at 12:38

Wednesday, Dec 31, 2008 at 12:38
Vans (delivery vans, campervans, people-movers) obstruct the view of the road as much as 4WDs.

If I see a vehicle belching out smoke from the exhaust, it's more likely to be an ancient van than a 4WD.

Have you ever once heard of a "ban vans from cities" or "only let those who really need them own vans"

This should make it clear how totally stupid and illogical the anti-4WD arguments are. Thesea rguments are just from people who are envious because they can't afford a 4WD, their wife won't let them buy one, or they're scared they wouldn't know how to drive a 4WD.

Whenever you hear talkback radio waffling the anti-4WD drive argument, ring and say you want to Ban-the-Van. Wait and see how it takes them to realise how stupid the anti-4WD arguments are.

What next ? You won't be able to buy a five-seater Commodore/Falcon if you only have one child, because you are wasting resources ?
AnswerID: 341951

Reply By: autosparky - Wednesday, Dec 31, 2008 at 19:25

Wednesday, Dec 31, 2008 at 19:25
its going to be fun to see the reaction of these people when they get to see the coppers in melbourne running around in their hummers!!!!!!!
AnswerID: 342014

Reply By: Stu-k - Wednesday, Dec 31, 2008 at 19:40

Wednesday, Dec 31, 2008 at 19:40
Their right, I only brought my 4b to look cool. Gunna sell it and buy a barina to tow my 2 ton work trailer and put a set of roof racks on it to carry my tools.
When i get to a building site that is mud or to rough the owner can carry in the tiles/glue/sand and my tool when I have to park on the street....cause Im sure he hates 4bs to.

Just think of the lives i will save....anyone know what a barina is like on the beach?
AnswerID: 342018