Post on this thread, your home grown ideas and innovations on your Vehicle...

Submitted: Saturday, Jan 10, 2009 at 21:12
ThreadID: 65000 Views:4212 Replies:7 FollowUps:23
Hi Everyone!! Here is an opportunity to post all your ideas, home made and also improved copies of accessories you have either made or had made for you. There are heaps of good ideas out there that you only see when you bump into someone and have a look around their vehicle. Most people are happy to share their ideas but that can often lead to even better ones. How about a photo or two and a brief word about your home grown accessories made for your vehicle and or camper or off road trailer!! Michael

Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Jan 10, 2009 at 21:31

Saturday, Jan 10, 2009 at 21:31
All you have to do is to think up some gadget and do a SEARCH and you might just find it here

You replied to a post a few days ago wanting a stick from me. That post did not get much following although it was aimed in the same direction as yours.

Maybe you can ask David if he would like to create a separate page for something like this and those who are interested could display their gizmos

AnswerID: 343625

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Saturday, Jan 10, 2009 at 21:49

Saturday, Jan 10, 2009 at 21:49
Hi Willem! I did in fact put that to David some time ago but he was in the middle of other things and said it wasnt a priority at the time. He did mention that most of the best posts that were saved based around that kind of thing were in camping and other areas. It wasnt exactly what i was thinking.. There is no shortage of good ideas put to practical use out there.. Michael..

FollowupID: 611449

Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Sunday, Jan 11, 2009 at 06:51

Sunday, Jan 11, 2009 at 06:51
Willem. I agree a page would be good for people to post. There would be a million Ideas and ways to mount accessories. The one I researched was how to clamp down a slide on camper. It would have been great to see a page of others ideas. I would have done mine another way if I had seen some others. It would be a great help for others. Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 611478

Reply By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Saturday, Jan 10, 2009 at 21:49

Saturday, Jan 10, 2009 at 21:49
Gee, I could go all day on this one,Cruiser-rear wheel carrier/bumper, draw system, tilting fridge slide, work light Tambo Camper-stone guard, wheel carrier, high lift jack holder, flip over rack, pole carrier, tail gate kitchen, slide out pantry, extended draw bar, extra jerry can holders, jockey wheel handle lock.......if any one wants a specific picture, just ask.
AnswerID: 343627

Follow Up By: Zukscooter - Saturday, Jan 10, 2009 at 22:47

Saturday, Jan 10, 2009 at 22:47
Nick there is something that you have missed & i am sure i am going to need to use it please hurry & find it as i am going away soooooooooon.
Thanks Mate :))
FollowupID: 611459

Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Sunday, Jan 11, 2009 at 06:58

Sunday, Jan 11, 2009 at 06:58
Nick - That is what Michael is talking about. It would be great to have a section where you could pull up a modification/accessory you are looking at doing and see posted pictures of ones people have done. Would give you the needed ideas to design your own. I am all for it. Could even post a slide on camper design. Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 611479

Follow Up By:- Sunday, Jan 11, 2009 at 12:06

Sunday, Jan 11, 2009 at 12:06
Hi Nick,

I would like to see pictures of the following if you have them;

Cruiser-rear wheel carrier/bumper,
high lift jack holder,
flip over rack,
pole carrier,
slide out pantry

Always looking for ways to improve and modify.

Certainly would be good for the site to have this

Evan
FollowupID: 611509

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Sunday, Jan 11, 2009 at 12:24

Sunday, Jan 11, 2009 at 12:24

Can lock it up vertical or like shown in picture.

Will have to take a few of the pantry and high lift jack mount.
FollowupID: 611513

Follow Up By:- Sunday, Jan 11, 2009 at 15:28

Sunday, Jan 11, 2009 at 15:28
Thanks Mate
FollowupID: 611524

Reply By: equinox - Saturday, Jan 10, 2009 at 23:00

Saturday, Jan 10, 2009 at 23:00
Not an accessory as such but an idea which I haven't used for years now.

If you are having problems with the engine running a bit hot it helps sometimes to put the heater on in the vehicle. This takes away a bit of heat from the the engine.

AnswerID: 343636

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Sunday, Jan 11, 2009 at 08:02

Sunday, Jan 11, 2009 at 08:02
Alan, with the Nissan ute that is now a farm ute, when towing heavy loads the engine heats up enough to shut down the aircon. The obvious thing to get the aircon going again was to run the heater. Roachie used to have those problems I remember before he bought the V8. Not the sort of running you want at 40 degrees outside to run the heater:-((
FollowupID: 611482

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Saturday, Jan 10, 2009 at 23:24

Saturday, Jan 10, 2009 at 23:24
I want someone to invent a tyre inflator using your exhaust gasses (similar to the bag jack pumped up by your exhaust) but stuffed if anyone in my circle of friends has come up with the goods so good luck to anyone with the know how......just give me the first one for free at least hey?

Cheers, Trevor.
AnswerID: 343640

Follow Up By: Member - Robert M (QLD) - Sunday, Jan 11, 2009 at 00:47

Sunday, Jan 11, 2009 at 00:47
Hi Trevor, there was one many years ago called a Menzel (spelling) pump, it worked on petrol engines, you removed a spark plug and screwed in the hose end and connected the other end to your tyre and run your engine. Don't know if it would with modern EFI petrol's as I haven't owned a petrol 4WD since about 1984, one FJ40 Shorty as per photoImage Could Not Be Found
FollowupID: 611468

Follow Up By: Member - Robert M (QLD) - Sunday, Jan 11, 2009 at 00:49

Sunday, Jan 11, 2009 at 00:49
oops it was early 83 I sold it
FollowupID: 611469

Follow Up By: Welldone WA - Sunday, Jan 11, 2009 at 00:50

Sunday, Jan 11, 2009 at 00:50
G'day Trevor R
I made a "tyre inflater" that doesn't run off the exhaust gases but is powered by the engine . It consists of an old air-con compressor [one with a sump not a rotary ] driven from the motor via a fan belt and extra pulley activated by a swicth on the dash . A high temperature/pressure hose comes from the compressor to tank,"an out of date" 4.5kg BBQ gas bottle, that has a fitting for the hand piece hose and 150psi safety relief valve. This home made system cost $110 [$70 HT/P hose an fittings from ENZED ,$40 compressor from the wreckers and the tank was free from a "bring out your dead" verge pickup] 17 years ago and has been used reliably ever since . It can pump up a tyre as fast as you can let it down and I have reseated tubeless tyres with it . In all those years I've not seen a commercial automotive compressor out-do it for both speed and number of tyres it'll pump up , and because of that I took out of my old HJ45 and reinstalled it in the HJ61. However you do need some room under the bonnet for the compressor.
FollowupID: 611470

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Sunday, Jan 11, 2009 at 07:30

Sunday, Jan 11, 2009 at 07:30
Robert M, yep still got one of them and works fine.

Cheers.....Lionel.
FollowupID: 611480

Reply By: Member - Bucky, the "Mexican"- Sunday, Jan 11, 2009 at 07:47

Sunday, Jan 11, 2009 at 07:47
Michael
Great idea mate !
Maybe the people at Explor OZ can set up another tab.. I am sure it will get lots brilliant ideas..

What about it Michael ?

I have heard you can mount an old stuffed Air conditioner compressor to your pully system, of your engine, switch it so it used SFA power from your engine, and set up your tyre inflation system off that. After all that's all it is, a compressor, 2nd time around, it pumps air.

AnswerID: 343655

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Sunday, Jan 11, 2009 at 18:18

Sunday, Jan 11, 2009 at 18:18
Gday Bucky, A few weeks ago on a thread about Cape York, someone mentioned that their Kaymar rear mounted light had rattled to bits. I make most of my gear, enjoy making it better and apart from that, saves some money. But i was actually going to buy one of these to save fiddling around, as i'm in the middle of renovating my house.. Within a few minutes, two others said in response to that reply that they had a similar problem with Karmar lights and they were basically not up to it, So i decided to make my own after all.. So I used some flat black steel 40mm x6 thick and cut a piece and shaped it to fit the top two bolts of the wheel carrier of the GU. Shaped a vertical piece that fitted around the wheel and welded them together. Flat steel enabled me to get the vertical piece between the wheel and the door without making a spacer, so the job was very simple. My brother has a small powder coating system for home use, so he did the black paint for me.. I had an old 100mm aircraft landing light, sealed beam from the seventies, so the light was at no cost.. I used small Anderson plugs about 100mm from the light and they can be unplugged and my fluoro camp light can be plugged into this on the outside of the vehicle.. The downside is that the light is not adjustable from side to side or up and down, it is basically a reversing light and an emergency late camp setup light. Some pics of the whole thing fitted.. cost me only for the wiring and the switch and looks ok.. This is the sort of content i was thinking about for this post, pics attached. MichaelImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be Found

FollowupID: 611563

Reply By: Member - Mark E (VIC) - Sunday, Jan 11, 2009 at 21:11

Sunday, Jan 11, 2009 at 21:11
Might as well contribute a little one........

Works well for hats jackets and a few bits of light stuff.

Net came from a fishing type net maker. Plonked it in myself. Not REALLY home made but my idea......

AnswerID: 343781

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Monday, Jan 12, 2009 at 21:03

Monday, Jan 12, 2009 at 21:03
Good one Mark!! Its amazing how people think and see their particular needs and respond to them by putting the ideas into practice... We need an area on this site for innovations!! Michael

FollowupID: 611822

Reply By: awill4x4 - Sunday, Jan 11, 2009 at 21:27

Sunday, Jan 11, 2009 at 21:27
I guess you could call it an "accessory" but here's some pics of a very different water to air intercooler a friend and I are building.
Regards Andrew.

AnswerID: 343783

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Monday, Jan 12, 2009 at 10:24

Monday, Jan 12, 2009 at 10:24
Saw the pics the other day Andrew,, fantastic!!! Michael

FollowupID: 611689

Follow Up By: Member - Mark E (VIC) - Monday, Jan 12, 2009 at 21:17

Monday, Jan 12, 2009 at 21:17
Looks kike something you found that fell off the Space Shuttle...................... ;-)

FollowupID: 611827