peoples jobs

Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 12, 2003 at 21:47
ThreadID: 6535 Views:3594 Replies:66 FollowUps:67
hi all im just a interesed in what people from this forum do for a living.
you never know when you might need some help with something not automotive.

thank you all and have a good day at workgot over no fraser.
get on with life(more weekend fun)

Reply By: Member - Rick (S.A.) - Tuesday, Aug 12, 2003 at 21:53

Tuesday, Aug 12, 2003 at 21:53
Currently - sales of veterinary pharmaceuticals

Proir - rural merchandise

Prior - sales of animal health products

Prior - running sheep & cattleRick (S.A.) - ' It is better to travel hopefully than arrive'
AnswerID: 27633

Reply By: Eric - Tuesday, Aug 12, 2003 at 21:57

Tuesday, Aug 12, 2003 at 21:57
Wholesaler (cars) past 8 years
Motormechanic by trade
AnswerID: 27636

Reply By: Martyn (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 12, 2003 at 22:06

Tuesday, Aug 12, 2003 at 22:06
Diamond,
Seeing as I'm still logged on I'll go, I work for a large petro chemical company, Green & Gold as a Machinery Specialist, looking after the maintenance and reliability issues associated with pumps of varying sizes, compressors (various sizes and configurations), steam turbines again various sizes and configurations, been doing thsi for about 26 + years. My wife is a school principal / teacher who now has her own home tutoring business, she's been teaching for around the 20 odd years as well, she's also a professional Suzuki Sierra driver. Keep the shiny side up
AnswerID: 27638

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 00:43

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 00:43
Ok Martyn so you're at Kwinana?
I am at Kurnell for another Petro-Chemical Company, the one with the Star except I drive the type of equipment that Martyn maintains. Been there for over 21 years now. Previously a Telecom Tech.Cheers
waynepd
%
%:-)
%
FollowupID: 19072

Follow Up By: Martyn (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 08:49

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 08:49
Waynepd,
Correct, I'm wating for Ferret to stick his oar in he's also here and also a driver of the equipment.Keep the shiny side up
FollowupID: 19079

Reply By: Member - Bob L - Tuesday, Aug 12, 2003 at 22:27

Tuesday, Aug 12, 2003 at 22:27
Diamond,
I'm an ex banker and have been in the communications field for past 10 years. We sell mobile phones,uhf,cb,2way,gps etc etc. but my main purpose as service manager is to supervise the installation of above to motor vehicles and repair of same.
Love 4WD,GPS,Oziexplorer/moving map,Digital Photography,Amateur Radio. Yep they all go together.
Cheers Bob

AnswerID: 27643

Follow Up By: Member - Neil - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 08:23

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 08:23
Bob Any good deals on GPS'S Neil
GONE WOOP-WOOP
FollowupID: 19078

Reply By: Member - Oskar(Bris) - Tuesday, Aug 12, 2003 at 22:33

Tuesday, Aug 12, 2003 at 22:33
Sorry, no good to you
Fiddler & turner
No.... really I'm a Manual Arts Teacher
I'm not in the job for the holidays but if it wasn't for the holidays I wouldn't be in the job. (Would you??)
Oskar
AnswerID: 27645

Reply By: Member - Toonfish - Tuesday, Aug 12, 2003 at 22:41

Tuesday, Aug 12, 2003 at 22:41
A half decent chef looking for a half decent new job with hours that suit a high maintenance family (ie 5 day week not over 50 hours day shift preffered)
had one once gee i miss my old job .
lol
I am good at comms if anyone is looking?1999 NISSAN NAVARA DUALCAB
DIESEL 3.2 & SPRINGY CARLTON TOY
AnswerID: 27647

Follow Up By: wazza - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 09:29

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 09:29
I did mention last time I saw you that you are cooking for us when we have our next overnight trip?
FollowupID: 19082

Follow Up By: Member - Toonfish - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 10:00

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 10:00
Its amazing what i can cook up when im half cut in the woop woop1999 NISSAN NAVARA DUALCAB
FollowupID: 19084

Follow Up By: diamond (bendigo) - Thursday, Aug 14, 2003 at 20:11

Thursday, Aug 14, 2003 at 20:11
i must say he cooks a mean porterhouse/prawns/moreton bay bug.got over no fraser.
FollowupID: 19288

Follow Up By: Member - Wombat (Vic) - Friday, Aug 15, 2003 at 11:06

Friday, Aug 15, 2003 at 11:06
Can you tell us where you work Toonfish? Mrs Wombat is from Sastlemaine and we're up your way fairly regularly."Live today as if there may be no tomorrow"

Wombat
FollowupID: 19355

Follow Up By: Member - Toonfish - Saturday, Aug 16, 2003 at 16:29

Saturday, Aug 16, 2003 at 16:29
Now worries Wombat
e-mail me of the forum
u know with all this privacy act crap?
lol
decuisine1@iprimus.com.au

cheers1999 NISSAN NAVARA DUALCAB
FollowupID: 19460

Reply By: mik*2 - Tuesday, Aug 12, 2003 at 22:43

Tuesday, Aug 12, 2003 at 22:43
machine tool fitter

fitter/machinist by trade

mike
AnswerID: 27648

Reply By: Luke - Tuesday, Aug 12, 2003 at 22:51

Tuesday, Aug 12, 2003 at 22:51
Teacher - Advanced Diploma of Computer Systems Engineering - Northern Melbourne Institute of TAFE :-)

...ex Pastry Chef :-)
AnswerID: 27659

Reply By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 12, 2003 at 22:59

Tuesday, Aug 12, 2003 at 22:59
Registered Nurse, Intensive Care Unit.
AnswerID: 27660

Reply By: Slammin - Tuesday, Aug 12, 2003 at 23:19

Tuesday, Aug 12, 2003 at 23:19
Chef by trade. Wife is teacher. She does remote area teaching and I do tutoring and caretaker, gardner, carpet layer, butcher, boiler and candlestick maker. Jack of all but not yet jack of it.
Best job though was driving boats.
AnswerID: 27665

Reply By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Tuesday, Aug 12, 2003 at 23:41

Tuesday, Aug 12, 2003 at 23:41
been 18yrs in the electric motor repair industry_____________________________________________

Follow Up By: Member - Wherethehellawi - Thursday, Aug 14, 2003 at 17:13

Thursday, Aug 14, 2003 at 17:13
which co in Adelaide voxson...a hint will do if you dont want to sayWow! am I cute
FollowupID: 19260

Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Thursday, Aug 14, 2003 at 20:54

Thursday, Aug 14, 2003 at 20:54
elecmo services............... dry creek..........

are you in the game?_____________________________________________

Follow Up By: Member - Wherethehellawi - Friday, Aug 15, 2003 at 07:28

Friday, Aug 15, 2003 at 07:28
No but I use a competitor of yours. I am in the airconditioning gameWow! am I cute
FollowupID: 19334

Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Saturday, Aug 16, 2003 at 19:37

Saturday, Aug 16, 2003 at 19:37
a/c normally = statewide............_____________________________________________

Follow Up By: Member - Wherethehellawi - Monday, Aug 18, 2003 at 08:38

Monday, Aug 18, 2003 at 08:38
why do we all use him?
its a habit I guess
same as engineering,metal turning and fan removel from worn shafts work and making new shafts for fans etc we all use Schmidts on richmond road
Wow! am I cute
FollowupID: 19566

Reply By: awill4x4 - Tuesday, Aug 12, 2003 at 23:52

Tuesday, Aug 12, 2003 at 23:52
Boilermaker/Welder specialising in racecar (sprintcar) fabrications. Specialised TIG welding on Chrome/Moly, Aluminium, Stainless Steel and even Titanium at times.
Regards Andrew.
AnswerID: 27670

Reply By: athol - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 00:54

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 00:54
I'm a fitter and machinist / plant operator , operating a large gas plant in Port Kembla. I just love these 12 hr night shifts.:-(
AnswerID: 27676

Reply By: steve c - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 01:44

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 01:44
hi diamond,
I'm a medic working on diving and construction ships both in Africa and the North Sea, where I'm sitting right now, can't wait to get back home after a month away.
My wife is a Sister in Intensive Care.
AnswerID: 27678

Follow Up By: Wazza (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 05:36

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 05:36
Hey Steve, ever worked on a seismic ship?? We have medics on here, but Indo guys from SOS International in Jakarta. We had other guys on our boats when I was over in Angola.Cheers,
Wazza
----------------------
FollowupID: 19073

Follow Up By: wazza - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 17:18

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 17:18
Arrr, know how yhou feel. I used to fly Luanda-Paris-Singapore-Melbourne on the way back cos somehow our company found it cheaper.
FollowupID: 19131

Reply By: Deano - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 02:03

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 02:03
Web designer/portal operator last 5 years, previously a painter, gimme a mouse over a brush any day.
AnswerID: 27679

Reply By: Yarn - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 03:19

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 03:19
G'day to all,
I run a group of Camping and Outdoor Stores in Sydney and the Central Coast, If I can help anyone out with Gear or answer any Questions Let me know.
Yarn
AnswerID: 27680

Follow Up By: Member - Jack - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 07:04

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 07:04
G'day Yarn
Better let me know which stores, as I am on the Central Coast. I spend a bit on camping gear, so it may as well go to someone I *know*, via this forum.
Email me private if you wish at jeller@bigpond.net.au

Oh .. for the rest .. retired General Manager (Commerical Radio), now a "grey nomad" on a War Service pension. And happy!!!

JackAustralia - If you don't love it, leave!!!
FollowupID: 19075

Reply By: ben - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 03:24

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 03:24
worked as a fitter/machinist in aus , but now living in the UK .
love reading the posts about australia and can't wait to get back to tackle the canning stock route.
previously done the kimberleys and cape york. man we have a great country, and i miss it every day.
c ya soon
AnswerID: 27682

Reply By: Wazza (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 05:26

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 05:26
I work for these guys:

Veritas DGC

on this boat:

Pacific Sword

as a Hydrographic Surveyor. Basically processing the navigation data recorded during seismic surveys (oil and gas exploration) and making sure we are in the right place! Currently up in China for another 5 weeks, just off Hainan. Work 6 weeks on and 6 weeks off.
AnswerID: 27683

Follow Up By: steve c - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 16:50

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 16:50
Wazza,
I worked off Angola,Gabon, Equatorial Guinea and Nigeria; working for Stolt. Our survey ship was hijacked by local pirates( no jobs for the locals) at New Year and held hostage for a week. Lucky you weren't on that one!
I work for a Dutch Co sub contracted to Subsea7.
Looking to get work in Asia as travelling to work for 30 odd hours to Scotland gets a bit much .
FollowupID: 19124

Reply By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 07:00

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 07:00
Hi Diamond,

I'm a fitter & turner by trade, run my own engineering business, doing project management for BHP and other's, maintaining plant machinery, worked on the Snowy River refit.

And I do a stack of favours for friends in my shed and on site...don't I Wombat!!..

Lyn's at home with the kids..hoping to do a post grad next year..

Al.1927 Oldsmobile Tourer

Corrugations...what are they?
AnswerID: 27685

Follow Up By: Willywags- Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 10:16

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 10:16
Oh good....I need a small welding job done....can I stand in the queue behind Wombat????
Always going somewhere
FollowupID: 19085

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 10:56

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 10:56
Willywags...

if you want to take the risk and stand behind Wombat be our guest...personally I'd stand to the side...:)

Lyn [Mrs. Al]

xxx Wombat...1927 Oldsmobile Tourer

FollowupID: 19091

Follow Up By: Willywags- Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 11:23

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 11:23
Is it part of his psyche or has he been eating something rotten?
Always going somewhere
FollowupID: 19093

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 11:41

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 11:41
Willlwags...known fact that Wombats make a hell of mess behind them...I"ll let you figure it out...

I;m sure Wombat will have something to say about it....xxx1927 Oldsmobile Tourer

FollowupID: 19095

Follow Up By: Member - Wombat (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 17:06

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 17:06
What is it - Pick on wombats week?"Live today as if there may be no tomorrow"

Wombat
FollowupID: 19127

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 17:09

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 17:09
Wombat...you know I care....:)

and I'm sure the time will come when it will be 'pick on Mrs. Al' week...1927 Oldsmobile Tourer

FollowupID: 19128

Follow Up By: diamond (bendigo) - Thursday, Aug 14, 2003 at 20:15

Thursday, Aug 14, 2003 at 20:15
what do they say about wombats.
eats roots and leaves.got over no fraser.
FollowupID: 19289

Reply By: jonny knowalittlebit - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 07:27

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 07:27
Royal Aust Navy
Marine Tech.
Dont do anything on the diesel mech side just the welding and fab side.
And waiting to discharge.................................
AnswerID: 27687

Follow Up By: diamond (bendigo) - Thursday, Aug 14, 2003 at 20:20

Thursday, Aug 14, 2003 at 20:20
not a dishonarable discharge is it lolgot over no fraser.
FollowupID: 19291

Reply By: Member - Neil - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 08:43

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 08:43
diamond
Im a superviser of a crushing and screening plant.
prev 6 yrs loader operator inc 2 yrs crushing & screening.
prev screenprinting & signwriting buss.
qual screenprinter.
jack of all trades master of one.
like my job
love my car
love my workshop
love my dog
oh yeh & the misses
and the ruggy

GONE WOOP-WOOP
AnswerID: 27693

Reply By: Matt (W.A.) - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 08:57

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 08:57
G'day Diamond,
I'm a Structural Designer in the Oil and Gas Industry and have been for the last 6 years at the Mo working for Woodside On the Low Preasure Train Project on the Goodwyn "A" Platform. Previous to that Structural Designer for Mining/Materials Handling Companys around Perth all up I've been in the Game for 13 Years Keep It On The Rough Stuff

Matt (W.A.)
AnswerID: 27694

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 11:21

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 11:21
Hi Matt,
Applied for an operator job when they commissioned that platfom. I missed out but a good mate of mine, also from the Kurnell refinery, got it, .
He now is involved with the Dampier (Not the right name exactly?) off Darwin, where another mate from the Kurnell refinery got a job about 5 or 6 years ago.

So that's 2 guys from over here and they both have red hair too, hmmm is there a thread here?

waynepd@yahoo.com.au
waynepd
%
%:-)
%
FollowupID: 19092

Reply By: Member - Alex B - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 09:19

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 09:19
Hi All, my business is 'Business and Personal Coaching', 'Sales and Marketing Training' and' Public Speaking'. In my past lives I was the GM for various companies – Transport, Fuel (the Australian one now the Star) and a long time in retail. Work form home,living in Melbourne...well physically -mentally i'm in the top end most days!
Still not too sure what I want to do when I grow up…:-))

Alex
AnswerID: 27698

Reply By: Member - Geoff & Karen - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 09:20

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 09:20
Hi Diamond,
We own and opperate a small transport company, mainly carting bulk dangerous goods (LPG) around the eastern states of Australia. Look forward to three or four days off once a month to hook the camper up and head into the bush.Kind Regards
Karen & Geoff
(Happy holidaying)
AnswerID: 27699

Reply By: Willywags- Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 09:38

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 09:38
Diamond,

Me.....I am on a disability pension......formerly Jack of all trades........degree in survival....always positive......self employed most of my life.......over 100 jobs in 40 years.....writer of 4x4 articles..........stirrer on Exploroz..........get on Member-Bob's goat(and a few others)...........been there done that..........only drive old rusted vehicles.........eccentric....part of the old school(7.50x16.. you'll know what I mean)...........into craft and art.........buy and sell junk...........play with me 4by and just love camping and adventure......do as many trips as I can.........spend too much time on the internet(when I am home).......

Always going somewhere
AnswerID: 27700

Follow Up By: Member - Bob - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 22:05

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 22:05
.....get on Member-Bob's goat(and a few others)....

Sorry Willem, hadn't noticed you trying for a while.Bob
FollowupID: 19171

Follow Up By: Williewags- Thursday, Aug 14, 2003 at 17:57

Thursday, Aug 14, 2003 at 17:57
I must try harder. What can I post that will really annoy you? I'll think of something. I'll sneak it in one day. I must say you do have quite a lot of spare time like me because you read all the posts thoroughly.
WillieAlways going somewhere
FollowupID: 19266

Reply By: d.b. - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 09:46

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 09:46
Mechanic, Ford Proving Ground Vic
Previously Diesel Mechanic William Adams Caterpillar Vic
AnswerID: 27701

Follow Up By: diamond (bendigo) - Thursday, Aug 14, 2003 at 20:18

Thursday, Aug 14, 2003 at 20:18
what do you do at fordgot over no fraser.
FollowupID: 19290

Follow Up By: d.b. - Friday, Aug 15, 2003 at 16:30

Friday, Aug 15, 2003 at 16:30
Not Much. Can't tell you really. Sorry!
FollowupID: 19391

Reply By: Ray M (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 09:52

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 09:52
I work on the tooling used in the manufacture of the Falcon engine.Hooroo
AnswerID: 27705

Follow Up By: d.b. - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 10:27

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 10:27
Which engine?
FollowupID: 19086

Follow Up By: Ray M (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 10:35

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 10:35
The Ford Falcon engine..I'm in Geelong also...hiHooroo
FollowupID: 19088

Follow Up By: Ray M (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 10:39

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 10:39
perhaps I should say the I6 engine.not the v8Hooroo
FollowupID: 19089

Follow Up By: diamond (bendigo) - Thursday, Aug 14, 2003 at 20:23

Thursday, Aug 14, 2003 at 20:23
any secrets you can let us in on for any new motors coming.
i wont say anything lolgot over no fraser.
FollowupID: 19292

Follow Up By: d.b. - Friday, Aug 15, 2003 at 16:31

Friday, Aug 15, 2003 at 16:31
Motors, as in Electrical ?
FollowupID: 19392

Reply By: Member - Karl - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 09:57

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 09:57
Diamond,

I am an Investigator with the Military Police Special Investigation Branch (SIB) - similar to a Detective in the Civy Police. I have just completed 20 years in the Army and at the end of the year I am posted to Perth, where after about 12 months I hope to have built my own home in the Hills Area and look for a new career.
AnswerID: 27707

Follow Up By: Member - Toonfish - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 16:03

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 16:03
shhhh you guys sneak in here with the humans?/
just kidding
are you headed to Scarborough?1999 NISSAN NAVARA DUALCAB
FollowupID: 19117

Follow Up By: Dennis (Brisbane) - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 23:17

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 23:17
Same as Karl,

We used to work together in Townsville,

Also getting ready for life after the Military.

Previously an Electrical Fitter/Mechanic in coal mining and power generation sites.
FollowupID: 19185

Follow Up By: diamond (bendigo) - Thursday, Aug 14, 2003 at 20:24

Thursday, Aug 14, 2003 at 20:24
we better be carefull what we say here lolgot over no fraser.
FollowupID: 19293

Reply By: Member - Glenn(VIC) - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 10:00

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 10:00
15 years in the Hospitality industry. Currently work for Fosters, but with the Hotel chain being floated on the Stock Exchange as a seperate Company, I will be working for ALH.Just Do It!

AnswerID: 27708

Follow Up By: diamond (bendigo) - Thursday, Aug 14, 2003 at 20:26

Thursday, Aug 14, 2003 at 20:26
hmmm.
work for fosters i like the sound of that.
next time we do a weekend trip you will have to bring some samples(lots) lolgot over no fraser.
FollowupID: 19294

Follow Up By: Member - Glenn(VIC) - Thursday, Aug 14, 2003 at 22:06

Thursday, Aug 14, 2003 at 22:06
Yes Diamond I would gladly share, unfortunately I will only recieve three more allocations of 2 slabs per month before we are separated from Fosters, and become a public company of our own. Will certainly miss the free beer, as you can imagine, it doesn't last long each month, especially if you get invited to "come and watch the footy" or "lets go and find some mud" or "the wife is going out I will be home alone, come and have a couple of quiet ones and help me look after the kids".

Oh well, back to spending $30+ per week to buy liquid gold.

Will make sure I will have at least one with you one day. I used to work in Bendigo (for 12 months managing the National Hotel), working for receivers. I am sure I will join at least one crusade that you are on.Just Do It!

FollowupID: 19318

Reply By: Member - Sam (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 10:05

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 10:05
Diamond,

I'm in IT.

Desktop/Network Support
System/Network/Database Admin
Basically anything IT related really.

But what I really wanted to be was.....a Lumberjack! (just one for the Python fans out there)

hooroo,

Sam.
AnswerID: 27709

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 13:09

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 13:09
Sam ...you're ok...1927 Oldsmobile Tourer

FollowupID: 19100

Follow Up By: bruce.h (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 13:21

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 13:21
sorry sam not till you change your name to bruce
FollowupID: 19101

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 13:24

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 13:24
albatros!1927 Oldsmobile Tourer

FollowupID: 19102

Reply By: Member - Glenn(VIC) - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 10:15

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 10:15
Hi Diamond,

Maybe you can suggest to David and Michelle to have a field added to Members Profile to enter occupations, that way you can see when viewing rig photos. Could even have a search engine for occupations that Members can access and seek assistance?Just Do It!

AnswerID: 27711

Reply By: mikeyandmary - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 11:26

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 11:26
I'm a science and maths teacher, my wife is a english and history teacher.

We don't get to choose our holidays, but we sure enjoy the amount of holidays.
:-)
AnswerID: 27718

Reply By: Member - Bigbear - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 12:33

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 12:33
Hi Diamond

Currently a school bud driver. Used to be a tour coach operater, so am now spending a lot of time going back and having a proper look at all the places I.ve been before. But this time without the tourists.

Bush Bappo's 4WD Club
Get out there & have a look
AnswerID: 27725

Reply By: Tony - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 12:35

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 12:35
Great responses for everyone, you never no who your talking to.

Cattle breeder. Murry Greys.

Ex Grey Funnel Line. 21 years.

Enjoy the bush thats why I live in it.
AnswerID: 27726

Follow Up By: d.b. - Monday, Aug 18, 2003 at 19:46

Monday, Aug 18, 2003 at 19:46
G'day Tony. I'm also breeding MG's
FollowupID: 19623

Reply By: bruce.h (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 12:47

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 12:47
Diamond
accountant says im ceo of a small company
tax man says im the piggy bank
wife say im a no good workaholic bum
kids say who the hell are you
i think im superman but in truth im just a signwriter
regards Bruce
AnswerID: 27727

Follow Up By: Member - Neil (N.S.W.) - Thursday, Aug 21, 2003 at 08:15

Thursday, Aug 21, 2003 at 08:15
hey Bruce,
I used to work in the sign ind had a shop down at Busselton
Scope Signs & Screenprinting worked 2yrs app with Mat Robinson in bussy.
GONE WOOP-WOOP
FollowupID: 19856

Follow Up By: bruce.h (WA) - Thursday, Aug 21, 2003 at 10:48

Thursday, Aug 21, 2003 at 10:48
Gday Neil
how long ago did you work down there ,the names dont ring a bell
Would have been hard to pack up & leave such a good spot, heading down that way for a break in couple of weeks
Regards Bruce
FollowupID: 19878

Reply By: Patrol22 (Queanbeyan - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 12:53

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 12:53
Recently retired from the Navy after 32 years and taken up a position as a civilian - still with Navy. Plan to work for the next 5 years until 'the handbrake' can access her super and then stay on the road for weeks.....months......years.......and some more years.
AnswerID: 27728

Reply By: MQ MICK - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 13:00

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 13:00
Jobs ay who has got the best job. Dont really know. My present job is a good one. I drive an old John Deere tractor on the beach towing gear trailers,for SA aquatics down at Pt Noarlunga beach. Prior-B/maker-welder.. Prior-Set builder Adelaide festval theatre..Prior-Steeplejack-B/maker-welder...Prior-Tuna fisherman in Port Lincoln early eighties...Prior-Refrigeration mechanic apprentice and tradesman....All of which have been quite interesting jobs....
AnswerID: 27731

Follow Up By: andy - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 18:50

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 18:50
So you would know Heather Little, Ash and Penny Roberts, John Belchamber, Lincon Pike and Dennis Douross and a few others. Small world eh!!!
FollowupID: 19143

Follow Up By: MQ MICK - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 21:23

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 21:23
Yeah very small world. Most of those guys are in the snow working at the moment.I caught up with JB and Dennis at Mt Buller in July.
FollowupID: 19159

Follow Up By: andy - Thursday, Aug 14, 2003 at 15:24

Thursday, Aug 14, 2003 at 15:24
Yeah thats how I know them. I live at Mt Buller and work with those guys here in Vic. Have been to the aquatic centre to visit the guys a few years back. Looks like a fun place to be (in summer).
FollowupID: 19242

Reply By: Member - Chris (Wollongong) - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 13:31

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 13:31
Security at present although hopefully not for much longer.

20 Hours away from my Commercial Pilots Licence. (Oh and 6 more exams)
AnswerID: 27734

Reply By: Old Jack - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 14:29

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 14:29
Engineering:- Refrigeration & Air Conditioning, Electrical/Electronics- instrumentation & process control, Information tech. Trade Cert's & Advanced Dip's. Worked as fitter machinist, have welding Certification, amongst other things
semi retired! did all of them because I kept getting bored!
AnswerID: 27739

Reply By: Julian - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 16:28

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 16:28
Manager of AV Staging and Computer Rental company.
Also part-time alpaca breeder.
Also part-time muso playing guitar in an old-gits rock&roll band.
Also qualified shipwright and yacht joiner.
AnswerID: 27746

Reply By: Member - Wombat (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 16:46

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 16:46
The Petticoat Government and I run our own advertising agency in Melbourne. I'd rather be on the banks of a wide river in the middle of nowhere, with a glass - make that bottle of good red, listening to the laughter emanating from my 18 month old daughter as she marvels at the wonders of the World."Live today as if there may be no tomorrow"

Wombat
AnswerID: 27751

Follow Up By: Member - Wombat (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 16:48

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 16:48
The rest of the time I just do what wombats do!"Live today as if there may be no tomorrow"

Wombat
FollowupID: 19122

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 16:50

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 16:50
whats' that?1927 Oldsmobile Tourer

FollowupID: 19123

Follow Up By: Willywags- Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 18:07

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 18:07
Work in an advertising agency....isn't that what all wombats do?Always going somewhere
FollowupID: 19136

Follow Up By: Member - Rohan K - Thursday, Aug 14, 2003 at 15:34

Thursday, Aug 14, 2003 at 15:34
Eats roots, shoots and leaves (as I understand it). Have you left yet, Wombat?Smile, you're on ExplorOz
Rohan (Sydney - on the QLD side of the Harbour Bridge)
FollowupID: 19244

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 14, 2003 at 15:46

Thursday, Aug 14, 2003 at 15:46
i didn't know you knew him Rohan :)1927 Oldsmobile Tourer

FollowupID: 19246

Follow Up By: Member - Wherethehellawi - Thursday, Aug 14, 2003 at 17:15

Thursday, Aug 14, 2003 at 17:15
What do wombats do Wombat???Wow! am I cute
FollowupID: 19261

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 14, 2003 at 17:20

Thursday, Aug 14, 2003 at 17:20
...perhaps it's best not know...1927 Oldsmobile Tourer

FollowupID: 19262

Reply By: Member -BJ (Sydney) - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 17:19

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 17:19
We own a small specialised transport company(crane trucks) last 18 yrs ,worked on & driven trucks & plant since 15. If you can drive it i have driven it.Regards Bob
Where to next
AnswerID: 27757

Reply By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 17:49

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 17:49
Diamond I am a carpenter builder have done so since I was 15 years old now 44 and have run my own show since 1980 . My wife is a hooker sorry works for lj hooker on average one day per week .Have 2 rug rats daughter 12 going on 20 and son 8 . We also run tag alongs for a couple of months of the year. Gives me a change from thumping nails and love that change. If you click on the logo on bottom of this reply it will go to our web site and in the photo section the big and very good looking man is me . So there you have it.
Ps maybe not that good looking .Cape York Connections
AnswerID: 27764

Reply By: Brian - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 18:52

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 18:52
Hi Diamond...
I am self empoyed Refrigeration Mechanic. Own business 3 years, 28 years exp all up... Sell, maintain and repair Domestic and commercial air conditioners and commercial refrigeration.
Based in SE Qld.
AnswerID: 27773

Reply By: Member - Stephen (Broken Hill) - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 19:12

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 19:12
Diamond,

I'm a Mining Engineer (in underground mines - not those nasty open pit types where there are flies and sunshine) ;-)

So if you want several thousand tonnes of solid rock turned into lots of little rocks - I can help.......

Stephen.Don't die wondering !!
AnswerID: 27777

Follow Up By: diamond (bendigo) - Thursday, Aug 14, 2003 at 20:30

Thursday, Aug 14, 2003 at 20:30
good to hear i was wondering what i was going to do with this several thousand tones of rocks the kids have dug up lolgot over no fraser.
FollowupID: 19295

Reply By: jaycee - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 19:41

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 19:41
Hi Diamond.
During the day i look after a franchise operation plus babysit a bunch of residential building managers. In the evening i try to live through PMT issues x 3. I sooooooo look forward to the weekends when i can escape to my brothers workshop and play with the trucks. You can guarantee there's always something i can find to fix on them!
AnswerID: 27781

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 20:03

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 20:03
Diamond,

Station manager, same employer for over 39 years.

I get paid to do what you blokes pay to do - drive a 79 series tojo turbo ute for work - and most of my driving is off road. Thats why I park the vehicles when it rains.

Think this might be a record thread, Diamond, good one.

Hooroo...

AnswerID: 27785

Reply By: Member - John (Penrith) - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 20:16

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 20:16
Diamond,

Public accountant doing tax returns for a living in my own practise at home.....but not for long. Winding up my practise in a months time, selling up and moving to Bathurst NSW. My wife and I are going to get casual jobs working 3 days a week, earn enough to to put food on the table and spend time camping and travelling. Want to do the big one around Aus. I'm 54 years old and I figure you only get one shot at life so do what you want to do when you can. I reckon when I get to the pearly gates St Peter won't give a rats how much money i had in the bank but he might be impressed if I can say i did every desert track in Aus.
AnswerID: 27787

Reply By: Shaun - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 20:56

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 20:56
Diamond,

Environmental Officer with a Council in North Queensland. Get to see some beautiful parts of the state and have a hand in protecting them from weeds and pest animals so we can all enjoy them.

Before that I worked for the Australian plague Locust Commission, travelling all over the eastern half of this continent looking for locusts.

Well done !
AnswerID: 27795

Reply By: Williewags- Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 20:57

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 20:57
Hey Diamond,

You might just beat Truckster for the longest thread and ther most posts

Willie
Always going somewhere
AnswerID: 27796

Follow Up By: diamond (bendigo) - Thursday, Aug 14, 2003 at 20:33

Thursday, Aug 14, 2003 at 20:33
i dont know about that one that was a big thread will be hard to beat but im tryinggot over no fraser.
FollowupID: 19296

Reply By: Member - Andrew (Bris) - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 21:51

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 21:51
Hey diamond,

Self employed plasterer for ten years.
Previously worked for a bank for 10 years and one day.

Great question. Goes to show how people from different backgrounds all have the same interests.
AnswerID: 27804

Reply By: Member - Alpaca (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 21:56

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 21:56
G,Day Diamond, Your a crusty extractor of information, but you don't give your monneyspinner. I think I recall reading a thread a little while ago that you were retyring but you could add a followup to your original post. PS I started out as a chippy, Then operated my own building business before deciding that growing oranges was the way to go to earn a fortune (Certainly got that one wrong) so now I manage building works for the state government. Hey at least now I get paid when I go on holidays.
My interests are the 4B truck, trippin,campin,photgraphin and Kayakin and in between I try to keep the handbrake interestin. Kids have vamoosed but at least they both have 4B's so I got somethin right.
We have a great club here in the Riverland that I'm actively involved in.
And no, I don't have nuthin to do with Alpaca's I'm just cute and hairy like them.Alpaca
AnswerID: 27806

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Saturday, Aug 16, 2003 at 14:48

Saturday, Aug 16, 2003 at 14:48
Alpaca..do you have big brown eyes and long eyelashes too.....xLaugh alot..life's too short not to....

the lad's "shed" !!!...or is that his castle?
FollowupID: 19453

Reply By: Allyn (Pilbara) - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 21:58

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 21:58
Crew Leader/Supervisor for BHP Billiton at their Briquette plant in Port Hedland for the past 5 1/2 years.
Prior to that 10 years with Chevron Texaco in an oilfield off the coast of WA. That's 15 years in the Pilbara so far and still going.
The 8 years prior to that with CBH (Grain Handling Cooperative) and also did 4 years as a bank johnny straight out of school.
Looking for a change soon but your guess is as good as mine. No trade & little education so probably more of the same.Next Trek - Callawa Rd
AnswerID: 27808

Reply By: Member - Bob - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 22:07

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 22:07
Diamond,
GPBob
AnswerID: 27815

Follow Up By: Williewags- Thursday, Aug 14, 2003 at 18:55

Thursday, Aug 14, 2003 at 18:55
I should have realisedAlways going somewhere
FollowupID: 19278

Follow Up By: Member - Bob - Thursday, Aug 14, 2003 at 20:49

Thursday, Aug 14, 2003 at 20:49
What Willem? Why I am such a caring compassionate guy?Bob
FollowupID: 19299

Reply By: Member - Rick - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 22:16

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2003 at 22:16
Diamond.

wife and i own a prime mover here in perth, just do metro stuff now, like to watch the bubs growing.
been behind the whell of one sort of truck or another foe the last 19 years.
run across the paddock that many times i've lost count,
up and down the west coast to darwin that often it aint funny,
played with the "mad as hatters" east coast drivers once to many,
and now take time off every now and then to go and have a look at the places i've roared past in a truck.
oh' and seen some of the most amazing sunrises this country has to offer.!!!

rick.
AnswerID: 27817

Reply By: Member - Russell - Thursday, Aug 14, 2003 at 11:31

Thursday, Aug 14, 2003 at 11:31
Aeronautical Engineer - RAAF - 22 yrs and counting...Russell S
Prado RV6
AnswerID: 27859

Reply By: Member - Wherethehellawi - Thursday, Aug 14, 2003 at 17:22

Thursday, Aug 14, 2003 at 17:22
Diamond,
I hope I'm not the last to place his CV

I'm have my own business in the airconditioning Industry. I am an airconditioning/refrigeration mechanic by trade and primarily work in the commmercial and industrial airconditioning sector, providing service, maintenance and installation.Wow! am I cute
AnswerID: 27908

Reply By: diamond (bendigo) - Thursday, Aug 14, 2003 at 20:48

Thursday, Aug 14, 2003 at 20:48
wow what a range of jobs i dont think we missed anything.
should be someone to answer any question posted i think.
well i better put my jobs in as well.

welder welding fire extinguishers together.
welder welding cargo barriers together.
body builer making bodies for backs of sec/telstra utes ect.
accesory fitter bull bars/ tow bars/and other asorted 4wd items.
trades assistant small buisness doing truck fleet servicing/repairs ect.
tyre fitter on site and work shop.
weldinig making augers and some hydraulic work.
tyres wheel alignments/roadworthys/mechanic.
and the usual every day things.
father
husband
cook
maintanance
dish washer
builder
painter
tiler
baby sitter
carpet layer. dont think i forgot anything lol
got over no fraser.
AnswerID: 27946

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Friday, Aug 15, 2003 at 08:55

Friday, Aug 15, 2003 at 08:55
Geez Diamond...

I think you're MY hero :)

LynLaugh alot..life's too short not to....

the lad's "shed" !!!...or is that his castle?
FollowupID: 19344

Follow Up By: diamond (bendigo) - Saturday, Aug 16, 2003 at 14:24

Saturday, Aug 16, 2003 at 14:24
i thought the world had enough superheros.
but i guess theres room for me and mr algot over no fraser.
FollowupID: 19451

Reply By: Member - Terry- Thursday, Aug 14, 2003 at 21:12

Thursday, Aug 14, 2003 at 21:12
Diamond, own a wholesale production nursery in W.A approximately 8 acres, mainly under varying degrees of shade and hot houses. Supply all major retail nurseries plus woolies ,coles big W etc. Nearly 20years at it ,great job but long hours.One wife ,2 kids and 1 dog.
Terry (W.A)
AnswerID: 27951

Reply By: Member - Howard- Thursday, Aug 14, 2003 at 22:22

Thursday, Aug 14, 2003 at 22:22
Its great to see you all have jobs and I hope pay your taxes because you've been paying my wages for the last 29 years , yep good old public servant , property manager for a government agency in canberra.
keep up the good work and in another 3-4 years you can pay my super so I can spend it all on fuel and grog doing the extended trips the govt wont give me time off to do properly.
howard
AnswerID: 27966

Follow Up By: bushbikie - Sunday, Aug 17, 2003 at 23:12

Sunday, Aug 17, 2003 at 23:12
Howard's your first name, right?
If not ......!
FollowupID: 19558

Reply By: StephenF - Friday, Aug 15, 2003 at 09:46

Friday, Aug 15, 2003 at 09:46
You can trust me - I'm a weather forecaster (shortly to retire, get a 4WD and hit the road.

Stephen.
AnswerID: 27993

Follow Up By: diamond (bendigo) - Friday, Aug 15, 2003 at 18:10

Friday, Aug 15, 2003 at 18:10
at least you will know the right time to go on holls lol
got over no fraser.
FollowupID: 19412

Reply By: srowlandson - Friday, Aug 15, 2003 at 13:20

Friday, Aug 15, 2003 at 13:20
I own my own 4wd Company

We do:

Online 4wd Magazine

Online 4wd Shop

Web Development and Hosting Company

Steve Rowlandson
Geelong Vic :)
AnswerID: 28007

Reply By: Lyds - Friday, Aug 15, 2003 at 21:58

Friday, Aug 15, 2003 at 21:58
Computer dude.Cheers,
Stuart
- To err is human, to moo bovine -
AnswerID: 28065

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Saturday, Aug 16, 2003 at 13:33

Saturday, Aug 16, 2003 at 13:33
Lyds have you got the new truck yet . We have five starters for our western wanderings Electric Joan and Saun are coming should be fun.
I will still keep a spot open if you want to come but let me know soon Also Graham and Vicky and kids are coming.
EricCape York Connections
FollowupID: 19446

Follow Up By: Lyds - Saturday, Aug 16, 2003 at 17:07

Saturday, Aug 16, 2003 at 17:07
The truck is almost here... a couple of weeks. I'll let you know about the trip when I know more about what I'm doing.

Stuart
- To err is human, to moo bovine -
FollowupID: 19461

Reply By: Glenos - Friday, Aug 15, 2003 at 22:32

Friday, Aug 15, 2003 at 22:32
Now, "Manager" of a 16,000 tree apricot orchard, guest house, funny farm in Richmond TAS. Entrepeneurial bosses who have fingers in every pie they can find, it's my job to hide the pies. They are also my parents so I tread a very fine line.

Previously, 5 employers in 4 years didn't leave the building. Basically a chemist in the BHP, Onesteel, Amdel, Gribbles QA Lab in Whyalla. Maintained calibration on big beige boxes that analyse steel, and grey boxes that analyse dirt (ore).

Starting my own business I'll send lots of spam when it's up and running. ;-) lol.

Wife, 3.8 kids (under 5yo), and a dog that lives on the funny farm.
AnswerID: 28069

Reply By: Member - Barnes - Sunday, Aug 17, 2003 at 20:06

Sunday, Aug 17, 2003 at 20:06
Hi diamond

I'm a Corrections Officer (parole officer) for the last 11 years.
he got a new woman, but I got the 4WD - I WIN
AnswerID: 28228

Reply By: bushbikie - Sunday, Aug 17, 2003 at 23:19

Sunday, Aug 17, 2003 at 23:19
Hi diamond!

Been playin' with pc's since early eighties.

Curently spending too many hours on a support help desk instead of getting away from it all :^(

Still, it helps pay for all the things I want to add to the truck :^)

Cheers!
AnswerID: 28256