Australia Day

Submitted: Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 07:47
ThreadID: 65420 Views:2871 Replies:27 FollowUps:8
This year I have been an Australian Citizen for 40 years.

I arrived here in 1968 with a heavy suitcase and a guitar and have spent a lifetime of doing things (called living) around the traps and in all states except ACT and Tassie. It has been a great life and I am very proud an honoured to be called an Aussie.

So now the two of us are off to Australia Day Breakfast in the Town Hall with all the other local residents and weekend visitors.

A Happy Australia Day to you all.

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 07:54

Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 07:54
Same to you, old feller :)

AnswerID: 345951

Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 07:58

Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 07:58
Hi Willem,
How many years did it take to learn the meaning of the word 'girt' ? :-))

AnswerID: 345954

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 08:03

Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 08:03
KK,

40 years ago "girt" wasn't well known. "God Save The Queen" was our National Anthem.

FollowupID: 613950

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 09:31

Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 09:31
Willem thought it said, 'dirt', so he been playing in the dirt ever since... Michael

FollowupID: 613955

Reply By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 08:23

Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 08:23
And a Happy Australia Day to you as well Willem!!

AnswerID: 345955

Reply By: landed eagle - Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 08:25

Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 08:25
should change the 'girt line' in the anthem to.....'our trucks are girt with dirt'
AnswerID: 345957

Reply By: Member - Keith C (NSW) - Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 08:26

Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 08:26
G/day Willem,right back at ya, glad to have you here,40 years eh., Hardly a blow in now,have a good day mate.
AnswerID: 345958

Reply By: Zukscooter - Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 08:38

Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 08:38
Aussie,Aussie,Aussie,Oi,Oi,Oi,
Good on you Willem
& all others who signed up to be ONE
of us who were born here

Happy AUSSIE Day.

Cheers Bob.
AnswerID: 345959

Reply By: didiaust - Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 09:04

Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 09:04
Happy 40th Anniversary Willem. Do you still have the guitar?

Today marks 10 years since I stopped smoking. I cost me then $10 a packet and I smoked a pk a day so even with out a price rise I would have saved $36,500 but I think my gaspers are now $17 so it's probably more like $50,000

Thanks for choosing Australia Willem- "you've done us proud"

Di
AnswerID: 345963

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 11:39

Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 11:39
Hi Di

Yes still have a guitar though seldom find time for it. Old voice is cracked up now and it takes copious amounts of amber fluid to get the vocals going again....LOL

Yeah I gave the dreaded stuff away 34 years ago and still suffer for it. "Twas a dumb idea in the first place but we were young and invincible then :-)

Enjoy your day

FollowupID: 613973

Follow Up By: Rolly - Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 16:06

Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 16:06
COPD = Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease; a coverall name for such ailments as emphysema and bronchitis.
It catches up with almost all smokers and ex-smokers eventually.
Worse if you live in a city.
Type COPD into wikipedia all you who think that smoking won't affect you adversely.
I quit in 1983 and it is only in the last two years that symptoms have presented.
I tell you, baby, it don't half slow you down.
And there's even more pills to pay for every month.
FollowupID: 614004

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 09:14

Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 09:14
Hi Willem and All

Happy AUSTRALIA DAY to everyone, I just raised the Flag as we
do each year, Roast a Leg of Lamb on the Cobb and have a Beer,
then I'll reflect how far we have come as a Nation, yep we are
doing all right.

PS. We are going to cook a Damper (Love Damper and Syrup)

AnswerID: 345969

Reply By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 09:24

Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 09:24
Congratulations, Willem, we are proud to call you an Australian - in the true spirit of what being an Australian is all about - you have lived life doing what lots and lots of people only dream about and should be out doing.
AnswerID: 345970

Reply By: RV Powerstream P/L - Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 09:25

Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 09:25
Willum
Your it appears 40 years as an Aussie has enriched your life but but it can also be said that with both yourself and Judith Australia has also been enriched by your acceptance of Australia as your home.
Congrats
AnswerID: 345971

Follow Up By: RV Powerstream P/L - Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 09:27

Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 09:27
One day Ill learn to write and spell properly.
FollowupID: 613954

Reply By: Member - Dennis P (Scotland) - Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 09:26

Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 09:26
Very special day for me, too.
My eldest daughter was born on this day, 37 years ago while I was overseas in the Army. Took 2 days to get the telegram and another 2 months before I got to see her.

Happy Australia Day to all Australians wherever you are.

Dennis

AnswerID: 345972

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 18:04

Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 18:04
Gday Dennis,
My birthday today as well, I'm lucky, i get a hoiiday every birthday.. Actually my younger brothers was yesterday and my mothers is on Wednesday, my eldest sisters is on the 12th, my youngest sons is in the 14th and one of my nephews is on the 20th.. Thats what you call family planning.. Michael

Michael

FollowupID: 614026

Reply By: Member - William H (WA) - Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 09:43

Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 09:43
Good morning William

Welcome to Australia.

May you have many more years of travelling this great big land, ....enjoy your day.

Cheers for now......William......from.....Bunbury....WA.
AnswerID: 345974

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 09:44

Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 09:44
G'day Willem, happy Australia Day to you both, and here's hoping for many more.
I'd also like to wish those who don't have the day off as a holiday, a Happy Australia Day. All the doctors, nurses, paramedics and ambos, those in the armed services etc etc.
AnswerID: 345975

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 11:30

Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 11:30
Good on you Cobber!
A true Australian, regardless of where you were born.

I am a "native" Australian having been born and raised here and lived here all my life.
Love the Country
Love the Flag. (Don't even mind the corner bit)

Absolutely HATE the bloody Anthem. It is so boring, pompous and meaningless and does nothing to generate a feeling of Aussie patriotism in me.

Whine over and still a proud and patriotic Australian nonetheless.

Bill.

AnswerID: 345981

Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 11:46

Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 11:46
Well done Willem, I too have just returned from the Breakfast in our little town. Gets bigger every year. It is great that we Aussies
are now able to celebrate much more openly our love of "The
Best Country On Earth". Happy Australia Day to all......oldbaz.
AnswerID: 345983

Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 12:22

Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 12:22
Congratulations Willem on your 40yr anniversary, well done. From reading your threads, the things you and your wife do, the places you go and all the help you give out certainly makes you "True Blue Aussies".

Happy Australia Day to One and All.

Deanna

Simba, our much missed baby.

AnswerID: 345986

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 13:35

Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 13:35
Willem,

We have just returned from the big smoke (Gladstone), had to let the kids run wild with the Aussie Day celebrations. Fortunately the rain held off haha
They are now well rehearsed with Bob the Builder and have a heap of additional Australian flags bought home.

Just about to sit back and watch the cricket, hopefully your homeland loses today haha and the Aussies get up.

AnswerID: 345997

Reply By: Member - John and Val W (ACT) - Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 13:43

Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 13:43
Willem - Good onya mate!

For a different purpose, Val has recently compiled a yarn about what was special in 1969. (She'll have to add to it now we've seen your post!) It was a good year. We've uploaded the Australian part as a blog entry that might be of historical interest.

AnswerID: 345999

Follow Up By: Member - Matt & Caz H (QLD) - Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 14:37

Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 14:37
Hey John,
Read your blog - it was great - I was born in 1969 so it was of great interest to me.

(oops I guess Im 40 this year, how'd that happen........)

Caz
FollowupID: 613998

Reply By: Member - John T (Tamworth NSW) - Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 14:12

Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 14:12
G'day Willem and Judith,

I've just finished working in the heat while you lot are off enjoying yourselves - thank God for a few honest public servants (tongue firmly in cheek) who are out and about looking after the country on public holidays.

Happy Australia Day to you my friends and to all the rest of EO - be they members or otherwise.

And I'm B............. proud to be an Australian
John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619
"Argue for your limitations and sure enough they're yours" - Richard Bach in "Illusions"

AnswerID: 346002

Reply By: Member - Matt & Caz H (QLD) - Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 14:34

Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 14:34
Hey Willem,

Good on ya mate!!! I to became a citizen last year on 26th January - so I have now been an aussie for 1yr - we immigrated from the UK back in 1976 (I was only 7yrs back then) took me all this while to finally become fair dinkum!!!.

Aussie Aussie Aussie Oi Oi Oi

Caz
AnswerID: 346006

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 15:03

Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 15:03
Same to you and everyone else......

Heres how we were spending ours till half an hour ago.

Camping

Beach/Island cricket

Feed of yabbies

Canoeing

AnswerID: 346010

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 15:26

Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 15:26
Hairy......get a life mate.......hahaha.

Cheers.....Lionel.
FollowupID: 614000

Reply By: Rolly - Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 16:17

Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 16:17
I got my Citizenship papers in 1972 when Gough was scattering them around like confetti.
Best thing he ever did, I reckon.
Like you, Willem, I arrived with one hefty suitcase and a guitar (which I never, not ever, learned to play properly) but a few years earlier staight into a Melbourne heatwave having left Heathrow in snow and frost.

Happy Holiday to all of you.
AnswerID: 346026

Reply By: Madfisher - Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 17:08

Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 17:08
Happy Aussie day to You Willem. You have seen far more of the country then I who was born here. Have a good one
AnswerID: 346032

Reply By: Member - Axle - Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 17:59

Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 17:59
Hi Willem, The days almost over, i hope you had a good one!

!968 Eh!, The year of the HK Holden, VE Valiant, XT Falcon!.

just a few of the legends that got around this country for a long time!, Like your self! and still going...LOL.

AnswerID: 346044

Reply By: Sigmund - Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 18:09

Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 18:09
Me ole Dad was also a Willem, and arrived here in 1952 with a few suitcases plus missus and 3 kids in tow (not sure what the hitch was).

Willem was the name given to the eldest son in the family going way back when.

The country was good for him at his time.

As a civil eng he built quite a few of the pipelines that feed the Kiewa and Snowy hydro schemes. He worked hard all his life as an innovative engineer/manager, and died a 'paper millionaire'.

The family name normally given to subsequent sons was Ernst Sigmund. Hence my user name. But, he and Mum decided on 'Ernest' alone for their 4th and Cooma-born son, now they were in an Anglo country. Kind of a pity in a way, but they wanted to be accepted in their new land.

AnswerID: 346046

Reply By: Member - Luke (SA) - Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 22:49

Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 22:49
Good onya Willem, 40 years is a long time, I wasn't even a twinkle in the old mans eye back then.

Take it easy mate

Cheers Luke
AnswerID: 346098

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Tuesday, Jan 27, 2009 at 09:48

Tuesday, Jan 27, 2009 at 09:48
Good to hear from you Willem,

Congrats on the 40 years.

I got 'nationalised' in 1986, so a few years to catch up with you.
Best decision my parents ever made, dragging me out here.

Just spent Australia day at the local swearing in ceremony, the better half and I usually put on the morning tea for afters. Well, to be honest, she does most of the work. Great chance to talk to so many new aussies. Great range this year, an old Welsh guy who has lived here 55 years, and done the deed, a Bolivian family, couple of middle eastern families, and the few african families, a couple of Asian families, and a few European families, and I think one South African family. Great to see them all committing themselves to their new home.
AnswerID: 346129