HF Radio

Submitted: Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 13:29
ThreadID: 65567 Views:4702 Replies:14 FollowUps:15
Is HF radio worth the money. would be interested to hear from fellow travellers on there opinion. And will Power line Broadband destroy HF radio signal
Len

Reply By: Crackles - Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 13:50

Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 13:50
If you travel into remote areas, yes they are worth it. Other than the usual track condition or weather reports, location monitoring & long distance car to car chat, the real benifit is when something goes wrong. The way I see it if you break down out in the Simpson for example with a Sat phone you'd call Birdsville auto & they would for $5000 come & rescue you.
Alternatively with the HF you would call the VKS base station who would organize spares for a repair. Other members listening would come to your assistance, bring the spares in, offer technical advice or even tow you to the nearest town.
Plenty of simple 2nd hand units getting around for a reasonable price especially if not after a top of the line model.
Cheers Craig................
AnswerID: 346872

Follow Up By: Member - Len B (NSW) - Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 14:09

Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 14:09
Thanks for that Craig, thats the way I see it, yet a lot of people seem to think the sat phone is the answer okay the first up cost of HF is a litlle high but thats it, whereas the sat phone the costs are on going not to mention the call costs which are dearer then the $5000 tow job!!!!

FollowupID: 614943

Reply By: x - Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 14:35

Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 14:35
Len,

thats a funny question - its a bit like saying are 4WDs worth the money, or is spending thousands on diesel to travel the bush worth the money.

It all depends on your priorities. In absolute dollar terms you will get your dollars worth when you buy an HF radio, but some would say better to spend the money on food, grog or diesel.

An alternative for communication is the Satphone. You will get your money's worth there too but some get hung up on paying $2 for a call (even though they spent a hundred times as much on their last tank of fuel).

You do need some form of communication if you intend remote travel. So if you enjoy being part of the HF community, enjoy technology, or can gain some other benefit from ownership of the equipment then HF is money well spent and might climb high enough in your list of priorities to justify the purchase.
AnswerID: 346879

Follow Up By: Member - Len B (NSW) - Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 14:49

Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 14:49
Hi X
it would be a lot more friendly if I new your name as your reply sounded a little short. I will asume you missunderstood my point, Its not a funny question I am just trying to find the best alternative. I accept I need some form of good communication out there and the replies I have received so far tell me HF is the way to go and thanks for that

Len

FollowupID: 614955

Follow Up By: x - Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 14:59

Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 14:59
Len

sorry I didn't mean to sound short.

I have a Codan NGT, and an unlocked Yaesu ham radio as back up.

I also have an Iridium satphone.

I enjoy having the radios, but I use the phone more.

If I had to choose one device I'd go with the phone as it is far more useful (but not as much fun).

FollowupID: 614963

Follow Up By: Member - Len B (NSW) - Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 15:16

Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 15:16
Thanks Bob,

The Codan is what I am looking at Bob. I like to have a bit of fun so at this stage the HF has the vote. The Ham Radio sounds interesting. Have you heard anything about this power line broadband trial in Tassie. They reckon it kills Ham and HF radio signals a bit of a worry

Len

FollowupID: 614972

Reply By: Member - Leigh (Vic) - Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 14:41

Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 14:41
Having both HF and Sat phone I can advise you that the HF is preferred by me and those who travel with me. It's like having another companion AND it can be turned off and on to suit when it suits and no charges for doing so. Most find the traffic on air to be quite interesting and to hear what others are doing or where they are gives you a sense of whether others are close at hand. The Sat phone is just the back up for me or for my kid to ring home occasionally to talk with mum....a condition of travel you might say!! Cheers
AnswerID: 346881

Follow Up By: Member - Len B (NSW) - Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 14:53

Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 14:53
Hi Leigh,

Thanks for that I am booked to have one fitted in a couple of weeks. Just getting a little nervous about it. But the replies I am receiving are easing my anxiety. We are planning 3 months away from April might see you on the road

Len

FollowupID: 614960

Reply By: PatrolSTL04 - Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 15:15

Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 15:15
Len,

With regard to part of your question, this link shows what impact BPL could have to HF Radios:

http://homepages.ihug.com.au/~vk5vka/stopbpl.htm

Looks as though digital tv transmissions may also be effected.

Brett.....
AnswerID: 346890

Follow Up By: Member - Len B (NSW) - Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 15:28

Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 15:28
Thanks Brett, Yes very interesting web page

Regards Len

FollowupID: 614978

Reply By: pepper2 - Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 15:17

Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 15:17
Also dont forget that you can make telephone calls with your hf costs vary but are around $1.10/min and a yearly membership fee of less than $100,so with hf you have both radio network/community and telephone service best of both worlds.
AnswerID: 346891

Follow Up By: Member - Len B (NSW) - Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 15:29

Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 15:29
Yes I feel thats a very good point about the phone calls of the HF

Regards Len

FollowupID: 614979

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 15:46

Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 15:46
There is some info that may help your decision at http://www.vks737.on.net - go the Satphones link - comparison points are made there (I was a contributor). Also info here at Eoz. I'm sold on HF and the opportunities it presents for those times when the chips are really down- been using HF for years ! There are quite a few networks now too - as I understand the Satphone option, there are only two providers and one is well on the nose.
AnswerID: 346898

Follow Up By: Member - Len B (NSW) - Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 16:01

Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 16:01
Thanks Darian,

Yes thats a good site. I must say all the repliies are very positive I am starting to feel a little more relaxed about it

Regards Len

FollowupID: 614988

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 00:20

Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 00:20
Small correction here.

there are now 3 providors of satfones.

Telstra Iridium.

Pivotel Iridium

And lastly and least of all Globals**t

I have a Motorola 9505A wich uses my mobile phone Next G sim card.
Also have a NGT and recently took it to my local radio expert who was going to give me some pointers on its use.

However due to the noise level where we were it was next to useless and he said he never uses his till he is well out of town where the signal to noise level is better.

I bought the satfone with the intention of using it for emergencies only and the HF for skeds etc.
Will probably sell both after we get back from around the block.

NGT cost $2600 with a 9350 as an ex demo, fitted it myself.

Satfone $950 with about 50 mins of use on it.

FollowupID: 615094

Reply By: toyotabits.com - Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 16:12

Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 16:12
G'day Len, there is a great argument for both, sat & hf. In the desert you can be on one side of a sand dune in trouble & help could be on the other side of the same dune - you don't know they are there, with a hf you can call them there & then & anyone else on channel (even for a relay), with a sat phone you don't know they are there or their number! I travel with both, regards, aussiedingo
AnswerID: 346902

Follow Up By: Member - Len B (NSW) - Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 16:16

Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 16:16
Thanks Aussiedingo. The HF sounds a lot more fun thanks for your input
Regards Len

FollowupID: 614995

Reply By: BenDiD - Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 18:58

Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 18:58
Hi Len,

I went through the same process as you in January.

I installed a Codan NGT, and although I am still getting the hang of using it, I find it's a great bit of gear.

I picked a HF over sat-phone because of no on-going costs and I really enjoy the community aspect of radios (and I am a geek and just like playing with radios better!).

On a serious note I have used sat-phones on Cape York (working on a drilling program) and the rotten thing would drop out every 10 seconds. Made any sort of call difficult and unreliable.

Re BPL, can't speak about that but I found the interference from powerlines, homes, and industry in Sydney enough to make usage almost impossible. I only use my HF when I head out of town so no real problem.

Hope this helps you get comfortable with your decision.

Ben

AnswerID: 346933

Follow Up By: Member - Len B (NSW) - Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 19:12

Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 19:12
Thanks for that Ben. Yes I am starting to understand that the Sat phone has some limitations The HF seems to be getting the vote . Thanks again

Regards, Len

FollowupID: 615035

Reply By: RV Powerstream P/L - Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 08:15

Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 08:15
Len
We have HF and am an infrequent user but the comfort in safety of having it is 100%.

For not much money we are in HF Radio Club, VKS737 and HFOZ.

Phone calls with HF Radio is the cheapest and VKS737 has the greatest interaction for members and HFOZ now has implemented GPS Tracking and SMS into their system and with these features any one with your password can track your whereabouts if you regularly log in and make SMS contact.

If you can afford to install one you will not regret it.

AnswerID: 346981

Follow Up By: Member - Len B (NSW) - Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 08:51

Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 08:51
Thanks Ian, I think I am convinced to buy HF. The feedback has been great. When I get it fitted I hope we get to talk

Regards Len

FollowupID: 615106

Reply By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 09:43

Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 09:43
Hi Len,
We have hired sat phones in the past..... a few years ago, we learnt NEVER to stray far away from civilisation without some form of comms. Fortunately, we have never had to use one in an emergency. Unfortunately, I NEVER had signal on one! Planning our Simpson visit last June, we opted to hire a HF radio and joined VKS 737. We called in daily to the Charters Towers 'Sked' and it was great to know that, even as remote as we were, we could communicate with someone if we had to. Added to that was the knowledge that there were probably other radio users within a reasonable distance. In several towns on our trip last year, we met up with other users! With sat phone, you need to call specific numbers for help. With HF, help 'may' be over the other side of the next sand dune!

After being impressed with the hired one, we purchased a Codan last September in readiness for our next adventure.

AnswerID: 347002

Reply By: Member - Russnic [NZ] - Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 11:28

Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 11:28
Thanks All
Interesting thread.
On my last trip was I intending to fit an HF Traveller pack on my way out of Brisbane, unfortunately the funds and more were gobbled up in STAMP DUTY which I was not of aware of and so had not budgeted for.
As I headed further West my thoughts were if i have to set off the PLB it would cost more than that to try and locate my where abouts, when skeds reports with VKS might have avoided having to set off the PLB.
I have had another year to think about it now and though the budget is much tighter with the economy I still think an HF would be good to have, and at most times more versatile than a Sat Phone.
Coming from NZ at least family can leave a message with VKS and i can get in touch at the first convenience opportunity.
I hope I would never have to use it in distress but there might be a chance I could help out some one else.
AnswerID: 347021

Follow Up By: Boobook2 - Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 16:31

Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 16:31
Russnic, I must be missing something. There is no Stamp duty on HF radios. In fact if you buy a new one and take it out of the country you will get the GST back.

FollowupID: 615227

Follow Up By: Member - Russnic [NZ] - Monday, Feb 02, 2009 at 19:28

Monday, Feb 02, 2009 at 19:28
Sorry Boobook 2
The Stamp duty was for an unbudgeted expense on a new Troopy. Not an HF. I had allowed extra for an HF but not for the stamp duty.
I did not realise just how much you and me get ripped off in Aus as to the price of vehicles, the same base vehicle High Country Pack Snorkel, bars diff locks etc was about NZ$25,000 cheaper here and no stamp duty, and that is including 12.5% GST.
I had to pay the Stamp (theft) duty before I could get registration, I can still see the smirk/grin on the face of the female behind the grill as she said I bet you did not allow for this, and she was right, thought i was going OK after a 5 hr or so hassle getting a Qld garage address verified, new vehicle being certified etc, the guy that did the check thought that that was crazy but he did pick up on a couple of very minor problems which he fixed anyway.
Slapped it on the card, there goes the credit deposited to cover the HF
So much for getting an HF fitted, so got out of Brisbane as quick as I could.
coming back late May, and intend to get out of Brisbane as fast as possible again HF or not.
FollowupID: 615446

Reply By: charlie horse - Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 17:13

Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 17:13
hi,

When buying a HF Radio I would not forget about Barrett. I have had one for over 15 years and have found them to be very reliable. On one occasion I needed a new Eprom, ther service was great.

Here is a recent comment from the Codan Outback Group

"Hi again to all you Codan Bloggers--
-Now people who know me, are aware that I lean a little to the "darkside" radio brand-wise.

Anyway, I would like to pass on a true story---I rang Barrett
yesterday around midday to order a BC 550 mounting cradle/head
mounting cradle and a couple of keypads.---yes, all ex stock.

I didn't mention that the parts were urgent, but they arrived at my door in brisbane less than 24Hrs after the phone call---This model ran from about 1993-1997.....

Now compare this to when I needed to buy a couple of 9323 parts a few months back---The answer from Codan was ---sorry mate, we dont support this (1993-2003)model radio...

mmmm---Maybe its just that Barrett have a huge backlog of parts,
because nothing ever breaks on their radios :)))))))"

Whether is is accurate or not take care if buying second hand

AnswerID: 347090

Reply By: The Landy - Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 18:20

Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 18:20
Len

You'll find the Codan NGT user friendly/ I've owned both brands and the GT wins hands down.

As far as HF goes; yu won't look back and hopefully you'll find it a good companion on your trips...

Landy
AnswerID: 347114

Reply By:- Thursday, Feb 05, 2009 at 16:38

Thursday, Feb 05, 2009 at 16:38
Len B,

Quite apart from the safety net angle, having an HF radio means you are part of a community. Being able to talk to someone when you've seen no one in person for days is a real comfort. We've never been unable to contact someone, even if the bases are out of reach. If you are really remote, Power Line Broadband will never be a problem.

We've only used our HF radio in an emergency once, when a spring broke west of Alice Springs, but we use it daily to keep up to date with weather, road conditions, who's where and what's happening. You'll soon get to know people. It's hard to do these things with a Sat-Phone.

In remote locations, we log in in every day (we are with VKS737), primarily to check that the radio is working, so as to be ready if and when needed. Don't treat the radio like an EPIRB, (ie. only in case of emergency), use it everyday, and make sure everyone in your party can use it too.

What ever radio you acquire, I would recommend you also take a long wire emergency aerial (see the VKS website). Whips, cables and auto tunes do get broken or stolen.

Hope you enjoy the HF Radio experience.
AnswerID: 347692

Follow Up By:- Thursday, Feb 05, 2009 at 16:53

Thursday, Feb 05, 2009 at 16:53
Len B,

Sorry for being anonymous in the above post, I though my ID would be include in the post automatically.

You could check out or blog at http://dandjribbans.blogspot.com/.

David and Janet (Dandj)

A drive shaft problem on the Anne Beadell Highway

FollowupID: 615902