NW Queensland Flood Photo's

Submitted: Tuesday, Feb 03, 2009 at 21:22
ThreadID: 65676 Views:6265 Replies:3 FollowUps:8
This ABC website has some great Pics of Boulia and Cloncurry , There is sound as well .

ABC Photo's

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Tuesday, Feb 03, 2009 at 21:26

Tuesday, Feb 03, 2009 at 21:26
If you look down the bottom there are some of Ingham too, click on the small photo's

AnswerID: 347444

Reply By: Member - Malcolm (Townsville) - Tuesday, Feb 03, 2009 at 22:26

Tuesday, Feb 03, 2009 at 22:26
Thought I'd post one I took this afternoon crossing the Bohle River on my way into Townsville. This is the Bruce Highway - the low road is already flooded and the northbound traffic diverted onto the high road. Looking towards railway track.

Rain gauge overflowed last night - only holds 175mm - found out we had 300mm in 24 hrs. Emptied 65mm from gauge tonight (8 hrs) and will check again in morning.

If you look close at my dash - my new gauges: Boost, Oil Pressure, and EGT. Just need wiring up now.

Malcolm

living the 'good life'

AnswerID: 347454

Reply By: Lotzi - Tuesday, Feb 03, 2009 at 23:00

Tuesday, Feb 03, 2009 at 23:00
G'day Doug T

Just received this from a mate in Townsville

"Now read this from the BOM 03/02/09 .....
Major flooding is rising in the upper Burdekin River at Greenvale, Mt Fullstop and Sellheim where at 3.30pm, the river level was 20.2 metres and about 6.7 metres over the Macrossan Bridge. Flood levels are expected to peak in the Sellheim area tonight.

The Defender can't get through that, even with a run up.

More rain coming…………"

Lotzi
AnswerID: 347462

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Tuesday, Feb 03, 2009 at 23:03

Tuesday, Feb 03, 2009 at 23:03
Lotzi

Holy Moses... lookout Ayr/Home Hill

FollowupID: 615638

Follow Up By: Lotzi - Tuesday, Feb 03, 2009 at 23:17

Tuesday, Feb 03, 2009 at 23:17
G'day Doug
Yep, he sent some photos over to me, but I have a bit of trouble getting them to send ... that's in my computer .... technickle issue.
He was saying that there is just big mobs of water, as you know once that gets down to the flats, as you say.. look out, I reckon the Home Hill Mill might get a bit damp this year.
And the wets only really starting on the east, with the lows starting to move down ... going to be an interesting couple of months.
Lotzi
FollowupID: 615640

Follow Up By: Lotzi - Wednesday, Feb 04, 2009 at 00:00

Wednesday, Feb 04, 2009 at 00:00
http://www.bom.gov.au/cgi-bin/wrap_fwo.pl?IDQ60291.html
FollowupID: 615647

Follow Up By: donks1 - Wednesday, Feb 04, 2009 at 07:34

Wednesday, Feb 04, 2009 at 07:34

Yeh i just got some photos of the Burdekin river & Bridge

I lived there for 4 years and never saw a drop of water under that bridge.....Look at it now.
Pitty i can't post them here.
If anyone wants to see them Let me know

Donks1
FollowupID: 615659

Follow Up By: Member - Malcolm (Townsville) - Wednesday, Feb 04, 2009 at 10:49

Wednesday, Feb 04, 2009 at 10:49
Donks1

Wouldn't mind seeing them. Used to travel that road every week when I worked at the Towers. Never once saw it over the road - but the flood marker on the western side of the bridge certainly showed the history.

malcolm [at] sbca [dot] com [dot] au

Malcolm
living the 'good life'

FollowupID: 615682

Follow Up By: Olsen's 4WD Tours and Training - Wednesday, Feb 04, 2009 at 11:45

Wednesday, Feb 04, 2009 at 11:45
You can also see some on my facebook page

http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1442016433&ref=profile

and here

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=1795065&id=667996104&ref=nf