Not another fuel story.

Submitted: Wednesday, Feb 04, 2009 at 16:31
ThreadID: 65695 Views:3028 Replies:12 FollowUps:10
Was told this story the other day, about ULP was going to be the same price as Diesel, another furfy I thought, because the oil companies were not making enough out of diesel with the current down turn.
Had to fill up the Wizard, with diesel, today and as I was doing so was looking at the prices ULP$1.12.9, PULP $1.22.9 and Diesel $1.14.9. Went for a drive down to the next servo and the same prices. So what have you noticed in your area?
I live in Qld 2.5 hours NW of Brisbane

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Feb 04, 2009 at 16:32

Wednesday, Feb 04, 2009 at 16:32
Same here Bruce.

AnswerID: 347526

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Wednesday, Feb 04, 2009 at 16:35

Wednesday, Feb 04, 2009 at 16:35
I guess if we complain long enough about the differential then they would have no choice! You didn't really think they would drop the price of diesel did you?

AnswerID: 347528

Reply By: Lotzi - Wednesday, Feb 04, 2009 at 16:38

Wednesday, Feb 04, 2009 at 16:38
Any one in Brisbane notice how the price of fuel went up about the same time as mobil ran out...
Lotzi
AnswerID: 347529

Follow Up By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Wednesday, Feb 04, 2009 at 23:16

Wednesday, Feb 04, 2009 at 23:16
YEP
FollowupID: 615791

Reply By: Member - Niss42 - Wednesday, Feb 04, 2009 at 16:43

Wednesday, Feb 04, 2009 at 16:43
Last Sunday ULP & Diesel both $1.14.9 at local Shell, SE Melb.
AnswerID: 347531

Reply By: gbdid - Wednesday, Feb 04, 2009 at 16:58

Wednesday, Feb 04, 2009 at 16:58
Looking at this link will improve your knowledge of the movement in prices for fuel as they relate to Australian pricing. Our fuel price is set by the Singapore price for petrol I believe.

http://www.aip.com.au/pricing/images/platts_aus.gif

Diesel is cheaper than ulp at the moment.

Diesel will probably get even cheaper as the mining industy winds down, and demand drops.
Silver liiniing to the downturn in the economy.
AnswerID: 347534

Follow Up By: Max - Sydney - Wednesday, Feb 04, 2009 at 18:12

Wednesday, Feb 04, 2009 at 18:12
Four cheers. About bl**dy time!

Now for a long trip.

Max
FollowupID: 615734

Reply By: Steve - Wednesday, Feb 04, 2009 at 17:01

Wednesday, Feb 04, 2009 at 17:01
Not in good ole rip-off NSW it isn't

ulp 109
dsl 124
AnswerID: 347535

Follow Up By: Max - Sydney - Wednesday, Feb 04, 2009 at 18:14

Wednesday, Feb 04, 2009 at 18:14
Around our area (Epping, Pennant Hills etc) dsl is only a cent or two higher than ULP or E10 at the most. I think the Mobil at Epping was actually lower today.

Max
FollowupID: 615737

Follow Up By: Steve - Wednesday, Feb 04, 2009 at 21:36

Wednesday, Feb 04, 2009 at 21:36
I'll be on the lookout tomorrow Max - it sure wasn't where I live, nor around the N Shore on Tuesday.

http://www.shell.com/home/au-en/html/iwgen/shell_for_motorists/petrol_pricing/price_search/app_price_search_0221.html

this is supposed to be today's prices and is typical of what I've been seeing the past few days.
FollowupID: 615769

Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Wednesday, Feb 04, 2009 at 22:06

Wednesday, Feb 04, 2009 at 22:06
Don't come to Kempsey ulp 116 dsl 133 Please explain.
Cheers Dave....
GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 615777

Follow Up By: Steve - Thursday, Feb 05, 2009 at 17:15

Thursday, Feb 05, 2009 at 17:15
been all over town today and dsl is a bit dearer - but both around mid $1.20s

I must've blinked the other day and missed the cheap dsl - not saying you were seeing things Max, just that it didn't last, did it?

aah well.........
FollowupID: 615906

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Wednesday, Feb 04, 2009 at 17:12

Wednesday, Feb 04, 2009 at 17:12
South side of Brisy.

Beginning of the weekly cycle when ULP is up, it is about 1 to 2c a litre MORE than diesel.

At the moment both about the same price.
By end of the cycle, ULP will be 1 to 2c cheaper.

That's at the local Woolies, Freedom, Mobil, but the Mobil is out of fuel at the moment.

All sitting about $1.11.xx per litre for diesel.

About time.
AnswerID: 347541

Reply By: Top End Explorer Tours - Wednesday, Feb 04, 2009 at 18:19

Wednesday, Feb 04, 2009 at 18:19
The fuel delivery at Mobil Jabiru tomorrow, will see ULP and Diesel at the same price, give or take a cent.

Cheers Steve
AnswerID: 347552

Reply By: Isuzumu - Wednesday, Feb 04, 2009 at 18:31

Wednesday, Feb 04, 2009 at 18:31
Thanks everyone for the feed back so far....have to go down and tell old mate he was right, don't know where he heard it, does not even have a computer.

Cheers Bruce
AnswerID: 347556

Follow Up By: Zukscooter - Wednesday, Feb 04, 2009 at 18:39

Wednesday, Feb 04, 2009 at 18:39
G'day Bruce it was all over the radio at the weekend saying them to be the same price as the demand for diesel was getting lower & it was the same price if only for 1 day Lol.
What will be will be.

Cheers Bob
FollowupID: 615741

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Wednesday, Feb 04, 2009 at 19:21

Wednesday, Feb 04, 2009 at 19:21
Hi Bob, thats where he would have got it from. Just noticed on the Win Toowoomba news ULP was $1.01.9and diesel $1.14.9.
Have you been getting away at all mate?

Cheers Bruce
FollowupID: 615748

Follow Up By: Zukscooter - Wednesday, Feb 04, 2009 at 20:42

Wednesday, Feb 04, 2009 at 20:42
No not been any where.Planning on going up north in April though for a couple of months.(might need to get a tinnie) if it don't dry out in time. Lol

Cheers Bob.
FollowupID: 615759

Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Wednesday, Feb 04, 2009 at 22:33

Wednesday, Feb 04, 2009 at 22:33
Caltex Waitara (northern Sydney)

ULP - 128.9

Diesel - 120.9
AnswerID: 347591

Reply By: Boobook2 - Thursday, Feb 05, 2009 at 11:40

Thursday, Feb 05, 2009 at 11:40
The fuel prices on exploreoz show Vic Diesel to be 1.29 and ULP as 1.11 Where do thse come from. I haven't seen diesel over 1.19 for a week or so or ULP under 1.18. Even the prices shown for indivual servo's are 10 - 12 cents wrong.

AnswerID: 347656

Reply By: Seakarvan - Thursday, Feb 05, 2009 at 19:32

Thursday, Feb 05, 2009 at 19:32
The great con on Aussies by the Oil barons is sickening enough but the quality of our diesel compared with low cetane levels and higher sulphur levels is more than a concern. A certain major oil companies Premium ULP has damaged race bike engines with legal suites going nowhere. Audi's top of the range 4 wheel quickies wont come to Oz because of fuel issues/warrantee.
AnswerID: 347718

Follow Up By: Member - Peter R (QLD) - Thursday, Feb 05, 2009 at 22:39

Thursday, Feb 05, 2009 at 22:39
BP Biggera Waters has both ULP and Diesel at 109.9 .

For anyone on the Gold Coast they are the cheapest BP I see
at most times of year, and is where I fill up.
Privately owned might be the reason
check out this site

Pedro
FollowupID: 615967