Palm Valley {off road C/T}

Submitted: Sunday, Feb 08, 2009 at 20:03
ThreadID: 65817 Views:2996 Replies:8 FollowUps:6
Can any one tell me if u can get into Palm Valley with the C/T i'm not excactly sure were you camp but would be nice to get a top spot,just in the first stage of planing a trip through the centre.cheer's GREENDOG

Reply By: Member - shane (SA) - Sunday, Feb 08, 2009 at 20:15

Sunday, Feb 08, 2009 at 20:15
yes no problem, great place.
shane.
AnswerID: 348212

Reply By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Sunday, Feb 08, 2009 at 20:18

Sunday, Feb 08, 2009 at 20:18
G'day greendog
the link below will tell you about the park. There is also a 4WD instruction sheet link within these pages.

http://www.nt.gov.au/nreta/parks/find/finkegorge.html

Awesome place. Enjoy.
Fred
Fred B
VKS 737: Mobile/Selcall 1334

AnswerID: 348213

Follow Up By: Member - GREENDOG - Sunday, Feb 08, 2009 at 20:22

Sunday, Feb 08, 2009 at 20:22
Thanks guys for that i'll check it out,that makes for a good start.cheer's GREENDOG
FollowupID: 616434

Reply By: Rangiephil - Sunday, Feb 08, 2009 at 20:31

Sunday, Feb 08, 2009 at 20:31
Just take it slowly on the extreme corrugations.
I was following a side opener on leaf springs in and commented to my wife that he seemed to be going a little fast.
Around the next corner and there he was with the axle at right angles as had broken the main leaf on the RH spring.
I asked if they were OK and he said that he would just get a new leaf at Hermannsberg.!!!!! I think his wife and kids were in for a long wait. Luckily they had a mate in another car with them.
Regards Philip A
AnswerID: 348217

Follow Up By: Member - GREENDOG - Tuesday, Feb 10, 2009 at 21:20

Tuesday, Feb 10, 2009 at 21:20
Jeez now your scarin me Philip by the sounds of it i'll be crueling in to the camp ground.cheer's GREENDOG
FollowupID: 616698

Reply By: Member - Rob S (NSW) - Sunday, Feb 08, 2009 at 20:37

Sunday, Feb 08, 2009 at 20:37
Try and get in early as the good spots can fill up quick.
And can be a bit tight with a camper as all the sites are
posted.

I only ever made one mistake
and that's when I thought I was wrong!

AnswerID: 348218

Follow Up By: Member - GREENDOG - Tuesday, Feb 10, 2009 at 21:18

Tuesday, Feb 10, 2009 at 21:18
Thanks mate,that was my next question,going on what your saying it looks like we will have to get ther early for a good spot.cheer's GREENDOG
FollowupID: 616697

Reply By: x - Sunday, Feb 08, 2009 at 20:48

Sunday, Feb 08, 2009 at 20:48
GD

Look out for a dingo with white powder around his face - he stole a bag of bread making flour from us.

You'll need high clearance to get in.

AnswerID: 348221

Follow Up By: Member - GREENDOG - Tuesday, Feb 10, 2009 at 21:22

Tuesday, Feb 10, 2009 at 21:22
High clearance,well i only have the Paj with a 2inch lift will that be ok or not.cheer's GREENDOG
FollowupID: 616699

Reply By: Motherhen - Sunday, Feb 08, 2009 at 23:03

Sunday, Feb 08, 2009 at 23:03
We had no trouble with our caravan getting to the camp site.

The camp site is one of the few NT Park camps with showers - solar heated. Get in early if you want a hot shower. We spend three lovely days there, doing all the walks and just enjoying the scenery and company of other travellers. The drive to Palm Valley itself is a no-tow track. Some people got smart and stopped at the fern section, then walked the kilometre or so to the valley, as the going gets slow from there on, and needs a high clearance vehicle.

AnswerID: 348252

Follow Up By: Member - GREENDOG - Tuesday, Feb 10, 2009 at 21:28

Tuesday, Feb 10, 2009 at 21:28
If you had no problems with your caravan gettin in there,i reckon i'll be ok with the paj i'll just crawl my way in.cheer's GREENDOG
FollowupID: 616701

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Tuesday, Feb 10, 2009 at 21:34

Tuesday, Feb 10, 2009 at 21:34
Sure GREENDOG, it was not at all difficult as far as the camp site, although it would be a different story if the river flowed. A nice spot well worth visiting for a couple of days or so.

Mh

FollowupID: 616707

Reply By: Rangiephil - Monday, Feb 09, 2009 at 09:35

Monday, Feb 09, 2009 at 09:35
Not that High clearance.
When I was ther ether ewas a Ford Territory with the most amazing alloy roof box, and a Forrester.
Regards Philip A
AnswerID: 348285

Reply By: get outmore - Thursday, Feb 12, 2009 at 15:59

Thursday, Feb 12, 2009 at 15:59
drop your CT off at the campgrounds and save your spot the actual palm valley is about 3 km away and that is pretty rough and there is no need to tow the trailor there when you can leave it
AnswerID: 348740