Blinkers on vehicles today, don't seem to mean anything??.
Submitted: Tuesday, Feb 10, 2009 at 20:48
Member - Axle
Been doing a bit of congested hwy travelling lateley , and have continually noticed when changing lanes ,although you leave plenty of space before indicating and moving over!, there has been so many times where the vehicle behind just speeds up or so it seems!, and ends up beside you as you try to move over!!. Twice this week i have stopped and checked the appropiate blinker used, to see if it was working!!. I think its time for a new invention, like a flashing arrow across the width of the vehicle, indicating moving ,.... LEFT or RIGHT!!.....LOL.
Reply By: Member - Dogman (WA) - Tuesday, Feb 10, 2009 at 21:18
Tuesday, Feb 10, 2009 at 21:18
Axle, that sounds like WA, if you indicate to change lanes when there is a gap they speed up and close it on you.
Worst drivers I have ever come across over here.
Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Tuesday, Feb 10, 2009 at 21:30
Tuesday, Feb 10, 2009 at 21:30
Mate i think its a mental thing!!, they think your going to get there before them!!,.... and who knows where that might be??.
Follow Up By: Brian (Montrose, Vic.) - Tuesday, Feb 10, 2009 at 21:33
Tuesday, Feb 10, 2009 at 21:33
I guess the Victorian drivers have been learning from them too!
Follow Up By: Member - Paul C (WA) - Tuesday, Feb 10, 2009 at 21:37
Tuesday, Feb 10, 2009 at 21:37
Dogman
I couldn't imagine it being worse than
Sydney ;-)
A blinker there is a
sign to other drivers that this is where they should be. Of course there are courteous drivers that are an increasing minority.
Moved West last year and haven't seen a set of traffic lights since
Alice Springs in September.
Happy Days
Follow Up By: Member - RFLundgren (WA) - Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 00:01
Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 00:01
Dogman
Definitely have to agree with you on that point. After pretty much driving from
Newcastle to
Sydney and back every day for the last 15 - 20 years, we moved to
Perth almost 3 years ago.
The drivers here would have to be the absolute worst in the country, and Im sure that if they were to sit the driving
test on the East Coast 98% of them would fail for sure. There is just no courtesy at all from drivers here.
Sure, in
Sydney and
Melbourne they may be somewhat agressive when driving, however if you indicate someone will always let you in.
Such is life, only 5 months to go before we head back East.
Follow Up By: PatrolSTL04 - Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 01:39
Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 01:39
Gday Dogman,
I think it goes without saying WA drivers are the worst in Australia.
A piece on one of those infotainment programs we call a current affairs a few months ago confirmed through statistics and video surveilance that the majoirty WA drivers are m o r o n s. They have no idea about road rules and basic courtesy.
If it was not for advertising on my vehicles I would simply run over them.
Brett........
Reply By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Tuesday, Feb 10, 2009 at 21:32
Tuesday, Feb 10, 2009 at 21:32
Hi Axel,
I know what you mean. I reckon its due to the fact a lot of motorists don't read the road a head or behind them these days.
They don't anticipate what other road users are doing, might do or are ready for the unexpected. In fact Axel they don't give a toss what others are doing. As long as they get one more car space ahead.
I had noticed just after New Years when traveling back down the Pacific H/Way, a group of about 6 or so cars that I was amongst all traveled at the same speed, about 50 meters apart. we each over took other cars without the need to sit up each others bums, gave everyone plenty of room. It made the trip so much more enjoyable.
Mate, I'm sorry to say it. I don't think you flashing would work. The idiots don't obey the road rules now.
One thing that would work in NSW is, would be to make Highway Patrol cars White again. Whats with the jelly bean coilours? Anyone pulled over by them needs to be locked up, License taken away and tested for being colour blind.
Mate, every bodies is in a rush, with a care factor of Zero.
Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Tuesday, Feb 10, 2009 at 21:34
Tuesday, Feb 10, 2009 at 21:34
Sorry, that's is to read, I don't think you flashing "Lights" would work
Reply By: Kim and Damn Dog - Tuesday, Feb 10, 2009 at 21:34
Tuesday, Feb 10, 2009 at 21:34
Gidday Axle
Down here in Victoria we use them to signal impending road rage. Other than that, there a cosmetic device with no intrinsic value.
Kim
Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Tuesday, Feb 10, 2009 at 22:44
Tuesday, Feb 10, 2009 at 22:44
Kim!!, as one of my favourite aunts used to say,! " Don't make me laugh"
Reply By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Tuesday, Feb 10, 2009 at 21:35
Tuesday, Feb 10, 2009 at 21:35
LMAO Happened to me and the missus yesterday,Was passing a Nissan 4x4 and she sped up so i forced her to back off and made the lane change,then as i turned left about 1 km down the road she ran up behind and changed lanes and zoomed pass...Her other idiot in the passenger vehicle just laughed..
Go figure.
Your dead right Ax
Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Tuesday, Feb 10, 2009 at 22:05
Tuesday, Feb 10, 2009 at 22:05
Yeah!! Typical Situation at times mate!, ITs a to fast lane or to slow lane!!, like my missus at roundabouts!!, near stops if a car is approaching 50mtrrs away!!, Frustrates the chit out of me, let alone the poor bloke behind..lol!!, But she has no convictions for the last twenty yrs of driving. ..lol.
Follow Up By: Crackles - Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 20:10
Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 20:10
"I forced her to back off and made the lane change"
"I turned left about 1 km down the road "
So because they sped up you failed to give way, cut them off then turned left anyway saving a total of 5 seconds in travel time. No wonders they were laughing.
Craig..........
Follow Up By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 20:44
Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 20:44
Yep whatever !
Reply By: Rockape - Tuesday, Feb 10, 2009 at 21:43
Tuesday, Feb 10, 2009 at 21:43
Come to Mackay and you won't have a problem, nobody bothers to use them
Follow Up By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Tuesday, Feb 10, 2009 at 21:47
Tuesday, Feb 10, 2009 at 21:47
LMAO
Reply By: Wazza - (Vic) - Tuesday, Feb 10, 2009 at 21:53
Tuesday, Feb 10, 2009 at 21:53
This one will amaze you. Watch the cars in front of you and see how many of them brake before they indicate when making a left hand turn - it is about 50% of drivers. My mate pointed it out to me the other day, it is one of his pet peeves. "Brake then indicate you F@#$() @#$!" he said ...... had me in stitches.
Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Tuesday, Feb 10, 2009 at 22:22
Tuesday, Feb 10, 2009 at 22:22
Wazza,
The there's the champions on the Freeway in a 110k zone who brake then randomly indicate to change lanes when they are a postcode out from slower traffic.
The best time to do it is when there is someone just about to overtake them.
That fair puts the wind up everyone behind them!
| Geoff,
Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Wazza - (Vic) - Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 11:20
Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 11:20
Geoff... and the guys (actually usually middle aged women) who are on a freeway and look down to see they are 2km over the limit and dab the brakes to slow down, all when there is no one within cooee.
Follow Up By: nickb - Friday, Feb 13, 2009 at 23:40
Friday, Feb 13, 2009 at 23:40
Not sure about Vic, but in WA last time I checked, the law said you need to signal atleast 30m before turning. I would say most people start slowing down
well before they get to the 30m mark.
Commonsense is a different kettle of fish though!
Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Tuesday, Feb 10, 2009 at 22:17
Tuesday, Feb 10, 2009 at 22:17
Axle mate, it happens everywhere!
I reckon they believe I know where they live and I'm going to beat them
home, steal their cat and rape their thongs!
I think I got that last bit right??
I had a bloke in a
sign written panel van do it to me one day. Then he and the passenger proceeded to abuse me and attempt to run the Troopy off the road. (Figure that one, Falcon panel van versus a Troopy, sharpest axes in the shed I think not)
So I rang the number on the van and talked to the business owner.
Turns out I was the fifth caller on the same subject regarding that driver in the month. He and the passenger were on notice from the employer and that call ended their probation.
I really doubt if either of them actually learnt anything from the incident but all credit to the business owner, he knew it was costing him his companies reputation.
| Geoff,
Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Tuesday, Feb 10, 2009 at 22:35
Tuesday, Feb 10, 2009 at 22:35
Hi Geoff, .......Jeez mate!!, What was that last bit??..lol.
Well! its no good advertising that your a bleep on the road??, Whatever company you represent eh?.
Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Tuesday, Feb 10, 2009 at 22:42
Tuesday, Feb 10, 2009 at 22:42
I actually got a bloody good laugh out of it, imagine being stupid enough to go around road raging people on a regular basis in a van with your employers phone number on it!
Talk about stupid!
| Geoff,
Follow Up By: Member - Kevin J (Sunshine Coa - Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 10:27
Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 10:27
Chances are that they are now down the pub badmouthing the Boss for sacking them.
Kevin J
Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 16:53
Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 16:53
Kevin,
I'd say that's a given!
| Geoff,
Reply By: Wayne's 60 - Tuesday, Feb 10, 2009 at 23:41
Tuesday, Feb 10, 2009 at 23:41
G'day Axle,
Jeez mate........ they used to have blinkers on horses too ...... and they didn't have much of an effect either LOL
Mental telepathy is in play when you are thinking about changing lanes, the driver behind the space you want to drive into, picks up on your thoughts and closes the space.
I agree it's a PITA.
Drive Safe.
Wayne.
Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 00:54
Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 00:54
I thought "Blinkers" were fitted to horses??
Motor vehicles are fitted with "Indicators"??
:-))
Reply By: Member Boroma 604 - Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 09:15
Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 09:15
Gooday,
You are kucky to see them work, most of the newer cars I see wherever we drive, the the more upmarket cars and newer models don't appear to have them fitted at all, must be to do with the Toxic Debt, they put the len's in front & rear, but no bulbs or lever on the steering column to cut costs.
Seems to be worst on Mercedes, BMW, Audi etc.
Boroma 604.
Reply By: Member - AZOORC (SA) - Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 09:20
Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 09:20
I believe that the rules state if you are marginally in front the car that is behind must give way to you if indicating to change lanes.
So if my indicators on look out im changing lanes if you want to speed up and end up on the footpath thats not my fault or problem.
Works most of the time:) LOL
Paul.
Follow Up By: get outmore - Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 11:05
Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 11:05
reckon youll find thats with merging
pretty sure to change lanes you have to indicated then move accross when safe to do so
Reply By: DIO - Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 09:42
Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 09:42
The (any) vehicle changing lanes must:
(a) indicate (with indicators) their intention to change lanes
(b) MUST give way to ALL vehicles in the lane to which it is intended to move.
It is an obligation (at law) that the vehicle changing lanes gives way to any other vehicle in that lane (that may be in close enough proximity to the vehicle changing lanes).
On the subject of indicating, don't forget that it is also law (nationwide) that any vehicle pulling out from the kerb MUST indicate for 5 seconds of their intention to do so afterwhich they MUST giveway to any vehicle in close proximity approaching from the rear.
Follow Up By: get outmore - Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 11:19
Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 11:19
"On the subject of indicating, don't forget that it is also law (nationwide) that any vehicle pulling out from the kerb MUST indicate for 5 seconds of their intention "
thats funny you would think if it was law it would be in the WA drivesafe handbook which it isnt
indicators should be used to give sufficient warning to other drivers or pedestrians of your intentions
what is sufficient warning depends on circumstances such as the speed of the road (edited form the book)
Reply By: Wizard1 - Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 10:09
Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 10:09
My girl has the best come back for the road rage types. Being a Reverend she just smiles, does the
sign of the cross and says "God Bless You" to the offending motorist.
What do you say to that? Leaves them gobb smacked and a little embarrassed at their selfish behaviour to say the least.
Reply By: Rockape - Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 12:01
Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 12:01
Axle,
don't like to say it but NSW drivers have it all wrong.
First thing you all have to do is go and get a licence (most drivers in Mackay have the above). At all times you must believe you are driving a 3 trailer. When about to turn never look in your mirrors as you may loose control, under no circumstances do you use that silly little indicator lever, if turning right you move to the left of the road and then brake, this lets other drivers know you are about to do something (although you really haven't made up your mind yet), now you can do what you like as other motorists have been warned. Now if you can't turn because of oncoming traffic you have just performed a safe act as the vehicles behind will all have to stop, this makes it so much safer for them because they won't have a head on and will only get rear ended. Also the person who tail ended them will be off the road for a while making the roads even safer.
Have a good one
Reply By: Borderline - Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 21:21
Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 21:21
While not directly related a further question: are learner drivers (in NSW) taught to to brake and pull in sharply after overtaking. On a recent trip to SA we were overtaken by a few cars showing P plates and this happened every time in NSW.