Roller Drawers - Outback vs Black Widow

Submitted: Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 04:40
ThreadID: 66059 Views:30407 Replies:20 FollowUps:43
TJM have given me quotes for both Black Widow and Outback Roller Drawers (and extras) for my trusty Series 80.
Anyone got any views on the relative merits, or positive and negative experiences with either . .?
Thanks in advance.
Doug & Dog
Bone Diggers
We Tweet(ed) @DougandDog
"nobody said it had to be fair" (my Dad)

Reply By: Member - Mark E (VIC) - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 07:42

Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 07:42
I don't think there's all that much between them in all honesty.

A couple of years ago, i went through the same process and ended up with the BW, mainly as I was able to get them quickly just before a long trip over to WA and the Kimberley. also, the manufacturers were not too far from where I live and I thought that may be useful if I had any problems along the track.

I am happy with the product and the backup and service of BW is excellent, but whichever you go for, either install them yourself or ensure the installation is done properly as they who installed mine stuffed it up and I had rattles on corrugated roads and some failed roller bearings afterwards. Not a criticism of the product, but more of the poor installation. I took the whole lot back to BW direct and they agreed that it was a shoddy install and did the whole thing on the spot for me (remove and reinstall), plus they lent me a car to go and get some lunch and chill out whilst I was waiting.

They are a very expensive item for what they are, but I do love the ease of access to gear and the convenience. My wife can also get gear out of the draws. Much better than the old plywood jobs and plastic crates under the floor I had in previous cars.

AnswerID: 349590

Follow Up By: Member - Welshmun (QLD) - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 13:34

Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 13:34
Yes, I given up on plywood and plastic crates !
Thanks for the feedback, Bruce
Doug & Dog
Bone Diggers
We Tweet(ed) @DougandDog

FollowupID: 617909

Reply By: Best Off Road - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 07:44

Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 07:44
They are both excellent products and in that price range you might also consider "Fourby Fitouts".

If you're after a more cost effective option, we build quality drawers for around half the cost of the major players, eg a two drawer system for your 80 is $899.

Feel free to call me 03 9706 6527 for any information.

AnswerID: 349592

Follow Up By: Member - Welshmun (QLD) - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 13:35

Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 13:35
But you're 2000kms away !
Doug & Dog
Bone Diggers
We Tweet(ed) @DougandDog

FollowupID: 617910

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 14:48

Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 14:48
We freight Australua wide, I've got a unit going to Tom Price this week.

On the weight issue the unit weighs 40 kg.

FollowupID: 617927

Follow Up By: Member - Welshmun (QLD) - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 16:29

Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 16:29
Jim,
the weight you state contradicts your trader Ad where it says
"Quality Drawers from $899. 100 kg per drawer. "
Is that a typo?
Doug & Dog
Bone Diggers
We Tweet(ed) @DougandDog

FollowupID: 617942

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thoughtfully- Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 16:41

Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 16:41
Welshmun, Jim means that the whole unit weighs 40kg, I think. He isnt stating the amount that can be held in each drawer which is probably right at 100kg.

As he says "Fourby Fitouts" are a quality unit too

FollowupID: 617949

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 16:44

Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 16:44
Taff,

The 100 kg relates to the capacity of each drawer, that is a 100 kg bloke can stand in the very end of the drawer.

I'll have to go back in and change the ad, it is obviously not well worded. thanjs for the feedback.

FollowupID: 617951

Follow Up By: Member - Welshmun (QLD) - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 21:56

Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 21:56
OK, Jim; understood. yes the 100Kg does read oddly.

I wonder... I don't really want to fit drawers myself. Do you deal with TJM or would I have to buy from you then ask them. Or someone else?
Doug & Dog
Bone Diggers
We Tweet(ed) @DougandDog

FollowupID: 618052

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Thursday, Feb 19, 2009 at 05:18

Thursday, Feb 19, 2009 at 05:18
Ours are easy to fit. They come fully assembled.

4 steps
1. Remove luggage hooks rom the back of the 80
2. Reove Drawers from the unit (undo 4 bolts)
3. Lift the unit into the car and screw in 4 bolts (supplied)
4. Replace Drawers and put the 4 bolts back in.

All up takes about 10 minutes.

FollowupID: 618091

Reply By: The Landy - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 08:33

Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 08:33
I previously had Outback roller drawers in one of the Landy's, but found that the weight penalty versus usefulness didn't work out so I removed them.

In the end we put in a (very simple) custom made system that was lighter and more useful. Noting that in the Landy the Outback Drawer was just that, a very expensive sliding drawer.

I note that Jim has made a post on his product which I understand is much lighter in its construction. Might be worth a look.

Good luck with it....
AnswerID: 349598

Follow Up By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 08:39

Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 08:39
**I note that Jim has made a post on his product which I understand is much lighter in its construction. Might be worth a look.***

Plus its designed to be easily removed from what i understand..

FollowupID: 617868

Follow Up By: Member - Welshmun (QLD) - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 13:36

Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 13:36
Yes, weight is going to be an issue. I already have a 100Kg roofrack with storage & solar panels....
Doug & Dog
Bone Diggers
We Tweet(ed) @DougandDog

FollowupID: 617911

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 08:57

Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 08:57
I looked at the Outback Drawer System before deciding on the Black Widow product.

The finish, operation and type of lock/handles on the Black Widow System was IMO superior. Black Widow also have a full range of accessories. I chose a built-in fridge slide which sits flush with the top surface.

The biggest plus of all is if/when updating your vehicle you should be able to transfer the drawer system to the new one without anything more than a new "wing kit" to suit the variance of the new vehicle's side panel shape or width, so it should be a lifetime investment.

Had my system for 5 years now and still as good as the day it was installed. No rattles at all.

AnswerID: 349599

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 11:05

Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 11:05
Yep, Yep and Yep!! on all accounts.
BW for me also.

FollowupID: 617889

Follow Up By: Member - Welshmun (QLD) - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 13:37

Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 13:37
Hmm, haven't found any avid Outback fans yet . . .
Doug & Dog
Bone Diggers
We Tweet(ed) @DougandDog

FollowupID: 617912

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 14:13

Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 14:13
Welshy I think OB are excellent drawers also, they were really the first to manufacture and develop these systems in Aus.

When I compared both in some detail it came down to the general better finish overall of the BW.
The BW have stood up very well indeed over some pretty tough tracks and I have transferred them through 2 previous Troopies without issue each time and done the fitting myself, easy as.

If you went the OB I don't think you would be disappointed.

FollowupID: 617922

Follow Up By: Member - Welshmun (QLD) - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 16:19

Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 16:19
Many thanks, John.
looks like the votes are coming out about even . . .
Of course, OB are a Queensland based Company !
Doug & Dog
Bone Diggers
We Tweet(ed) @DougandDog

FollowupID: 617937

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 19:55

Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 19:55
Bill,

I question this one size fits all theory.

It means a set of drawers to suit a Prado are essentially the same as those for a 100 series. That is to say they do not maximise space according to the vehicle. After all, the idea of drawers is to give you maximum strorage space.

Given the resale of a BW unit, it would make more sense to sell them and buy a new set, rather than buy a new set of "wings".

For example, we do different sized units for every vehicle, also variants with cargo barriers, two different sizes for utes depending on whether they have a tub liner or not etc.

FollowupID: 618006

Follow Up By: Rod, Sydney - Thursday, Feb 19, 2009 at 19:49

Thursday, Feb 19, 2009 at 19:49
You're right Sand Man. When choosing for my fit out this was a big consideration - the Outback _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx are larger than the BW and that's why I got them. If there was any chance of the _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx being needed for a different vehicle, I would have gone for the BW.

I did buy a BW top shelf - they have great a product range.

Rod, Perth

FollowupID: 618227

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Friday, Feb 20, 2009 at 08:58

Friday, Feb 20, 2009 at 08:58
Jim,

Your comment is valid to a certain degree.

If you were upgrading your vehicle to a considerably larger one, you may "lose" the benefit of having longer _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx.
As far a width goes though, if the new vehicle is wider than the old, by fitting new wings, you will gain the benefit of more side storage under each wing.

I find the _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx I have for the Jackaroo to be sufficient in size.
The length to suit the Jackaroo is 840mm.

If I was to upgrade to a RA Rodeo or a Colarado, I could fit _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx of 1240mm in length, but selling the current ones and buying new ones is not practical for a gain of 400mm.
I would keep the existing ones and just have a larger false floor behind them.

FollowupID: 618330

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 09:01

Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 09:01
Like above, I went through the same situation many years ago. Prior to that I had made my own draw system, which I was very proud of. It is now until to see the professionally made units on offer, I decided to bite the bullet and buy a strong sturdy set. I looked at the 2 main units on the market. Both were good, but one stood out over the other, better carpet, better handles to open the unit, better hold down point for the fridge etc and went for the Black Widow.
Where I can, I prefer to install things myself, then if anything goes wrong, I only have one person to blame - ME.
They are easy to install, the most important thing is to follow the instructions and make sure the frame is square before it is bolted down into position. Our system has seen the roughest of outback terrain, corrugations, you name it and they work and perform excellent every time.

I am very bias, but for me the Black Widow wins hands down.

AnswerID: 349600

Follow Up By: Member - Welshmun (QLD) - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 13:38

Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 13:38
Thanks for the Feedback . . BW again !!
Doug & Dog
Bone Diggers
We Tweet(ed) @DougandDog

FollowupID: 617913

Reply By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 09:05

Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 09:05
Another vote for Black Widow ;-)
AnswerID: 349601

Follow Up By: Member - Welshmun (QLD) - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 13:38

Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 13:38
and another BW fan, thanks for commenting :)
Doug & Dog
Bone Diggers
We Tweet(ed) @DougandDog

FollowupID: 617914

Reply By: CJ - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 11:17

Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 11:17
Welshmun

I am on my second set of drawers.

I have done some research on both systems which IMO are the two to choose from.
I disagree slightly with Sand Man, in that I think outback also has a full range of options.
At my local TJM store, they have built-in samples of both makes in their shop.
The main reason I went for the Outback is the gap above the drawer so you don't chop your fingers off when closing the drawer. It has actually happened to me when parked on an incline; Opened the drawer, it started sliding shut, (without thinking) I grabbed the drawer (not the handle) but the weight of the drawer pulled me in. If that was a Black Widow I would have severed my fingers. Remeber the kids are in and out of the drawers all the time.

I do agree with most opinions above that the Black Widow presents better, looks neater etc. but IMO both are equally well made.

In the end oit is personal opinion, what I suggest is to have a good look at both systems installed, look feel touch and operate both, then decide.

Cheers, CJ

AnswerID: 349619

Follow Up By: Member - Welshmun (QLD) - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 13:39

Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 13:39
Thanks CJ, I was beginning to wonder if anyone preferred Outback !!
Doug & Dog
Bone Diggers
We Tweet(ed) @DougandDog

FollowupID: 617915

Follow Up By: CJ - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 15:44

Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 15:44
No worries

For what it is worth I have the fridge slide, cargo barrier and water tank. It all fits nicely and the water tank sits snugly in the angle created by the barrier, and is plumbed in with a tap at the door.
I did the Canning Stock Route and Cape York with them, I regularly take them out when I need the 7 seats.
In all the adventures have not had any problems
FollowupID: 617932

Reply By: PatrolSTL04 - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 11:26

Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 11:26
A vote from Black Widow from me.

After seeing how Mark (the owner of BW) tested them in the Kimberlies and the CSR, he really knows how to build a top unit (and innovative changes which have been copied by others).

Brett.........
AnswerID: 349621

Follow Up By: Member - Welshmun (QLD) - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 13:40

Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 13:40
Thanks Brett
Doug & Dog
Bone Diggers
We Tweet(ed) @DougandDog

FollowupID: 617916

Reply By: Bruce M - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 11:37

Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 11:37
I too researched the various drawer offerings after I bought my Prado in 2005. In my opinion BW were the most solid and rugged, as well as being very professionally built. I have not been disappointed in the four years since.

I bought this setup: two drawers on the bottom, a fridge slide on top on the passengers side, and a deeper drawer on top on the driver's side. Good storage, no rattles. I also have a hinged cover on the driver's side lower drawer, which serves as a table for coffee stops by the roadside. They were professionally installed; I looked into doing it myself and decided against it.

A couple of years after I bought my drawers I made some minor bits for the top of the fridge slide to lock the fridge in position and prevent it sliding around on corrugations. This comprised two pieces of timber with circular holes in them for the fridge feet, and a timber board to sit on the top of these and give a flat surface when the fridge is not installed. I thought it would be nice to finish the timber bits in marine carpet like the drawers, so I contacted BW, intending to buy some carpet from them. Not only did they supply the carpet FOC, but they also sent some glue! Wonderful service. I was more than happy to send them pics of the finished job, which looked very professional and works a treat.

Bruce M
AnswerID: 349622

Follow Up By: Member - Welshmun (QLD) - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 13:32

Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 13:32
Thanks, Bruce - a good recommendation.
Doug & Dog
Bone Diggers
We Tweet(ed) @DougandDog

FollowupID: 617908

Follow Up By: slave - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 21:35

Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 21:35
Mark and Karen certainly are nice people.

They are continuously doing research and development.

Mrs S
FollowupID: 618039

Reply By: Dunco (NSW) - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 12:09

Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 12:09
I got mine from

Off Road systems

Based in Camden, Sydney.

Excellent product.

AnswerID: 349629

Follow Up By: Member - Welshmun (QLD) - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 13:30

Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 13:30
Hmm After 10 replies, BW wins hands down, except it's good to see an alternative. Yes, weight is an issue so I will look further into the Offroad Systems Solution.
Doug & Dog
Bone Diggers
We Tweet(ed) @DougandDog

FollowupID: 617907

Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 13:21

Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 13:21
yeah I have Offroad Systems, good product and Graham is easy to deal with. How often are you likely to put a 100KG in your _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx.
Cheers Dave...
GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 618522

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 13:47

Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 13:47
Welshmun,

I had Outback Drawers in my 80 series for 13 years. Not a single issue with them. Bought them direct, installed them myself.

The new owner, also an EO member, has the 80 now, still equipped with the drawers.

Look, I don't think you'll find much difference between the two brands so drive the hardest bargain and take the lowest price.

AnswerID: 349645

Follow Up By: Member - Welshmun (QLD) - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 14:27

Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 14:27
A vote for Outback at last ! many thanks for your feedback.
Doug & Dog
Bone Diggers
We Tweet(ed) @DougandDog

FollowupID: 617924

Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 14:54

Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 14:54
Welshmun

I have built my own. Used MDF and angle brackets. Have remodified a number of times. Admittedly no sliding drawers but storage is effective. Cost about $100

AnswerID: 349653

Follow Up By: Member - Welshmun (QLD) - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 16:00

Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 16:00
It's a quandary isn't it; gut feel says "I could make them myself" and save the money. Hmmm. Thanks for feedback.
Doug & Dog
Bone Diggers
We Tweet(ed) @DougandDog

FollowupID: 617934

Follow Up By: The Landy - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 16:42

Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 16:42
I did what Willem did in the end....expensive exercise as I purchased an outback drawer system first.....
Not in the current Landy's, in a previous version....
FollowupID: 617950

Reply By: Member - Robert G (WA) - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 16:05

Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 16:05
Welshmun,

I have had my outback drawers now for nearly 6 years and they work as good as new. I also have a fridge slide, fridge divider barrier and top shelf. It takes a while to getting used to packing up because of the divided up spaces but once you get used to it you'll never go back. I originally had mine installed in my 80 series but pulled it out and installed it in my 100 series myself, just ordered the side wings form Outback and it all fitted like a charm. When I installed it myself I gained a real appreciation for the quality and substantial construction of the units and could then appreciate the price a bit better.

I have a mate who has the black widow drawers and in my opinion they look just as well built. I really like the chequer plate lip on the black widow set up.

If I had to buy a set up now, it would be decided on the cheapest price I could get either of these units for.
AnswerID: 349663

Follow Up By: Member - Welshmun (QLD) - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 16:17

Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 16:17
Once again, thank you for some feedback on the Outback Drawers Robert. the scores are starting to even up now, indicating there isn't much between them.
I take your tip about getting the best price.
Doug & Dog
Bone Diggers
We Tweet(ed) @DougandDog

FollowupID: 617936

Reply By: Tim - Stratford (VIC) - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 19:29

Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 19:29
Chalk me up for the Outback - they are solid (heavy) but don't rattle and are trouble free. I installed them myself in a couple of hours. They now have a modified cargo barrier similar to the BW in that there is no "butchering" of the interior - they use the grab handles now which is an added bonus.

Also when I ordered mine (2004) the Outback was 100mm longer than the BW - makes a fair difference when carrying shovels, axe, splitters etc...

My 2c's

Tim
AnswerID: 349708

Follow Up By: Member - Welshmun (QLD) - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 21:38

Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 21:38
Thanks, Tim. Your 2c's is worth much more !
Doug & Dog
Bone Diggers
We Tweet(ed) @DougandDog

FollowupID: 618043

Reply By: Member - Garth J (NSW) - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 21:03

Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 21:03
I've got the Outback drawers.

The quality of both types eg BW and OB and others I have now seen are basically identical.

Some now are made using aluminium as opposed to steel. Weight saving here. Although I do work in the steel industry :-)

For me the deal breaker was the internal volume of the storage drawers for my particular vehicle 120series prado.

BW's one size fits many does not make all drawer space available. Although you still have it under the side wings.

Does make them transferable between vehicles but only in respect of say medium size 4b's versus larger models. Also drawer length being a consideration.

I'm happy and if and when the time comes to move up in vehicle size and need bigger drawers I'm sure the resale of the drawers will be adequate as they will be for any brand.

Garth
AnswerID: 349749

Follow Up By: Member - Welshmun (QLD) - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 21:40

Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 21:40
Thank you, Garth. Moving to a new vehicle is not an issue for me; I'm pretty sure my Series 80 is going to outlast me !
I'll ask if there's an aluminium option.
Doug & Dog
Bone Diggers
We Tweet(ed) @DougandDog

FollowupID: 618045

Reply By: Member - Daryl C (VIC) - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 21:41

Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 21:41
I went through this process late last year for my Triton dual cab & after considering all options opted for the drawers from Jim at Best Off Road & can not fault them. I have since travelled nearly 10,000km, of which a lot was over dirt roads & corrugated tracks & they have been excellent.
I'm glad I went for these at 1/2 the price.
Jim was very helpful & although I took the Triton to Jim to get them installed it would have been easy to do it myself (after watching Jim do it)
Of all the extras i have spent my hard earned on the drawers are probably the best investment.

AnswerID: 349761

Follow Up By: Member - Welshmun (QLD) - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 21:53

Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 21:53
Another good refernce for Best Off Road. Thank you, Daryl.
I'm keen to get them fiitted properly (I suppose I could do it, but I'm not the best handyman); I'll ask Jim if he supplies through TJM.
Doug & Dog
Bone Diggers
We Tweet(ed) @DougandDog

FollowupID: 618048

Follow Up By: Member - Daryl C (VIC) - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 22:01

Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 22:01
If you can put a tech screw in... you can fit them.
After going to all the trouble of driving from one side of Melbourne to the other (& I hate driving in Melbourne) & then seeing how simple it was to fit I knew I should have done it myself.
FollowupID: 618054

Reply By: Steve - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 22:24

Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 22:24
Have had Outback Drawers in my 80 series for over 2oo.ooo. KMS of travel . all over the bush in Aus.
Love the Black Widow kits but reckon they would never cope with the crap that my units have put up with .. they look good and all the rest but not sure if they would have been able to cop the crap that the Outback ones have done...and they still look as new !!
Black Widow blokes all look a bit too black for me , full of smoothe talk , which i suppose is necessary when you are trying to sell stuff that 's not really suitable for severe work, sure it works great if you leave Sydney now and then on a weekend spin in the bush !!
AnswerID: 349777

Follow Up By: Member - Mark E (VIC) - Thursday, Feb 19, 2009 at 02:27

Thursday, Feb 19, 2009 at 02:27
????????? Pfffffffffttttttttttt.;

What a load of utter bollocks.
FollowupID: 618088

Follow Up By: slave - Thursday, Feb 19, 2009 at 14:26

Thursday, Feb 19, 2009 at 14:26
Have to agree Mark.

Its obvious that not everyone knows the type of trips that Mark and Karen put their products through.

Mrs S
FollowupID: 618162

Follow Up By: Member - Mark E (VIC) - Thursday, Feb 19, 2009 at 15:54

Thursday, Feb 19, 2009 at 15:54
Works for OB?
FollowupID: 618172

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Feb 19, 2009 at 17:18

Thursday, Feb 19, 2009 at 17:18
Steve Friday is the day for the Jokes to be posted.

FollowupID: 618188

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thoughtfully- Thursday, Feb 19, 2009 at 18:04

Thursday, Feb 19, 2009 at 18:04
So Steve you haven't tried the Black Widow product, but you're experience with a totally different product leads you to believe that the one you HAVEN'T TRIED wont stand up to any abuse.

I didn't know La La Land had internet access............

FollowupID: 618199

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Thursday, Feb 19, 2009 at 20:52

Thursday, Feb 19, 2009 at 20:52
Foolish comment Steve.

I'm in the Drawer building business and you have no idea.

BW and Outback both build impeccable products.

Jim from _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx.

FollowupID: 618238

Follow Up By: Member - Cram (Newcastle NSW) - Thursday, Feb 19, 2009 at 21:05

Thursday, Feb 19, 2009 at 21:05
Well I think it has all been said......La La Land and Friday funnies all in one post.....
FollowupID: 618241

Follow Up By: Member - Taipo (VIC) - Friday, Feb 20, 2009 at 19:48

Friday, Feb 20, 2009 at 19:48
What about Tanami _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx? Lighter. Neat product. Just a shame they dont do the bed extension.
FollowupID: 618443

Reply By: nickb - Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 08:53

Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 08:53
I bought my 99 patrol last year. It has outback _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx in it with the fridge slide, been installed since new. Patrol now has 245,000km.

They don't rattle, the _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx still slide very well but the locks are a little bit tight, the fridge slide is a bit tight too but a few sprays of lube every now and then fixes it up. I'm very happy with them.

I had to run some new wiring to the rear of the vehicle, so I had to remove the wings. They were held in by about 8 M6 bolt to the solid metal frame. It looks very well built from what I saw.

Not sure if I would pay the $$$ for a new set, I made some for my last patrol and they did the job well to suit my needs.

I have no experience with BW _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx so I can't comment there.
AnswerID: 350190

Follow Up By: Member - Welshmun (QLD) - Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 13:51

Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 13:51
Thanks for the comments, NickB
Doug & Dog
Bone Diggers
We Tweet(ed) @DougandDog

FollowupID: 618524

Reply By: Member - Welshmun (QLD) - Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 13:49

Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 13:49
AND THE ANSWER TO MY ROLLER DRAWER QUESTION IS . . . .

To those nice people who have offered me their opinions:
I'm mulling IT over this weekend and will post my decision here early next week, with reasons.

In the meantime, I appreciate all the comments and suggestions.
Exploroz Forum works well !

have a good one.
Doug & Dog
Bone Diggers
We Tweet(ed) @DougandDog

AnswerID: 350231

Reply By: Member - Welshmun (QLD) - Friday, Feb 27, 2009 at 10:30

Friday, Feb 27, 2009 at 10:30
Well here it is: The Decision.
My considerations were:
cost, weight & ease of fit (in case I did it myself)

Other forum contributors's considerations included those three, plus
value (not the same as cost) (applies to me too)
ability to move to another vehicle (not for me)
looks (?)
manufacturer's support & service (yes)
accessories (hmmm)
safety (one comment against BW)

So, although, I like the idea of choosing the quality products available from Black Widow or Outback (not much to choose between them, it seems),
and fitting by TJM (expensive), financial sense and the weight of these systems has put me off, and I have decided to do some of the work myself (like a bed extension)
and I therefore chose . . . .

The 40Kg drawers from :Best OffRoad
i have placed an order for drawers and fridge slide, and eagerly await the product.
Jim is also throwing a length of carpeting so my bed extension, and anything else I do, will match.
There, decision made.
Doug & Dog
Bone Diggers
We Tweet(ed) @DougandDog

AnswerID: 351289